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In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Enrollment Fee Collection and Waivers
(EFCW) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on
State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.

On April 24, 2003, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on community college districts
within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section
17514.

Exception

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

Eligible Claimants

Any community college district, as defined in Government Code section 17519, that incurs
increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. Block grant
recipients are not eligible to claim for reimbursement.

Reimbursement Claim Deadline

Annual reimbursement claims for the 2015-16 fiscal year may be filed by February 15, 2017,
without a late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be
accepted.

Penalty
e Initial Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section
17561, subdivision (d)(3).

e Annual Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section
17568.



Minimum Claim Cost

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551
and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure
section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the
adjustment.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.

Record Retention

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all



documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be
made available to the SCO on request.

Claim Submission

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website:
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by If delivered by

U.S. Postal Service: other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850 3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 94250 Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.



mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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PROPOSED PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES,
AS MODIFED BY STAFF

Education Code Section 76300

California Code or Regulations, Title 5, Sections 58501- 58503;
58611- 58613, 58620, 58630

Enrollment Fee Collection and Waivers (99-TC-13 and 00-TC-15)

Los Rios and Glendale Community College Districts, Claimants

l. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE

Claimant Los Rios Community College District (LRCCD), submitted the Enrollment Fee
Collection test claim (99-TC-13) in June 2000 alleging a reimbursable state mandate for
community college districts by requiring specific new activities and costs related to collecting
enrollment fees. Claimant Glendale Community College District (GCCD) submitted the
Enrollment Fee Waivers (00-TC-15) test claim in June 2001 alleging a reimbursable state
mandate for community college districts by requiring specific new activities and costs related to
granting fee waivers, Board of Governor’s (BOG) Grants and financial assistance to students. In
August 2002, the Enrollment Fee Collection and Enrollment Fee Waiver test claims were
consolidated.

On April 24, 2003, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the Statement of
Decision for the Enrollment Fee Collection and Waivers program. The Commission found that
the test claim legislation constitutes a new program or higher level of service and imposes a
reimbursable state-mandated program on community college districts within the meaning of
article XI11 B, section 6 of the California Constitution and Government Code section 17514.
Accordingly, the Commission approved this test claim for the following reimbursable activities:

e Calculating and collecting the student enrollment fee for each student enrolled except
for nonresidents, and except for special part-time students cited in section 76300,
subdivision (f). (Ed. Code, 8 76300, subds. (a) & (b); Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,

8§ 58501, 58502 & 58503.)

e Waiving student fees in accordance with the groups listed in Education Code
section 76300, subdivisions (g) and (h).

e Waiving fees for students who apply for and are eligible for BOG fee waivers.
(Cal.Code Regs., tit. 5, 88 58612, 58613 & 58620.)

e Reporting to the Community Colleges Chancellor (CCC) the number of and amounts
provided for BOG fee waivers. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58611.)

e Adopting procedures that will document all financial assistance provided on behalf
of students pursuant to chapter 9 of title 5 of the California Code of Regulations; and
including in the procedures the rules for retention of support documentation which
will enable an independent determination regarding accuracy of the district’s
certification of need for financial assistance. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58630,
subd. (b).)
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The Commission found that all other test claim statutes and regulations not cited above do not
impose reimbursable state-mandated activities within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 and
Government Code section 17514.

1. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS

Any community college district that incurs increased costs as a direct result of this reimbursable
state mandated program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs.

I11.  PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

Government Code section 17557 states that a test claim must be submitted on or before June 30
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year. The
test claim for Enrollment Fee Collection (99-TC-13) was filed in June 2000, and the test claim
for Enrollment Fee Waivers (00-TC-15) was filed in June 2001. Thus, costs incurred for
compliance with Enrollment Fee Collection are reimbursable on or after July 1, 1998, and costs
incurred for compliance with Enrollment Fee Waivers are reimbursable on or after July 1, 1999.

