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FOREWORD 
This manual is issued to assist claimants in preparing mandated cost claims for submission to 
the State Controller’s Office. The information contained in this manual is based on the State of 
California’s statutes, regulations, and the parameters and guidelines (Ps & Gs) adopted by the 
Commission on State Mandates. As each mandate is unique, it is imperative that claimants refer 
to the claiming instructions and Ps & Gs of each program for updated data on established 
policies, procedures, eligible reimbursable activities, and revised forms.  

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the following address: 

State Controller’s Office 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850  
Sacramento, CA 94250 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Prepared by the State Controller’s Office 
Revised July 1, 2015 
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APPROPRIATIONS INFORMATION 
 

1. Appropriations for Payment of Mandate Claims for Fiscal Years 2004-05 through 2013-14 
Source of State Mandated Cost Appropriations – Budget Act of 2015 (Ch. 10/15) 
Item 8885-295-0001 (1) 

 
Amount 

Appropriated 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number 

Program Name $44,447,000 

      
 152 697/92 (a) Allocation of Property Tax Revenues        530,000 
 262 1022/99 (b) Crime Victim’s Domestic Violence Incident 

Reports 
178,000 

 13 1399/76 (c) Custody of Minors-Child Abduction and 
Recovery 

  12,216,000 

 167 246/95 (d) Domestic Violence Arrest Policies     7,481,000 
 274 698/98 (e) Domestic Violence Arrests and Victims 

Assistance 
1,467,000 

 177 183/92 (f) Domestic Violence Treatment Services     2,082,000 
 197 1120/96 (g) Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers 

and Firefighters 
1,816,000 

 43 102/81, 
1163/81 

(h) Medi-Cal Beneficiary Death Notices          10,000 

 264 630/78 (i)  Peace Officer Personnel Records:  Unfounded 
Complaints and Discovery 

704,000 

 127 999/91 (j) Rape Victims Counseling        351,000 
 175 762/95, 

763/95 
(k) Sexually Violent Predators   7,140,000 

 163 1249/92 (l) Threats Against Peace Officers          3,000 
 90 921/87 (m) Unitary Countywide Tax Rates        260,000 
 334 700/05 (n) Local Agency Ethics 36,000 
 345 676/93 (o) Tuberculosis Control 8,000 
 359 162/03 (p) Accounting for Local Revenue Realignments 218,000 
 353 463/92 (q) California Public Records Act 9,674,000 
 361 657/06 (r)  Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders 28,000 
 360 336/06, 

337/06, 
886/06 

(s) State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for 
Sex Offenders 

245,000 

 
For payment of mandate claims for Fiscal Years 2005-06 through 2013-14 
Item 8885-295-0001 (2)  
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute Program Name Amount 

Appropriated 
     
 187 675/90 Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights  $0 
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1. Appropriations for Payment of Mandate Claims (Continued)     
 Source of State Mandated Cost Appropriations – Budget Act of 2015 (Chapter 10/15) 
 For payment of mandate claims for Fiscal Years 2002-03 through 2013-14 
 Item 8885-295-0001 (3)  
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute Program Name Amount 

Appropriated 
  

 356 465/76 Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights II $0 

     

For payment of mandate claims for Fiscal Years 2001-02 through 2013-14: 
Item 8885-295-0001 (4)  
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute Program Name Amount 

Appropriated 
     
 298 901/00 Local Government Employee Relations $0 
     

For payment of the following mandate claims for Fiscal Year 2013-14: 
Item 8885-295-0044, Department of Motor Vehicles  
 

 
Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute 

Schedule 
Number Program Name Amount 

Appropriated 
      

 246 1460/89 (1) Administrative License Suspension, Per Se $2,604,000 
      

For payment of the following mandate claims for Fiscal Year 2013-14: 
Item 8885-295-0106, Department of Pesticide Regulation  
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute 

Schedule 
Number Program Name Amount 

Appropriated 
     
 121 1200/89 (1) Pesticide Use Reports $33,000 

 
2. Reimbursable State Mandated Cost Programs for the 2014-15 Fiscal Year 

Local agencies may file claims with the SCO for the costs incurred for the following programs.  
These programs are listed in alphabetical order by program name.  
 

 Program 
Number Program Name Counties Cities Special 

Districts 

 359 Accounting for Local Revenue Realignments x x  
 246 Administrative License Suspension – Per Se x x  
 152 Allocation of Property Tax Revenues x   
 90 Countywide Tax Rates  x   
 262 Crime Victim’s Domestic Violence  Incident Reports x x  
 13 Custody of Minors-Child Abduction and Recovery x   
 167 Domestic Violence Arrest Policies and Standards x x  
 274 Domestic Violence Arrests and Victim Assistance x x  
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2. Reimbursable State Mandated Cost Programs for the 2014-15 Fiscal Year (Continued) 
 

 
Program 
Number 

Program Name Counties Cities 
Special 
Districts 

 177 Domestic Violence Treatment Services – Authorization 
and Case Management 

x   

 197 Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers and 
Firefighters 

x x x 

 358 Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect (ICAN) 
Investigation Reports 

x x  

 334 Local Agency Ethics x  x 

 259 Local Elections:  Consolidation x   

 298 Local Government Employee Relations x x x 

 43 Medi-Cal Beneficiary Probate x   

 361 Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders x   

 264 Peace Officers Personnel Records:  Unfounded 
Complaints and Discovery 

x x  

 187 Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights x x x 

 356 Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights II x x x 

 121 Pesticide Use Reports x x  

 127 Rape Victims Counseling Center Notice x x  

 175 Sexually Violent Predators x   

 360 State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 
Offenders (SARATSO) 

x x  

 163 Threats Against Peace Officers x x x 

 345 Tuberculosis Control x x  

 
3. Programs in the State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS) 
 

 
Program 
Number 

Chapter/  
Statute(s) 

Program Name 

     
 67 1304/80 Conservatorship: Developmentally Disabled Adults 

 88 498/77 Coroners Costs 

 66 1253/80 Mentally Retarded Defendants: Diversion 

 18 1242/77 Senior Citizens Property Tax Postponement 

 
4. Suspended Mandates for the 2014-15 Fiscal Year1 

The following programs were identified in the Budget Act of 2014 (Ch. 25/14) as suspended: 

Item 8885-295-0001 (3) 

 

 
Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number 

Program Name 

     

 2 77/78 (a) Absentee Ballots 

 248 697/99 (b) Absentee Ballots – Tabulation by Precinct 

     

                                                      
1Pursuant to Ch. 32/12 (SB 1006), all programs suspended for the 2012-13 fiscal year shall also be suspended in the 2013-14 and 2014-15 fiscal 
years.  
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4. Suspended Mandates for the 2014-15 Fiscal Year (Continued) 
Item 8885-295-0001 (3) 
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number Program Name 

    
 3 1123/77 (c) Adult Felony Restitution 
 73 1088/88 (d) AIDS/Search Warrant 
 178 644/94 (e) Airport Land Use Commission/Plans 
 213 752/98 (f) Animal Adoption 
 6 391/88 (g) Brendon Maguire Act 
 67 1304/80 (h) Conservatorship: Developmentally Disabled Adults 
 88 498/77 (i) Coroners’ Costs 
 310 1172/89 (j) Crime Statistics Reports for the Department of Justice 
 306 483/01 (k) Crime Victim’s Domestic Violence Incident Reports II 
 62 1032/80 (l) Deaf Teletype Equipment 
 87 694/75 (m) Developmentally Disabled Attorneys’ Services 
 266 822/00 (n) DNA Database & Amendments to Postmortem Examinations: 

Unidentified Bodies 
 322 713/01 (o) Domestic Violence Background Checks 
 15 1609/84 (p) Domestic Violence Information 
 205 444/97 (q)  Elder Abuse, Law Enforcement Training 
 204 267/98, 

546/84 
(r) Extended Commitment, Youth Authority 

 257 590/95 (s) False Reports of Police Misconduct 
 290 899/00 (t) Fifteen-Day Close of Voter Registration 

 293 578/99 (u) Firearm Hearings for Discharged Inpatients 

 227 1170/96 (v) Grand Jury Proceedings 
 28 494/79 (w) Handicapped Voter Access Information 
 321 956/00 (x) Identity Theft 
 289 445/00, 

90/99 
(y) In-Home Supportive Services II 

 126 1579/88 (z) Inmate AIDS Testing 
 35 644/80 (aa) Judiciary Proceedings 
 193 126/93 (bb) Law Enforcement Sexual Harassment Training 
 37 1330/76 (dd) Local Coastal Program 

 3181 890/04, 
486/75 

(ee), (ff) Mandate Reimbursement Process I and II 

 281 1419/85 (gg) Mentally Disordered Offenders: Treatment as a Condition of 
Parole 

 203 1418/85 (hh) Mentally Disordered Offenders’ Extended Commitments 
Proceedings 

 39 1036/78 (ii) Mentally Disordered Sex Offenders’ Recommitments 
 66 1253/80 (jj) Mentally Retarded Defendants Representation 
 81 1456/88 (kk) Missing Persons Report 

                                                      
1 The suspension of Mandate Reimbursement Process I (MRP I) and Mandate Reimbursement Process II (MRP II) includes the suspension of 

Mandate Reimbursement Process I and II, Program 318.  
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4. Suspended Mandates for the 2014-15 Fiscal Year (Continued) 
Item 8885-295-0001 (3) 
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number Program Name 

     
 323 898/00 (ll) Modified Primary Election 
 200 1114/79 (mm) Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity 
 219 641/86 (nn) Open Meetings Act/Brown Act Reform 
 122 961/92 (oo) Pacific Beach Safety: Water Quality and Closures 
 124 1603/90 (pp) Perinatal Services 

 324 922/01 (qq) Permanent Absent Voters II 
 24 Title 8 (rr) Personal Safety Alarm Devices 
 215 875/85 (ss) Photographic Record of Evidence 
 8 1334/87 (tt) CPR Pocket Masks 
 279 821/00 (uu) Post Conviction: DNA Court Proceedings 
 255 284/00 (vv) Postmortem Examinations: Unidentified Bodies, Human 

Remains 
 128 820/91 (xx) Prisoner Parental Rights 
 18 1242/77 (yy) Senior Citizens Property Tax Postponement 
 220 502/92 (zz) Sex Crime Confidentiality 
 217 908/96 (aaa) Sex Offenders: Disclosure by Law Enforcement Officers 
 110 955/89 (bbb) SIDS Autopsies 

 125 268/91 (ccc) SIDS Contacts by Local Health Officers 
 180 1111/89 (ddd) SIDS Training for Firefighters 
 120 337/90 (eee) Stolen Vehicle Notification 

 64 Title 8 (fff) Structural and Wildland Firefighter Safety Clothing and 
Equipment 

 181 1188/92 (hhh) Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones 
 71 332/81 (iii) Victims’ Statements-Minors 
 331 260/00 (jjj) Voter Identification Procedures 
 56 704/75 (kkk) Voter Registration Procedures 

 
5. Suspended Mandates for the 2015-16 Fiscal Year 

The following programs have been identified in the Budget Act of 2015 (Ch. 10/15) as suspended:  
Item 8885-295-0001 (3) 
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number Program Name 

     
 2 77/78 (a) Absentee Ballots 
 248 697/99 (b) Absentee Ballots- Tabulation by Precinct 
 73 1088/88 (c) AIDS/Search Warrant 
 178 644/94 (d) Airport Land Use Commission/Plans 
 213 752/98 (e) Animal Adoption 
 6 391/88 (f) Brendon Maguire Act 
 67 1304/80 (g) Conservatorship: Developmentally Disabled Adults 
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5. Suspended Mandates for the 2015-16 Fiscal Year (Continued)  
Item 8885-295-0001 (3) 

 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number Program Number 

     
 88 498/77 (h) Coroners’ Costs 

 310 1172/89 (i) Crime Statistics Reports for the Department of Justice 
 306 483/01 (j) Crime Victims’ Domestic Violence Incident Reports II 
 87 694/75 (k) Developmentally Disabled Attorneys’ Services 
 266 822/00 (l) DNA Database & Amendments to Postmortem Examinations: 

Unidentified Bodies 
 322 713/01 (m) Domestic Violence Background Checks 
 15 1609/84 (n) Domestic Violence Information 

 205 444/97 (o)  Elder Abuse, Law Enforcement Training 
 204 267/98, 

546/84 
(p) Extended Commitment, Youth Authority 

 257 590/95 (q) False Reports of Police Misconduct 
 293 578/99 (r) Firearm Hearings for Discharged Inpatients 
 227 1170/96 (s) Grand Jury Proceedings 
 358 958/77 (t) Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation Reports 
 321 956/00 (u) Identity Theft 

 289 445/00, 
90/99 

(v) In-Home Supportive Services II 

 126 1579/88 (w) Inmate AIDS Testing 
 35 644/80 (x) Judiciary Proceedings 

 193 126/93 (y) Law Enforcement Sexual Harassment Training 
 37 1330/76 (z) Local Coastal Plans 
 3181 486/75,

890/04 
(aa), (bb) Mandate Reimbursement Process I and II 

 281 228/89 (cc) Mentally Disordered Offenders: Treatment as a Condition of 
Parole 

 203 435/91 (dd) Mentally Disordered Offenders’ Extended Commitments 
Proceedings 

 39 1036/78 (ee) Mentally Disordered Sex Offenders’ Recommitments 
 66 1253/80 (ff) Mentally Retarded Defendants Representation 
 81 1456/88 (gg) Missing Persons Report 
 323 898/00 (hh) Modified Primary Election 

 200 1114/79 (ii) Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity 

 219 641/86 (jj) Open Meetings Act/Brown Act Reform 
 122 961/92 (kk) Pacific Beach Safety: Water Quality and Closures 
 124 1603/90 (ll) Perinatal Services 
 324 922/01 (mm) Permanent Absent Voters II 
 24 Title 8 (nn) Personal Safety Alarm Devices 

                                                      
1 The suspension of Mandate Reimbursement Process I (MRP I) and Mandate Reimbursement Process II (MRP II) includes the suspension of 

Mandate Reimbursement Process I and II, Program 318.  
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5. Suspended Mandates for the 2015-16 Fiscal Year (Continued)  
Item 8885-295-0001 (3) 
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Schedule 
Number Program Number 

     
 215 875/85 (oo) Photographic Record of Evidence 
 8 1334/87 (pp) CPR Pocket Masks 
 279 943/01, 

821/00 
(qq) Post Conviction: DNA Court Proceedings 

 255 284/00 (rr) Postmortem Examinations: Unidentified Bodies, Human 
Remains 

 128 820/91 (ss) Prisoner Parental Rights 
 18 1242/77 (tt) Senior Citizens Property Tax Postponement 
 220 502/92 (uu) Sex Crime Confidentiality 

 217 908/96 (vv) Sex Offenders: Disclosure by Law Enforcement Officers 
 110 955/89 (ww) SIDS Autopsies 
 125 268/91 (xx) SIDS Contacts by Local Health Officers 

 180 1111/89 (yy) SIDS Training for Firefighters 
 120 337/90 (zz) Stolen Vehicle Notification 
 64 Title 8 (aaa) Structural and Wildland Firefighter Safety Clothing and 

Equipment 
 181 1188/92 (bbb) Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones 
 331 260/00 (ccc) Voter Identification Procedures 
 56 704/75 (ddd) Voter Registration Procedures 

 
6. Programs Set Aside by the Commission on State Mandates 

  (For programs set aside, claims will not be accepted by the SCO for the 2014-15 fiscal year.) 
 

 Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) Program Name 

 
On September 27, 2005, the Commission on State Mandates adopted a special notice to set aside the 
following programs: 

   
  207 156/96 County Treasury Oversight Committees 
  138 1105/92 Misdemeanors:  Booking and Fingerprinting 
    82 1051/83 Mobilehome Property Tax Deferral Program 
    28 494/79 Physically Handicapped Voter Accessibility 
   222 18/99 Presidential Primaries 
     52 48/87 Property Tax:  Family Transfers 
   245 39/98 Redevelopment Agencies:  Tax Disbursement Reporting 
   174 1297/94 Two-Way Traffic Signal Communications 

Effective September 29, 2004, the following program has been set aside pursuant to Ch. 889/04  
(AB 2853): 

 
  161 783/95 Investment Reports 
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7.  Programs Canceled by the Commission on State Mandates 

(For canceled programs, claims will not be accepted by the SCO for the 2014-15 fiscal year.) 
 

 
Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Program Name 

    
     551 1143/80 Regional Housing Needs Determination 

     232 1568/82 Firefighters’ Cancer Presumption 
   1185 1171/89 Peace Officers’ Cancer Presumption 

 
8.  Programs that are Eliminated, Repealed, Permissive, or Consolidated 

(For eliminated, repealed, permissive, or consolidated programs, claims will not be accepted by the SCO for 
the 2014-15 fiscal year.) 
 

 
Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Program Name 

    
 2833 993/89 Fire Safety Inspections of Care Facilities 

 2734 1747/84 Handicapped and Disabled Students (HDS), HDSII and Seriously 
Emotionally Disturbed Pupils: Out-of-State Mental Health Services 

 3005 761/00 Local Agency Formation Commissions 

 2856 777/01 Local Recreational Areas: Background Screenings 
 217 845/78 Filipino Employee Survey 

 838 1422/82 Permanent Absentee Voters 

 419 486/75 Mandate Reimbursement Process I 

 3155 890/04 Mandate Reimbursement Process II 

 
9. Programs that Ended 

(For programs that have ended, claims will not be accepted by the SCO for the 2014-15 fiscal year.) 
 

 
Program 
Number 

Chapter/ 
Statute(s) 

Program Name 

    
 35310 463/92 California Public Records Act 

 21911 641/86 Open Meetings Act/Brown Act Reform 

 36312 Title 2 Post Election Manual Tally 

 31413 N/A Municipal Storm Water and Urban Runoff Discharges 

                                                      
1 This program has been canceled by the Commission on State Mandates, pursuant to Ch. 227/04 (SB 1102), effective 08/16/2004. 
2 These programs have been canceled by the Commission on State Mandates, pursuant to Ch. 78/06, effective 07/01/2008.  
3 Reimbursement for this program ended, pursuant to Ch. 12/09 (ABX4 12), effective 07/28/2009. 
4 This program has been eliminated for counties, and responsibility transferred to school districts, pursuant to Ch. 43/11 (AB 114), effective 

7/01/2011. 
5 This program was revised to make the reimbursable activities permissive, pursuant to Ch. 31/11 (AB 119), effective 06/29/2011. 
6 Pursuant to Ch. 719/10 (SB 856), reimbursement was eliminated for this program by enacting a fee authority for local governments. 
7 Effective fiscal year 2012-13, this program is repealed, pursuant to Ch. 32/12 (SB 1006). 
8 On 12/01/2011, the Parameters and Guidelines for the Permanent Absentee Voters I program were amended to end reimbursement for this program, 

effective 06/30/2010.  
9 On 05/26/ 2011, the Parameters and Guidelines for the Mandate Reimbursement Process I and Mandate Reimbursement Process II programs were 

consolidated, effective 06/30/2011. 
10 This program has ended, pursuant to Proposition 42, which amended Section 3 of Article I and Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California 

Constitution, effective 06/04/2014. 
11 This program has ended, pursuant to Proposition 30, which added Section 35, Article XIII to the California Constitution, effective 11/07/2012. 
12 This program had a reimbursable period of 10/20/2008 through 11/28/2008, late claims will be accepted through 04/28/2016. 
13 The period of reimbursement for costs incurred under this program ended on 12/28/2012. Pursuant to the Parameters and Guidelines adopted by the 

Commission on State Mandates on 03/14/2011, the reimbursable period ended once a new NPDES permit was adopted by the Regional Water 
Quality Control Board for Los Angeles. On 11/08/2012, a new NPDES permit (Order No. R4-2012-0175) was adopted, effective 12/28/2012. 
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 FILING A CLAIM 
 
1. Introduction 
 

Government Code (GC) sections 17500 through 17617 provide for the reimbursement of costs 
incurred by local agencies for costs mandated by the State. These are costs that local agencies are 
required to incur after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted after January 1, 1975, or any 
executive order implementing such statute which mandates a new program or higher level of 
service of an existing program. 
 
Reimbursement claims are defined as any claim filed with the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for 
reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the 
claim. All claims received by the SCO will be reviewed to verify all actual costs claimed. An 
adjustment of the claim will be made if the amount claimed is determined to be excessive, 
improper, or unreasonable.  
 
If a claimant is using an indirect cost rate that exceeds 10%, documentation to support the 
indirect cost rate must be submitted with the claim. A detailed explanation of the indirect cost 
methods available to local agencies can be found in Section 2, Filing a Claim, page 10, Indirect 
Costs. Documentation to support actual costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made 
available to the SCO upon request as explained in Section 2, Filing a Claim, page 20, Retention of 
Claim Records and Supporting Documentation. 
 
The SCO is authorized to make payments for costs of mandated programs from amounts 
appropriated by the State Budget Act, by the State Mandates Claims Fund, or by specific 
legislation. In the event the appropriation is insufficient to pay claims in full, claimants will receive 
prorated payments in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims for the program. Balances 
of prorated payments will be made when supplementary funds become available. 
 

2. Types of Claims 
 

Claimants may file a claim for reimbursement of actual costs incurred in prior fiscal years for a state 
mandated program. The types of claims, as defined in GC section 17522, are as follows:  
 
A. Initial Reimbursement Claim 

 
A claim filed with the Controller for costs to be reimbursed for the fiscal years specified in the 
first claiming instructions issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 17558. 
 

B. Annual Reimbursement Claim 
 

A claim filed with the Controller for actual costs incurred in a prior fiscal year for which 
appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. 
 

C. Entitlement Claim 
 

A claim filed with the Controller for the purpose of establishing or adjusting a base-year 
entitlement.  All entitlement claims are subject to GC section 17616.  
 

3. Minimum Claim Amount 
 
For initial claims and annual claims filed, if the total costs for a given year do not exceed $1,000, no 
reimbursement will be allowed except as otherwise authorized by GC section 17564. Combined 
claims may be filed only when the county is the fiscal agent for the local agency. The county will 
determine if the submission of a combined claim is economically feasible and will be responsible for 
disbursing the funds to each local agency. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs 
for each eligible local agency. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must be filed 
in the combined form only unless a special district provides to the county and to the Controller, at 
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least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim, a written notice of its intent to file a separate 
claim. 
 

4. Filing Deadline for Claims 
 

A. Initial Reimbursement Claims 
 

Each local agency, to which the mandate is applicable, shall submit claims for the costs of the 
initial fiscal years to the SCO within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming instructions, 
pursuant to GC section 17561(d)(1)(A). Any claim for initial reimbursement filed after the filing 
deadline will be reduced by 10% of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim 
been timely filed, with no limitation. The SCO may withhold payment of any late claim for initial 
reimbursement until the next payment deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are 
available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid. Amended initial claims 
filed after the deadline will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount of the initial costs, with 
no limitation. For the purpose of computing a late penalty, claims for all initial fiscal years 
required to be filed on their initial filing date for a program shall be considered as one claim. In 
no case may a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one year after the filing 
deadline specified in the SCO’s claiming instructions. 
 

B. Annual Reimbursement Claims 
 

 Each local agency must submit a claim to the SCO by February 15, unless otherwise specified 
in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred for the 
program. Claims for fiscal year 2014-15 will be accepted without a late penalty if postmarked or 
delivered on before the deadline. Claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late 
penalty of 10%, not to exceed $10,000. Amended claims filed after the deadline will be reduced 
by 10% of the increased amount, not to exceed $10,000. Claims filed more than one year after 
the deadline will not be accepted for reimbursement. 

 
C. Entitlement Claims 

 
When a mandated program has been included in the SMAS, the SCO will determine a base-
year entitlement amount for each local agency that has submitted reimbursement claims (or 
entitlement claims) for three consecutive fiscal years. An entitlement claim should not contain 
nonrecurring or initial start-up costs. There is no statutory deadline for the filing of entitlement 
claims. However, these claims should be filed by February 15 following the third fiscal year 
used to develop the entitlement claim, to permit an orderly processing of claims.  
 

5. Payment of Claims 
 

In order for the SCO to authorize the payment of a claim, the Certification of Claim, Form FAM-27, 
must be properly filled out, signed in blue ink, and dated by the agency’s authorized officer. 
Pursuant to GC section 17561(d), reimbursement claims are paid by October 15 or 60 days after 
the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. In the event the amount 
appropriated by the Legislature is not sufficient to pay the approved amount in full for a program, 
claimants will receive a prorated payment in proportion to the amount of approved claims timely 
filed and on hand at the time of proration. 
 
A. Initial Reimbursement Claims 

 
When paying a timely filed claim for initial reimbursement, the SCO shall withhold 20% of the 
amount of the claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs.  
Interest at the Pooled Money Investment Account (PMIA) rate begins to accrue when the 
payment is made more than 365 days after the adoption of the program’s statewide cost 
estimate.  
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B. Annual Reimbursement Claims 
 
A claimant is entitled to receive accrued interest at the PMIA rate for any unpaid subsequent 
claim amount remaining on August 15 following the filing deadline. Interest shall begin to 
accrue on August 16 following the filing deadline. 
 

C. Entitlement Claims  
 
Initial apportionments are made on an individual program basis. After the initial year, all 
apportionments are made by November 30. The amount to be apportioned is the base-year 
entitlement adjusted by annual changes in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD) for cost of goods 
and services to governmental agencies as determined by the Department of Finance (DOF). 
 
