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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE-MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2013-11 

DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 

JANUARY 3, 2013 

REVISED JULY 1, 2016 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Discrimination Complaint Procedures (Set 
Two) (DCP) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the 
Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines      
(Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On March 24, 2011, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
regulations impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon community college 
districts within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC 
section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any community college district, as defined in Government Code section 17519, that incurs 
increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. Block grant 
recipients are not eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Annual reimbursement claims for fiscal year 2015-16 may be filed by February 15, 2017, 
without a late claim penalty.  Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be 
accepted. 

Penalty 

• Initial Reimbursement Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

• Annual Reimbursement Claims 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551 
and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 



 
3 

documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email 
at LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Adopted: September 28, 2012 
 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 
California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Sections 59320, 59322, 59324, 59326, 59327, 59328, 

59330 , 59332, 59334, 59336, 59338, 59340, and 59342 
Register 81, Number 16; Register 92, Number 17; Register 96, Number 23;  

Register 2001, Number 6; Register 2002, Number 13; and Register 2002, Number 35 

Discrimination Complaint Procedures (Set Two) 
02-TC-46 

(and a portion of 02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31) 

(Beginning Fiscal Year 2002-2003) 
 
I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 
On March 24, 2011, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of 
decision for the Discrimination Complaint Procedures test claim finding that the test claim 
regulations impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon community college 
districts within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and 
Government Code section 17514.   
The Commission has adopted separate parameters and guidelines for the Discrimination 
Complaint Procedures (02-TC-46) statement of decision as follows:  (1) equal employment 
opportunity program; (2) federal rights for individuals with disabilities; and (3) discrimination 
complaint procedures.  This set of parameters and guidelines addresses the Commission’s 
findings regarding costs incurred to comply with the discrimination complaint procedures 
beginning in fiscal year 2002-2003.   
Because some of the activities approved in the statement of decision are not reimbursable beyond 
the 2001-2002 fiscal year, and the period of reimbursement for some of the activities begins 
during the 2002-2003 fiscal year, the Commission has adopted two sets of parameters and 
guidelines for the discrimination complaint procedures:  (1) for costs incurred during the 2001-
2002 fiscal year only; and (2) for costs incurred in fiscal year 2002-2003 and in subsequent fiscal 
years.   
For costs incurred in fiscal year 2002-2003 and in subsequent fiscal years, the approved activities 
related to discrimination complaint procedures are contained in California Code of Regulations, 
title 5, Sections 59320, 59322, 59324, 59326, 59327, 59328, 59330 , 59332, 59334, 59336, 
59338, 59340, and 59342; as amended by Register 81, number 16; Register 92, number 17; 
Register 96, number 23; Register 2001, number 6; Register 2002, number 13; and Register 2002, 
number 35.  The approved activities include the investigation of complaints of unlawful 
discrimination, the establishment of polices for investigating discrimination complaints, 
engaging in informal resolution of discrimination complaints, and forwarding copies of 
information regarding discrimination complaints to the Chancellor’s Office.   
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II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 
Any community college district, which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is 
eligible to claim reimbursement.   

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 
Government Code section 17557(e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The claimants filed the test 
claim in the 2002-2003 fiscal year, establishing eligibility for reimbursement on or after  
July 1, 2001.  Two sets of parameters and guidelines have been adopted, one for costs incurred 
only during the 2001-2002 fiscal year, and one for costs incurred in the 2002-2003 fiscal year and 
in subsequent fiscal years.  These parameters and guidelines are for the period beginning in the 
2002-2003 fiscal year.  Therefore, costs incurred pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 
5, Sections 59320, 59322, 59324, 59326, 59327, 59328, 59330 , 59332, 59334, 59336, 59338, 
59340, and 59342 are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2002. 
Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.   
2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 

initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a school district may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a school district filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Government Code section 17560(b).) 