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim. Estimated costs for the
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable. Pursuant to Government
Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of initial fiscal year
costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the
claiming instructions.

If the total costs for a given year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed,
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564.

IV.  REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,”
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is
required to incur as a result of the mandate.
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For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable:

A. Enrollment Fee Collection (Reimbursement Period begins July 1, 1998)

1. One-Time Activities

a.

Policies and Procedures

Prepare district policies and procedures for the collection of enroliment fees.

Staff Training (One-time per employee)

Training district staff that implement the program on the procedures for the
collection of enrollment fees.

2. Ongoing Activities

a.

Vi.

Calculating and collecting the student enroliment fee for each student enrolled,
except for nonresidents, and except for special part-time students cited in
section 76300, subdivision (f). (Ed. Code, 876300, subds. (a) & (b); Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 58501, 58502 & 58503). This includes:

Referencing student accounts and records to determine course workload,
status of payments, and eligibility for fee waiver. Printing a list of enrolled
courses.

Calculating the total enrollment fee to be collected. Identifying method of
payment. Collecting cash and making change as necessary. Processing
credit card and other non-cash payment transactions (however, any fees that
may be charged to a community college district by a credit card company or
bank are not reimbursable). Preparing a receipt for payment received.

Answering student’s questions regarding enrollment fee collection or
referring them to the appropriate person for an answer.

Updating written and computer records for the enroliment fee information
and providing a copy to the student. Copying and filing enrollment fee
documentation.

Collecting delinquent enrollment fees, including written or telephonic
collection notices to students, turning accounts over to collection agencies,
or small claims court action.

For students who establish fee waiver eligibility after the enrollment fee has
been collected, providing a refund or enrollment fees paid and updating
student and district records as required. (Refund process for change in
program is not reimbursable).

B. Enrollment Fee Waiver (Reimbursement Period begins July 1, 1999)

1. One-Time Activities

a.

Policies and Procedures

Prepare district policies and procedures for determining which students are
eligible for waiver of the enrollment fees.
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b.

Staff Training (One-time per employee)

Training district staff that implement the program on the procedures for
determining which students are eligible for waiver of the enrollment fee.

2. Ongoing Activities

a.

Adopting procedures that will document all financial assistance provided on
behalf of students pursuant to chapter 9 of title 5 of the California Code of
Regulations; and including in the procedures the rules for retention of support
documentation that will enable an independent determination regarding accuracy
of the district’s certification of need for financial assistance. (Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, § 58630, subd. (b).)

Recording and maintaining records that document all of the financial assistance
provided to students for the waiver of enrollment fees in a manner that will enable
an independent determination of the district’s certification of the need for
financial assistance. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 58630, subd. (b).)

Waiving student fees in accordance with groups listed in Education Code section
76300,subdivisions (g) and (h).) Waiving fees for students who apply for and are
eligible for BOG fee waivers (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 588 58612, 58613 & 58620).
This includes:

I. Answering student’s questions regarding enrollment fee waivers or
referring them to the appropriate person for an answer.

ii. Receiving of waiver applications from students by mail, fax, computer
online access, or in person, or in the form of eligibility information
processed by the financial aid office.

iii. Evaluating each application and verification documents (dependency
status, household size and income, SSI and TANF/CalWorks, etc.) for
compliance with eligibility standards utilizing information provided by the
student, from the student financial aid records (e.g., Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)), and other records.

iv.  Inthe case of an incomplete application or incomplete documentation,
notify the student of the additional required information and how to obtain
that information. Hold student application and documentation in suspense
file until all information is received.

v.  Inthe case of an approved application, copy all documentation and file the
information for further review or audit. Entering the approved application
information into district records and /or notifying other personnel
performing other parts of the process (e.g., cashier’s office). Providing the
student with proof of eligibility or an award letter, and file paper
documents in the annual file.

vi.  Inthe case of a denied application, reviewing and evaluating additional
information and documentation provided by the student if the denial is
appealed by the student. Provide written notification to the student of the
results of the appeal or any change in eligibility status.
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C. Reporting to the CCC the number of and amounts provided for BOG fee waivers.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58611.)