When the Controller has made a payment on claims prior to the Commission’s approval of the 
program for inclusion in the SMAS, the payment shall be adjusted in the next apportionment to 
the amount which would have been subvened to the local agency for that fiscal year had the 
SMAS been in effect at the time of the initial payment. 
 

The SCO reports the amounts of insufficient appropriations to the Director of the DOF, the 
Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective fiscal 
committee in each House of the Legislature. Any balances remaining on these claims will be paid if 
supplementary funds become available. 
 
Unless specified in the statutes, regulations, or Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs), the 
determination of allowable and unallowable costs for mandates is based on the Ps & Gs adopted by 
the CSM. Allowable costs are those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered 
eligible for reimbursement.  In order for costs to be allowable and thus eligible for reimbursement, 
the costs must meet the following general criteria:  
 
1.      The cost is necessary and reasonable for proper and efficient administration of the mandate 

and not a general expense required in carrying out the overall responsibilities of government; 
 

2.      The cost is allocable to a particular cost objective identified in the Ps & Gs; and 
 

3.      The cost is net of any applicable credits that offset or reduce expenses of items allocable to   
the mandate. 

 
The SCO has identified certain costs that should not be claimed as direct program costs unless 
specified as reimbursable under the program’s Ps & Gs.  These costs include, but are not limited to, 
subscriptions, depreciation, memberships, conferences, workshops, general education, and travel 
costs.  
 

6. State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS), GC sections 17615 – 17617  
 
Chapter 1534, Statutes of 1985, established the SMAS. It is the intent of the Legislature to 
streamline the reimbursement process for costs mandated by the State by creating a system of 
state mandate apportionments to fund the costs of certain programs mandated by the State. This 
method is utilized whenever a program has been approved for inclusion in the SMAS by the CSM. 
 
Once the CSM approves a mandate for inclusion in the SMAS, the SCO will determine a base-year 
entitlement amount for each local agency that has submitted reimbursement claims (or entitlement 
claims) for three consecutive fiscal years. A base-year entitlement amount is determined by 
averaging the approved reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for any three consecutive 
fiscal years. The amounts are first adjusted by any change in the IPD, which is applied separately 
to each year’s costs for the three years that comprise the base period. The base period is the three 
fiscal years succeeding the CSM’s approval. 
 
When the claims are approved and a base-year entitlement amount is determined, the claimant will 
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receive an apportionment reflective of the program’s current-year costs. The apportionment amount 
is adjusted annually for any change in the IPD. If the mandated program was included in the SMAS 
after January 1, 1988, the annual apportionment is adjusted for any change in both the IPD and the 
workload.  
 
The SCO will perform this computation for each claimant that has filed claims for three consecutive 
years. If a claimant has incurred costs for three consecutive years but has not filed a claim in each 
of those years, the claimant may file an entitlement claim, Form FAM-43, to establish a base-year 
entitlement. The Form FAM-43 is included in the claiming instructions for SMAS programs.  
 
If an SMAS program is discontinued or made permissive, the SCO shall determine the amount of 
the entitlement attributable to that mandate according to GC section 17615.6. If the program is 
modified or amended by the Legislature or an executive order and the modification or amendment 
significantly affects the program, as determined by the CSM, the program shall be removed from 
the SMAS and the payments reduced accordingly, pursuant to GC section 17615.7.  
 
In the event the CSM determines that the apportionment amount or base-year entitlement does not 
accurately reflect costs incurred by the local agency of all mandates upon which that apportionment 
is based, the CSM shall direct the SCO to adjust the apportionment as set forth in the GC section 
17615.8(c). 
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Listed below are state mandated local programs and counties that are entitled to receive automatic 
apportionments in those fiscal years in which the program is funded. 

 
Counties of: 

Ch. 498/77 
Coroners Costs 

Ch. 1242/77 
Senior Citizens
Property Tax 

Postponement 

Ch. 1253/80 
Mentally Retarded 

Defendants:  
Diversion 

Ch. 1304/80 
Conservatorship: 
Developmentally 
Disabled Adults 

Alameda  x x x 
Butte  x x x 

Calaveras  x x x 

Contra Costa  x x x 

El Dorado  x x x 

Fresno  x x x 

Humboldt  x x x 

Kern  x x x 

Lake  x x x 

Los Angeles x x x x 

Marin  x x x 

Mendocino  x x x 

Monterey  x x x 

Napa x x x x 

Nevada  x x x 

Orange x x x x 

Placer  x x x 

Plumas  x x x 

Riverside  x x x 

Sacramento  x x x 

San Bernardino x x x x 

San Diego  x x x 

San Francisco  x x x 

San Joaquin x x   

San Luis Obispo x x x x 

San Mateo  x x x 

Santa Barbara  x x x 

Santa Clara x x x x 

Santa Cruz  x x x 

Shasta  x x x 

Solano  x x x 

Sonoma x x x x 

Stanislaus  x x x 

Tulare x x x x 

Tuolumne  x   

Ventura x x x x 

Yolo  x x x 

Yuba  x   
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7. Direct Costs 
 
A direct cost is a cost that can be identified specifically with a particular program or activity. 
Documentation to support direct costs must be kept on hand, unless otherwise specified in the 
claiming instructions, and made available to the SCO on request. 
 
It is the responsibility of the claimant to maintain documentation in the form of general and 
subsidiary ledgers, purchase orders, invoices, contracts, canceled warrants, equipment usage 
records, land deeds, receipts, employee time sheets, agency travel guidelines, inventory records, 
and other relevant documents to support claimed costs. The type of documentation necessary for 
each claim may differ with the type of mandate.  
 
Costs typically classified as direct costs are: 
 
(1) Employee Wages, Salaries, and Fringe Benefits 

 
For each of the mandated activities performed, the claimant must list the names of the 
employees who worked on the mandate, their job classification, hours worked on the mandate, 
and rate of pay. The claimant may use a productive hourly rate in lieu of reporting actual 
compensation and fringe benefits: 
 
(a) Productive Hourly Rate Options 
 

A local agency may use one of the following methods to compute productive hourly rates: 
 
 Actual annual productive hours for each employee; 
 The weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title; or 
 1,800* annual productive hours for all employees. 

 
If actual annual productive hours or weighted-average annual productive hours for each 
job title is chosen, the claimant must maintain documentation of how these hours were 
computed.   

 
  * 1,800 annual productive hours excludes the following employee time: 
 

 Paid holidays; 
 Vacation earned; 
 Sick leave taken; 
 Informal time off; 
 Jury duty; and  
 Military leave taken. 

 
(b) Compute a Productive Hourly Rate 
 

1. Compute a productive hourly rate for salaried employees to include actual fringe 
benefit costs. The methodology for converting a salary to a productive hourly rate is 
to compute the employee's annual salary and fringe benefits and divide by the annual 
productive hours.  
 
Table 1:  Productive Hourly Rate, Annual Salary + Benefits Method 

Formula: Description: 

[(EAS + Benefits) ÷ APH] = PHR EAS = Employee's Annual Salary 

 APH = Annual Productive Hours 

[($26,000 + $8,099)] ÷ 1,800 hrs = 18.94 PHR = Productive Hourly Rate 
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As illustrated in Table 1, if you assume an employee's compensation was $26,000 
and $8,099 for annual salary and fringe benefits, respectively, using the Salary + 
Benefits Method would yield a productive hourly rate of $18.94. To convert a 
biweekly salary to annual salary, multiply the biweekly salary by 26. To convert a 
monthly salary to annual salary, multiply the monthly salary by 12. Use the same 
methodology to convert other salary periods. 

 
2. A claimant may also compute the productive hourly rate by using the Percent of 

Salary Method. 
 
Table 2:  Productive Hourly Rate, Percent of Salary Method 

Example:    

Step 1: Benefits as a Percent of Salary Step 2:  Productive Hourly Rate 

Retirement 15.00 % Formula: 

Social Security & Medicare  7.65 [(EAS x (1 + BR)) ÷ APH] = PHR 

Health & Dental Insurance  5.25 

Workers Compensation  3.25 [($26,000 x (1.3115)) ÷ 1,800 ] = $18.94 

Total 31.15 % 

Description:    

EAS = Employee's Annual Salary  APH = Annual Productive Hours 

BR = Benefit Rate   PHR = Productive Hourly Rate 

 
As illustrated in Table 1 and Table 2, both methods produce the same productive 
hourly rate. 
 
Reimbursement for personnel services includes, but is not limited to, compensation 
paid for salaries, wages and employee fringe benefits. Employee fringe benefits 
include employer's contributions for social security, pension plans, insurance, 
worker's compensation insurance, and similar payments. These benefits are eligible 
for reimbursement as long as they are distributed equitably to all activities. Whether 
these costs are allowable is based on the following presumptions: 

 
 The amount of compensation is reasonable for the service rendered; 
 
 The compensation paid and benefits received are appropriately authorized by the 

governing board; 
 

 Amounts charged for personnel services are based on payroll documents that 
are supported by time and attendance or equivalent records for individual 
employees; and 

 
 The methods used to distribute personnel services produce an equitable 

distribution of direct and indirect allowable costs. 
 

For each of the employees included in the claim, the claimant must use reasonable 
rates and hours in computing the wage cost. If a person of a higher-level job position 
performs an activity which normally would be performed by a lower-level position, 
reimbursement for time spent is allowable at the average salary range for the lower-
level position. The salary rate of the person at the higher-level position may be 
claimed if it can be shown that it was more cost effective in comparison to the 
performance by a person at the lower-level position under normal circumstances and 
conditions. The number of hours charged to an activity should reflect the time 
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expected to complete the activity under normal circumstances and conditions. The 
number of hours in excess of normal expected hours is not reimbursable.  

  
(c) Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate 

 
Those instances for which the claiming instructions allow a unit as a basis of claiming 
costs, the direct labor component of the unit cost should be expressed as an average 
productive hourly rate and can be determined as follows: 
 
Table 3:  Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate  

 Time 
Spent 

 Productive 
Hourly Rate 

      Total Cost 
       by Employee 

 Employee A  1.25 hrs    $6.00     $7.50 

 Employee B  0.75 hrs    4.50     $3.38 

 Employee C  3.50 hrs    10.00   $35.00 

 Total  5.50 hrs             $45.88 

Average Productive Hourly Rate is $45.88 ÷ 5.50 hrs. = $8.34 

 
(d) Employer's Benefits Contribution 

 
A local agency has the option of claiming actual employer's fringe benefit contributions or 
computing an average fringe benefit cost for the employee's job classification and 
claiming it as a percentage of direct labor. The same time base should be used for both 
salary and fringe benefits when computing a percentage. For example, if health and 
dental insurance payments are made annually, use an annual salary. After the 
percentage of salary for each fringe benefit is computed, total them.   
 
For example: 
 
Employer's Contribution  % to Salary 

Retirement  15.00 

Social Security  7.65 

Health and Dental 
Insurance 

 5.25 

Worker's Compensation  0.75 

Total  28.65% 

 
(2) Materials and Supplies 

 
Only actual expenses may be claimed for materials and supplies that were acquired and 
consumed specifically for the purpose of a mandated program. The claimant must list the 
materials and supplies that were used to perform the mandated activity, the number of units 
consumed, the cost per unit, and the total dollar amount claimed. Materials and supplies 
purchased to perform a particular mandated activity should be reasonable in quality, quantity, 
and cost. Purchases in excess of reasonable quality, quantity, and cost are not reimbursable. 
Materials and supplies withdrawn from inventory and charged to the mandated activity must be 
based on a recognized method of pricing, consistently applied. Purchases must be claimed at 
the actual price after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by local agencies. 
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(a) Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies 
 
In those instances for which the P’s & G’s suggest that a unit cost be developed for use as 
a basis of claiming costs mandated by the State, the materials and supplies component of 
the unit cost should be expressed as a unit cost of materials and supplies as shown in 
Table 4 or Table 5: 
 
Table 4:  Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies 
 

Supplies Cost Per Unit  

Amount of  
Supplies Used  

Per Activity  

Unit Cost 
of Supplies 
Per Activity 

Paper 0.02   4   $0.08

Files 0.10   1   0.10

Envelopes 0.03   2   0.06

Photocopies 0.10   4     0.40

      $0.64

 

 
Table 5:  Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies 
 

Supplies 
Supplies 

Used  

Unit Cost 
of Supplies 
 Per Activity 

Paper ($10.00 for 500 sheet ream)  250 Sheets     $5.00  

Files ($2.50 for box of 25)  10 Folders       1.00  

Envelopes ($3.00 for box of 100)  50 Envelopes       1.50  

Photocopies ($0.05 per copy)  40 Copies       2.00  

      $9.50  

If the number of reimbursable instances is 25, then the unit cost of supplies is $0.38 per 
reimbursable instance ($9.50 ÷ 25). 

 
(3) Contract Services 

 
The cost of contract services is allowable if the local agency lacks the staff resources or 
necessary expertise, or it is economically feasible to hire a contractor to perform the mandated 
activity. The claimant must keep documentation on hand to support the name of the contractor, 
the reason for hiring a contractor, the mandated activities performed, the dates the activities 
were performed, the number of hours spent performing the mandate, the hourly billing rate, and 
the total cost. The hourly billing rate must not exceed the rate specified in the Ps & Gs for the 
mandated program. The contractor's invoice or statement must include an itemized list of costs 
for activities performed. A copy of the contract must be included with the submitted claim. 

 
(4) Equipment Rental Costs 

 
Equipment purchases and leases (with an option to purchase) are not reimbursable as a direct 
cost unless specifically allowed by the Ps & Gs for the particular mandate. Equipment rentals 
used solely for the mandate are reimbursable to the extent that such costs do not exceed the 
retail purchase price of the equipment plus a finance charge. The claimant must maintain 
documentation to support the purpose and use of the equipment, the time period for which the 
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equipment was rented, and the total cost of the rental. If the equipment is used for purposes 
other than reimbursable activities, only the pro rata portion of the rental costs may be claimed.   
 

(5) Fixed Assets 
 
Capital outlay for land, buildings, equipment, furniture, and fixtures may be claimed if the Ps & 
Gs specify them as allowable. If they are allowable, the Ps & Gs for the program will specify a 
basis for the reimbursement. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes other 
than reimbursable activities for a specific mandate, only the pro rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities may be claimed.   
 

(6) Travel Expenses 
 
Travel expenses are normally reimbursable in accordance with the travel rules and regulations 
of the local jurisdiction. For some programs, however, the P’s & G’s may specify certain 
limitations on expenses, or that expenses may be reimbursed only in accordance with the 
Department of Human Resources travel standards. When claiming travel expenses, the 
claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose of the trip, the names and 
addresses of the persons incurring the expense, the date and time of departure and return, a 
description of each expense claimed, the cost of transportation, the number of private auto 
miles traveled, and the cost of tolls and parking. Receipts are required for charges over $10.00.  
  

(7) Documentation 
 
It is the responsibility of the claimant to make available to the SCO, upon request, 
documentation in the form of general and subsidiary ledgers, purchase orders, invoices, 
contracts, canceled warrants, equipment usage records, land deeds, receipts, employee time 
sheets, agency travel guidelines, inventory records, and other relevant documents to support 
claimed costs. The type of documentation necessary for each claim may differ with the type of 
mandate. 
 

8. Indirect Costs 
 
Indirect costs are (a) Incurred for a common or joint purpose benefiting more than one cost 
objective, and (b) not readily assignable to the cost objectives specifically benefited without effort 
disproportionate to the results achieved. Indirect costs can originate in the department performing 
the mandate or in departments that supply the department performing the mandate with goods, 
services, and facilities. To be allowable, a cost must be allocable to a particular cost objective. 
Indirect costs must be distributed to benefiting cost objectives on bases, which produce an 
equitable result, related to the benefits derived by the mandate. 
 
Previously, the costs of elected officials were considered expenses related to general government 
and, thus, were unallowable for reimbursement purposes. Recent interpretation has moved in the 
opposite direction, except for those items of cost that are unallowable in the cost principles set forth 
in Office of Management and Budget Circular (OMB) Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 
200 et al., formerly OMB Circular A-87, Cost Principles for State, Local, and Indian Tribal 
Governments  A cost that is necessary for proper and efficient administration of a program and is 
identifiable to that program is eligible for consideration as an allocable indirect cost. Allocable costs 
for time spent on programs must be supported by time record. 
 
Local agencies have the option of using 10% of direct labor as indirect costs or claiming indirect 
costs through a department’s Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) for the program, prepared in 
accordance with the provisions of OMB Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. An 
ICRP must be prepared if the claim for indirect costs is in excess of 10% of direct salaries and the 
ICRP must be submitted with the claim. 
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A. Fixed 10% Rate Method 
 
Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits.  The 
use of the 10% rate may benefit small agencies for which it is inefficient to prepare an ICRP.  
 

 
Direct Costs Incurred By:  On Behalf of: 

 

 
Auditor 

 Welfare 
Administration 

 Health 
Department 

 Warrant Writing:       

 A. Salary of employee working   $5,000   $1,000  

 B. Benefits of above    800    200  

 C. Cost of paper    350    100  

 D. First-line supervision (salaries)    3,000    500  

 E. Indirect cost 10% of A + D     800    150   

 Total amount charged to benefited departments for 
warrant writing services 

$9,950 $1,950

    

  
Direct Costs Incurred By: On Behalf of: 

 
Building & Grounds Department 

Welfare 
Administration  

Health 
Department 

 Maintenance of Buildings:      

 A. Salary of employees performing 
maintenance 

$1,000    $500 

 B. Benefits of above 200    100 

 C. Cleaning supplies 250    150 

 D. First-line supervision (salaries) 500    200 

 E. Indirect cost 10% of A + D 150         70 

 Total amount charged to benefited departments for 
building maintenance services 

$2,100                    $1,020 

 
Any local agency using this method for claiming costs must submit a statement similar to the 
example above and with supporting data. The cost data required for desk audit purposes are 
described in the claiming instructions for that mandated program under Salaries and Employee 
Benefits, Materials and Supplies, Contract Services, Travel Expenses, etc. 

 
B. Indirect Cost Rate Proposal Method 

 
If a local agency elects not to utilize the 10% fixed rate method but wants to claim indirect 
costs, it must prepare an ICRP for the program. The proposal must follow the provisions of the 
OMB Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al., formerly OMB Circular A-87, 
Cost Principles for State, Local, and Indian Tribal Governments. The development of the 
indirect cost rate proposal requires that the indirect cost pool include only those costs which are 
incurred for a common or joint purpose that benefit more than one cost objective. The indirect 
cost pool may include only costs that can be shown to provide benefits to the program. In 
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addition, total allocable indirect costs may include only costs that cannot be directly charged to 
an identifiable cost center (i.e., program). 
 
A method for preparing a departmental indirect cost rate proposal for programs is presented as 
Table 6. Only this format is acceptable under the SCO reimbursement requirements. If more 
than one department is involved in the reimbursement program, each department must have its 
own indirect cost rate proposal for the program. 
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Table 6:                                                                                              INDIRECT COST RATE PROPOSAL 
PUBLIC DEFENDER’S OFFICE INVESTIGATION PROGRAM 

FISCAL YEAR 20___-20___ 
 

    (b)  (c)  (d)  Identifiable Program Costs 

(a) Description of Costs  
Total 
Costs  

Excludable 
Unallowable 

Costs  

Allowable 
Indirect 
Costs  

Allowable 
Direct 
Costs  

Investigation
PC 987.9  All Others 

Salaries & Benefits      
 Salaries & Wages   $ 1,150,000) $ 50,000) (f) $ 150,000) $ 950,000) (f) $ 100,000) $ 850,000) 
 Overtime    20,000) 0) 20,000) 0) 0) 0) 
 Benefits    230,000) 10,000) 30,000) 190,000) 20,000) 170,000) 
  Total   $ 1,400,000) $ 60,000) $ 200,000) $ 1,140,000) $ 120,000) $ 1,020,000) 
        

Services & Supplies      
 Office Expense   $ 200,000) $ 10,000) $ 20,000) $ 170,000) $ 10,000) $ 160,000) 
 Communications    100,000) 2,000) 10,000) 88,000) 1,000) 87,000) 
 Transportation    120,000) 5,000) 0) 115,000) 5,000) 110,000) 
 Special Dept Expense (Contracts)   250,000) 0) 0) 250,000) 0) 250,000) 
 Other, Pass Through Program   800,000) 800,000) 0) 0) 0) 0) 
  Total   $ 1,470,000) $ 817,000) $ 30,000) $ 623,000) $ 16,000) $ 607,000) 
        

Capital Expenditures   $ 100,000) $ 100,000)   
        

Total Budgetary Expenditures  $ 2,970,000) $ 977,000) $ 230,000) $ 1,763,000) $ 136,000) $ 1,627,000) 
        
   Distribution Base     

Cost Plan Costs      
 Building Use (Each line item 

should be reviewed 
to see if it benefits 

the mandate to 
insure a fair and 

equitable 
distribution.) 

 $ 50,000) $ 2,000) $ 6,000) $ 42,000) $ 2,000) $ 40,000) 
 Equipment Use   30,000) 1,000) 3,000) 26,000) 1,000) 25,000) 
 Data Processing   50,000) 5,000) 30,000) 15,000) 0) 15,000) 
 Auditor   20,000) 0) 20,000) 0) 0) 0) 
 Personnel   10,000) 1,000) 1,000) 8,000) 1,000) 7,000) 

 Roll Forward   10,000) 0) 10,000) 0) 0) 0) 
  Total   $ 170,000) (e) $ 9,000)  $ 70,000) $ 91,000) $ 4,000) $ 87,000) 
        

Total Allowable Indirect Costs   $ 300,000) (f)  
        

Distribution of Allocable Indirect Costs     
 Based on Salaries & Wages   $ 15,000) $ (300,000) $ 285,000) $ 30,000) $ 255,000) 
        

Totals   $ 3,140,000) $ 1,001,000) $ 0) $ 2,139,000) $ 170,000) $ 1,969,000) 
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1) Notes to Table 6 
 

Any local agency using this method for claiming costs, must submit a schedule as shown in 
Table 6, using the same column headings: Description of Costs, Total Costs, Excludable 
and Unallowable Costs (may be combined or separated), Allowable Indirect Costs, 
Allowable Direct Costs (which are further allocated to identifiable programs and other). Any 
supporting data such as invoices, receipts, contacts, documents, etc., must also be 
submitted. 

 
a) Description of costs incurred. Examples include: Salaries and Benefits, Services and 

Supplies, Cost Plan Costs, etc.  
 

b) Excluded costs are all costs that are unallowable and unallocable according to specific 
guidelines (OMB Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. and state 
laws). Examples of excluded costs: contributions and donations, cost of amusement; 
social activities and related incidental costs such as meals, beverages, lodging, 
rentals, transportation and gratuities; and pass-through revenues to another unit or 
organization 

 
c) Allocable indirect costs are costs that are not identifiable to a specific program or cost 

pool and indirectly benefit all cost pools. 
 

d) Direct costs are costs that benefit a specific program or cost pool. 
 

e) Overhead costs are distributed to the department in the cost allocation plan, which 
was prepared in accordance with the OMB Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, 
Part 200 et al. Use the same year's cost allocation plan for developing the ICRP as 
the year for which the ICRP is being prepared. Do not include a roll-forward 
adjustment when the program is in its initial year. 

 
f) Distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate is total salaries and 

wages. 
 

Total Allowable Direct Costs (direct S&W) $950,000

Excluded and Unallowable Costs (direct S&W) 50,000

Distribution Base $1,000,000

 
Therefore, the Indirect Cost Rate for the program is: 

 

ICRP = 
Allowable Indirect Costs 

= 
$300,000 

   =   30.00%
Total Salaries and Wages $1,000,000 

 
9. Time Study Guidelines 

 
Background 
 
Two methods are acceptable for documenting employee time charged to mandated cost programs:  
1) Actual Time Reporting and 2) Time Study. These methods are described below. Application of 
time study results is restricted. As explained in the Time Study Results section below, the results 
may be projected forward a maximum of two years or applied retroactively to initial claims, current-
year claims, and late-filed claims, provided certain criteria are met.  
 
Actual Time Reporting 
 
Each program’s P’s & G’s define reimbursable activities for each mandated cost program. When 
employees work on multiple activities, a distribution of their salaries or wages must be supported by 
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personnel activity reports or equivalent documentation that must: Reflect an after-the-fact 
(contemporaneous) distribution of the actual activity of each employee; 

 
 Account for the total activity for which each employee is compensated; 

 
 Be prepared at least monthly and must coincide with one or more pay periods; and 

 
 Be signed by the employee. 

 
Budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do 
not qualify as support for time distribution. 
 
Time Study 
 
In certain cases, a time study may be used to substitute for continuous records of actual time spent 
on multiple activities and/or programs. An effective time study requires that an activity be a task that 
is repetitive in nature. Activities that require a varying level of effort are not appropriate for time 
studies. 
 
Time Study Plan 
 
The claimant must develop a plan before the time study is conducted. The claimant must retain the 
time study plan for audit purposes. The plan must identify the following: 
 
 Time period(s) to be studied – The plan must show that all time periods selected are 

representative of the fiscal year, and the results can be reasonably projected to approximate 
actual costs; and 
 

 Activities and/or programs to be studied – For each mandated program included, the time study 
must separately identify each reimbursable activity defined in the mandated program’s Ps & Gs, 
which are derived from the program’s Statement of Decision. If a reimbursable activity in the Ps 
& Gs identifies separate and distinct sub-activities, these sub-activities must also be treated as 
individual activities.  