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a). 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 
To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable to and supported by source documents that show the validity of 
such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A 
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, 
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.  
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under 
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penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 
The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 
For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

1. Investigate and Process Complaints 
Title 5, Sections 53026 and 59320 
a. The district shall investigate complaints of unlawful discrimination (i.e., 

discrimination on the basis of ethnic group identification, national origin, religion, 
age, race, color, ancestry, and sexual orientation) in district programs or activities and 
seek to resolve those complaints.  This does not include complaints of gender 
discrimination, including complaints of sexual harassment on the basis of sexual 
orientation, by employees and students, and complaints of non-employment 
discrimination on the basis of disability. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59320 (Register 
2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

b. Process complaints of violation of the equal employment opportunity regulations 
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 53000 et seq.) which also allege discrimination prohibited 
by Government Code Section 11135 et seq. according to the procedures set forth in 
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 59300 et seq.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
§ 53026 (Register 96, No. 23); Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 53026 (Register 2002, No. 
35).)  

2. District Policies and Procedures 
Title 5, Section 59322 
a. Establish, and adopt written policies consistent with the regulations addressing 

district discrimination complaint procedures for complaints of discrimination on the 
basis of ethnic group identification, national origin, religion, age, race, color, 
ancestry, and sexual orientation (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §§ 59320-59342). 
This does not include complaint procedures for: (1) employees and students alleging 
gender discrimination (including sexual harassment) and disability discrimination; (2) 
employees and students alleging sexual harassment on the basis of sexual orientation; 
and (3) for individuals alleging non-employment discrimination on the basis of 
disability.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59322 (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, 
No. 13).)  

b. Submit district policies, which address community college district discrimination 
complaint and enforcement procedures (adopted pursuant to Title 5, CCR, § 59322) 
to the Chancellor for review and approval within 90 days of the effective date of 
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adopting or amending the policies.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59322 (Register 2001, 
No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

3. Responsible District Officer 
Title 5, Section 59324 
Identify to the Chancellor and to the public a single person as the district officer 
responsible for receiving discrimination complaints based on ethnic group identification, 
national origin, religion, age, race, color, ancestry, and sexual orientation (filed pursuant 
to Title 5, CCR, § 59328) and coordinating their investigation  and overseeing the 
informal resolution process pursuant to Section 59327. This does not include the 
identification of the district officer responsible for receiving complaints of discrimination 
on the basis of gender to students, employees, student applicants, and applicants for 
employment. This also does not include the identification of the district officer 
responsible for receiving complaints of discrimination on the basis of disability to 
participants, beneficiaries, applicants, and employees of the district’s programs or 
activities, and unions or professional organizations holding collective bargaining or 
professional agreements with the community college district. In addition, this does not 
include the identification of the district officer for receiving complaints of non-
employment discrimination on the basis of disability to the Chancellor and the public. 
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59324 (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  
Use other staff or outside persons or organizations under contract with the district 
whenever the officer designated to receive complaints is named in the complaint or is 
implicated by the allegations in the complaint.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59324  
(Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

4. Notice to Students and Employees 
Title 5, Section 59326 
Notify students and employees of the provisions of California Code of Regulations, title 
5, sections 59300 et seq., which address the two levels of discrimination complaint 
procedures for community college districts (beginning at the community college district 
level and ending at the state level).  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59326 (Register 2001,  
No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

5. Informal Complaint Resolution 
Title 5, Section 59327 
a. The district officer or his or her designee shall undertake efforts to informally resolve 

the charges whenever any person brings charges of unlawful discrimination to the 
attention of the district officer.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59327(a)(1) (Register 2001, 
No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

b. Include investigation in efforts at informal resolution if the responsible district officer 
determines that an investigation is warranted by the seriousness of the charges.  (Cal. 
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59327(b) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  
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c. The district officer or his or her designee shall advise the complainant that he or she 
need not participate in informal resolution whenever any person brings charges of 
unlawful discrimination to the attention of the district officer.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
§ 59327(a)(2) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

d. As part of the informal resolution process, the district officer or his or her designee 
shall notify the person bringing the charges of the right to file a formal complaint, as 
defined by California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 59311, and the procedure 
for filing a formal complaint pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 5, 
section 59328 whenever any person brings charges of unlawful discrimination to the 
attention of the district officer.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59327(a)(3) (Register 2001, 
No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

e. As part of the informal resolution process, the district officer or his or her designee 
shall advise the complainant that he or she may file his or her non-employment based 
complaint with the Office of Civil Rights of the U.S. Department of Education (OCR) 
where such a complaint is within that agency’s jurisdiction whenever any person 
brings charges of unlawful discrimination to the attention of the district officer.  (Cal. 
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59327(a)(4) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

f. As part of the informal resolution process, the district officer or his or her designee 
shall advise the complainant that he or she may file his or her employment-based 
complaint with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) or the 
California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) where the 
complaint is within the jurisdiction of those agencies.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,  
§ 59327(a)(5) (Register 2002, No. 13).)  