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document. Each claimed reimbursable cost must
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV. Additionally, each
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner.

A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities. The following
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement.

1. Salaries and Benefits

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by
productive hours). Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed.

2. Materials and Supplies

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the
purpose of the reimbursable activities. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. Supplies
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized
method of costing, consistently applied.

3. Contracted Services

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable
activities. Attach a copy of the contract to the claim. If the contractor bills for time and
materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged. If the
contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all
costs for those services.

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers)
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities. The purchase price includes taxes,
delivery costs, and installation costs. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

5. Travel

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.
Include the date of travel, destination point, the specific reimbursable activity requiring
travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the
rules of the local jurisdiction. Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost
element A.1, Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity.
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6. Training

Report the cost of training an employee to perform the reimbursable activities, as
specified in Section 1V of this document. Report the name and job classification of each
employee preparing for, attending, and/or conducting training necessary to implement the
reimbursable activities. Provide the title, subject, and purpose (related to the mandate of
the training session), dates attended, and location. If the training encompasses subjects
broader than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion can be claimed. Report
employee training time for each applicable reimbursable activity according to the rules of
cost element A.1, Salaries and Benefits, and A.2, Materials and Supplies. Report the cost
of consultants who conduct the training according to the rules of cost element

A.3, Contracted Services.

B. Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes. These costs
benefit more than one cost objective and cannot be readily identified with a particular final cost
objective without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. After direct costs have been
determined and assigned to other activities, as appropriate, indirect costs are those remaining to
be allocated to benefited cost objectives. A cost may not be allocated as an indirect cost if any
other cost incurred for the same purpose, in like circumstances, has been claimed as a direct cost.

Indirect costs include: (a) the indirect costs originating in each department or agency of the
governmental unit carrying out state mandated programs, and (b) the costs of central
governmental services distributed through the central service cost allocation plan and not
otherwise treated as direct costs.

Community colleges have the option of using: (1) a federally approved rate, utilizing the cost
accounting principles from the Office of Management and Budget Circular A-21, "Cost
Principles of Educational Institutions"; (2) the rate calculated on State Controller's Form
FAM-29C; or (3) a 7% indirect cost rate.

VI. RECORD RETENTION

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter® is subject to the initiation
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment
of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that
the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated
by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the
ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

! This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.
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VIl. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND REIMBURSEMENTS

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs
claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited
to, services fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted
from this claim.

Enrollment Fee Collection Program:

The costs of the Enrollment Fee Collection program are subject to an offset of two
percent (2%) of the revenue from enrollment fees (Ed. Code, § 76000, subd. (c)).

Enrollment Fee Waiver Program:

The costs of the Enrollment Fee Waiver program are subject to the following offsets:
July 1, 1999 to July 4, 2000:

e For low income students? or recipients of public assistance, or dependents or surviving
spouses of National Guard soldiers killed in the line of duty,* as defined:

o an offset identified in Education Code section 76300, subdivision (m), that
requires the Community College Board of Governors, from funds in the annual
budget act, to allocate to community colleges two percent (2%) of the fees
waived, under subdivisions (g) [low income students, as defined, or specified
recipients of public assistance] and (h) [dependents or surviving spouses of
California National Guard soldiers killed in the line of duty, as defined] of section
76300; and

e For determination of financial need and delivery of student financial aid services, on the
basis of the number of low income students (as defined) or recipients of public assistance
(as defined), or dependents or surviving spouses of National Guard soldiers killed in the
line of duty, for whom fees are waived:

2 «[A]ny student who demonstrates eligibility according to income standards established by the

board of governors and contained in Section 58260 of Title 5 of the California Code of
Regulations.” (Ed. Code, § 76300, subd. (g)(2).)