 
For example, sub-activities (a), (b), and (c) under Reimbursable Activity (B)(1) of the local 
agency’s Domestic Violence Treatment Services: Authorization and Case Management 
program relate to information to be discussed during victim notification by the probation 
department and therefore are not separate and distinct activities. It is not necessary to 
separately study these sub-activities. 

 
 Process used to accomplish each reimbursable activity – Use flowcharts or similar analytical 

tools and/or written desk procedures to describe the process for each activity. 
 

 Employee universe – The employee universe used in the time study must include all positions 
for which salaries and wages are to be allocated by means of the time study. 

 
 Employee sample selection methodology – The plan must show that employees selected are 

representative of the employee universe, and the results can be reasonably projected to 
approximate actual costs. In addition, the employee sample size should be proportional to the 
variation in time spent to perform a task. The sample size should be larger for tasks with 
significant time variations. 

 
 Time increments to be recorded – The time increments used should be sufficient to recognize 

the number of different activities performed and the dynamics of these responsibilities. Very 
large increments (such as one hour or more) might be used for employees performing only a 
few functions that change very slowly over time. Very small increments (a number of minutes) 
may be needed for employees performing more short-term tasks. 
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Random-moment sampling is not an acceptable alternative to continuous time records for 
mandated cost claims. Random moment sampling techniques are most applicable to situations in 
which employees perform many different types of activities on a variety of programs with small time 
increments throughout the fiscal year. 
 
Time Study Documentation 
 
Time studies must: 
 
 Be supported by time records that are completed contemporaneously; 

 
 Report activities on a daily basis; 

 
 Be sufficiently detailed to reflect all mandated activities and/or programs performed during a 

specific time period; and 
 

 Coincide with one or more pay periods.  
 

Time records must be signed by the employee (electronic signatures are acceptable) and be 
supported by corroborating evidence, which validates that the work was actually performed. As with 
actual time reporting, budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before 
services are performed do not qualify as valid time studies. 
 
Time Study Results 
 
Claimants must summarize time study results to show how the time study supports the costs 
claimed for each activity. Any variations from the procedures identified in the original time study 
plan must be documented and explained. Current-year costs must be used to prepare a time study. 
Claimants may project time study results to no more than two subsequent fiscal years. A claimant 
may not apply time study results retroactively.  
 
 Annual Reimbursement Claims – Claimants may use time studies to support costs incurred on 

or after January 1, 2005. Claimants may not use time studies for the period of July 1, 2004, 
through December 31, 2004, unless (1) the program’s Ps & Gs specifically allows time studies; 
and (2) the time study is prepared based on mandated activity occurring between July 1, 2004, 
and December 31, 2004. 
 

 Initial Claims – When filing an initial claim for new mandated programs, claimants may use time 
study results for costs incurred on or after January 1, 2005 only. Claimants may not use time 
studies to support costs incurred before January 1, 2005, unless (1) the program’s Ps & Gs 
specifically allow time studies; and (2) the claimant prepares separate time studies for each 
fiscal year preceding January 1, 2005, based on mandated activity occurring during those 
years. 

 
When projecting time study results, the claimant must certify that there have been no significant 
changes between years in either (1) the requirements of each mandated program activity; or (2) the 
processes and procedures used to accomplish the activity. For all years, the claimant must 
maintain documentation that shows the mandated activity was actually performed. Time study 
results used to support claims are subject to the recordkeeping requirements for those claims. 
 

10. Offsets Against State Mandated Claims 
 
As noted previously, allowable costs are defined as those direct and indirect costs, less applicable 
credits, considered eligible for reimbursement. When all or part of the costs of a mandated program 
are specifically reimbursable from local assistance revenue sources (e.g., state, federal, foundation, 
etc.), only that portion of any increased costs payable from local agency funds is eligible for 
reimbursement under the provisions of GC section 17561. 
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A. Example 1: 
 
As illustrated in Table 7, this example shows how the Offset Against a State Mandated claim is 
determined for local agencies receiving block grant revenues not based on a formula allocation. 
Program costs for each situation equal $100,000. 
 
Table 7: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 1 

  Program 
Costs 

Actual 
Non-Local 

Agency 
Funding 

State 
Mandated 

Costs 

Offset Against 
State 

Mandated 
Claims 

Claimable 
Mandated 

Costs 

1. $100,000 $95,000 

97,000 

98,000 

100,000 

50,000 

$2,500 

2,500 

2,500 

2,500 

2,500 

$-0- 

-0- 

 500 

2,500 

1,250 

$2,500 

2,500 

2,000 

-0- 

1,250 

2. 100,000 

3. 100,000 

4. 100,000 

5. 100,000* 

6.  If in (5) the non-local matching share is less than the amount expected, for example 
$49,000, the offset against state mandated claims is $250. Therefore, the claimable 
mandated costs are $2,250 

*   Local agency share is $50,000 of the program costs. 
 
Numbers (1) through (4) in Table 7, show intended funding at 100% from non-local agency 
sources. Numbers (5) and (6) show cost sharing on a 50/50 basis with the local agency. In 
numbers (1) through (5), included in the program costs of $100,000 are state mandated costs 
of $2,500. The offset against state mandated claims is the amount of actual non-local agency 
funding that exceeds the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. The 
offset cannot exceed the amount of state mandated costs.  
 
In (1), non-local revenues were less than expected. Non-local agency funding was not in 
excess of the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. As a result, the 
offset against state mandated claims is $0 and $2,500 is claimable as mandated costs.  
 
In (4), non-local revenues were fully realized to cover the entire cost of the program, including 
the state mandated activity; therefore, the offset against state mandated claims is $2,500, and 
the claimable cost is $0. 
 
In (5), the local agency is sharing 50% of the program cost. As non-local revenues of $50,000 
were fully realized, the offset against state mandated claims is $1,250. 
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B. Example 2: 
 
As illustrated in Table 8, this example shows how the Offset Against State Mandated claims is 
determined for local agencies receiving special project funds based on approved actual costs. 
Non-local revenues for special projects must be applied proportionately to approve costs.  
 
Table 8: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 2 

 Program 
Costs 

Actual Non- 
Local Agency

Funding 

State 
Mandated 

Costs 

Offset Against 
State Mandated 

Claims 

Claimable 
Mandated 

Costs 

1. $100,000 $100,000 $2,500 $2,500 $-0-  

2.    100,000** 75,000 2,500 1,875 625 

3. If in (2) the non-local matching share is less than the amount expected, because only 
$60,000 of the program costs were determined to be valid by the contracting agency, then a 
proportionate share of state mandated costs is likewise reduced to $1,500. The offset 
against state mandated claim is $1,125. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are $375. 

**  Local agency share is $25,000 of the program cost. 
 
In (2), the entire program cost was approved. As the non-local agency source covers 75% of 
the program cost, it also proportionately covered 75% of the $2,500 state mandated costs, or 
$1,875. 
 
With respect to local agencies, the offset against state mandated claims for applicable federal 
and state local assistance programs includes, but is not limited to, the following funding 
sources: 

 
Federal and State Funding Sources 

 
Governing Authority 
 
Federal Programs: 

CETA, PL 93-203 Federal-Health – Administration 

Federal Aid for Construction Federal-Public Assistance – Administration 

Federal Aid for Disaster  

State Programs: 

State Aid for Agriculture State-Health – Administration 

State Aid for Construction State-Public Assistance - Administration 

State Aid for Corrections  

 
11. Notice of Claim Adjustment 

 
All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if the claim was prepared in accordance 
with the claiming instructions. Claimants will receive a Notice of Claim Adjustment detailing any 
adjustment made by the SCO. 
 

12. Audit of Costs 
 
Pursuant to GC section 17558.5, subdivision (b), the SCO may conduct a field review of any claim 
after it has been submitted to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not 
excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO’s claiming instructions and the 
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P’s & G’s adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a Notice of Claim 
Adjustment specifying the claim activity adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim. 

13. Source Documents 

Costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, 
when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is 
created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question.  
Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records, time logs, sign-in 
sheets, invoices, and receipts. 
 
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification stating, “I certify under penalty of perjury 
under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” and must further 
comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5. Evidence corroborating 
the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in 
compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these documents 
cannot be substituted for source documents. 
 

14. Claim Forms and Instructions 
 
Claim forms provided with the claiming instructions should be duplicated or printed from the SCO 
website (http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html) and used by the claimant to file reimbursement 
claims. A claimant may submit computer generated forms in substitution of Form 1 and Form 2, 
provided that the format of the forms and data fields contained within are identical to the claim 
forms included with the claiming instructions. The SCO will revise the manual and claim forms as 
necessary. 
 
A. Form 2, Activity Cost Detail 

 
This form is used to segregate the detail costs by claim activity. In some mandates, specific 
reimbursable activities have been identified for each activity. The expenses reported on this 
form must be supported by the official financial records of the claimant. All documents used to 
support the reimbursable activities must be retained by the claimant, unless required to be 
submitted with the claim, and must be made available to the SCO upon request. 
 

B. Form 1, Claim Summary 
 
This form is used to summarize direct costs by activity and compute allowable indirect costs for 
the mandate. The direct costs summarized on this form are derived from Form 2 and are 
carried forward to Form FAM-27. 
 

C. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment 
 
This form contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized officer of the entity. All 
applicable information from Form 1 must be carried forward to this form in order for the SCO to 
process the claim for payment. An original and one copy of the Form FAM-27 are required. 
Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign 
the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  
 
Mandated cost claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 
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 Use the following mailing addresses: 
 
If delivered by U.S. Postal Service: If delivered by other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
15. Retention of Claiming Instructions 

 
For your convenience, the revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in 
alphabetical order by program name. This manual should be retained for future reference, and the 
forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, new or revised forms, 
instructions, and any other information claimants may need to file claims will be placed on the 
SCO’s website: www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.  

 
16. Retention of Claim Records and Supporting Documentation   

 
Pursuant to GC section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a 
local agency is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after 
the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, 
if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal 
year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to 
run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit will be completed not later 
than two years after the date that the audit was commenced.  
 
All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit.  If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to SCO on request.  
 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-05  

ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 

APRIL 30, 2014 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that eligible 
claimants must use for filing claims for the Accounting for Local Revenue Realignments 
(ALRR) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on 
State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The         
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On September 27, 2013, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the 
meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any county or city and county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate, is eligible to claim for reimbursement, with the following exception:  

Beginning fiscal year 2006-07, the Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.75 authorizes counties 
to charge cities fees in an amount sufficient to pay for the administrative costs of the two 
reimbursable activities – the Vehicle License Fund (VLF) Swap and the Triple Flip. Therefore, 
reimbursement for the VLF Swap and Triple Flip must end in fiscal year 2006-07 for all 
counties. However, the City and County of San Francisco is not relieved of any incurred costs by 
the operation of the fee authority provided to the counties.  The City and County of San 
Francisco continues to be eligible for reimbursement during and after the fiscal year 2006-07 for 
the VLF Swap and the Triple Flip. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 
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Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
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made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above. 
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 Accounting for Local Revenue Realignments, 05-TC-01 

Parameters and Guidelines 

Adopted:  January 24, 2014 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Health & Safety Code Sections 33681.12, 33681.13, 33681.14, 
33681.15; Revenue & Taxation Code Sections 97.68, 97.70, 97.71, 

97.72, 97.73, 97.75  

Statutes 2003, Chapter 162; Statutes 2004, Chapter 211; Statutes 
2004, Chapter 610 

Accounting for Local Revenue Realignments 

05-TC-01 

County of Los Angeles, Claimant 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On September 27, 2013, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a test claim 
statement of decision finding that the test claim statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-
mandated program upon local agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the 
California Constitution and Government Code section 17514.   

The test claim statutes shifted and swapped revenue in three areas: the Educational Revenue 
Augmentation Fund (ERAF) established by each county; the Vehicle License Fund (VLF) Swap, 
which was made permanent; and the “triple flip” of sales and use taxes to service debt payments 
on State Economic Recovery Bonds, “back-filled” from the ERAF, which was in turn replaced 
by direct subventions from the General Fund.  The end result was a savings to the state of $1.3 
billion.1  The three revenue realignment programs created by the test claim statutes imposed 
reimbursable activities upon counties to establish new accounts within the treasury of the county, 
and to reduce and reallocate funds as directed by the statutes, and in amounts identified by the 
Department of Finance or the Controller, respectively.  The test claim statutes do not, by the 
plain language, require counties to calculate, or to verify, the amounts required to be reduced 
during the 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 fiscal years, but the VLF Swap does require counties to 
calculate the adjustment amount beginning in the 2006-2007 fiscal year.   None of the statutory 
exclusions from reimbursement found in section 17556 are applicable to these activities in the 
2004-2005 and 2005-2006 fiscal years, but beginning in 2006-2007, all counties, except for the 
City and County of San Francisco, are authorized by Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.75 
to charge cities within their jurisdiction fees in an amount sufficient to pay for the administrative 
costs of the VLF Swap and the Triple Flip required by sections 97.70 and 97.68 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code.  Therefore, reimbursement for the VLF Swap and Triple Flip must end in the 
2006-2007 fiscal year for all counties, except the City and County of San Francisco, because 
they no longer incur increased costs mandated by the state, by virtue of their authority to charge 
the incurred costs to cities.  However, because the City and County of San Francisco is not 
relieved of any incurred costs by the operation of the fee authority provided, the City and County 
continues to be eligible for reimbursement during and after the 2006-2007 fiscal year for the 
VLF Swap and the Triple Flip.  

                                                 
1 Exhibit A, Test Claim Statement of Decision, at p. 2. 
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II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any county, or city and county, which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is 
eligible to claim reimbursement. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557(e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 
30 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The County of Los 
Angeles filed the test claim on August 12, 2005, establishing eligibility for reimbursement for 
the 2004-2005 fiscal year.  Therefore, costs incurred are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2004, or 
later periods for statutes or amendments enacted after July 1, 2004.  Statutes 2003, chapter 162 
(AB 1766) has an effective date of August 2, 2003, but does not require any activities until the 
beginning of fiscal year 2004-2005.  Statutes 2004, chapter 211 (SB 1096) has an effective date 
of August 5, 2004.  Statutes 2004, chapter 610 (AB 2115) has an effective date of September 20, 
2004.   

All activities under Revenue and Taxation Code sections 97.71, 97.72, 97.73, and Health and 
Safety Code sections 33681.12, 33681.13, and 33681.14 are mandated only for the 2004-2005 
and 2005-2006 fiscal years, and therefore are no longer reimbursable after June 30, 2006.  One 
remaining activity under Health and Safety Code section 33681.15, as discussed below, may, 
where applicable, result in state-mandated increased costs other than during fiscal years 2004-
2005 and 2005-2006, and therefore may be reimbursable on or after July 1, 2006.   

In addition, section 97.75 provides for fee authority for activities mandated by sections 97.68 and 
97.70, beginning in fiscal year 2006-2007.  Specifically, counties are authorized to charge the 
administrative costs of the Triple Flip and the VLF swap against their subordinate cities, 
beginning in fiscal year 2006-2007.  The Commission determined in the test claim decision that 
the fee authority is sufficient to pay for the mandated program, within the meaning of 
Government Code section 17556(d), for all counties except for the City and County of San 
Francisco, which cannot, either legally or as a practical matter, avail itself of the fee authority 
granted.  Therefore, the Commission found that reimbursement for the activities required by 
sections 97.68 and 97.70 ends, for all claimants except the City and County of San Francisco, on 
June 30, 2006.  

The relevant period of reimbursement for each of the activities is specified below under  
section IV. Reimbursable Activities. 

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.   

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
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annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Government Code section 17560(b).) 

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a). 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant that incurs increased costs, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. ERAF III Shift   

The following requirements of the test claim statutes impose a reimbursable state-
mandated program upon all counties beginning in the 2004-2005 fiscal year.   

1. ERAF Shift from Counties and Cities 

For 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 fiscal years only, beginning August 5, 2004: 

a. Reduce revenue otherwise required to be allocated to each county by the amounts 
listed in Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.71(a)(1), and deposit that amount 
in the county’s ERAF.2 

b. Reduce revenue otherwise required to be allocated to a city and county by an 
amount identified by the Controller pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code 
section 97.71(b)(2-3), and deposit that amount in the county’s ERAF.3 

                                                 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.71(a)(1); (c) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (AB 1096); Stats. 
2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
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c. Reduce revenue otherwise required to be allocated to each city within the county 
by an amount identified by the Controller pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code 
section 97.71(b)(2-3), and deposit that amount in the county’s ERAF.4 

d. Where applicable, accept from a city, in lieu of reduction of that city’s revenues, 
an amount equal to the required reduction, and deposit those moneys in the 
county’s ERAF.5 

Reimbursement is not required for calculating the amounts of revenue otherwise 
required to be allocated to a city, county, or city and county, which must be reduced and 
deposited in the county ERAF.6 

2. ERAF Shift from Special Districts 

For fiscal years 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 only, beginning August 5, 2004: 

a. Reduce the amount of ad valorem property tax otherwise required to be allocated 
to an enterprise special district, including an enterprise special district located in 
more than one county, in amounts determined by the Controller and received from 
the Director of Finance, for each enterprise special district in the county.7 

b. Deposit the amounts reduced from each enterprise special district in the county’s 
ERAF.8 

c. Reduce the amount of ad valorem property tax otherwise required to be allocated 
to a nonenterprise special district, including a nonenterprise special district 
located in more than one county, in amounts determined by the Controller for 
each special district in each county.9 

                                                                                                                                                             
3 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.71(b); (c) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (AB 1096); Stats. 2004, 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
4 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.71(c) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (AB 1096); Stats. 2004, ch. 
610 (AB 2115)). 
5 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.71(b)(5) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (AB 1096); Stats. 2004, 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
6 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.71(a)(1); (b)(3) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (AB 1096); Stats. 
2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
7 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.72(a)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004, 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
8 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.72(b) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004, ch. 
610 (AB 2115)). 
9 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.73(a)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004, 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
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d. Deposit the amounts reduced from each nonenterprise special district in the 
county’s ERAF.10 

Reimbursement is not required for calculating the amounts of ad valorem property tax 
otherwise required to be allocated to an enterprise or nonenterprise special district which 
must be reduced and deposited in the county ERAF.11 

3. ERAF Shift from Redevelopment Agencies 

For fiscal years 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 only, beginning August 5, 2004: 

a. Receive funds directly from a redevelopment agency in the amount identified by 
the Director of Finance, and deposit those funds in the county’s ERAF.12 

b. Receive from the legislative body of the community associated with a 
redevelopment agency by March 1 of the applicable fiscal year, a report as to how 
the redevelopment agency intends to secure the funds required to be transferred to 
the county.13 

c. If a redevelopment agency fails to transmit the full amount of funds required by 
section 33681.12, is precluded by court order from transmitting that amount, or is 
otherwise unable to meet its full obligation pursuant to section 33681.12 the 
county auditor, by no later than May 15 of the applicable fiscal year, shall transfer 
any amount necessary to meet the obligations determined under section 33681.12 
from the legislative body’s allocations pursuant to Chapter 6 (commencing with 
section 95) of the Revenue and Taxation Code.14 

d. If the legislative body of the community associated with a redevelopment agency, 
pursuant to section 33681.12(d), reported to the county auditor that it intended to 
remit the amount required on behalf of the redevelopment agency and the 
legislative body fails to transmit the full amount as authorized by section 
33681.12 by May 10 of the applicable fiscal year: the county auditor shall, no 
later than May 15 of the applicable fiscal year, transfer an amount necessary to 
meet the redevelopment agency’s obligation pursuant to section 33681.12 from 
the legislative body’s allocations pursuant to Chapter 6 (commencing with section 
95) of the Revenue and Taxation Code.  If the amount of the legislative body’s 
allocations are not sufficient to meet the redevelopment agency’s obligation 
pursuant to section 33681.12, the county auditor shall transfer an additional 

                                                 
10 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.73(b) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004, ch. 
610 (AB 2115)). 
11 Revenue and Taxation Code sections 97.72(a)(2); 97.73(a)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); 
Stats. 2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
12 Health and Safety Code section 33681.12(a)(1) (added by Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); 
amended by Stats 2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
13 Health and Safety Code section 33681.12(d) (added by Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); 
amended by Stats 2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
14 Health and Safety Code section 33681.13(e) (added by Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096) 
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amount necessary to meet the redevelopment agency’s obligation from the 
property tax increment revenue apportioned to the redevelopment agency 
pursuant to section 33670, provided that no moneys allocated to the agency’s Low 
and Moderate Income Housing Fund shall be used for this purpose.15  

Reimbursement is not required to calculate the amount of moneys to be remitted to the 
county auditor by a redevelopment agency.16 

4. ERAF Shift from Redevelopment Agencies 

Beginning September 20, 2004: 

If a redevelopment agency enters into an agreement with an authorized issuer, as 
defined, pursuant to section 33681.15, in order to obtain a loan, financed by bonds, 
to make the payment required by section 33681.12 to the county auditor for deposit 
in the county’s ERAF, the county auditor shall receive a schedule of payments for 
that loan.  And in the event the redevelopment agency fails to timely repay the loan 
in accordance with the schedule, the county auditor shall receive notification from 
the trustee for the bonds of the amount that is past due.  The county auditor shall 
then reallocate funds from the legislative body of the community associated with a 
redevelopment agency and shall pay to the authorized issuer, on behalf of the 
redevelopment agency, the past due amount on the loan from the first available 
proceeds of the property tax allocation that would otherwise be transferred to the 
legislative body pursuant to Chapter 6 (commencing with section 95) of Part 0.5 of 
Division 1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. This transfer shall be deemed a 
reallocation of the property tax revenue from the legislative body to the agency for 
the purpose of payment of the loan, and not as a payment by the legislative body on 
the loan.17   

B. Vehicle License Fee Swap  

The following requirements of the test claim statutes impose a reimbursable state-
mandated program upon all counties for the 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 fiscal years, 
beginning August 5, 2004, and for the City and County of San Francisco ONLY, 
continuing in the 2006-2007 fiscal year. 

1. Establish a Vehicle License Fee Property Tax Compensation Fund in the treasury of 
the county.18  This is a one-time activity, by definition. 

2. Reduce the total amount of ad valorem property tax otherwise required to be allocated 
to a county’s ERAF by the countywide vehicle license fee adjustment amount.19   

                                                 
15 Health and Safety Code section 33681.14(c) (added by Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
16 Health and Safety Code section 33681.12 (added by Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); amended 
by Stats 2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
17 Health and Safety Code section 33681.15(e-g) (added by Stats 2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
18 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(a)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
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3. If, after performing the adjustments and allocations required by section 97.68, there is 
not enough ad valorem property tax revenue that is otherwise required to be allocated 
to a county ERAF for the auditor to complete the allocation reduction, the auditor 
shall also reduce the total amount of ad valorem property tax revenue otherwise 
required to be allocated to all school districts and community college districts in the 
county, in order to produce the remainder of the countywide vehicle license fee 
adjustment amount.  Reductions to school districts and community college districts 
shall be made in proportion to each district’s share of total ad valorem property tax 
revenue.  School districts and community college districts subject to reductions when 
ERAF moneys are insufficient shall not include any districts that are excess tax 
school entities, as defined in Revenue and Taxation Code section 95.20   

4. Allocate the countywide vehicle license fee adjustment amount to the Vehicle 
License Fee Property Tax Compensation Fund established in the treasury of each 
county.21 

5. Allocate the moneys in the Vehicle License Fee Property Tax Compensation Fund to 
each city in the county, and to the county or city and county, based on each entity’s 
vehicle license fee adjustment amount.22  Allocate one-half of the entity’s vehicle 
license fee adjustment amount on or before January 31 of each fiscal year, and the 
other one-half on or before May 31 of each fiscal year.23 

6. On or before June 30 of each fiscal year, report to the Controller the vehicle license 
fee adjustment amount for the county and each city in the county for that fiscal year.24 

Reimbursement for activities B 1-6 is not required for calculating each entity’s 
vehicle license fee adjustment amount for the 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 fiscal years.25 

7. For the City and County of San Francisco only: Beginning in the 2006-2007 fiscal 
year calculate each entity’s vehicle license fee adjustment amount, and the 
countywide vehicle license fee adjustment amount, defined as the sum of the vehicle 

                                                                                                                                                             
19 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(a)(1)(A) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 
2004 ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
20 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(a)(1)(B) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 
2004 ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
21 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(a)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
22 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(b)(1) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
23 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(b)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
24 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(c)(3) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 2004 
ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
25 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.76 (added, Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); amended 
Stats. 2004, ch. 610 (AB 2115)). 
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license fee adjustment amounts of all entities in the county, pursuant to section 
97.70(c)(1)(C).26 

This activity includes increasing the prior year’s vehicle license fee adjustment 
amount for each entity based on the percentage change from the prior fiscal year to 
the current fiscal year in gross taxable assessed valuation within the jurisdiction of the 
entity, as reflected in the equalized assessment roll for those fiscal years. 

C. Triple Flip  

The following requirements of the test claim statutes impose a reimbursable state-
mandated program upon all counties for the 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 fiscal years, and 
for the City and County of San Francisco ONLY, continuing in the 2006-2007 fiscal year. 

1. Establish a Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund in the treasury of the county.27  
This is a one-time activity, by definition. 