6. Formal Complaint Process 
a. District Response 

Title 5, Sections 59328, 59330, and 59332 
(1) Forward a copy of the formal complaint to the Chancellor immediately upon 

receiving a formal complaint filed in accordance with California Code of 
Regulations, title 5, section 59328.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59330  
(Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13.).)  

(2) Immediately notify the complainant that his or her formal complaint does not 
meet the requirements of California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 59328, 
and specify in what way the complaint is defective, if the district receives a 
complaint that does not meet the requirements of section 59328.  (Cal. Code 
Regs., tit. 5, § 59332 (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(3) As part of the formal complaint process, advise any complainant alleging 
discrimination in employment that he or she may file his or her complaint with the 
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) or Department of Fair 
Employment and Housing where the complaint is within the jurisdiction of those 
agencies.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59328(f)(1) (Register 2002, No. 13).)  
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(4) As part of the formal complaint process, for any complaint alleging discrimination 
in employment, forward a copy of any filing by the complainant with the 
Department of Fair Employment and Housing to the Chancellor's Office for a 
determination of whether the issues presented require an independent 
investigation of the matter under the provisions of the discrimination complaint 
procedure regulations (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 53000 et seq.).  (Cal. Code Regs., 
tit. 5, § 59328(f)(2) (Register 2002, No. 13).)  

b. District Investigation 
Title 5, Sections 59327 and 59334 
(1) Notify the complainant and the Chancellor that the district has commenced an 

investigation of a properly filed formal complaint.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,  
§ 59334 (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(2) Set forth the results of the investigation conducted in the formal complaint 
process in a written report that includes at least all of the following: 
(A) A description of the circumstances giving rise to the complaint.  (Cal. Code 

Regs., tit. 5, § 59334(a) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  
(B) A summary of the testimony provided by each viable witness, including the 

complainant and any witnesses identified by the complainant in the complaint.  
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59334(b) (Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(C) An analysis of any relevant data or other evidence collected during the course 
of the investigation.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59334(c) (Register 2001,  
No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(D) A specific finding as to whether there is probable cause to believe that 
discrimination occurred with respect to each allegation in the complaint.  (Cal. 
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59334(d) (Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(E) Any other information deemed appropriate by the district.  (Cal. Code Regs., 
tit. 5, § 59334(e) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(3) After a complaint is filed the formal investigation conducted pursuant to 
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 59334 must be completed unless 
the matter is informally resolved and the complainant dismisses the formal 
complaint or the complainant files with the Department of Fair Employment and 
Housing and the Chancellor elects not to require further investigation pursuant to 
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 59328(f)(2).  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 
5, § 59327(c) (Register 2002, No. 13).)  

c. Administrative Determination 
Title 5, Section 59336 
Complete the district investigation conducted during the formal complaint process 
and forward a copy of the investigative report required pursuant to California Code of 
Regulations, title 5, section 59334 to the Chancellor, a copy or summary of the report 
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to the complainant, and written notice setting forth all of the following to both the 
complainant and the Chancellor:  
(1) The determination of the chief executive officer or his/her designee as to whether 

there is probable cause to believe discrimination occurred with respect to each 
allegation in the complaint.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59336(a) (Register 2002, 
No. 13).)  