$“[A]ny student who, at the time of enrollment, is a recipient of benefits under the Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families program, the Supplemental Security Income/State Supplementary
Program, or a general assistance program or has demonstrated financial need in accordance with
the methodology set forth in federal law or regulation for determining the expected family
contribution of students seeking financial aid.” (Ed. Code, § 76300, subd. (g)(1).)

4 “[A]ny student who, at the time of enrollment is a dependent, or surviving spouse who has not

remarried, of any member of the California National Guard who, in the line of duty and while in
the active service of the state, was Killed, died of a disability resulting from an event that
occurred while in the active service of the state, or is permanently disabled as a result of an event
that occurred while in the active service of the state. “Active service of the state,” for the
purposes of this subdivision, refers to a member of the California National Guard activated
pursuant to Section 146 of the Military and Veterans Code.” (Ed. Code, § 76300, subd. (h).)
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o from funds provided in the annual State Budget Act, the board of governors shall
allocate to community college districts, pursuant to this subdivision, an amount
equal to seven percent (7%) of the fee waivers provided pursuant to subdivisions
(9) [low income students, as defined, or specified recipients of public assistance]
and (h) [dependents or surviving spouses of California National Guard soldiers
killed in the line of duty, as defined].”

Beginning July 5, 2000:

e For low income students (as defined, or recipients of public assistance (as defined) or
dependents or surviving spouses of National Guard soldiers killed in the line of duty, for
whom fees are waived (as defined):

e an offset identified in Education Code section 76300, subdivision (m), that requires
the Community College Board of Governors, from funds in the annual budget act, to
allocate to community colleges two percent (2%) of the fees waived, under
subdivisions (g) [low income students, as defined, or specified recipients of public
assistance] and (h) [dependents of California National Guard soldiers killed in the line
of duty as defined] of section 76300;

e For determination of financial need and delivery of student financial aid services, on the
basis of the number of low income students (as defined) or recipients of public assistance
(as defined) for whom fees are waived

0 requires the Board of Governors to allocate from funds in the annual State
Budget Act ninety-one cents ($0.91) per credit unit waived pursuant to
subdivisions (g) [low income students, as defined, or specified recipients of
public assistance] and (h) [dependents of California National Guard soldiers
killed in the line of duty as defined]

e Any budget augmentation received under the Board Financial Assistance Program
Administrative Allowance, or any other state budget augmentation received for
administering the fee waiver program.

VIIl. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue claiming
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 days after
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. The claiming instructions shall be
derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the
Commission.

®> These waiver provisions were subsequently expanded to waive fees for children of law
enforcement personnel or firefighters killed in the line of duty (Ed. Code, 8 76300, subd. (i)), or
dependents of victims of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks (Ed. Code, § 76300, subd. (j)),
but these parameters and guidelines do not include those waiver recipients because they were
added by Statutes 2002, chapter 450 and are outside the scope of the Statement of Decision.
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Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), issuance of the claiming
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571. If the
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines
as directed by the Commission.

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government
Code section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2.

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual
basis for the parameters and guidelines. The support for the legal and factual findings is found in
the administrative record for the test claim. The administrative record, including the Statement
of Decision, is on file with the Commission.

9 Parameters and Guidelines
Enrollment Fee Collection
and Waivers (99-TC-13)



State Controller’s Office Community College Mandated Cost Manual

For State Controller Use Only | PROGRAM
ENROLLMENT FEE COLLECTION AND WAIVERS (19) Program Number 00267
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT (20) Date Filed 2 6 7
(21) LRS Input
(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data
(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. a. (f)
County of Location (23) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. b. (f)
Street Address or P.O. Box Suite (24) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. a. (f)
city State ZIp Code (25) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. a. (f)
Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. b. (f)
(03) (09) Reimbursement |:| (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. a. (f)
(04) (10) Combined [ ] |28) FOrRM 1, (04) B. 2. b. ()
(05) (11) Amended [ ] |29) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. ¢. (f
Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (06)
Total Claimed Amount 07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (07)
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) [(14) (32) FORM 1, (09)
Less: Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (10)
Net Claimed Amount (16) (34) FORM 1, (11)
Due from State (08) a7 (35) FORM 1, (12)
Due to State (18) (36)