2. During the fiscal adjustment period, reduce, by the countywide adjustment amount 
provided by the Department of Finance, the amount otherwise required to be 
allocated to a county’s ERAF, and deposit that amount in the Sales and Use Tax 
Compensation Fund.28 

Reimbursement is not required to calculate the countywide adjustment amount; the 
amount is annually estimated by the Department of Finance, pursuant to section 
97.68(b)(2), except in a fiscal year in which the suspension of 0.25 percent taxing 
authority is ended, pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 7203.1. 

3. During the fiscal adjustment period, allocate revenues in the Sales and Use Tax 
Compensation Fund among the county and the cities in the county pursuant to the 
portions of the countywide adjustment amount identified by the Department of 
Finance for each city and for the county.  Allocate one half of the amount identified 
for each city and for the county in each January during the fiscal adjustment period, 
and one half the amount identified for each city and for the county in each May 
during the fiscal adjustment period.29 

Reimbursement is not required to calculate the portion of the countywide 
adjustment amount attributable to the county and each city within the county; the 
amounts are provided by the Department of Finance, pursuant to section 97.68(c)(1), 
and recalculated after the end of each fiscal year, pursuant to section 97.68(c)(3), 

                                                 
26 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.70(c)(1)(C) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096); Stats. 
2004 ch. 610 (AB 2115)).  See also Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.76 (Stats. 2004, ch. 
211 (SB 1096)). 
27 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(a)(2) (Stats.2003, ch. 162 (AB 1766); Stats. 2004, 
ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
28 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(a-b) (Stats. 2003, ch. 162 (AB 1766); Stats. 2004, 
ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
29 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(c) (Stats. 2003, ch. 162 (AB 1766); Stats. 2004, ch. 
211 (SB 1096)). 
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except a fiscal year in which the suspension of 0.25 percent taxing authority is ended, 
pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 7203.1. 

4. If the amount recalculated by the Department of Finance after the end of each fiscal 
year based on the actual amount of sales and use taxes not transmitted for the prior 
fiscal year is greater than the amount allocated to a city or to the county based on the 
portion of the countywide adjustment amount estimated by the Department of 
Finance, transfer an amount of ad valorem property tax revenue equal to this 
difference from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund to that local agency.30 

5. If the amount recalculated by the Department of Finance after the end of each fiscal 
year based on the actual amount of sales and use taxes not transmitted for the prior 
fiscal year is less than the amount allocated to a city or to the county based on the 
portion of the countywide adjustment amount estimated by the Department of 
Finance, in the fiscal year following the fiscal year for which the allocation was 
made, reduce the total amount of ad valorem property tax revenue otherwise allocated 
to that city or county from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund by an amount 
equal to this difference and instead allocate this difference to the county ERAF.31 

6. If there is an insufficient amount of moneys in a county’s Sales and Use Tax 
Compensation Fund to make the necessary transfers, transfer from the county ERAF 
to the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund an amount sufficient to make the full 
amount of these transfers.32 

7. If the suspension of sales and use tax authority under section 7203.1 ceases to be 
operative on October 1 of any fiscal year: 

a. Allocate that portion of the countywide adjustment amount attributable to the 
county and each city within the county on or before January 31 of that fiscal 
year.  The countywide adjustment amount shall be defined as the combined 
total revenue loss to the county and each city within the county, as estimated 
by the director of the Department of Finance based on the prior year’s first 
quarter sales and use tax revenues transmitted under section 7204; plus the 
difference between 1) the total amount allocated from the Sales and Use Tax 
Compensation Fund among the county and the cities in the county pursuant to 
the portions of the countywide adjustment amount identified by the 
Department of Finance in the prior year; and 2) the actual amount of sales and 
use tax not transmitted to all entities in the county for the prior year as a result 
of the 0.25% suspension of local sales and use tax authority. 

b. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is 
greater than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that 
was not transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 

                                                 
30 Ibid. 
31 Ibid. 
32 Ibid. 
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percent suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by Section 
7203.1, on or before January 31 of the following fiscal year, reallocate from 
the entity to the county ERAF the difference between those amounts. 

c. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is less 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 
transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by Section 7203.1, on 
or before January 31 of the following fiscal year, reallocate from the county 
ERAF to that entity the difference between those amounts.33 

Reimbursement is not required, under Section 97.68(d)(1), to calculate or identify 
countywide adjustment amount, or the portion attributable to the county and to each 
city within the county, or the difference between the countywide adjustment amounts 
allocated to the county and to each city and the actual sales and use tax revenues not 
transmitted to the county and to each city as a result of the suspension of sales and 
use tax authority; the county auditor shall be notified of those amounts by the director 
of the Department of Finance.34 

8. If the suspension of sales and use tax authority under section 7203.1 ceases to be 
operative on January 1 of any fiscal year: 

a. Allocate that portion of the countywide adjustment amount attributable to the 
county and each city within the county; one half of the amount on or before 
January 31 of that fiscal year, and the remaining half of the amount on or before 
May 31 of that fiscal year.  The countywide adjustment amount shall be defined 
as the combined total revenue loss to the county and each city within the county, 
as estimated by the director of the Department of Finance based on the sales and 
use tax revenues transmitted under section 7204 for the first two quarters of the 
prior fiscal year as determined by the Board of Equalization and reported to the 
director on or before that August 15; plus the difference between the total amount 
allocated to all entities in the county in the prior year and the actual amount of 
sales and use tax not transmitted to all entities in the county for the prior year. 

b. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is greater 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 
transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by section 7203.1, on or 
before January 31 of the following fiscal year, reallocate from the entity to the 
county ERAF the difference between those amounts. 

c. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is less 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 

                                                 
33 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(1) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
34 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(1)(C)(ii) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
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transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by section 7203.1, on or 
before January 31 of the following fiscal year, reallocate from the county ERAF 
to that entity the difference between those amounts.35 

Reimbursement is not required, under Section 97.68(d)(2), to calculate or identify 
countywide adjustment amount, or the portion attributable to the county and to each 
city within the county, or the difference between the countywide adjustment amounts 
allocated to the county and to each city and the actual sales and use tax revenues not 
transmitted to the county and to each city as a result of the suspension of sales and 
use tax authority; the county auditor shall be notified of those amounts by the director 
of the Department of Finance.36 

9. If the suspension of sales and use tax authority under section 7203.1 ceases to be 
operative on April 1 of any fiscal year: 

a. Reduce the amount otherwise required to be allocated in May of that fiscal year 
from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund by the amount reported by 
director representing that portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
attributable to the estimated sales and use tax revenue losses resulting from the 
rate suspension applied by section 7203.1 for the fourth quarter of that fiscal year 
for the county and each city in the county. 

b. After May allocations have been made, transfer any moneys remaining in the 
county Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund to the county ERAF. 

c. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is greater 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 
transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by section 7203.1, on or 
before January 31 of that fiscal year, reallocate from the entity to the county 
ERAF the difference between those amounts. 

d. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is less 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 
transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by section 7203.1, on or 
before January 31 of the following fiscal year, reallocate from the county ERAF 
to that entity the difference between those amounts.37 

Reimbursement is not required, under Section 97.68(d)(3), to calculate or identify 
countywide adjustment amount, or the portion attributable to the county and to each 
city within the county, or the difference between the countywide adjustment amounts 

                                                 
35 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68 (d)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
36 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(2)(C)(ii) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
37 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(3) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
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allocated to the county and to each city and the actual sales and use tax revenues not 
transmitted to the county and to each city as a result of the suspension of sales and 
use tax authority; the county auditor shall be notified of those amounts by the director 
of the Department of Finance.38 

10. If the suspension of sales and use tax authority under section 7203.1 ceases to be 
operative on July 1 of any fiscal year: 

a. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is greater 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 
transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by section 7203.1, on or 
before January 31 of that fiscal year, reallocate from the entity to the county 
ERAF the difference between those amounts. 

b. If, for any county or city, the portion of the countywide adjustment amount 
allocated to that entity from the Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund is less 
than the actual total amount of local sales and use tax revenue that was not 
transmitted to the entity for the prior fiscal year as a result of the 0.25 percent 
suspension of local sales and use tax authority applied by section 7203.1, on or 
before January 31 of the following fiscal year, reallocate from the county ERAF 
to that entity the difference between those amounts. 39 

Reimbursement is not required, under Section 97.68(d)(4), to calculate or identify 
countywide adjustment amount, or the portion attributable to the county and to each 
city within the county, or the difference between the countywide adjustment amounts 
allocated to the county and to each city and the actual sales and use tax revenues not 
transmitted to the county and to each city as a result of the suspension of sales and 
use tax authority; the county auditor shall be notified of those amounts by the director 
of the Department of Finance.40 

All other test claim statutes and allegations not specifically approved above do not result in a 
reimbursable state-mandated program subject to article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution and are, therefore, denied. 

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

  

                                                 
38 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(3)(C)(ii) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
39 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(4) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
40 Revenue and Taxation Code section 97.68(d)(4)(B)(2) (Stats. 2004, ch. 211 (SB 1096)). 
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A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 
on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services. 

4.  Fixed Assets  

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to 
implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, 
and installation costs.  If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement 
the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5.  Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, 
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element 
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both:  (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 
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Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have the 
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).  However, 
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which 
indirect costs are properly allocable.  

The distribution base may be:  (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and 
wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department 
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or 
section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing 
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable 
distribution base.  The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to 
distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage 
which the total amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed 
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter41 is subject to the initiation of an 
audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim 
is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment 
is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for 
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the 
audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by 

                                                 
41 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from the 
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally 
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record.  The 
administrative record is on file with the Commission.   

 

 



State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00359 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
359

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) A. 3. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) A. 4. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (04) C. 1. (g)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (04) C. 2. (g)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (06)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (07)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (09)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (10)  

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

359 
ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A.1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04), section A.1., column (g). Enter the information on the 
same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs 
percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of 
this data block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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  Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

359 
ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant 

  
(02)  

 
          Fiscal Year 

     20 ___ /20___   

(03)  Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

A. ERAF III Shift  
1. ERAF Shift from Counties and Cities for FYs 

2004-05 and 2005-06 only, beginning 
8/05/04. 

       

2. ERAF Shift from Special Districts for FYs 
2004-05 and 2005-06 only, beginning 
8/05/04. 

       

3. ERAF Shift from Redevelopment Agencies 
for FYs 2004-05 and 2005-06 only, 
beginning 8/05/04. 

       

4. ERAF Shift from Redevelopment Agencies 
beginning 9/20/04. 

       

B. Vehicle License Fee (VLF) Swap  
1. Establish a VLF Property Tax 

Compensation Fund in the treasury of the 
county. (Activity 1: One-time activity) 

       

2. VLF Swap activities for all counties for FYs 
2004-05 and 2005-06 beginning 8/05/04, 
and for the City and County of San 
Francisco ONLY, continuing in FY 2006-07.  
(Activities 2 through 7) 

       

C. Triple Flip  
1. Establish a Sales and Use Tax 

Compensation Fund in the treasury of the 
county. (Activity 1: One-time activity) 

        

2. Triple Flip activities for all counties for FYs 
2004-05 and 2005-06 and for the City and 
County of San Francisco ONLY, continuing 
in FY 2006-07. (Activities 2 through 10) 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate                                                                [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs                                                [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions] 

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs                                          [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]                   

 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements  

(11) Total Claimed Amount                  [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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PROGRAM 

359 
ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A separate Form 1 
should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 1, block (04), 
columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row.  

Please refer to pages 3 through 12 of the Parameters and Guidelines (P’s & G’s) for a detailed description of the 
reimbursable activities. 

Reimbursable Activity A.4. includes activity 4 in section A. ERAF III Shift of the P’s & G’s. 

Reimbursable Activity B.1. includes activity 1 in section B. Vehicle License Fee Swap of the P’s & G’s. 

Reimbursable Activity B.2. includes activities 2 through 7 in section B. Vehicle License Fee Swap of the P’s & G’s. 

Reimbursable Activity C.1. includes activity 1 in section C. Triple Flip of the P’s & G’s. 

Reimbursable Activity C.2. includes activities 2 through 10 in section C. Triple Flip of the P’s & G’s. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing an Indirect Cost 
Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department’s ICRP in 
accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat 
rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable 
costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more 
than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source.   

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service
fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit 
a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the 
Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

359 

 

ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02)                                                          Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. ERAF III Shift B. Vehicle License Fee (VLF) Swap  

 N/A 1.  ERAF Shift from Counties and Cities for FYs 2004-
05 and 2005-06 only, beginning 8/05/04. 

1. Establish a VLF Property Tax Compensation Fund in the 
treasury of the county. (Activity 1: One-time activity) 

N/A 2.  ERAF Shift from Special Districts for FYs 2004-05 
and 2005-06 only, beginning 8/05/04. 

2. VLF Swap activities for all counties for FYs 2004-05 and 
2005-06 beginning 8/05/04, and for the City and County of 
San Francisco ONLY, continuing in FY 2006-07. (Activities 
2 through 7) N/A 3. ERAF Shift from Redevelopment Agencies for FYs 

2004-05 and 2005-06 only, beginning 8/05/04. 

 4.  ERAF Shift from Redevelopment Agencies 
beginning 9/20/04. 

C. Triple Flip  

   1. Establish a Sales and Use Tax Compensation Fund in the 
treasury of the county. (Activity 1: One-time activity) 

   2. Triple Flip activities for all counties for FYs 2004-05 and 
2005-06, and for the City and County of San Francisco 
ONLY, continuing in FY 2006-07. (Activities 2 through 10) 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours
Worked 

or 
Quantity

(d) 

 
Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contract 
Services 

(h) 

 
Fixed 

Assets 

(i) 

 
Travel

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page: ____of____       

                     20___ / 20___ 
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PROGRAM 

359 
ACCOUNTING FOR LOCAL REVENUE REALIGNMENTS 

 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 
2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. 
For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less 
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated and no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name & 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits= 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 

X Quantity 
Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours

Worked or 
Total 

Contract 

  

Copy of 
Contract

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total 
Travel=Rate x 

Days or  
Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2004-01 

ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION – PER SE 

FEBRUARY 6, 2004 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may submit 
claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for state-mandated 
cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that eligible claimants must 
use for filing claims for the Administrative License Suspension program. The SCO issues these 
claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the 
program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the 
claiming instructions.  

On August 29, 2002, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim legislation 
imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning of article XIII 
B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the operation 
of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a result 
of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty of 
10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 17561, 
subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty of 
10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC Section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551 
and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  
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Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. 
These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in 
question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, 
sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or declare) 
under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 
correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities 
otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these 
documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the mandate, 
are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO’s 
claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made to a claim, 
the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 17558.5, 
subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to audit by the 
SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, 
whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for 
the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to initiate an audit 
will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject 
to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the retention 
period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be 
made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after 
the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no 
payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will 
be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs 
claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  



 3 

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, 
by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

 

 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION – PER SE 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00246 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
246

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (h)  

County or Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (h)  

Street Address of P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (h)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (06)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (07)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (09)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (10)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was timely filed. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

 (19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (h), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1. column (h). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should 
be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block 
will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 

(01) Claimant (02) 
 

Fiscal Year 

    20___/20__

(03) Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

Number 
of  

Cases 

Uniform 
Time 

Allowance
(hours) 

Salary 
Hourly 
Rate 

 

Benefit 
Rate 

 

Subtotal 
Salaries 

(a) x (b) x 
(c) 

Subtotal 
Benefits 
 (d) x (e) 

Materials 
& 

Supplies 

Total 
(e) + (f) + 

(g) 

A. Minors Detained But Not Arrested  

1. Admonishing Drivers/Screening Tests on 
Minors (IV.A.1. & 2.)  0.2667       

2.  Seizing Licenses & Serving Notices/  
Completing Sworn Reports/ Submitting 
Reports to DMV (IV. A. 3. to A. 5.) 

 0.2500       

B. Arrested Drivers for Violation of DUI   
Statute  

1. Seizing Licenses & Serving Notices/ 
Completing Sworn Reports/ Submitting 
Reports to DMV (IV. B. 1. to B. 3.) 

 
 

0.2500 
 

      

(05) Total Direct Costs      

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Line (06) x line (05)(e)]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(h) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 must be completed for each department.  

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the sum of columns (e), (f), and (g) in column (h). The cost of 
postage and envelopes to be included under Materials and Supplies is reimbursable only for activities 
IV. A. 5. and B. 3 of the P’s & G’s on block (04)(A), line (2.)(g) and (04)(B), line (1.)(g). Do not enter any 
amount in the shaded areas. Please refer to the Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies for 
information on the computation of hourly rates and indirect costs. 

(05)  Total columns (e) through (h). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim. 

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, 
Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total 
Salaries, line (05)(e), by 10%. If an ICRP is used, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution 
base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than 
one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(h), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-35 

ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUES 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Allocation of Property Tax Revenues 
program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State 
Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are 
included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On July 21, 1994, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a result of this 
mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

 



 
2 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above. 
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Adopted:  5/24/95 
Amended:  1/29/10 
  

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 97, 97.01, 97.0297.03, 97.035, 97.5, 98, and 99 

Statutes 1992, Chapters 697,699, 700, 899 and 1369 
Statutes 1993, Chapters 66, 68, 904, 905 and 1279 

Allocation of Property Tax Revenues 
05-PGA-24 (CSM-4448) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

 
I. SUMMARY OF THE SOURCE OF THE MANDATES 

  The provisions of Revenue and Taxation Code sections 97, 97.01, 97.02, 97.03, 97.035, 97.5, 
98, and 99, as added and amended by Chapter 697, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 699, Statutes of 
1992, Chapter 700, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 899, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 1369, Statutes of 
1992, Chapter 66, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 68, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 904, Statutes of 
1993, Chapter 905, Statutes of 1993, and Chapter 1279, Statutes of 1993 requires counties to 
plan, implement, report, distribute administer and account for new property tax revenue 
allocations to school districts, without authority to charge schools districts for associated 
administrative costs. 

II. COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES’ DECISION 

  At its July 21, 1994 hearing, the Commission on State Mandates determined that the provisions 
of Revenue and Taxation Code sections 97, 97.01, 97.02, 97.03, 97.035, 97.5, 98, and 99, as 
added and amended by Chapter 697, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 699, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 
700, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 899, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 1369, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 
66, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 68, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 904, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 905, 
Statutes of 1993, and Chapter 1279, Statutes of 1993 impose upon counties a reimbursable 
state mandated program, limited to those administrative costs that apply to school districts 
because counties are specifically prohibited from charging such administrative costs to school 
districts. 

III. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

  Counties. 

IV. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

  This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through 
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  
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  Chapter 697, Statutes of 1992 was approved by the Governor on September 14, 1992, and 
became operative on January 1, 1993. 

  Chapter 699, Statutes of 1992 was approved by the Governor on September 14, 1992, and, as 
an urgency statutes, became operative on September 14, 1992. 

  Chapter 700, Statutes of 1992 was approved by the Governor on September 14, 1992, and, as 
an urgency statute, became operative on September 14, 1992. 

  Chapter 899, Statutes of 1992 was chaptered on September 24, 1992, and, as an urgency 
statute, became operative on September 24, 1992. 

  Chapter 1369, Statutes of 1992 was approved by the Governor on September 27, 1992, and, as 
an urgency statute, became operative on September 27, 1992. 

  Chapter 66, Statutes of 1993 was chaptered on June 30, 1993, and, as an urgency statute, 
became operative on June 30, 1993. 

  Chapter 68, Statutes of 1993 was chaptered on June 30, 1993, and, as an urgency statute, 
became operative on June 30, 1993. 

  Chapter 904, Statutes of 1993 was chaptered on October 8, 1993, and, as an urgency statute, 
became operative on October 8, 1993. 

  Chapter 905, Statutes of 1993 was chaptered on October 8, 1993, and, as an urgency statute, 
became operative on October 8, 1993. 

  Chapter 1279, Statutes of 1993 was chaptered on October 11, 1993, and as an urgency statute, 
became operative on October 11, 1993. 

  County costs incurred on or after the operative dates for each of the above statutes are eligible 
for reimbursement as the subject test claim was timely filed by the County of Los Angeles on 
December 21, 1993.  In accordance with Section 17557 of the Government Code, when a test 
claim is filed on or before December 31, costs incurred during the prior fiscal year are eligible 
for reimbursement.  In this case, costs incurred in the 1992-93 and subsequent fiscal years, on 
or after the above statutory operative dates, are eligible for reimbursement. 

  Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable.  Pursuant to section 17561, 
subdivision (d) (3) of the Government Code, all claims for reimbursement of cost shall be 
submitted within 120 days of notification by the State Controller of the enactment of the claim 
bill. 

  If total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 
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V. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of 
such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A 
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred 
for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, 
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, 
cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training 
packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I 
certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source 
documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance 
with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents 
cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant 
is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

  A. Scope of Mandate 

   Counties shall be reimbursed for costs incurred to comply with new state requirements 
for allocating property tax revenues pursuant to certain provisions of Revenue and 
Taxation Code sections 97, 97.01, 97.02, 97.03, 97.035, 97.5, 98, 99, as added and 
amended by Chapter 697, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 699, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 700, 
Statutes of 1992, Chapter 899, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 1369, Statutes of 1992, Chapter 
66, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 68, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 904, Statutes of 1993, 
Chapter 905, Statutes of 1993, Chapter 1279, Statutes of 1993, hereafter referred to as the 
subject law. 

  B. The following local government costs for planning, implementing, state reporting, 
distributing funds, administering, and accounting necessary to comply with the subject 
law (These costs should only be the Property Tax Reallocation Administrative Costs, 
which cannot be charged to the school districts): 

1. For planning: 

a. Meeting and conferring with state and local officials to interpret the subject law 
and establish local operating guidelines. 

b. Developing or revising local user requirements for the subject new county 
system for ancillary property tax revenue allocations. 

c. Modifying county policies and procedures in compliance with the subject law. 
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2. For implementation: 

a. Preparation and review of 1989-90 adjusted prior year Revenue Certification 
schedules. 

b. Analysis and identification of relevant prior year revenues and adjustments by 
type of local unit. 

c. Computations of factored amounts of relevant prior year revenues and 
adjustments by type of local unit. 

d. Computations of 16 factor/column local unit schedules to determine base 
revenue shift in a form suitable for mandatory state reporting. 

e. Preparation of property tax revenue reallocation (certification) notices and 
supporting schedules for all affected local units. 

f. Development or modification of software or manual procedures necessary to 
distribute reallocated property tax revenues to schools’ Educational Revenue 
Augmentation Funds (ERAF). 

g. Inputting relevant tax revenue data into the new processing system. 

h. Processing State Controller Office reallocation changes such as the increase in 
Special District property revenue collection reallocations of 5%, from 35% to 
40%. 

3. For reporting to the State Controller the amount of the property tax revenue 
reduction to each special district within the county. 

4. For distributing ERAF funds, to periodically input and transfer new property tax 
revenue reallocations to schools’ ERAF accounts. 

5. For administering new ERAF transactions, to notify all affected local jurisdictions 
of their account transactions and balances and, upon request, explain, verify, 
confirm or research particular new property tax revenue reallocations. 

6. For accounting, to prepare journal vouchers for custodial account transfers, 
compute interest earnings for allocations to accounts, reconcile accounts for 
fiduciary purposes, and document all account processing, subject to audit. 

VI. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

  Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to this mandate must be timely filed and set forth a 
listing of each item for which reimbursement is claimed under this mandate. 

  Claimed costs would be supported by the following: 

  A. Employee Salaries and Benefits 

   Show the name of the employee involved, the classification of the employee, mandated 
functions performed, number of hours devoted to the function, productive hourly rates 
and benefits. 

B. Services, Equipment and Supplies 
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   Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost as a result of the mandate can 
be claimed.  List cost of materials or equipment acquired which have been consumed or 
expended specifically for the purposes of this mandate. 

  C. Contract Services 

   List costs incurred for contract services for the mandated program.  Contracting costs 
are reimbursable to the extent that the function performed requires special skills or 
knowledge that is not readily available from the claimant’s staff.  Use of contract 
services must be justified by the claimant. 

  D. Fixed Assets 

   List the cost of fixed assets that have been acquired specifically for the purpose of this 
mandate.  If a fixed asset is acquired for the subject state mandates, but is utilized in 
some way not directly related to the program, only the pro-rata portion of the asset 
which is used for purposes of the program is reimbursable. 

  E. Allowable Overhead Cost 

   Claimants have the option of using 10% of direct labor as indirect costs or preparing a 
departmental Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) for the program if an indirect cost rate 
in excess of 10% is claimed.  If more then one department is claiming indirect costs for 
the mandated program, each department must have their own ICRP prepared in 
accordance with Office of Management and Budget Circular A-87 (OMB A-87). 

VII. RECORD RETENTION 

  Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for 
actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the 
initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual 
reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are 
appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for 
which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run 
from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not 
later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to 
support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be retained during the 
period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to 
audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings 

VIII.  OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT 

  Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of the subject statutes must 
be deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursements for the subject mandates 
received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from this 
claim. 