(2) A description of the actions taken, if any, to prevent similar problems from 
occurring in the future.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59336(b) (Register 2001, No. 6; 
and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(3) The proposed resolution of the complaint.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59336, (c) 
(Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(4) The complainant’s right to appeal to the district governing board and the 
Chancellor pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 5, sections 59338 and 
59339.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59336(d) (Register 2001, No. 6; and  
Register 2002, No. 13).)  

d. Formal Complaint-District Decision 
Title 5, Section 59338 
Forward to the complainant and the Chancellor a copy of the final district decision 
rendered by the governing board that includes a complainant's right to appeal the 
district's decision to the Chancellor pursuant to California Code of Regulations,  
title 5, section 59339.  Administrative determinations are made final by the district 
issuing a decision or by taking no action 45 days after an appeal to the district 
governing board by complainant not satisfied by the administrative determination 
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59338(a) and (c)).  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59338 
(Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

e. Providing Information to the Chancellor 
Title 5, Sections 59340 and 59342 
(1) Forward the following to the Chancellor within 150 days of receiving a formal 

complaint:  
(A) A copy of the final district decision rendered by the governing board or a 

statement indicating the date on which the administrative determination 
became final pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 
59338(a).  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59340(a) (Register 2001, No. 6; and 
Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(B) A copy of the notice to the complainant required pursuant to California Code 
of Regulations, title 5, section 59338(a).  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59340(b) 
(Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

(C) Such other information as the Chancellor may require.  (Cal. Code Regs.,  
tit. 5, § 59340(c) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  
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(2) File a written request that the Chancellor grant an extension of the 90-day or 150-
day deadline to forward the investigative report to the Chancellor or to forward 
the final district decision to the Chancellor (specified in Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,  
§ 59336 or 59340), 10 days before the expiration of the deadline, if for reasons 
beyond the districts control the district is unable to comply with the deadline.  
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 59342(a) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002,  
No. 13).)  
Provide the reasons for the request for an extension of the 90-day or 150-day 
deadline to forward the investigative report to the Chancellor or to forward the 
final district decision to the Chancellor, and the date by which the district expects 
to be able to submit the required materials in the request.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
§ 59342(a) (Register 2001, No. 6; and Register 2002, No. 13).)  

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 
Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 
A. Direct Cost Reporting 
Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 
Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 
2.  Materials and Supplies 
Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 
3.  Contracted Services 
Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  Attach a copy of the contract to the claim.  If the contractor bills for time and 
materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged.  If the 
contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all 
costs for those services. 
4.  Fixed Assets  
Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to 
implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, 
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and installation costs.  If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement 
the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 
5.  Travel 
Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, 
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element 
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 
Indirect costs are costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes.  These costs 
benefit more than one cost objective and cannot be readily identified with a particular final cost 
objective without effort disproportionate to the results achieved.  After direct costs have been 
determined and assigned to other activities, as appropriate, indirect costs are those remaining to 
be allocated to benefited cost objectives.  A cost may not be allocated as an indirect cost if any 
other cost incurred for the same purpose, in like circumstances, has been claimed as a direct cost. 
Indirect costs may include:  (a) the indirect costs originating in each department or agency of the 
governmental unit carrying out state mandated programs; and (b) the costs of central 
governmental services distributed through the central service cost allocation plan and not 
otherwise treated as direct costs. 
Community colleges have the option of using:  (1) a federally approved rate, utilizing the cost 
accounting principles from the Office of Management and Budget Circular A-21, "Cost 
Principles of Educational Institutions"; (2) the rate calculated on State Controller's Form FAM-
29C; or (3) a 7% indirect cost rate. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 
Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed 
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation of an audit 
by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is 
filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for 
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the 
audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by 
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 
Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same statutes or 
executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed.  In 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 



10 
Discrimination Complaint Procedures 

02-TC-46 (and a portion of 02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31) 
Parameters and Guidelines 

addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited to, service 
fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted from this 
claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 
Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from the 
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 
Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 
Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   
In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 
The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally 
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record.  The 
administrative record is on file with the Commission.   
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     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/16)  

DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00344 
(20) Date Filed 
(21) LRS Input 

344 
 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name 
 

(22) FORM 1, (04) 1. (f)  

County of Location 
 (23) FORM 1, (04) 2. (f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 
 

Suite (24) FORM 1, (04) 3. (f)  

City State Zip Code (25) FORM 1, (04) 4. (f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) 5. (f)  

 (03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) 6. a. (f)  

 (04) (10) Combined                 (28) FORM 1, (04) 6. b. (f)  