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, | certify that | am the officer authorized by the
community college district to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury
that | have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code.

| further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, for reimbursement
of costs claimed herein; and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source
documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount of this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer

Date Signed

Telephone Number

Email Address

Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signhatory

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Telephone Number

Email Address

Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number

Email Address

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/16)
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PROGRAM ENROLLMENT FEE COLLECTION AND WAIVERS
267 CLAIM FOR PAYMENT Lo
INSTRUCTIONS
(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’'s Office.
(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code.

(03) to (08)
(09)
(10)
(11)

(12

(13)

14

(15)
(16)
17)
(18)
(19) to (21)

(22) to (36)

@7

(38)

Leave blank.

If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.

Not applicable.

If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.

Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.

Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (13). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum
claim must be $1,001.

Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by
February 15, or otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims
must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the
calculation formula as follows:

. Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or
e Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.
Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero.
Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13).
If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.
If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.
Leave blank.

Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g.,
Form 1, (04) A. a (f), means the information is located on Form 1, block (04), line A. a., column (f). Enter the information on the same
line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs
percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of
this data block will expedite the process.

Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by the agency’s authorized officer, type or print
name and title, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed
certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.)

Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address.

SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OHER FORMS TO:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: Address, if delivered by other delivery service:
Office of the State Controller Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Division of Accounting and Reporting Division of Accounting and Reporting

P.O. Box 942850 3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 94250 Sacramento, CA 95816

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/16)
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PROGRAM
ENROLLMENT FEE COLLECTION AND WAIVERS FORM

267 CLAIM SUMMARY 1

(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20__

(03) Leave blank.
Direct Costs Object Accounts

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) U]
Salaries Materials Contract Fixed Travel Total
and and Services Assets and
Benefits Supplies Training

(04) Reimbursable Activities

A. Enrollment Fee Collection

1. One-Time Activities

a. Prepare district policies &
procedures for § IV. A.
b. Staff training (One-time per
employee)
2. Ongoing Activities
a. Calculating and collecting
enrollment fees

B. Enrollment Fee Waivers

1. One-Time Activities

a. Prepare district policies &
procedures for § IV. B.

b. Staff training (One-time per
employee)
2. Ongoing Activities
a. Adopting procedures, recording,
and maintaining records
b. Waiving student fees

c. Reporting BOG fee waiver data to
CCC

(05) Total Direct Costs

Indirect Costs

(06) Indirect Cost Rate ] Federally approved rate OMB Circular A-21 [] FAM-20C [] Flat 7% %

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]

Cost Reduction

(09) Less: Enroliment Fee Collection Revenues

(10) Less: Enroliment Fee Waivers Revenues

(11) Less: Other Offsetting Revenues

(12) Less: Other Reimbursements

(13) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10) + line (11) + line (12)}]

Revised 07/16
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PROGRAM

267 CLAIM SUMMARY
INSTRUCTIONS 1

ENROLLMENT FEE COLLECTION AND WAIVERS FORM

(01)
(02)
(03)

(04)

(05)

(06)

(07)

(08)

(09)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

Enter the name of the claimant.
Enter the fiscal year of costs.
Leave blank.

For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h) to
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e) in the appropriate row. Total each row.

Total columns (a) through (f).

Community college districts may use the federally approved OMB Circular A-21 rate, the rate
computed using form FAM-29C, or a 7% indirect cost rate, for the fiscal year of costs. Mark the
applicable box for the option used. Form FAM-29C can be found in the Annual Manual for
Community Colleges available online at SCO’s website: www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. Submit
Form FAM-29C or the federally approved rate agreement with the claim.