IX. STATE CONTROLLER’S OFFICE REQUIRED CERTIFICATION 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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  An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of the 
claim, as specified in the State Controller’s claiming instructions, for those costs mandated 
by the state contained herein. 
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ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUE 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00152 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
152

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) 1. (f)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 2. (f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 3. (f)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (06)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (07)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (09)   

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (10)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 Telephone Number  

 

 

Email Address  

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory   

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number  

 Email Address  

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

Email Address  

 



State Controller’s Office                            Local Mandated Cost Manual 
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PROGRAM 

152 
ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUE  

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, 
complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions.  Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced 
by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula 
as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

 (19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) 1., column (f). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

152 
ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUE 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
  Fiscal Year 

  

(03) Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

 and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

 
Fixed 

Assets 
 

Total 

1. Planning       

2. Implementation       

3. Administration, Accounting, and Reporting 
      

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 
 
 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 
 
 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

 
 20__/20__ 



State Controller’s Office         Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

152 
ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUE 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 must be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, 
Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total 
Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the 
distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If 
more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), 
and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward 
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

152 
ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUE  

 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                     Fiscal Year

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Planning  3. Administration, Accounting, and Reporting 

 2. Implementation   

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job 

Classifications, Functions Performed 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 
 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

        

 
(05)  Total             Subtotal             Page: ____of____ 

     

 20___/20___ 
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PROGRAM 

152 

ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUE  
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable component. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, materials and supplies used, and contract services. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being 
claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period 
of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If 
no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the 
Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents 
must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents  

Accounts (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) with the claim

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

     

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

    

Materials  
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

   

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked
 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours 

Worked 

 

Copy of 
Contract  

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 

 



 
1 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-39 

COUNTYWIDE TAX RATES 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Countywide Tax Rates program. The SCO 
issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) 
adopting the Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part 
of the claiming instructions.  

On August 24, 1989, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city of county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a result of this 
mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Adopted:  8/24/89 
Amended:  4/28/95 
Amendment:  1/29/10 

 
Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines 

Revenue and Taxation Code Section 98.9 

Statutes 1987, Chapter 921 

Countywide Tax Rates 
05-PGA-27 (CSM-4355) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

I. Summary of Mandate 

Chapter 921 statutes of 1987 amended section 98.9 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.  This 
section requires counties to allocate property tax revenue attributable to unitary and operating 
nonunitary property commencing with the 1988-89 fiscal year on the basis of a new formula.  In 
addition, counties are required to establish a single countywide tax rate area to which the 
assessed value of all unitary and operating nonunitary property will be assigned, and to issue 
each state assessee, other than a regulated railway company, a single tax bill for such property. 

II. Commission on State Mandates Decision 

On August 24, 1989, the Commission on State Mandates determined that section 98.9 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code as amended by chapter 921, Statutes of 1987, contains reimbursable 
state-mandated costs. 

III. Eligible Claimants 

Counties that incur costs as the result of the mandate. 

IV. Period of Reimbursement 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through  
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

Chapter 921, Statutes of 1987, became effective September 21, 1987 as an urgency measure.  
Government Code Section 17557 states that a test claim must be submitted on or before 
November 30 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The test 
claim for this mandate was filed by the County of Fresno on September 6, 1988.  Therefore, 
reimbursement claims may be filed for costs incurred on or after September 21, 1987. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year should be included in each claim.  Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, it applicable.  Pursuant to 
Section 17561 (d)†(3) of the Government Code, all claims for reimbursement of costs shall be 
submitted within 120 days of notification by the State Controller of the enactment of the claims 
bill. 

If the total costs per claimant for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall 
be allowed, except as otherwise provided by Government Code Section 17564. 
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V.  Reimbursable Costs 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct 
based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source documents may include 
data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal 
government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

A. Scope of Mandate 

Counties will be reimbursed for costs incurred pursuant to Section 98.9 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code as amended by Chapter 921, Statutes of 1987. 

For each eligible claimant meeting the above criteria, the following costs items are 
reimbursable. 

B. Reimbursable Activities 

Implementation Costs 

1. Creation of a new allocation formula used to assess the value attributable to 
unitary and operating nonunitary property. 

2. Establishment of a single countywide tax rate area for the assignment of the 
assessed value of all unitary and operating nonunitary property in each county. 

On-Going Costs 

3. Issuance to each state assessee, other than a regulated railway company, of a 
single tax bill in the county. 

4. Computation of each year's unitary tax rates for all unitary and operating 
nonunitary property. 

5. Additional tax roll processing, e.g., application of Special Assessments, necessary 
to specifically process the unitary utility assessments received from the State Board of 
Equalization. 
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6. Calculation of each year's, allocation formulas, and subsequent distribution of 
collected unitary tax revenues. 

7. Correcting tax bills for assessments erroneously placed in the Countywide Tax 
Rate Area by the State Board of Equalization. 

8. Research and explanations to local agencies or to assessee, (e.g.  either in the 
application of special assessments to unitary utility properties, or when unitary utility 
properties subsequently change.) 

Allowable costs include, but are not limited to, salaries and benefits, services and supplies, 
postage, travel, workshops, contracted or uncontracted consultation services, computer analysis, 
programming, computer machine time, microcomputer hardware and software, and overhead and 
related costs, all of which are attributable to the implementation and on-going maintenance 
required to comply with the provisions of this mandate. 

VI.  Claim Preparation and Submission 

Reimbursement claims should show the actual increased costs incurred by the local agency in 
complying with this mandate.  Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to this mandate must be 
timely filed and set forth a listing of each item for which reimbursement is claimed.  Claimed 
costs should be supported by the following: 

A. Employee Salaries and Benefits 

Identify the employee(s); show the classification of the employee(s) involved; describe 
the mandated functions performed and specify the actual number of hours devoted to 
each function, the productive hourly rate, and related benefits.  The average number of 
hours devoted to each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study. 

B. Services, Supplies and Equipment 

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost of the mandate can be claimed 
(including contract and consultant services).  List cost of materials which have been 
consumed or expended specifically for the purpose of this mandate. 

C. Allowable Overhead Costs 

Indirect costs may only be claimed in the manner described by the State Controller in his 
claiming instructions. 

VII. Record Retention  

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section V, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an 
audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate 
resolution of any audit findings. 

VIII. Offsetting Savings and Other Reimbursement 

Any offsetting savings that a claimant experiences as a direct result of this statute must be 
deducted from the costs claimed.  This includes any actual savings resulting from a reduction in 
the number of tax bills created, processed and mailed due to this mandate.  In addition, 
reimbursement specifically received for this mandate from any non-local source (e.g., federal or 
state grant) shall be identified and deducted so only net local costs are claimed. 

IX Controller’s Office Required Certification 

The following certification must accompany the claim: 

I D0 HEREBY CERTIFY under penalty of perjury; 

THAT the foregoing is true and correct; 

THAT section 1090 to 1096, inclusive, of the Government Code and other applicable provisions 
of law have been complied with; and 

THAT I am the person authorized by the local agency to file claims for funds with the State of 
California. 

 

 ________________________________  ________________ 

 Signature of Authorized Representative  Date 

 

 ________________________________  ________________ 

 Title       Telephone Number 
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COUNTYWIDE TAX RATE 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00090 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
090

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) 1.(g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 2.(g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 3.(g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) 4.(g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) 5.(g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) 6.(g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (04) 7.(g)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (04) 8.(g)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (06)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (07)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (11)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (12)  

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 Telephone Number  

 

 

Email Address  

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory   

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number  

 Email Address  

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

090 
COUNTYWIDE TAX RATE 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS  

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, 
complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (13). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced 
by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula 
as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1.(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) 1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02) 

 
 

  Fiscal Year 

 

(03) Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 
Salaries Benefits 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel 
and 

Training 
Total 

Implementation Costs: One-Time 
Activities 

       

1. Create a New Allocation Formula        

2. Establish CTR Area for Value Assignment        

Ongoing Activities  

3. Issue a Single Tax Bill 
       

4. Compute Annual Tax Rates for Properties        

5. Additional Tax Roll Processing        

6. Calculate Formulas & Distribution of Revenues 
       

7. Correct Tax Bills Erroneously Placed by BOE        

8. Research & Explain to Agencies or Assessee        

(05) Total Direct Costs        

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction 

(09) 1986-87 Base Year Cost times Unit Cost Rate      [Refer to Claiming Instructions]  

(10) Increased Costs                            [Line (08) – line (09)]  

(11) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(12) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(13) Total Claimed Amount                  [Line (10) - {line (11) + line (12)}]  

20 /20 
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CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.  

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  Enter the product from the 1986-87 base year cost times the unit cost rate for the fiscal year of claim.
The unit cost rate for fiscal year 2014-15 is $2.359. 

(10)  Enter the difference between the Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), and the product of the 
1986-87 base year cost times the unit cost rate for the fiscal year of costs, line (09). 

(11)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(12)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(13)  From Increased Costs, line (10), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (11), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (12). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form 
FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                      Fiscal Year

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

Implementation Costs: One-Time Activities 

 1. Create a New Allocation Formula  2.  Establish CTR Area for Value Assignment 

On Going Activities 

 3. Issue a Single Tax Bill  6. Calculate Formulas & Distribution of Revenues 

 4. Compute Annual Tax Rate for Properties  7. Correct Tax Bills Erroneously Placed by BOE 

 5. Additional Tax Roll Processing  8. Research & Explain to Agencies or Assessee 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries
 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

Travel 
and 

Training 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

        

 
(05) Total            Subtotal           Page: ____of____ 

      

 
20___/20___ 
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PROGRAM 

090 

COUNTYWIDE TAX RATE 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 2 
must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail costs 
for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief description of the 
activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, fringe benefits, supplies 
used, contract services and travel. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient 
detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting 
documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than three years after the date the claim 
was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the 
time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment 
of the claim. Such documents shall be made available to the SCO on request. 

 
Object/ 

Sub object 
Columns 

Submit  
supporting 
documents  

Accounts 
(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

with the 
claim 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries =
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits =

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate

x 
Hours 

Worked 

  

Copy of 
Contract  

and  
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

  

 
Travel 

 
 

and 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage 
Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total Travel
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

 
Training 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 
Name of 

Class 

 
Dates 

Attended      
Registration 

Fee 
 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to indicate if 
the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, number each 
page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (f) in the 
appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2006-01 

CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 

FEBRUARY 14, 2006 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Crime Victim’s Domestic Violence Incident 
Reports program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on 
State Mandates (CSM) adopting the Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are 
included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On September 25, 2003, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, which incurs increased costs as 
a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount; $10,000 maximum penalty, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted:  December 9, 2005 
 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Family Code Section 6228 

Statutes 1999, Chapter 1022 

Crime Victim's Domestic Violence Incident Reports (99-TC-08) 

County of Los Angeles, Claimant 

 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On September 25, 2003, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a corrected 
Statement of Decision finding that Family Code section 6228, as added by Statutes 1999,  
chapter 1022, mandated a new program or higher level of service for local law enforcement 
agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, and 
imposed costs mandated by the state pursuant to Government Code section 17514 for the 
following activity only: 

• Storing domestic violence incident reports and face sheets for three years.  (Fam. Code,  
§ 6228, subd. (e).) 

The Commission further found that under prior law, cities and counties were already required to 
keep the domestic violence incident reports for two years. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this reimbursable 
state-mandated program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557, subdivision (c), as amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 681, 
states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a given fiscal year to 
establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The County of Los Angeles filed the test claim on  
May 15, 2000, establishing eligibility for fiscal year 1998-1999.  However, the effective and 
operative date of Family Code section 6228 is January 1, 2000.  Therefore, costs incurred for 
storing domestic violence incident reports and face sheets for the additional three years pursuant 
to Family Code section 6228, as added by Statutes 1999, chapter 1022, are reimbursable on or 
after January 1, 2000. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Estimated costs of the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable.  Pursuant to Government 
Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of initial fiscal year 
costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the 
claiming instructions. 

If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

Parameters and Guidelines 
Crime Victim's Domestic Violence  

Incident Reports (99-TC-08) 

1



IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.  
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. One-Time Activity 

1. Revise existing policies and procedures regarding the storage of domestic violence 
incident reports and face sheets in a readily accessible format to include the additional 
three-year requirement. 

B. Ongoing Activity 

1. Store domestic violence incident reports and face sheets in a readily accessible hard 
copy, microfiche, or electronic image format for an additional three years.  This is 
limited to the cost of retaining domestic violence incident reports and face sheets in a 
readily accessible format, including file storage, for the three-year period of time after the 
pre-existing mandatory two-year retention period provided in Government Code  
sections 26202 and 34090.  Any activities that flow from this previous requirement are 
not reasonably necessary to carry out this mandate (e.g., scanning reports for archive, 
reviewing files, transferring or shipping files for storage). 

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

ONE-TIME ACTIVITY – Section IV.A.1. 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for the reimbursable activity identified in 
Section IV.A.1. of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must be supported by source 
documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each reimbursement claim must be 
filed in a timely manner. 

Parameters and Guidelines 
Crime Victim's Domestic Violence  

Incident Reports (99-TC-08) 

2



A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job classification, 
and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by productive hours).  
Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 
reimbursable activity performed. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after 
deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are 
withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of 
costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both (1) overhead costs of the 
unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed to 
the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87.  Claimants have the option of 
using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal 
(ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in 
OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect costs shall exclude capital 
expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-87 
Attachments A and B).  However, unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they 
represent activities to which indirect costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) direct salaries and 
wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

Parameters and Guidelines 
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In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular  
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) classifying a department’s total 
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable 
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect 
costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular  
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) separating a department into 
groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total 
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable 
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect 
costs bears to the base selected. 

ONGOING ACTIVITY – Section IV.B.1. 

Actual costs shall be claimed based on the reasonable reimbursement methodology adopted by 
the Commission pursuant to Government Code section 17557.  The reasonable reimbursement 
methodology is a uniform cost allowance that covers all the direct and indirect costs of 
performing activity B.1. described in Section IV. of this document.  Direct costs and indirect 
costs are described above.  The uniform cost allowance shall be adjusted each subsequent year 
by the Implicit Price Deflator referenced in Government Code section 17523. 

The uniform cost allowance is $0.40 per report per year (not to exceed three years).  Reimbursement 
is determined by multiplying the uniform cost allowance of $0.40 by the number of domestic 
violence incident reports that are being stored for an additional three-year period of time after the 
pre-existing mandatory two-year retention period.  Eligible claimants must show that costs were in 
fact incurred in order to claim costs using the uniform cost allowance for this program. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section 
IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by the 
Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate 
resolution of any audit findings. 

                                                           

Parameters and Guidelines 
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VII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate received from any source, including but 
not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and 
deducted from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be 
derived from the statute or executive order creating the mandate and the parameters and 
guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file 
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission. 

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557, subdivision (a), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual 
basis for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual findings is found in 
the administrative record for the test claim.  The administrative record, including the Statement 
of Decision, is on file with the Commission.   

Parameters and Guidelines 
Crime Victim's Domestic Violence  

Incident Reports (99-TC-08) 

5
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CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00262 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
262

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (e)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (e)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (06)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (07)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (09)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (10)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28)   

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 Telephone Number  

 

 

Email Address  

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory   

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number  

 Email Address  

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

262 
CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, 
complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced 
by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula 
as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (e), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1., column (e). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage 
should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data 
block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 

(01) Claimant (02)  Fiscal Year 

   20___/ 20___

(03)  Department 

 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) 

Salaries 
 

Benefits Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Fixed Assets
 

Total 

A.  One-Time Activity 
 

1. Revision of Policies and Procedures 
     

B.  Ongoing Activity 
 
     1. Storage of Reports and Face Sheets 

(See instructions) 
[Unit cost includes direct and indirect costs]  

(05)     Total Direct Costs Add Total Column  

 
 
 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [10% or ICRP]  %

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(e) + line (07)]  

 
 
 

  

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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PROGRAM 
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CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A separate 
Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d), through (g) to Form 1, block (04), 
columns (a) through (d) in the appropriate row.  

This unit cost includes direct and indirect costs. 
  

(04) A. 1. Unit Cost Rate by Fiscal Year 

Fiscal Year Unit Cost Fiscal Year Unit Cost Fiscal Year Unit Cost Fiscal Year Unit Cost 

2000-01 $0.4200 2004-05 0.4700 2008-09 0.5800 2012-13 0.6300 

2001-02 0.4200 2005-06 0.4900 2009-10 0.5800 2013-14 0.6300 

2002-03 0.4400 2006-07 0.5300 2010-11 0.6000 2014-15 0.6400 

2003-04 0.4500 2007-08 0.5700 2011-12 0.6200   

(04) B.1. (e) Enter the product of the unit cost rate from the above table times the number of domestic violence incident 
reports stored during the fiscal year of claim for the additional 3 year period after the pre-existing mandatory 
two-year retention period.  

(05)  Total column (e).   

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing an 
Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP with the 
claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department’s ICRP in 
accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If 
the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply 
applicable costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, 
line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(e), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, 
service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost 
program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-27, line 
(13), of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 

(01)  Claimant  (02)                                                     Fiscal Year
 
                                                      20___/20___ 

(03)   Reimbursable Activity   

A.  One-Time Activity 

 1. Revision of Policies and Procedures        
 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Employee Names, Job Classifications, 
Functions Performed, Description of Expenses 

 
Hourly Rate

or 
Unit Cost 

 

Hours Worked
or 

Quantity 
Salaries Benefits 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

 
Fixed Assets

  

       

(05)   Total      Subtotal      Page:   ___of ___     
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CRIME VICTIM’S DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INCIDENT REPORTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM

2 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give 
the name of each department. A separate Form 2 must be completed for each department. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box that indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 
2 must be prepared for each applicable activity.  

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
salaries, fringe benefits, materials and supplies used etc. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) 
must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit 
purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than three 
years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be three years from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must
be made available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub-object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit these 
supporting 
documents 

with the claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries 
Employee 

Name and Title  
Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = Hourly 
Rate x Hrs. 

Worked 
    

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit Rate   

Benefits= 
Benefit Rate 

x Salaries 
   

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

   

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

  

 
Fixed Assets 

 

Purchase price 
(includes taxes, 
delivery costs 

and installation 
costs) 

Number of Items 
Purchased 

    

Cost = Purchase 
price x no. of 

items x pro-rata 
portion 

 

 
 
 

(05)  Total line (04), column (d) through column (g). Check the appropriate box to indicate if the amount is a 
total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, number each page. Enter 
totals from line (05), columns (d) through (g) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (d) in the 
appropriate row.  
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-32 

CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Custody of Minors-Child Abduction and 
Recovery program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission 
on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are 
included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On September 19, 1979, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On October 30, 2009, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a result of this 
mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Amended:  October 30, 2009 
Amended:  August 26, 1999 
Amended: July 25, 1987 
Amended: July 19, 1984 
Adopted:  January 21, 1981 
 

AMENDMENT TO PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Family Code Sections 3060 TO 3064, 3130 TO 3134.5, 3408, 3411, and 3421 
Penal Code Sections 277, 278, and 278.5  

Welfare And Institutions Code Section 11478.5 

Chapter 1399, Statutes of 1976 
Chapter 162, Statutes of 1992 
Chapter 988, Statutes of 1996 

Custody of Minors-Child Abduction and Recovery 

05-PGA-26 (CSM 4237) 

State Controller’s Office, Claimant 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

I. SUMMARY OF MANDATE 

Chapter 1399, Statutes of 1976, added Sections 4600.1 and 4604 to and amended 
Sections 5157, 5160, and 5169 of the Civil Code, added Section 278 and 278.5 to the 
Penal Code, and amended sections 11478.5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, which 
increased the level of service provided by several county departments which must 
become involved in child custody matters.  Where previously parents or others interested 
in the custody status of minors pursued their interests in court with no assistance from 
law enforcement agencies, due to this statute counties are required to actively assist in the 
resolution of custody problems and the enforcement of custody decrees.  To accomplish 
this, several additional tools were provided to the courts and enforcement agencies in this 
legislation, including changes in the procedures for filing petitions to determine custody 
and enforce visitation rights, increased authorization to issue warrants of arrest to insure 
compliance, and increased access to locator and other information maintained by County 
and State departments.  These activities increased the level of service provided to the 
public under Title 9 of Part 5 of the Civil Code, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction 
Act. 

Chapter 990, Statutes of 1983, amended Section 4604 of the Civil Code to clarify that the 
enforcement requirements of this section applied to visitation decrees as well as custody 
decrees. 
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Chapter 162, Statutes of 1992, repealed Sections 4600.1, 4604, 5157, 5160, and 5169 of 
the Civil Code and without substantial change enacted Sections 3060 to 3064, 3130 to 
3134.5, 3408, 3411, and 3421 of the Family Code.  

Chapter 988, Statutes of 1996, the Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act, repealed Sections 
277, 278 and 278.5 of the Penal Code and enacted in a new statutory scheme in Sections 
277, 278 and 278.5 which eliminated the distinction between cases with and cases 
without a preexisting child custody order. 

II. BOARD OF CONTROL DECISIONS 

On September 19, 1979, the Board of Control determined that Chapter 1399, Statutes of 
1976, imposed a reimbursable state mandate upon counties by requiring district attorney 
offices to actively assist in the resolution of child custody problems including visitation 
disputes, the enforcement of custody decrees and of any other order of the court in a child 
custody proceeding.  These activities include all actions necessary to locate a child, the 
enforcement of child custody decrees, orders to appear, or any other court order 
defraying expenses related to the return of an illegally detained, abducted or concealed 
child, proceeding with civil court actions, and guaranteeing the appearance of offenders 
and minors in court actions.  The Board’s finding was in response to a claim of first 
impression filed by the County of San Bernardino. 

III. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any county which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim 
reimbursement of those costs. 

IV. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through 
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

Chapter 1399, Statutes of 1976, became effective January 1, 1977.  Section 17557 of the 
Government Code (GC) stated that a test claim must be submitted on or before November 
30th following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year. The test claim 
for this mandate was filed on April 17, 1979; therefore, costs incurred on or after July 1, 
1978, are reimbursable.  San Bernardino County may claim and be reimbursed for 
mandated costs incurred on or after July 1, 1977. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year should be included in each claim.  Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable.  Pursuant to section 
17561 (d) (3) of the Government Code (GC), all claims for reimbursement of costs shall 
be submitted within 120 days of issuance of the claiming instructions by the State 
Controller.   
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If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed, except as otherwise allowed by Government Code Section 17564. 

V. REIMBURSABLE COSTS 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may 
be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 
activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show 
the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the 
reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same 
time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents 
may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, 
invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, 
agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or 
declaration stating, “I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge.” 
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for 
reimbursable activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity 
that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

 A. Scope of the Mandate 

Counties shall be reimbursed for the increased costs which they are required to 
incur to have the district attorney actively assist in the resolution of child custody 
and visitation problems; for the enforcement of custody and visitation orders; for 
all actions necessary to locate and return a child(ren) by use of any appropriate 
civil or criminal proceeding; and for complying with other court orders relating to 
child custody or visitation, as provided in Family Code Sections 3130 to 3134.5, 
with the exception of those activities listed in  

Section VI.  

 B. Reimbursable Activities 

For each eligible claimant meeting the above criteria, all direct and indirect costs 
of labor, materials and supplies, training and travel for the following activities are 
eligible for reimbursement: 
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1. Obtaining compliance with court orders relating to child custody or 
visitation proceedings and the enforcement of child custody or visitation 
orders, including: 

a. Contact with child(ren) and other involved persons. 

    (1) Receipt of reports and requests for assistance. 

    (2) Mediating with or advising involved individuals.  
Mediating services may be provided by other departments. 
If this is the case, indicate the department. 

 

    (3) Locating missing or concealed offender and child(ren). 

   b. Utilizing any appropriate civil or criminal court action to secure 
compliance. 

(1) Preparation and investigation of reports and requests for 
assistance. 

(2) Seeking physical restraint of offenders and/or the child(ren) 
to assure compliance with court orders. 

(3) Process services and attendant court fees and costs. 

(4) Depositions. 

   c. Physically recovering the child(ren). 

    (1) Travel expenses, food, lodging, and transportation for the 
escort and child(ren). 

    (2) Other personal necessities for the child.  All such items 
purchased must be itemized. 

2. Court actions and costs in cases involving child custody or visitation 
orders from another jurisdiction, which may include, but are not limited 
to, utilization of the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act  (Family 
Code Sections 3400 through 3425) and actions relating to the Federal 
Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act (42 USC 1738A) and The Hague 
Convention of 25 October 1980 on the Civil Aspects of International 
Child Abduction (Senate Treaty Document 99-11, 99th Congress, 1st 
Session). 

a. Cost of providing foster care or other short-term care for any child 
pending return to the out-of-jurisdiction custodian.  The 
reimbursable period of foster home care or other short-term care 
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may not exceed three days unless special circumstances exist. 

Please explain the special circumstances.  A maximum of ten days 
per child is allowable.  Costs must be identified per child, per day. 
 This cost must be reduced by the amount of state reimbursement 
for foster home care which is received by the county for the 
child(ren) so placed. 

b. Cost of transporting the child(ren) to the out-of-jurisdiction 
custodian. 

(1) Travel expenses, food, lodging, and transportation for the 
escort and child(ren). 

(2) Other personal necessities for the child(ren).  All such 
items purchased must be itemized.  Cost recovered from 
any party, individual or agency, must be shown and used as 
an offset against costs reported in this section. 

(3) Securing appearance of offender and/or child(ren) when an 
arrest warrant has been issued or other order of the court to 
produce the offender or child(ren). 

(a) Cost of serving arrest warrant or order and 
detaining the individual in custody, if necessary, to 
assure appearance in accordance with the arrest 
warrant or order. 

(b) Cost of providing foster home care or other short-
term care for any child requiring such because of 
the detention of the individual having custody.  The 
number of days for the foster home care or short-
term care shall not exceed the number of days of the 
detention period of the individual having physical 
custody of the minor. 