 (05) (11) Amended               (29) FORM 1, (04) 6. c. (f)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (04) 6. d. (f)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (04) 6. e. (f)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (06)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (07)  

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34) FORM 1, (09)  

Due from State (08) (17) (35) FORM 1, (10)  

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the 
community college district to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury 
that I have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 
  

Date Signed  
 

  Telephone Number   

  

 

Email Address   
 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 

 Email Address   
 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

344 
DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by 
February 15, or otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after 
the specified date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as 
a result of the calculation formula as follows: 

• Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

• Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, block (04), line 1., column (f). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs percentage 
should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data 
block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by the agency’s authorized officer, type or print 
name and title, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed 
certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

Office of the State Controller  
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

Office of the State Controller  
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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Revised 07/16 

PROGRAM 

344 
DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                            Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Leave blank. 

 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 
(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries  
and 

Benefits 

Materials  
and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

1. Investigate and Process Complaints       

2. District Policies and Procedures       

3. Responsible District Officer       

4. Notice to Students and Employees       

5. Informal Complaint Resolution       

6. Formal Complaint Process  

a. District Response       

b. District Investigation       

c. Administrative Determination       

d. Formal Complaint-District Decision       

e. Providing Information to the 
Chancellor       

(05) Total Direct Costs       

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate                     Federally approved rate OMB Circular A-21  FAM-29C  Flat 7% % 

(07) Total Indirect Costs                                        [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  l 

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs                                  [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]   

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting  Revenues                                                  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements  

(11) Total Claimed Amount                                   [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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Revised 07/16 

PROGRAM 

344 
DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Leave blank. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the total amount from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h) to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e) in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Community college districts may use the federally approved OMB Circular A-21 rate, the rate computed 
using Form FAM-29C, or a 7% indirect cost rate, for the fiscal year of costs. Mark the applicable box for 
the option used. Form FAM-29C can be found in the Annual Manual for Community Colleges available 
online at SCO’s website: www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. Submit Form FAM-29C or the federally 
approved rate agreement with the claim. 

(07)  Enter the result of multiplying the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06), by the applicable base used. The Form 
FAM-29C indirect cost rate and the flat 7% indirect cost rates are applied to Salaries and Benefits; 
whereas, the federally approved rate is applied to the allocation base used in developing the federally 
approved rate. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form 
FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 

 
 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html
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Revised 07/16 

PROGRAM 

344 

DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant 
 

(02)                                                            Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

  1. Investigate and Process Complaints 6. Formal Complaint Process 

  2. District Policies and Procedures  a. District Response 

  3. Responsible District Officer  b. District Investigation 

  4. Notice to Students and Employees  c. Administrative Determination 

  5. Informal Complaint Resolution  d. Formal Complaint-District Decision 

   e. Providing Information to the Chancellor 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job 

Classifications, Functions Performed 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or 
Quantity 

(d) 
Salaries 

and 
Benefits 

(e) 
Materials 

and  
Supplies 

(f) 
Contract 
Services 

(g) 
Fixed   

Assets  

(h) 
Travel 

 

        

(05)  Total             Subtotal            Page: ____of____      
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Revised 07/16 

PROGRAM 

344 

DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT PROCEDURES (SET TWO) 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To 
itemize costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, 
a brief description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits, 
supplies used, contract services, fixed assets, and travel  expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (04)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being 
claimed.  

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after 
the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no 
payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the State Controller's Office (SCO) to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to 
support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to 
the SCO on request. 

 

Object  
Accounts 

Columns Submit  
supporting 
documents 

with the claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 
 
 
 

Salaries 
 

and 
 

Benefits 

Employee 
Name and Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours 
Worked 

     

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate  

Benefits = 
Benefit Rate 

x Salaries 
     

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

and 
Specific Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked 
and 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

  

Cost = Hourly 
Rate x Hours 
 Worked or 

Total Contract 
Cost 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost 
x Quantity Usage    

Cost = 
Total Cost   
x Usage 

 

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

 
 

Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip, Name and 

Title, 
Destination, 
Departure 
Date, and 

Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate, 

Mileage Rate, 
and 

Travel Cost 

Days, 
Miles, and 

Travel Mode 
    

Total Travel 
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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