Enter the result of multiplying the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06), by the applicable base used. The
Form FAM-29C indirect cost rate and the flat 7% indirect cost rates are applied to Salaries and
Benefits whereas the federally approved rate is applied to the allocation base used in developing
the federally approved rate.

Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).

Enter the amount if applicable. The amount should not exceed total enroliment fee collection costs
[sections A.1. and A.2., column (f)] and applicable indirect costs [line (7)].

Enter the amount if applicable. The amount should not exceed total enrollment fee waivers costs
[sections B.1. and B.2., column (f)] and applicable indirect costs [line (7)].

If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal
source.

If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.

From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Enrolilment Fee Collection
Revenues, line (09), Enrollment Fee Waivers Revenues, line (10), Other Offsetting Revenues, line
(11), and Other Reimbursements, line (12). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount
forward to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim.

Revised 07/16
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State Controller’s Office Community College Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM
ENROLLMENT FEE COLLECTION AND WAIVERS FORM

2 6 7 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2

(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20

(03) Reimbursable Activities: Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed.

One-Time Activities Ongoing Activities
A.1l. Enrollment Fee Collection A. 2. Enrollment Fee Collection
|:| a. Prepare district policies & procedures for § IV.A. |:| a. Calculating and collecting enrollment fees
|:| b. Staff training (One-time per employee) B. 2. Enrollment Fee Waivers
B 1. Enrollment Eee Waivers |:| a. Adopting procedures, recording, and maintaining
records
|:| a. Prepare district policies & procedures for § IV.B. |:| b. Waiving student fees
|:| b. Staff training (One-time per employee) |:| c. Reporting BOG fee waiver data to CCC
(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts
@) (b) (© (d) (e) ® () (h)
Employee Names, Job Hourly Hours Salaries Materials Contract Fixed Travel
Classifications, Functions Performed Rate or | Worked or and and Services Assets and
and Description of Expenses Unit Cost | Quantity Benefits Supplies Training

(05) Total [_] Subtotal [ ] Page: _ of

Revised 07/16
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Community College Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM

267

FORM

2

ENROLLMENT FEE COLLECTION AND WAIVERS
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL
INSTRUCTIONS

(01) Enter the name of the claimant.

(02) Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred.

(03) Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity.

(04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To itemize
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, a brief
description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits,
supplies used, contract services, fixed assets, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions
required in column (04)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items
being claimed.

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after the
date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no
payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the State Controller's Office (SCO) to
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to
support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to the
SCO on request.
Submit
Object Columns supporting
ocuments
Accounts ith the
@ ®) ©) C) © 0 © h) with.
claim
Salaries =
Salaries Employee Hourly Hours Hourly Rate
Name and Title Rate Worked x Hours
and Worked
Benefits Benefit Benefits =
Activities Rate Benefit Rate
Performed x Salaries
. P Cost =
Ma;c;raals Desc(;lfptlon Unit Quantity Unit Cost
] . Cost Used X Quantity
Supplies Supplies Used Used
Name of Cost=Hourly
Hours Worked Copy of
Contract Contractor Hourly and Rate x Hours Contract
p and - Worked or
Services Specif Rate Inclusive Dates and
pecific Tasks - Total Contract .
of Service Invoices
Performed Cost
- _ Copy of
Fixed DESC(lptlon:)f Unit Cost U T (t.‘,ols(t:— N Contract
Assets Pqulpmen X Quantity sage otar £.0s and
urchased x Usage b
Invoices
Purpose of
Trip, Name Per Diem
Travel and Title, Rate, Days, Total Travel
Destination, Mileage Rate, Miles, and Cost = Rate x
Departure and Travel Mode Days or Miles
and Date, and Travel Cost
Return Date
Training Employee
Name and Title Dates Registration
and Attended Fee
Classification
(05) Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to

indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs,
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row.

Revised 07/16
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