(4) Return of an illegally obtained or concealed child(ren) to 
the legal custodian or agency. 

(a) Costs of food, lodging, transportation and other 
personal necessities for the child(ren) from the time 
he/she is located until he/she is delivered to the 
legal custodian or agency.  All personal necessities 
purchased must be itemized. 

(b) Cost of an escort for the child(ren), including costs 
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of food, lodging, transportation and other expenses 
where such costs are a proper charge against the 
county.  The type of escort utilized must be 
specified. 

Any funds received as a result of costs assessed 
against a defendant or other party in a criminal or 
civil action for the return or care of the minor(s) (or 
defendant, if not part of a criminal extradition) must 
be shown and used as an offset against these costs. 

VI. NON-REIMBURSABLE COSTS 

A. Costs associated with criminal prosecution, commencing with the defendant’s 
first appearance in a California court, for offenses defined in Sections 278 or 
278.5 of the Penal Code, wherein the missing, abducted, or concealed child(ren) 
has been returned to the lawful person or agency. 

VII. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Claims for reimbursement must be timely filed and identify each cost element for which 
reimbursement is claimed under this mandate.  Claimed costs must be identified to each 
reimbursable activity identified in Section V of this document. 

A. Direct Costs 

Direct costs are defined as costs that can be traced to specific goods, services, 
units, programs, activities or functions. 

Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

1. Salary and Employees’ Benefits 

Identify the employee(s), show the classification of the employee(s) 
involved, describe the mandated functions performed and specify the 
actual number of hours devoted to each function, the productive hourly 
rate, and the related benefits.  The average number of hours devoted to 
each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study. 
Benefits are reimbursable; however, benefit rates must be itemized.  If no 
itemization is submitted, 21 percent must be used for computation of 
claimed cost. 

2. Contracted Services 

Provide copies of the contract, separately show the contract services 
performed relative to the mandate, and the itemized costs for such 
services.  Invoices must be submitted as supporting documentation with 
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the claim. 

3. Materials and Supplies 

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost of the mandate 
such as, but not limited to, vehicles, office equipment, communication 
devices, memberships, subscriptions, publications, may be claimed.  List 
the cost of the materials and supplies consumed specifically for the 
purposes of this mandate.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting cash discounts, rebates and allowances received from the 
claimant.  Supplies that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged 
based on a recognized method of costing, consistently applied.   

4. Travel 

Travel expenses for mileage, per diem, lodging, and other employee 
entitlement are eligible for reimbursement in accordance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Provide the name(s) of the traveler(s), purpose of 
travel, inclusive dates and times of travel, destination points, and travel 
costs. 

 

5. Training 

   The cost of training an employee to perform the mandated activities is 
eligible for reimbursement.  Identify the employee(s) by name and job 
classification.  Provide the title and subject of the training session, the 
date(s) attended, and the location.  Reimbursable costs may include 
salaries and benefits, registration fees, transportation, lodging, and per 
diem. Ongoing training is essential to the performance of this mandate 
because of frequent turnover in staff, rapidly changing technology, and 
developments in case law, statutes, and procedures.  Reimbursable 
training under this section includes child abduction training scheduled 
during the California Family Support Council’s conferences, the annual 
advanced child abduction training sponsored by the California District 
Attorney Association, and all other professional training. 

B. Indirect Costs 

Indirect costs are defined as costs which are incurred for a common or joint 
purpose, benefiting more than one program and are not directly assignable to a 
particular department or program without efforts disproportionate to the result 
achieved.  Indirect costs may include both (1) overhead costs of the unit 
performing the mandate, and (2) the costs of central government services 
distributed to other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through 
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a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the 
procedure provided in the OMB Circular A-87.  Claimants have the option of 
using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost 
Rate Proposal (ICRP) for the department if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 
10%.  If more than one department is claiming indirect costs for the mandated 
program, each department must have its own ICRP prepared in accordance with 
OMB Circular A-87.  An ICRP must be submitted with the claim when the 
indirect cost rate exceeds 10%. 

  1. Reimbursements 

On a separate schedule, show details of any reimbursements received from 
the individuals or agencies involved in these cases.  Show the total amount 
of such reimbursements as a reduction of the amount claimed on the cost 
summary form. 

In addition, the costs claimed must be reduced by the amount recovered 
from the charges imposed by the court.  

Any amount received by a county and forwarded directly to the state, must 
be reported on the cost summary form, but will not reduce the amount of 
the claim. 

2. Mileage and Travel 

Local entities will be reimbursed according to the rules of the local 
jurisdiction. 

VIII. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim 
for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is 
subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the 
date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. 
However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the 
program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In 
any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit 
is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section V, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has 
initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until 
the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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IX. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of this statute must be 
deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate received 
from any source e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from the claim. 

X. REQUIRED CERTIFICATION 

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of 
the claim, as specified in the State Controller's claiming instructions, for those costs 
mandated by the state contained therein. 
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CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00013 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
013

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 3. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) 4. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (07)   

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (09)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (10)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  

 



State Controller’s Office                              Local Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

PROGRAM 

013 
CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions.  Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) 1. column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816
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PROGRAM 

013 

CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 

(01) Claimant (02)  Fiscal Year 

   

(03) Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities  

(a) 
 

Salaries 

(b) 
 

Benefits 

(c) 

Materials 
And 

Supplies 

(d) 
 

Contract  
Services 

(e) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(f) 

Travel 
And 

Training 

(g) 
 

Total 

1. Compliance with Court 
Orders 

       

2. Court Costs for Out-of-
Jurisdiction Cases 

       

3. Securing Appearance of 
Offender 

       

4. Return of Children to 
Custodian 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

Indirect Costs 

 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction   

 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount  [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20 /20 
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PROGRAM 

013 

CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 
CLAIM SUMMARY  

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of claim. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f) in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.  

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I 
and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for 
the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one 
department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From the Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line 
(09), and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount 
forward to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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013 
CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 

REIMBURSEMENT SOURCE SUMMARY 

FORM 

1.2
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

20___/20___

(03) Indirect Costs Computation 

(a) (b) (c) (d) 

Cost Activity Case Number Reimbursement Source Amount 

    

 (04)  Total    Subtotal     
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013 

CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 
REIMBURSEMENT SOURCE SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1.2
 
(01) Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02) Enter the year in which costs were incurred. A separate Form 1.2 must be completed for each fiscal year. 

(03) (a) List the cost activity. 

 (b) Enter the case number. 

 (c) Enter the reimbursement source. 

 (d) Enter the amount of reimbursement for the custody of minor programs the county has received 
from defendants, other individuals, or the State Foster Care Program. 

(04) Total the amount of reimbursement received and carryforward this amount to Form 1, line (10), Other 
Reimbursements. 
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013 

CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02)                                                       Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Compliance with Court Orders  3. Securing Appearance of Offender 

 2. Court Costs for Out-of-Jurisdiction Cases  4. Return of Children to Custodian 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 
 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 
 

Travel 
and 

Training 

         

 

(05) Total           Subtotal           Page: ___ of___       

20___/20___ 
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PROGRAM 

013 

CUSTODY OF MINORS-CHILD ABDUCTION AND RECOVERY 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box that indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions 
required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items 
being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a 
period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is 
later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time 
for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

 
 

Object/ 
Sub object 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

Accounts 
(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

with the 
claim 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits+ 
Benefit 
Rate 

X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 
X Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours 

Worked or 
Total Contract

Cost 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

 
 

Travel 
 
 

and 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 
Travel 
Mode 

     

Total 
Travel=Rat
e x Days or 

Miles 

 

Training 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 
Name of Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
     

Registratio
n 

Fee 
 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row.  
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-33 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARREST POLICIES AND STANDARDS 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Domestic Violence Arrests Policies and 
Standards program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission 
on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The     
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On September 25, 1997, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On October 30, 2009, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Amended: October 30, 2009 
Adopted: August 20, 1998 
 

AMENDMENT TO PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Penal Code Section 13701, Subdivision (b) 

Statutes 1995, Chapter 246 

Domestic Violence Arrest Policies and Standards 
05-PGA-29 (CSM - 96-362-02) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement. 

I. Summary and Source of the Mandate 

Chapter 246, Statutes of 1995, added a new subdivision (b) to Penal Code section 13701.  
Subdivision (b) requires the development, adoption and implementation of written arrest policies 
for domestic violence offenders by July 1, 1996.  Further, under subdivision (b), a local agency is 
required to obtain input from local domestic violence agencies in developing the arrest policies. 

Previously, local agencies were required to develop, adopt and implement written policies for 
response to domestic violence calls and were encouraged, but not obligated, to consult with 
domestic violence experts.   

On September 25, 1997, the Commission adopted its Statement of Decision finding that Penal 
Code section 13701, subdivision (b), as added by Chapter 246, Statutes of 1995, imposed a 
reimbursable state mandated program upon local law enforcement agencies. 

II. Eligible Claimants 

Eligible claimants include local law enforcement agencies of any city, county, or city and county. 

III. Period of Reimbursement 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through  
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement. 

Section 17557 of the Government Code states that a test claim must be submitted on or before 
December 31 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal 
year. The test claim was filed by the County of Los Angeles on December 27, 1996. Chapter 246, 
Statutes of 1995, became effective and operative on January 1, 1996.  Therefore, only costs 
incurred on or after January 1, 1996, are eligible for reimbursement. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each reimbursement claim. Estimated costs to 
be incurred in the current fiscal year should be on a separate claim.  Estimated and actual 
reimbursement claims may be filed at the same time, if applicable. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), all claims for reimbursement of 
costs shall be submitted within 120 days of the issuance of claiming instructions issued by the 
State Controller. 
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If total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. Reimbursable Activities 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct 
based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data 
relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal 
government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, all direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, services, travel and 
training, for the following activities are eligible for reimbursement: 

A. Development of Written Arrest Policies (One-time)  

1. Meeting and conferring with “Local Domestic Violence Agencies” to obtain input in the 
development of the written arrest policies.  

2. Developing written arrest policies that: 

a. Encourage the arrest of domestic violence offenders if there is probable cause 
that an offense has been committed; 

b. Require the arrest of an offender, absent exigent circumstances, if there is 
probable cause that a protective order issued under Chapter 4 (commencing 
with section 2040) of Part 1 of Division 6, Division 10 (commencing with 
section 6200), or Chapter 6 (commencing with section 7700) of Part 3 of 
Division 12, of the Family Code, or section 136.2 of the Penal Code, has been 
violated; 

c. Discourage, when appropriate, but not prohibit, dual arrests; and 

d. Require peace officers to make reasonable efforts to identify the primary 
aggressor in any incident.  In identifying the primary aggressor, an officer shall 
consider the intent of the law to protect victims of domestic violence from 
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continuing abuse, the threats creating fear of physical injury, the history of 
domestic violence between the persons involved, and whether either person 
acted in self-defense. 

B. Adoption of Written Arrest Policies (One-time)  

Meetings between the local law enforcement agency and appropriate local government 
official(s) on adoption of written arrest policies. 

C. Training Officers About New Written Domestic Violence Arrest Policies 
    (One-time) 

1. Printing and distributing the new written domestic violence arrest policies to all stations, 
substations, and other sites that normally respond to incidents of domestic violence. 

2. Development of instructional aids and training materials for purposes of training local law 
enforcement officers who normally respond to incidents of domestic violence on the new 
domestic violence arrest policies.  

3. Training local law enforcement officers who normally respond to incidents of domestic 
violence on the new domestic violence arrest policies. 

D.  Implementation of the New Domestic Violence Arrest Policies to Identify the Primary 
Aggressor (On-going) 

1. Interview of both parties involved in the domestic violence incident. 

2. Consideration of the following factors: 

a) Size of the parties 

b) Use of weapons 

c) Is one party stronger than the other 

d) Is one party specially trained in martial arts, boxing, or hand-to-hand combat 
techniques 

e) Who is afraid 

f) Who has the more serious injuries 

g) Location and nature of injuries (offensive vs. defensive) 

h) Did one party escalate the level of violence (push followed by serious beating) 

i) History of abuse (is one person usually the aggressor) 

j) Timing of the second arrest (person claimed to have been assaulted only after arrested) 

k) Existence of court protective orders 

l) Demeanor of the parties 

m) Use of alcohol and other drugs 

n) Existence of corroborating evidence or witnesses 

o) Criminal history 
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p) Other legal defenses 

q) Indicators of defensive injuries including wounds on victim’s palm(s) of hand(s); 
wounds on inside and outside of victim’s arms; bumps on victim’s head (especially 
the back); bite marks on perpetrator’s chest, biceps, or forearms; and scratches on 
perpetrator’s face, chest, neck (strangulation cases).1 

E. Uniform Cost Allowance 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17557, the Commission on State Mandates has adopted 
a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred.  
The uniform cost allowance is applied only to Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, 
Component D (Implementation of the New Domestic Violence Arrest Policies to Identify the 
Primary Aggressor) and covers all costs (direct and indirect) of performing activities 
described under Component D.  The uniform cost allowance provides the following: 

A standard time of twenty-nine (29) minutes may be claimed to 
identify the primary aggressor in any domestic violence incident.  
The standard time of twenty-nine (29) minutes is broken down as 
follows: 

• Seventeen (17) Minutes – Interview of both parties. 

• Twelve (12) Minutes – Consideration of the factors listed 
above.2 

The total cost will be determined by multiplying the number of 
reported responses x the average productive hourly rate, including 
applicable indirect costs as specified in section V., paragraph B, 
herein, x .48 (29 minutes divided by 60 minutes).   

V. Claim Preparation 

Claims for reimbursement must be timely filed and identify each cost element for which 
reimbursement is claimed under this mandate.  Claimed costs must be identified to each 
reimbursable activity identified in Section IV of this document, except that standard times may be 
used as provided herein. 

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 

Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

A.  Direct Costs  

Direct Costs are defined as costs that can be specifically traced to specific goods, services, units, 
programs, activities or functions. 

                                                           
1 The activities required to identify the primary aggressor are based on training material developed by the 
Commission on Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST). 
2 The standard time to identify the primary aggressor is based on the Declarations of Bernice K. Abrams, Deputy and 
Director of the Family Violence Project, Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, dated July 14, 1998, and August 
4, 1998. 
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Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Identify the employee(s), and/or show the classification of the employee(s) involved.  
Describe the mandated functions performed and specify the actual time devoted to each 
function by each employee, productive hourly rate and related fringe benefits. 

Reimbursement for personal services include compensation paid for salaries, wages and 
employee fringe benefits.  Employee fringe benefits include regular compensation paid to an 
employee during periods of authorized absences (e.g., annual leave, sick leave) and the 
employer’s contribution of social security, pension plans, insurance and worker’s 
compensation insurance.  Fringe benefits are eligible for reimbursement when distributed 
equitably to all job activities which the employee performs. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

Only expenditures that can be identified as a direct cost of this mandate may be claimed.  List 
the cost of the materials and supplies consumed specifically for the purposes of this mandate.  
Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after deducting cash discounts, rebates and 
allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are withdrawn from inventory shall be 
charged based on a recognized method of costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contract Services 

Provide the name(s) of the contractor(s) who performed the services, including any fixed 
contracts for services.  Describe the reimbursable activity(ies) performed by each named 
contractor and give the number of actual hours spent on the activities, if applicable.  Show the 
inclusive dates when services were performed and itemize all costs for those services.  Attach 
consultant invoices with the claim. 

4. Fixed Assets 

List the cost of the fixed assets that have been acquired specifically for the purpose of this 
mandate.  If the fixed asset is utilized in some way not directly related to the mandated 
program, only the pro-rata portion of the asset which is used for the purposes of the mandated 
program is reimbursable. 

5. Travel 

Travel expenses for mileage, per diem, lodging and other employee entitlements are 
reimbursable in accordance with the rules of the local jurisdiction.  Provide the name(s) of the 
traveler(s), purpose of travel, inclusive dates and time of travel, destination points and travel 
costs. 

6.  Training 

The cost of training specified in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, is eligible for 
reimbursement.  Identify the employee(s) by name and job classification.  Provide the title of 
the training session, the dates attended and the location.  Reimbursable costs include salaries 
and benefits, registration fees, transportation, lodging and per diem. 
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B.  Indirect Costs  

Indirect costs are defined as costs which are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting 
more than one program and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program 
without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both (1) 
overhead costs of the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of central government 
services distributed to other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost 
allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is reimbursable utilizing the procedure provided in the  
OMB A-87.  Claimants have the option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or 
preparing a departmental Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) for the department if an indirect 
cost rate in excess of 10% is claimed.  If more than one department is claiming indirect costs for 
the mandated program, each department must have its own ICRP prepared in accordance with 
OMB A-87.  An ICRP must be submitted with the claim when the indirect cost rate is in excess 
of 10%. 

C.  Cost Accounting Statistics 

The State Controller’s Office is directed to include in the claiming instructions a request that 
claimants send an additional copy of the test claim specific form for the initial year’s 
reimbursement claim by mail or facsimile to the Commission on State Mandates, 1300 I Street, 
Suite 950, Sacramento, California 95814, Facsimile number: (916) 445-0278.  Although 
providing this information to the Commission on State Mandates is not a condition of 
reimbursement, claimants are encouraged to provide this information to enable the Commission 
to develop a statewide cost estimate which will be the basis for the appropriation to be made by 
the Legislature for this program.    

VI.  Record Retention 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter3 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an 
audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate 
resolution of any audit findings. 

VII.  Offsetting Savings and Other Reimbursement 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of the subject mandate must be 
deducted from the costs claimed.   

                                                           
3 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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Reimbursement for this mandate received from any source, including but not limited to, service 
fees collected; funds from the federal Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act, 
Community Oriented Policing, Family or Domestic Violence Prevention, or any other federal 
funds; and any other state funds shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

VIII. State Controller’s Office Required Certification 

An authorized representative of the claimant shall be required to provide a certification of the 
claim, as specified in the State Controller’s claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the 
State contained herein. 

 



State Controller’s Office                              Local Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARREST POLICIES AND STANDARDS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00167 
(20) Date Filed 
(21) LRS Input 

167
 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04)(a)  

County of Location 
 (23) FORM 1, (04)(b)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 
 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (06)  

City State Zip Code (25) FORM 1, (07) A. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (07) B. (g)  

 (03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (07) C. (g)  

 (04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (09)  

 (05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (10)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (12)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (13)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 
  

Date Signed  
 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   
 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARREST POLICIES AND STANDARDS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (14). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (07) A. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (07) A., column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARREST POLICIES AND STANDARDS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)

 

  Fiscal Year 

20___/ 20___

(03)  Department  

(04)  Claim Statistics 

(a) Number of reported responses to incidents in the fiscal year of claim  

(b) Average productive hourly rate including applicable indirect costs (Refer to claiming instructions)  

(c) Standard time allowed – 29 minutes (0.48 of an hour) 0.48 hour 

Unit Cost Method – Reimbursable Activity D 

(05) Ongoing Activity 

D. Implementation of New Policies [Line (04)(a) x (04)(b) x (04)(c)]  

(06) Total Direct and Indirect Costs for Activity D                          [Carry forward from line (05)(D)]  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

Actual Cost Method 

(07)  One-Time Activities 

(a)  
Salaries 

(b) 
Benefits 

(c) 
Materials

and 
Supplies 

(d) 
Contract 
Services 

(e) 
Fixed 

Assets 

(f) 
Travel 
and 

Training 

(g) 
Total 

A. Development of  Written Policies        

B. Adoption of Written Policies        

C. Training Officers on New Policies        

(08) Total Direct Costs (A, B, C)        

Indirect Costs 

(09) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %l

(10) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(11) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (06) + line (08)(g) + line (10)]  

Cost Reduction   

(12) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(13) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(14) Total Claimed Amount [Line (11) - {line (12) + line (13)}]  
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FORM 

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of claim. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 must be completed for each department. 

(04) (a) Enter the number of reported responses to domestic violence incidents in the fiscal year of claim. 

 (b) Enter the average productive hourly rate including applicable indirect costs. The indirect costs are 
calculated as either a flat rate of 10% multiplied by direct labor (excluding fringe benefits) or the 
department’s Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) rate multiplied by the appropriate indirect cost 
base. 

 (c) The standard time allowed is 29 minutes which equates to 0.48 hour. 

(05)  Calculate costs by using the product of the number of reported responses by the average PHR by 
the standard time allowed [(04)(a) x (04)(b) x (04)(c)]. 

(06)  Total Direct and Indirect Costs for the Implementation of New Policies (Activity D). Enter the total 
from the line above, (05)(D).  

(07)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to 
Form 1, block (07), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(08)  Total Direct Costs of Activities, A, B, and C. Total columns (a) through (g). 

(09)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an ICRP. If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP with the 
claim.   

(10)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I 
and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(08)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is used, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (09). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(11)  Enter the sum of Total Direct and Indirect Costs for Activity D, line (06), Total Direct Costs (08)(g), 
and Total Indirect Costs, line (10). 

(12)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(13)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

  (14)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (11), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (12), 
and Other Reimbursements, line (13). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward 
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

One-Time Activities 

 A. Development of Written Policies C. Training Officers on New Policies 

 B. Adoption of Written Policies   

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job 

Classifications, Functions Performed 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 
 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 
 

Travel 
and 

Training 

         

 

(05) Total        Subtotal        Page: ____ of ____       
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(01) 
  

Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box that indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 
2 must be prepared for each activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions 
required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items 
being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a 
period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is 
later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time 
for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used   

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
X Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = Hourly 
Rate x Hours 

Worked or 
Total Contract

Cost 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost Usage     Cost = Unit Cost 

x Usage   

 
Travel 

 
 

and 

Purpose of Trip 
Name and Title 
Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 
Travel 
Mode 

     

Total Travel 
= Rate x 
Days or  

Miles 

 

Training 
Employee 

Name and Title 
Name of Class 

 Dates 
Attended      Registration

Fee  

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (07), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row.  
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COST CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2007-04 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 

JANUARY 2, 2007 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Domestic Violence Arrests and Victim 
Assistance (DVA) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the 
Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & 
Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions. 

On December 9, 2004, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: October 26, 2006 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 
Penal Code Sectioils 264.2 and 13701 

Statutes 1998, Chapters 698 and 702 

Domestic Violence Arrests and Victim Assistance (9  8-TC- 14) 

County of Los Angeles, Claimant 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On December 9, 2004, the Commission on State Mandates (Commissioii) adopted the 
Statement of Decision fiiidiiig that Penal Code section 13701, subdivision (c)(9)(D) and (H) (as 
amended by Stats. 1998, cli. 702), and Penal Code section 264.2, subdivision (a) (as amended by 
Stats. 1998, ch. 698), iinpose a reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within 
the meaning of article XI11 B, section 6 of the California Constitution and Government Code 
section 175 14 for the following activities: 

Providing victim cards to victims for the followiiig crimes: (1) Penal code section 243, 
subdivision (e), battery against a spouse, a person with whom the defendant is 
cohabitating, a person who is the parent of the defendant's child, former spouse, fianck, 
of fiancke, or a person with who, the defendant has, or previously had, a dating or 
engagement relationship; and Penal Code section 273.5, willful infliction of corporal 
injury on a spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father 
of his or her child (section 264.2, subd. (a)). 

The one-time cost of printing victim cards to add the followiiig new information: 
(I)  plione numbers and/or local county liotlines of battered-women shelters; (2) a 
statement that domestic violence or assault by a person who is known to the victim, 
including domestic violence or assault by a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a 
crime. (Section 1370 1, subd. (c)(9)(H)(i) & (iv)). 

The one-time cost of adding to the domestic violence response policy two new crimes 
(Section 243, subd. (e), & 273.5) to those for which a victim card is given out 
(Section 1370 1, subd. (c)(9)(H)). 

The one-time cost of adding the following to the description of the victim card in the 
domestic violence response policy: (1) plione numbers and/or local county hotlines of 
battered-women shelters; (2) a statement that domestic violeiice or assault by a person 
who is ltnown to the victim, including domestic violence or assault by a person who is the 
spouse of the victim, is a crime. (Section 1370 1, subd. (c)(9)(H)(i) & (iv)). 

11. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this reimbursable 
state-mandated program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs. 

Parameters & Guidelines 
Dornestic Violence Arrests and 
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111. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557, subdivision (c), as ainended by Statutes 1998, chapter 68 1, 
states that a test claiin shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a given fiscal year to 
establish eligibility for reimbursement for that iiscal year. The County of Los Angeles filed the 
subject test claim on May 2 1, 1999, establishing eligibility for fiscal year 1997-1 998. However, 
the effective and operative date of the test claiin legislati011 is January 1, 1999. Accordingly, 
costs incurred for compliance with Penal Code sections 264.2 and 1370 1, as amended by 
Statutes 1998, chapters 698 and 702, are reinlbul.sable 011 or after January 1, 1999. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included ill each claim. Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the saine claim, if applicable. Pursuant to Govern~nent 
Code sectioil 17561, subdivisioi~ (d)(l)(A), all claiins for reimbursement of initial fiscal years 
costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the 
claiming instructions. 

If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reiinburseinent sl~all be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Governinent Code section 17564. 

There shall be no reimburseinent for any period in which the Legislature has suspei~ded the 
operation of a lnalldate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for inandated cost reimbursement for any given fiscal year, only actual costs may 
be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the inandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source docuinents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationsl~ip to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source docuinents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worltsheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Califorilia that the foregoing is 
true and correct," and must further coi~lply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 201 5.5. Evidence corroborating the source docuinents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in coinpliance with local, state, and federal goveri~ment 
requirements. However, corroboratii~g docuinents cannot be substituted for source docuinei~ts. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is 
task-repetitive. Time study usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State 
Controller's Office. 

'he claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for illcreased costs for reimbursable 
activities identilied below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant. the following activities are reimbursable: 

Parameters & Guidelines 
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A. One-Time Activities 

1. Printing victim cards to add the following new information: a) phone numbers and/or local 
county hotlines of battered-women shelters; and b) a statement that domestic violence or 
assault by a person who is known to the victim, including domestic violence or assault by a 
person who is the spouse of the victim, is a crime (Pen. Code, 5 1370 1, subd. (c)(9)(H)(i) & 

(iv)). 

2. Adding to the domestic violence response policy two new crimes (Section 243, subd. (e), & 
273.5) to those for which a victim card is given out (Pen. Code, 5 13701, subd. (c)(9)(H)). 

3. Adding the following to the descriptioil of the victim card in the domestic violence response 
policy: a) phone iluinbers and/or local county hotlines of battered-women shelters; and b) a 
statement that domestic violence or assault by a person who is known to the victim, including 
domestic violence or assault by a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a crime 
(Pen. Code, 5 13701, subd. (c)(9)(H)(i) & (iv)). 

B. Ongoing Activity 

1. Providing victim cards to victims for the following crimes (Pen. Code, 5 264.2, subd. (a)): 
a) Penal Code section 243, subdivisioi~ (e) - battery against a spouse, a person with whom the 
defendant is cohabitating, a persoil who is the parent of the defendant's child, former spouse, 
fiance, of fiancee, or a persoil with who, the defendant has, or previously had, a dating or 
engagement relationship; and b) Penal Code section 273.5 - willful infliction of corporal 
injury 011 a spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father of 
his or her child. 

Providing victim cards to victims include the following reimbursable activities: 

a. Obtaining the card. 

b. Giving the card to the victim. 

c. Explaining to the victim what the card is and how the victim could use the card. 

d. Addressing questioils about the card and shelters. 

e. If necessary, providing an interpreter at the scene to communicate with the victim. 

Note: An officer's time for investigating and arresting the accused is not reimbursable. 

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document. Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV. Additionally, each 
reimbursement claiill illust be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reiillbursable activities. The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee impleinentiilg the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
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productive hours). Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities. If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 
on the activities and all costs charged. If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim. If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed. Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services. 

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities. T11e purchase price iilcludes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installatioil costs. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

B. Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved. Indirect costs may include both ( I )  overhead costs of the 
unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed to 
the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87. Claimants have the option of 
using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal 
(ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in 
OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect costs shall exclude capital 
expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-87 
Attaclments A and B). However, unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they 
represent activities to which indirect costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be ( I )  total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) direct salaries and 
wages, or (3) another base which results in a11 equitable distribution. 
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In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
nlethodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplisl~ed by (1) classifying a department's 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total 
allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base. 
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates. The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) separating a department 
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division's or 
section's total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing 
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable 
distribution base. The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to 
distribute indirect costs to mandates. The rate should be expressed as a percentage 
which the total amount allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Goverllment Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated 
by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same statutes or 
executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed. In 
addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited to, service 
fees collected, federal funds and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted from this 
claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER'S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiining costs to be reimbursed. The claiming instructions shall be 

' This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Governn~ent Code. 
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derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Coininission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 1756 1, subdivision (d)(l), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file 
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 1757 1. If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to inodify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall inodify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission. 

In addition, requests may be made to ailleild parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557, subdivision (a), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 11 83.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual 
basis for the parameters and guidelines. The support for the legal and factual findings is found in 
the administrative record for the test claim. The administrative record, including the Statement 
of Decision, is on file with the Coinmission. 

Parameters & Guidelines 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARREST AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00274 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
274

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (f)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) A. 3. (f)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (07)   

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (09)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (10)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARREST AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed,
complete a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; 
minimum claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced 
by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula 
as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1., column (f). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage 
should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data 
block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  Fiscal Year 

   

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c)          (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials and

Supplies 
Contract 
Services 

Fixed Assets
 

Total 

A. One-Time Activities  

1. Printing Victim Cards       

2. 
Adding Two New Crimes to Response 
Policy                                                             

      

3. Adding Information to Response Policy       

B. Ongoing Activity  

1. Providing Cards to Victims  
      

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 
 
 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs 
 

[Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 
 
 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20 /20 
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PROGRAM 

274 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 
CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.  

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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 PROGRAM 

274 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM

2 

(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                Fiscal Year

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. One-Time Activities 
 

    1. Printing Victim Cards 
 

    2. Adding Two New Crimes to Response Policy 
 

    3. Adding Information to Response Policy 
 

B. Ongoing Activity 
 

   1. Providing Cards to Victims 
 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries 
 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

 

        

(05) Total               Subtotal               Page: ______of_______
     

20___/20___ 
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PROGRAM 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ARRESTS AND VICTIM ASSISTANCE 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box that indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, and contract services. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) 
must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit 
purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than 
three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 
Object/ 

Sub object 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

Accounts (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) with the claim

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours Worked
     

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

    

Materials and 
Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies 
Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

   

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific 
Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked 
 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked 

 

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed Assets 
Description 

of Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

 

 
 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2010-40 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES –  

AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Domestic Violence Treatment Services-
Authorization and Case Management program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions 
subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and 
Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On November 30, 1998, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language as requested by the SCO. 

Exception 

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any county, or city and county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 
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 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  
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Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. To expedite the 

process, please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the 

claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


 1

Adopted:  11/30/98 
Amended:  1/29/10 

 

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines 

Penal Code Sections 1000.93, 1000.94 and 1000.95 
Penal Code Sections 273.5, subdivisions (e), (f), (g), (h) and (i) 

Penal Code Section 1203.097 

Statutes 1992, Chapters 183, and 184, Statutes 1993, Chapter 221,  
Statutes 1993-1994, Chapter 28X, Statutes 1995, Chapter 641 

Domestic Violence Treatment Services — Authorization and Case Management 
05-PGA-30 (96-281-01) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

I. Summary and Source of the Mandate 

The test claim legislation provides that if an accused is convicted of a domestic violence crime 
and granted probation as part of sentencing, the defendant is required to successfully complete a 
batterer’s treatment program as a condition of probation. 

The Commission determined that probation is a penalty for conviction of a crime.  The successful 
completion of probation is required before the unconditional release of the defendant.  If the 
defendant fails to successfully complete a batterer’s treatment program, the test claim legislation 
subjects the defendant to further sentencing and incarceration.   

Since the legislature changed the penalty for domestic violence crimes by changing the 
requirements for probation, the Commission determined that the “crimes and infractions” 
disclaimer in Government Code section 17556, subdivision (g), applies to this claim.  Based on 
the plain and ordinary meaning of the words used by the Legislature, the Commission concluded 
that subdivision (g) applies to those activities required by the test claim legislation that are 
directly related to the enforcement of the statute which changed the penalty for a crime. 

The Commission concluded that the activities listed below are not directly related to the 
enforcement of the test claim statute under Government Code section 17556, subdivision (g), and, 
therefore, are reimbursable: 

• Administration and regulation of batterers’ treatment programs (Pen. Code,  
§ 1203.097, subds. (c)(1), (c)(2), and (c)(5)) offset by the claimant’s fee authority under 
Penal Code section 1203.097, subdivision (c)(5)(B). 

• Providing services for victims of domestic violence.  (Pen. Code, § 1203.097, 
subd. (b)(4).) 

• Assessing the future probability of the defendant committing murder.  (Pen. Code, 
§ 1203.097, subd. (b)(3)(I).) 

II. Eligible Claimants 

Eligible claimants include counties, and city and county. 
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III. Period of Reimbursement 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through  
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

Section 17557 of the Government Code states that a test claim must be submitted on or before 
December 31 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal 
year.  The test claim was filed by the County of Los Angeles on October 4, 1996. Statutes of 
1995, Chapter 641, became effective and operative on January 1, 1996.  Therefore, costs incurred 
on or after January 1, 1996, are eligible for reimbursement. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial years’ costs shall be submitted within 120 days of issuance of the claiming instructions by 
the State Controller. 

If total costs for a given year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be allowed, except as 
otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. Reimbursable Activities 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct 
based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data 
relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal 
government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate.  For each eligible claimant, all direct and indirect 
costs of labor, supplies, services, travel and training, for the following activities are eligible for 
reimbursement: 

A. Administration and regulation of batterers’ treatment programs (Pen. Code,  
§§ 1203.097, subds. (c)(1), (c)(2) and (c)(5)) offset by the claimant’s fee authority under 
Penal Code section 1203.097, subdivision (c)(5)(B). 

1. Development of an approval and annual renewal process for batterers’ programs, not 
previously claimed under former Penal Code sections 1000.93 and 1000.95. (One-time 
activity.) 
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a. Meeting and conferring with and soliciting input from criminal justice agencies and 
domestic violence victim advocacy programs.  

b. Staff training regarding the administration and regulation of batterers’ treatment 
programs. (One-time for each employee performing the mandated activity.) 

2. Processing of initial and annual renewal approvals for vendors, including: 

a. Application review. 

b. On-site evaluations. 

c. Notification of application approval, denial, suspension or revocation. 

B. Victim Notification. (Pen. Code, § 1203.097, subd. (b)(4).) 

1. The probation department shall attempt to:  

a. Notify victims regarding the requirement for the defendant’s participation in a 
batterer’s program. 

b. Notify victims regarding available victim resources. 

c. Inform victims that attendance in any program does not guarantee that an abuser will 
not be violent.  

2. Staff training on the following activities: 

a. Notify victims regarding the requirement for the defendant’s participation in a 
batterer’s program, and inform victims that attendance in any program does not 
guarantee that an abuser will not be violent.  (One-time for each employee performing 
the mandated activities.) 

b. Notify victims regarding available victim resources.  (Once-a-year training for each 
employee performing the mandated activity.) 

C. Assessing the future probability of the defendant committing murder.  (Pen. Code,  
§ 1203.097, subd. (b)(3)(I).) 

1. Evaluation and selection of a homicidal risk assessment instrument.  

2. Purchasing or developing a homicidal risk assessment instrument. 

3. Training staff on the use of the homicidal risk assessment instrument.  

4. Evaluation of the defendant using the homicidal risk assessment instrument, interviews 
and investigation, to assess the future probability of the defendant committing murder.  

In the event a local agency obtains a new homicidal risk assessment instrument, 
documentation substantiating the improved value of the new instrument is required to be 
provided with the claim. 

V. Claim Preparation 

Claims for reimbursement must be timely filed and identify each cost element for which 
reimbursement is claimed under this mandate.  Claimed costs must be identified to each 
reimbursable activity identified in Section IV of this document. 
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SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 

Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

A.  Direct Costs  

Direct Costs are defined as costs that can be traced to specific goods, services, units, programs, 
activities or functions. 

Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Identify the employee(s), and/or show the classification of the employee(s) involved.  
Describe the reimbursable activities performed and specify the actual time devoted to each 
reimbursable activity by each employee, productive hourly rate and related fringe benefits. 

Reimbursement for personal services includes compensation paid for salaries, wages and 
employee fringe benefits.  Employee fringe benefits include regular compensation paid to an 
employee during periods of authorized absences (e.g., annual leave, sick leave) and the 
employer’s contribution of social security, pension plans, insurance and worker’s 
compensation insurance.  Fringe benefits are eligible for reimbursement when distributed 
equitably to all job activities which the employee performs. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Only expenditures that can be identified as  direct costs of this mandate may be claimed.  List 
the cost of the materials and supplies consumed specifically for the purposes of this mandate.  
Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after deducting cash discounts, rebates and 
allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are withdrawn from inventory shall be 
charged based on a recognized method of costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contract Services 

Provide the name(s) of the contractor(s) who performed the services, including any fixed 
contracts for services.  Describe the reimbursable activity(ies) performed by each named 
contractor and give the number of actual hours spent on the activities, if applicable.  Show the 
inclusive dates when services were performed and itemize all costs for those services.   

4. Fixed Assets 

List the costs of the fixed assets that have been acquired specifically for the purpose of this 
mandate.  If the fixed asset is utilized in some way not directly related to the mandated 
program, only the pro-rata portion of the asset which is used for the purposes of the mandated 
program is eligible for reimbursement.  

5. Travel 

Travel expenses for mileage, per diem, lodging and other employee entitlements are eligible 
for reimbursement in accordance with the rules of the local jurisdiction.  Provide the name(s) 
of the traveler(s), purpose of travel, inclusive dates and times of travel, destination points and 
travel costs. 

6. Training 

The cost of training an employee to perform the mandated activities is eligible for 
reimbursement.  Identify the employee(s) by name and job classification.  Provide the title 



 5

and subject of the training session, the date(s) attended and the location.  Reimbursable costs 
may include salaries and benefits, registration fees, transportation, lodging and per diem. 

B.  Indirect Costs  

Indirect costs are defined as costs which are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting 
more than one program and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program 
without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both  
(1) overhead costs of the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of central government 
services distributed to other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost 
allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
the OMB A-87.  Claimants have the option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe 
benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) for the department if the indirect 
cost rate claimed exceeds 10%.  If more than one department is claiming indirect costs for the 
mandated program, each department must have its own ICRP prepared in accordance with OMB 
A-87.  An ICRP must be submitted with the claim when the indirect cost rate exceeds 10%. 

VI. Records Retention  

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an 
audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate 
resolution of any audit findings. 

VII.  Data for Development of a Statewide Cost Estimate 

The State Controller’s Office is directed to include in the claiming instructions a request that 
claimants send an additional copy of the test claim specific form for the initial years’ 
reimbursement claim by mail or facsimile to the Commission on State Mandates, 1300 I Street, 
Suite 950, Sacramento, California 95814, Facsimile number: (916) 445-0278.  Although 
providing this information to the Commission on State Mandates is not a condition of 
reimbursement, claimants are encouraged to provide this information to enable the Commission 
to develop a statewide cost estimate which will be the basis for the Legislature’s appropriation for 
this program.    

VIII. Offsetting Savings and Other Reimbursement 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of the subject mandate must be 
deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate received from any 
source, including but not limited to, service fees collected under Penal Code section 1203.097, 

                                                           
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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subdivision (c)(5)(B), federal funds and other state funds shall be identified and deducted from 
this claim. 

IX. State Controller’s Office Required Certification 

An authorized representative of the claimant shall be required to provide a certification of the 
claim, as specified in the State Controller’s claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the 
State contained herein. 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES – 
AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00177 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
177

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04)(1)(g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04)(2)(g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04)(3)(g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (06)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (07)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (09)   

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (10)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

177 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES –  

AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was timely filed. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows:: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04)(1)(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04)(1), column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

177 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES –  

AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
 

       Fiscal Year  

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) 
 

Salaries 

(b) 
 

Benefits 

(c) 
 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(d) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(e) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(f) 
 

Travel 
and 

Training 

(g) 
 

Total 

1. Administration and Regulation 
of Batterers’ Treatment 
Programs 

       

2. Victim Notification 
       

3. Assessing Future Probability 
of Defendant Committing 
Murder 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs 
 

[Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Amount Received pursuant to PC § 1203.097(c)(5)(B) and other applicable sources  

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20 /20 
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PROGRAM 

177 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES –  

AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 
CLAIM SUMMARY INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim. 

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is 
reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  Enter the amount received pursuant to Penal Code Section 1203.097 (c)(5)(B), and if applicable, other 
reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal 
funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit a 
schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.  

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

177 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES –  

AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                  Fiscal Year 

 
   

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Administration and Regulation of Batterers’ Treatment Programs 

 2. Victim Notification 

 3. Assessing Future Probability of Defendant Committing Murder 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries
 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

Travel 
and 

Training 

 

 
        

(05)  Total           Subtotal          Page: _____of_____       

20___/20___ 
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PROGRAM 

177 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE TREATMENT SERVICES –  

AUTHORIZATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions 
required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items 
being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a 
period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is 
later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time 
for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  

Benefits =
Benefit 
Rate 

x Salaries

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours 

Worked 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

  

 

 
Travel 

 
 

and 

Purpose of Trip 
Name and Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage 
Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total Travel
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

Training 

Employee 
Name and Title 

Name of Class 
 

Dates 
Attended 

     
Registration 

Fee 
 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-41 

HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND FIREFIGHTERS 

LOCAL AGENCIES  

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace 
Officers and Firefighters program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the 
Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & 
Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions. 

On October 26, 2000, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city, county, or specified special district, as defined in GC section 17518, that incurs 
increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Special districts, subject to tax and spend limitations pursuant to the provisions of Articles XIII 
A and B of the California Constitution, are eligible to file a claim for reimbursement.  To 
establish proof of eligibility and to minimize payment delays, the SCO requests that special 
district claimants submit a supporting document affirming that the special district received an 
annual allocation of property tax revenue from the county pursuant to Article XIII A of the 
California Constitution.   This may include a Board of Directors Resolution establishing the 
appropriation limit for the fiscal year being claimed, in compliance with Article XIII B of the 
California Constitution. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 
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Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC Section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), provided that a 
county may submit a combined claim on behalf of direct service districts or special districts 
within their county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual direct service 
district’s or special district’s claim does not each exceed $1,000. The county shall determine if 
the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for 
disbursing the funds to each direct service district or special district. These combined claims may 
be filed only when the county is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show 
the individual claim costs for each eligible district. All subsequent claims based upon the same 
mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a direct service district or special district 
provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county and to the SCO, at 
least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 
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Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Adopted: 3/29/01 
Amended:  1/29/10 

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines  

Labor Code Section 4856, Government Code Section 21635 

Statutes 1996, Chapter 1120 
Statutes 1997, Chapter 193 

Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers and Firefighters 
05-PGA-32 (97-TC-25) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement 

I. SUMMARY AND SOURCE OF THE MANDATE 

Statutes 1996, chapter 1120 enacted Labor Code section 4856, which requires local 
agencies to provide lifelong health benefits to the survivors of peace officers and 
firefighters who die in the line of duty.  Statutes 1997, chapter 193 further amended 
Labor Code section 4856 by applying this benefit retroactively.  Additionally, chapter 
1120 amended Government Code section 21635, by deleting language exempting local 
agencies from collective bargaining under the Meyers-Milias-Brown Act with their 
employees for survivor health benefits. 

On October 26, 2000, the Commission adopted its Statement of Decision that the test 
claim legislation constitutes a reimbursable state mandated program upon local 
governments within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution 
and Government Code section 17514. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

1. Providing Survivor Health Benefits (Labor Code Section 4856) 

Counties, cities, a city and county, and special districts, as defined in Government 
Code section 17518 that employ peace officers and firefighters, and school districts, 
as defined in Government Code section 17519, that employ peace officers are eligible 
claimants. 

2. Collective Bargaining (Government Code Section 21635) 

Counties, cities, a city and county and special districts, as defined in Government 
Code section 17518 are eligible claimants. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through 
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

Section 17557 of the Government Code, prior to its amendment by Statutes 1998, chapter 
681, (effective September 22, 1998), stated that a test claim must be submitted on or 
before December 31 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for 
reimbursement for that fiscal year.  The test claim for this mandate was filed on  
June 9, 1998.   
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Statutes 1996, chapter 1120, an urgency statute, became effective September 30, 1996.  It 
requires that local agencies provide health benefits to the survivors of peace officers and 
firefighters killed in the line of duty after September 30, 1996.  And it allows collective 
bargaining for the continued health benefits coverage of a surviving spouse.  Therefore, 
costs incurred for Statutes 1996, chapter 1120, are eligible for reimbursement on or after 
July 1, 1997.   

Statutes 1997, chapter 193, became effective on January 1, 1998.  It requires that local 
agencies provide health benefits to the survivors of peace officers and firefighters killed 
in the line of duty before September 30, 1996.  Therefore, cost incurred for Statutes 1997, 
chapter 193, are eligible for reimbursement on or after January 1, 1998. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable.  Pursuant to section 
17561, subdivision (d)(1) of the Government Code, all claims for reimbursement of 
initial years’ costs shall be submitted within 120 days of notification by the State 
Controller of the issuance of claiming instructions.  

If total costs for a given year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may 
be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 
activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show 
the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the 
reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same 
time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents 
may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, 
invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, 
agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or 
declaration stating, “I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge.” 
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for 
reimbursable activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity 
that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, all direct and indirect costs of labor, materials, supplies and 
services, training and travel for the performance of the following activities, are eligible 
for reimbursement: 



 3

Component A.  Providing Survivor Health Benefits (Labor Code Section 4856) 

1. Developing or updating internal policies, procedures and manuals as necessary to 
provide health benefits to the deceased peace officer’s or firefighter’s surviving 
spouse and eligible dependents, as required under Labor Code section 4856  
(one-time activity). 

2. Upon the death of a peace officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty, the 
ongoing costs of maintaining files, manually or electronically, related to providing 
health benefits to the deceased peace officer’s or firefighter’s surviving spouse and 
eligible dependents, as required under Labor Code section 4856, is reimbursable. 

3. Dependent Notification 

a. Upon the death of a peace officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty, 
providing a one-time notification to the surviving spouse that the local 
government employer must continue providing health benefits to the 
deceased employee’s spouse and minor dependents under the same terms 
and conditions provided before death, or prior to the accident or injury that 
caused death.  If there is no surviving spouse, then providing a one-time 
notification to the minor dependents, or guardian, that the local 
government employer must continue providing health benefits until the 
minor dependents reach the age of 21 years.   

b. Providing a one-time notice to the minor dependents of peace officers or 
firefighters killed in the line of duty, when they are no longer eligible for 
continued health benefits under the surviving spouse’s coverage.  Or, if 
there is no surviving spouse, when the minor dependents reach the age of 
21 years. 

c. Upon remarriage of the surviving spouse, providing  a one-time notice to 
the surviving spouse that the new spouse or stepchildren cannot be added 
as family members under the continued health benefits coverage of the 
surviving spouse. 

4. Upon the death of a peace officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty,  
communicating with the insurance plan provider for the purpose of notifying the 
insurance plan provider of the peace officer’s or firefighter’s death, and 
coordinating with the insurance plan provider to ensure that the deceased peace 
officer’s or firefighter’s surviving spouse and eligible dependents will continue 
receiving health benefits under the same terms and conditions as provided before 
death, or prior to the accident or injury that caused death. 

5. Upon the death of a peace officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty, 
the amount of the insurance premiums paid to HMOs, or the contributions 
to self-insured pools, for the continued health benefits coverage to the 
deceased peace officer’s or firefighter’s surviving spouse, as required 
under Labor Code section 4856, is reimbursable.  Eligible minor 
dependents are provided health benefits under the surviving spouse’s 
coverage.  If there is no surviving spouse, eligible dependents are provided 
health benefits until the age of 21 years.  A surviving spouse’s new spouse 
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or stepchildren are ineligible for continued health benefits under the 
surviving spouse’s coverage.  

Component B.  Collective Bargaining for the Continued Health Benefits Coverage of a 
Surviving Spouse (Government Code Section 21635) 

1. Developing or updating internal policies, procedures and manuals as necessary to 
collectively bargain with local employee representatives (one-time activity). 

2. Maintaining files manually or electronically related to collective bargaining. 

3. The cost of up to five employer representatives and the cost of up to five 
employee representatives will be reimbursed for the following activities if a 
representative of a recognized employee organization requests that the local 
governmental employer meet and confer in good faith. 

a. Reviewing the recognized employee organization’s initial contract proposal. 

b. Developing and presenting the local government employer’s response to the 
recognized employee organization’s initial contract proposal. 

c. Participating in negotiating planning sessions in preparation of pending 
negotiations with the recognized employee organization’s representatives. 

d. Negotiating with the recognized employee organization’s representatives. 

e. Holding public hearings, pursuant to Government Code 3505.1, so that the 
governing board can approve the memorandum of understanding. 

f. Reproducing and distributing to employer representatives (supervisory, 
management, and confidential) that portion of the final contract agreement.  
Reproducing and distributing copies of the final contract to collective 
bargaining unit members are not reimbursable. 

V.  CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Claims for reimbursement must be timely filed and identify each cost element for which 
reimbursement is claimed under this mandate.  Claimed costs must be identified to each 
reimbursable activity identified in Section IV of this document. 

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 

Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

A.  Direct Costs 

Direct Costs are defined as costs that can be traced to specific goods, services, units, 
programs, activities or functions. 

Claimed costs shall be supported by the following cost element information: 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Identify the employee(s), and/or show the classification of the employee(s) involved. 
Describe the reimbursable activities performed and specify the actual time devoted to 
each reimbursable activity, the productive hourly rate, and related employee benefits. 
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Reimbursement includes compensation paid for salaries, wages, and employee benefits.  
Employee benefits include regular compensation paid to an employee during periods of 
authorized absences (e.g., annual leave, sick leave) and the employer’s contributions to 
social security, pension plans, insurance, and workers’ compensation insurance.  
Employee benefits are eligible for reimbursement when distributed equitably to all job 
activities performed by the employee. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Only expenditures that can be identified as a direct cost of this mandate may be claimed.  
List the cost of the materials and supplies consumed specifically for the purposes of this 
mandate.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after deducting cash discounts, 
rebates and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are withdrawn from 
inventory shall be charged based on a recognized method of costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contract Services 

Contracted services for participation of employer representatives in contract negotiations 
and negotiation planning sessions will be reimbursed.  Provide the name(s) of the 
contractor(s) who performed the services, including any fixed contracts for services.  
Describe the reimbursable activity(ies)  performed by each named contractor and give the 
number of actual hours spent on the activities, if applicable.  Show the inclusive dates 
when services were performed and itemize all costs for those services.  Submit contract 
consultant and attorney invoices with the claim. 

4.  Travel 

Travel expenses for mileage, per diem, lodging, and other employee entitlements are 
eligible for reimbursement in accordance with the rules of the local jurisdiction.  Provide 
the name(s) of the traveler(s), purpose of travel, inclusive dates and times of travel, 
destination points and travel costs. 

5.  Training 

The cost of training an employee to perform the mandated activities is eligible for 
reimbursement.  Identify the employee(s) by name and job classification.  Provide the 
title and subject of the training session, the date(s) attended, and the location.  
Reimbursable costs may include salaries and benefits, registration fees, transportation, 
lodging, and per diem. 

B.  Indirect Costs 

Indirect costs are defined as costs which are incurred for a common or joint purpose, 
benefiting more than one program and are not directly assignable to a particular 
department or program without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect 
costs may include both (1) overhead costs of the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the 
costs of central government services distributed to other departments based on a 
systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Cities, Counties, and Special Districts 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure 
provided in the OMB A-87.  Claimants have the option of using 10% of direct labor, 
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excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) if the 
indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%.   

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and 
described in OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect costs shall 
exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in OMB 
Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).  However, unallowable costs must be included in 
the direct costs if they represent activities to which indirect costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and 
other distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) direct 
salaries and wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the Claimant shall have the choice of one of the two following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB 
Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) classifying a 
department’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) 
dividing the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an 
equitable distribution base.  The result of this process is an indirect cost rate 
which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be 
expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect costs bears to 
the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB 
Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) separating a 
department into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the 
division’s or section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, 
and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an 
equitable distribution base.  The result of this process is an indirect cost rate 
which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be 
expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect costs bears to 
the base selected. 

School Districts 

1.  School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive 
indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of 
Education. 

2. County offices of education must use the J-580 (or subsequent replacement) 
non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the State Department 
of Education. 

3. Community colleges have the option of using (1) a federally approved rate, 
utilizing the cost accounting principles from the Office of Management and 
Budget Circular A-21 “Cost Principles of Educational Institutions”, (2) the rate 
calculated on State Controller’s Form FAM-29C, or (3) a 7% indirect cost rate. 
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VI. RECORD RETENTION  

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim 
for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is 
subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the 
date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. 
However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the 
program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In 
any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit 
is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has 
initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until 
the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII.  OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of the subject mandate 
shall be deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate 
received from any source, including but not limited to, service fees collected, federal 
funds and other state funds shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

VIII.  STATE CONTROLLER’S OFFICE REQUIRED CERTIFICATION 

An authorized representative of the claimant shall be required to provide a certification of 
the claim, as specified in the State Controller’s claiming instructions, for those costs 
mandated by the State contained herein. 

IX. PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES AMENDMENTS 

Pursuant to Title 2, California Code of Regulations, section 1183.2, Parameters and 
Guidelines amendments filed before the deadline for initial claims as specified in the 
Claiming Instructions shall apply to all years eligible for reimbursement as defined in the 
original parameters and guidelines.  A Parameters and Guidelines amendment filed after 
the initial claiming deadline must be submitted on or before January 15, following a 
fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year. 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
 



State Controller’s Office                             Local Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND 
FIREFIGHTERS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00197 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
197

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (03)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 1.(f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) B. 1.(f)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) B. 2.(f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 3.(f)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 4.(f)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (04) B. 5.(f)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (06)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (07)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (09)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (10)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

197 
HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND 

 FIREFIGHTERS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 of the 
following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on 
time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as follows:: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1., column (f). Enter the information on the same line but 
in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

197 
HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVIORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND 

FIREFIGHTERS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)     Fiscal Year

20___ / 20___

(03) Number of peace officers and firefighters who died in the line of duty during the fiscal year  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries Benefits Materials and
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Travel 
and 

Training 

Total 

  A. One-Time Activity   

   1. Develop Policies and Procedures       

  B. Ongoing Activities  

1. File Maintenance 
      

2. Dependent Notification 
      

3. Insurance Notification       

4. Continued Coverage       

5. Contract Negotiations       

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 

Indirect Costs 

 (06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

 (07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

 (08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVIORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND 

FIREFIGHTERS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Enter the number of peace officers and firefighters who died in the line of duty during the fiscal year. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I 
and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND 

FIREFIGHTERS 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                             Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. One-Time Activity B. Ongoing Activities 

 1. Develop Policies and Procedures  1. File Maintenance 

   2. Dependent Notification 

   3. Insurance Notification 

   4. Continued Coverage 

   5. Contract Negotiations 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 

Salaries 

(e) 

 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contract 
Services 

(h) 

Travel 
and 

Training 

 

        

 
(05)  Total           Subtotal            Page: ____of____      
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PROGRAM 
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HEALTH BENEFITS FOR SURVIVORS OF PEACE OFFICERS AND 
FIREFIGHTERS 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, and travel expenses. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) 
must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit 
purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than 
three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub Object 
Accounts 

Columns Submit  
supporting 
documents 

with the claim(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

 
 

Salaries 
 

 

 
Employee 
Name/Title 

 
Hourly 
Rate 

 
Hours 

Worked 

 
 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours Worked

     

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

 
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate 
x Salaries 

     

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

 

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 
Specific Tasks 

Performed 
 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 
Inclusive 

Dates 
of Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours 

Worked  
or 

Total Contract 
Cost 

 

Copy of 
Contract  

and 
Invoices 

Travel 
 

and 
 

Training 

Purpose of Trip 
Name and Title 
Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 
Travel 
Mode 

    

Total Travel =
Rate x Days 

or 
Miles 

 

Employee Name 
and Title 

Name of Class 
 

Dates 
Attended 

    
Registration 

Fee 
 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-03R 

INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION REPORTS 

LOCAL AGENCIES 

MARCH 17, 2014 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect 
(ICAN) Investigation Reports program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent 
to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines 
(Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On December 19, 2007, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
statute imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the 
meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 



 

 
2 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above. 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: December 6, 2013 
 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Penal Code Sections 11165.9, 11166, 11166.2, 11166.91, 11168 (formerly 11161.7), 11169, 
11170, and 11174.34 (formerly 11166.9) as added or amended by Statutes 1977, Chapter 958; 

Statutes 1980, Chapter 1071; Statutes 1981, Chapter 435; Statutes 1982, Chapters 162 and 905; 
Statutes 1984, Chapters 1423 and 1613; Statutes 1985, Chapter 1598; Statutes 1986, Chapters 
1289 and 1496; Statutes 1987, Chapters 82, 531, and 1459; Statutes 1988, Chapters 269, 1497, 

and 1580; Statutes 1989, Chapter 153; Statutes 1990, Chapters 650, 1330, 1363, and 1603; 
Statutes 1992, Chapters 163, 459, and 1338; Statutes 1993, Chapters 219 and 510; Statutes 1996, 
Chapters 1080 and 1081; Statutes 1997, Chapters 842, 843, and 844; Statutes 1999, Chapters 475 

and 1012; and Statutes 2000, Chapter 916 

California Code of Regulations, Title 11, Section 903 (Register 98, Number 29)  

“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583 (Rev. 3/91) 

Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation Reports  
00-TC-22 

Period of reimbursement begins July 1, 1999,                                                                                
or later for specified activities added by subsequent statutes.  

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

This program addresses statutory amendments to California’s mandatory child abuse reporting 
laws commonly referred to as ICAN.  A child abuse reporting law was first added to the Penal 
Code in 1963, and initially required medical professionals to report suspected child abuse to 
local law enforcement or child welfare authorities.  The law was regularly expanded to include 
more professions required to report suspected child abuse (now termed “mandated reporters”), 
and in 1980, California reenacted and amended the law, entitling it the “Child Abuse and Neglect 
Reporting Act,” or CANRA.  As part of this program, the Department of Justice (DOJ) maintains 
a Child Abuse Centralized Index, which, since 1965, maintains reports of child abuse statewide.  
A number of changes to the law have occurred, particularly with a reenactment in 1980, and 
substantive amendments in 1997 and 2000.   

The act, as amended, provides for reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect by certain 
individuals, identified by their profession as having frequent contact with children.  The act 
provides rules and procedures for local agencies, including law enforcement, receiving such 
reports.  The act provides for cross-reporting among law enforcement and other child protective 
agencies, and to licensing agencies and district attorneys’ offices.  The act requires reporting to 
the DOJ when a report of suspected child abuse is “not unfounded.”  The act requires an active 
investigation before a report can be forwarded to the DOJ.  As of January 1, 2012, the act no 
longer requires law enforcement agencies to report to the DOJ, and now requires reporting only 
of “substantiated” reports by other agencies.  The act imposes additional cross-reporting and 
recordkeeping duties in the event of a child’s death from abuse or neglect.  The act requires 
agencies and the DOJ to keep records of investigations for a minimum of 10 years, and to notify 

1 Renumbered at Penal Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 (SB 1313)). 
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suspected child abusers that they have been listed in the Child Abuse Central Index.  The act 
imposes certain due process protections owed to persons listed in the index, and provides certain 
other situations in which a person would be notified of his or her listing in the index.   

On December 19, 2007, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement 
of decision finding that the test claim statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated 
program upon local agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution and Government Code section 17514.  The Commission approved this test claim for 
the reimbursable activities described in section IV., as they are performed by city and county 
police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, county probation departments 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, district attorneys’ offices, and county 
licensing agencies. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is 
eligible to claim reimbursement. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557(e) states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before  
June 30 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The County of 
Los Angeles filed the test claim on June 29, 2001, establishing eligibility for reimbursement for 
the 1999-2000 fiscal year.  Therefore, costs incurred on or after July 1, 1999 are reimbursable 
under this test claim, for statutes in effect before July 1, 1999, or later periods as specified for 
statutes effective after July 1, 1999.   

However, Penal Code section 11169 was amended in Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717), 
effective January 1, 2012, to repeal the mandate for law enforcement agencies to report to DOJ, 
and to require that all other affected departments in the local agencies report to DOJ only 
“substantiated” reports of suspected child abuse, and not “inconclusive” reports.  Thus, law 
enforcement agencies are eligible for reimbursement for the costs of completing investigations of 
suspected child abuse in order to determine whether a report of suspected child abuse is 
unfounded, inconclusive, or substantiated, for the purpose of forwarding those reports to DOJ 
from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, when the mandate was repealed.  In addition, law 
enforcement agencies are eligible for reimbursement for the costs of notifying suspected abusers 
that they have been listed in the Child Abuse Central Index at the time that a report is submitted 
to DOJ from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, when the mandate to forward reports to DOJ 
was repealed. 

For all other affected departments in the local agencies, the reimbursement period for forwarding 
reports that are “inconclusive” to DOJ is from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, due to a 
subsequent change in Penal Code section 11169 by Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717).  On 
and after January 1, 2012, only forwarding reports to DOJ that are “substantiated” is 
reimbursable. 
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Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.   

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Government Code section 17560(b).) 

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a). 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.   

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  Actual costs 
must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when 
they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source document is a 
document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in 
question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time 
logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task-
repetitive.  Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.  
Claimants wishing to use time studies to support salary and benefit costs are required to comply 
with the State Controller’s Time-Study Guidelines before a time study is conducted.  Time study 
usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State Controller’s Office. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 
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For each eligible claimant that incurs increased costs, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. One-Time Activities 

1. Policies and Procedures 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, and county 
probation departments where designated by the county to receive mandated reports, may 
claim reimbursement for the increased costs to: 

a. Update Departmental policies and procedures necessary to comply with the 
reimbursable activities identified in IV B. (One-time costs only) 

b. Develop ICAN due process procedures reasonably necessary to comply with federal 
due process procedural protections under the 14th Amendment which need to be 
afforded suspects reported to the DOJ's Child Abuse Central Index [CACI]. (One-
time costs only) 

2. Training 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, and county 
probation departments where designated by the county to receive mandated reports, may 
claim reimbursement for the increased costs to: 

Develop and implement training for ICAN staff to implement State 
Department of Justice (DOJ) ICAN requirements. Reimbursable specialized 
ICAN training costs include those incurred to compensate instructors for their 
time in participating in training sessions and to provide necessary facilities, 
training materials and audio visual presentations. (One time per employee 
whose job responsibilities involve ICAN mandated activities) 

B. On-going Activities 

1. Distributing the Suspected Child Abuse Report Form 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if designated 
by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare departments shall: 

a. Distribute the child abuse reporting form adopted by DOJ (currently known as the 
“Suspected Child Abuse Report” Form SS 8572) to mandated reporters.2 

2. Reporting Between Local Departments 

a. Accepting and Referring Initial Child Abuse Reports when a Department Lacks 
Jurisdiction: 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare 
departments shall: 

Transfer a call electronically or immediately refer the case by telephone, fax, or 
electronic transmission, to an agency with proper jurisdiction, whenever the 

2 Penal Code section 11168, as added by Statutes 1980, chapter 1071 and amended by Statutes 
2000, chapter 916.  
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department lacks subject matter or geographical jurisdiction over an incoming report 
of suspected child abuse or neglect.3   

b. Cross-Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect from County Welfare and 
Probation Departments to the Law Enforcement Agency with Jurisdiction and the 
District Attorney’s Office: 

1) County probation departments shall: 

i. Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically possible, to the law 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the case, to the agency given the 
responsibility for investigation of cases under Section 300 of the Welfare and 
Institutions Code, and to the district attorney’s office every known or 
suspected instance of child abuse, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.6, 
except acts or omissions coming within subdivision (b) of section 11165.2, or 
reports made pursuant to section 11165.13 based on risk to a child which 
relates solely to the inability of the parent to provide the child with regular 
care due to the parent’s substance abuse, which shall be reported only to the 
county welfare department.  

ii. Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information 
concerning the incident to any agency to which it is required to make a 
telephone report under Penal Code section 11166. 

As of January 1, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic 
transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a 
written report within 36 hours.4 

2) County welfare departments shall: 

i. Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically possible, to the 
agency given the responsibility for investigation of cases under Section 300 of 
the Welfare and Institutions Code, and to the district attorney’s office every 
known or suspected instance of child abuse, as defined in Penal Code section 
11165.6, except acts or omissions coming within subdivision (b) of section 
11165.2, or reports made pursuant to section 11165.13 based on risk to a child 
which relates solely to the inability of the parent to provide the child with 
regular care due to the parent’s substance abuse, which shall be reported only 
to the county welfare department.  

Reimbursement is not required for making an initial report of child abuse 
and neglect from a county welfare department to the law enforcement 

3 Penal Code sections 11165.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 8 (AB 1241)). 
4 Penal Code section 11166 (h) (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459; 
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510; 
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)).  Renumbered at 
subdivision (i) by Statutes 2004, chapter 842 (SB 1313), and renumbered again at subdivision (j) 
by Statutes 2005, chapter 42 (AB 299).  
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agency having jurisdiction over the case, which was required under prior 
law to be made “without delay.”   

ii. Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information 
concerning the incident to any agency, including the law enforcement agency 
having jurisdiction over the case, to which it is required to make a telephone 
report under Penal Code section 11166. 

As of January 1, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic 
transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a 
written report within 36 hours.5  

c. Cross-Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect from the Law Enforcement 
Agency to the County Welfare and Institutions Code Section 300 Agency, County 
Welfare, and the District Attorney’s Office:  

City and county police or sheriff’s departments shall: 

1) Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically possible, to the agency 
given responsibility for investigation of cases under Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 300 and to the district attorney’s office every known or suspected instance 
of child abuse reported to it, except acts or omissions coming within Penal Code 
section 11165.2(b), which shall be reported only to the county welfare 
department.6 

2) Report to the county welfare department every known or suspected instance of 
child abuse reported to it which is alleged to have occurred as a result of the 
action of a person responsible for the child’s welfare, or as the result of the failure 
of a person responsible for the child’s welfare to adequately protect the minor 
from abuse when the person responsible for the child’s welfare knew or 
reasonably should have known that the minor was in danger of abuse.   

3) Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information 
concerning the incident to any agency to which it is required to make a telephone 
report under Penal Code section 11166. 

5 Penal Code section 11166(h) (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459; 
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510; 
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)).  Renumbered at 
subdivision (i) by Statutes 2004, chapter 842 (SB 1313), and renumbered again at subdivision (j) 
by Statutes 2005, chapter 42 (AB 299). 
6 Penal Code section 11166(i) (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459; 
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510; 
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)). Renumbered at 
subdivision (j) by Statutes 2004, chapter 842 (SB 1313), and renumbered again at subdivision (k) 
by Statutes 2005, chapter 42 (AB 299). 
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As of January 1, 2006, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic 
transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a 
written report within 36 hours.7 

d. Receipt of Cross-Reports by District Attorney’s Office: 

District attorneys’ offices shall: 

Receive reports of every known or suspected instance of child abuse reported to law 
enforcement, county probation or county welfare departments, except acts or 
omissions of general neglect coming within Penal Code section 11165.2(b).8   

e. Reporting to Licensing Agencies: 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare 
departments shall: 

1) Report by telephone immediately or as soon as practically possible to the 
appropriate licensing agency every known or suspected instance of child abuse or 
neglect when the instance of abuse or neglect occurs while the child is being cared 
for in a child day care facility, involves a child day care licensed staff person, or 
occurs while the child is under the supervision of a community care facility or 
involves a community care facility licensee or staff person.   

2) Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information 
concerning the incident to any agency to which it is required to make a telephone 
report under Penal Code section 11166.2. The agency shall send the licensing 
agency a copy of its investigation report and any other pertinent materials.  

As of July 31, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic transmission, 
instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a written report 
within 36 hours.9 

f. Additional Cross-Reporting in Cases of Child Death: 

1) City and county police or sheriff’s departments shall: 

Cross-report all cases of child death suspected to be related to child abuse or 
neglect to the county child welfare agency.10 

7 Ibid. 
8 Penal Code section 11166 (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459; 
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510; 
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)). 
9 Penal Code section 11166.2 (Added by Stats. 1985, ch. 1598 § 4; amended by Stats. 1987, ch. 
531 § 5; Stats. 1988, ch. 269 § 3; Stats. 1990, ch. 650 § 1 (AB 2423); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 § 18 
(AB 1241)). 
10 Penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal 
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313)). 
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2) County welfare departments shall: 

i. Cross-report all cases of child death suspected to be related to child abuse or 
neglect to law enforcement.11 

ii. Create a record in the Child Welfare Services/Case Management System 
(CWS/CMS) on all cases of child death suspected to be related to child 
abuse or neglect.12 

iii. Enter information into the CWS/CMS upon notification that the death was 
subsequently determined not to be related to child abuse or neglect.13 

3. Reporting to the State Department of Justice  

a. From July 1, 1999 to December 31, 2011, city and county police or sheriff’s 
departments, county probation departments if designated by the county to receive 
mandated reports, and county welfare departments shall:14 

1) Complete an investigation for purposes of preparing the report 

Complete an investigation to determine whether a report of suspected child abuse 
or severe neglect is unfounded, substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal 
Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing and submitting the state “Child 
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or subsequent designated form, to the 
Department of Justice.15  Except as provided in paragraph below, this activity 
includes review of the initial Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form 8572), 
conducting initial interviews with parents, victims, suspects, or witnesses, where 
applicable, and making a report of the findings of those interviews, which may be 
reviewed by a supervisor.  

  

11 Penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal 
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313)). 
12 Penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal 
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313); Stats. 2010, ch. 618, § 10 (AB 
2791)). 
13 Penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal 
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313)). 
14 Pursuant to amendments to Penal Code section 11169(b) enacted by Statutes 2011, chapter 
468 (AB 717), the mandate to report to DOJ for law enforcement agencies only ends on January 
1, 2012.  In addition, the duty for all other affected agencies is modified to exclude an 
“inconclusive” report. 
15 Penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 
1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, § 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903; “Child 
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583. 
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Reimbursement is not required in the following circumstances: 
i. Investigative activities conducted by a mandated reporter to complete the 

Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form SS 8572) pursuant to Penal Code 
section 11166(a).   

ii. In the event that the mandated reporter is employed by the same child 
protective agency required to investigate and submit the “Child Abuse 
Investigation Report” Form SS 8583 or subsequent designated form to the 
Department of Justice, pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a), 
reimbursement is not required if the investigation required to complete the 
Form SS 8572 is also sufficient to make the determination required under 
section 11169(a), and sufficient to complete the essential information items 
required on the Form SS 8583, pursuant to Code of Regulations, title 11, 
section 903 (Register 98, No. 29).   

iii. Investigative activities undertaken subsequent to the determination whether a 
report of suspected child abuse is substantiated, inconclusive, or unfounded, 
as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing the 
Form SS 8583, including the collection of physical evidence, the referral to a 
child abuse investigator, and the conduct of follow-up interviews. 

2) Forward reports to the Department of Justice 

Prepare and submit to the Department of Justice a report in writing of every case 
it investigates of known or suspected child abuse or severe neglect which is 
determined to be substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal Code section 
11165.12.  Unfounded reports, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, shall 
not be filed with the Department of Justice. If a report has previously been filed 
which subsequently proves to be unfounded, the Department of Justice shall be 
notified in writing of that fact. The reports required by this section shall be in a 
form approved by the Department of Justice (currently form 8583) and may be 
sent by fax or electronic transmission.16 

This activity includes costs of preparing and submitting an amended report to 
DOJ, when the submitting agency changes a prior finding of substantiated or 
inconclusive to a finding of unfounded or from inconclusive or unfounded to 
substantiated.   

Reimbursement is not required for the costs of the investigation required to 
make the determination to file an amended report. 

b. Beginning January 1, 2012, county welfare departments, or county probation 
departments where designated by the county to receive mandated reports shall: 

  

16 Penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 
1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, § 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903; “Child 
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583. 
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1) Complete an investigation 

Complete an investigation to determine whether a report of suspected child abuse 
or severe neglect is unfounded, substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal 
Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing and submitting the state “Child 
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or subsequent designated form, to the 
Department of Justice.17  Except as provided in paragraph below, this activity 
includes review of the initial Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form 8572), 
conducting initial interviews with parents, victims, suspects, or witnesses, where 
applicable, and making a report of the findings of those interviews, which may be 
reviewed by a supervisor.  

Reimbursement is not required in the following circumstances: 
i. Investigative activities conducted by a mandated reporter to complete the 

Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form SS 8572) pursuant to Penal Code 
section 11166(a).   

ii. In the event that the mandated reporter is employed by the same child 
protective agency required to investigate and submit the “Child Abuse 
Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or subsequent designated form, to the 
Department of Justice, pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a), 
reimbursement is not required if the investigation required to complete the 
Form SS 8572 is also sufficient to make the determination required under 
section 11169(a), and sufficient to complete the essential information items 
required on the Form SS 8583, pursuant to Code of Regulations, title 11, 
section 903 (Register 98, No. 29).   

iii. Investigative activities undertaken subsequent to the determination whether a 
report of suspected child abuse is substantiated, inconclusive, or unfounded, 
as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing the 
Form SS 8583. 

2) Forward reports to the Department of Justice 

Prepare and submit to the Department of Justice a report in writing of every case 
it investigates of known or suspected child abuse or severe neglect which is 
determined to be substantiated, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12.  
Unfounded or inconclusive reports, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, 
shall not be filed with the Department of Justice. If a report has previously been 
filed which subsequently proves to be unfounded, the Department of Justice shall 
be notified in writing of that fact. The reports required by this section shall be in a 

17 Penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 27 
(AB 1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, § 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903; 
“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583. 
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form approved by the Department of Justice and may be sent by fax or electronic 
transmission.18 

This activity includes costs of preparing and submitting an amended report to 
DOJ, when the submitting agency changes a prior finding of substantiated to a 
finding of inconclusive or unfounded, or from inconclusive or unfounded to 
substantiated, or when other information is necessary to maintain accuracy of the 
CACI.   

Reimbursement is not required for the costs of the investigation required to 
make the determination to file an amended report. 

4. Notifications Following Reports to the Child Abuse Central Index 

a. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare 
departments shall: 

1) Notify in writing the known or suspected child abuser that he or she has been 
reported to the Child Abuse Central Index, in any form approved by the 
Department of Justice, at the time the “Child Abuse Investigation Report” is filed 
with the Department of Justice.19 

This activity includes, where applicable, completion of the Notice of Child Abuse 
Central Index Listing form (SOC 832), or subsequent designated form. 

For law enforcement agencies only, this activity is eligible for reimbursement 
from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, pursuant to Penal Code section 
11169(b), as amended by Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717), which ends the 
mandate to report to DOJ for law enforcement agencies. 

2) Make relevant information available, when received from the Department of 
Justice, to the child custodian, guardian ad litem appointed under section 326, or 
counsel appointed under section 317 or 318 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, 
or the appropriate licensing agency, if he or she is treating or investigating a case 
of known or suspected child abuse or severe neglect.20 

18 Penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 27 
(AB 1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, § 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903; 
“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583. 
19 Penal Code section 11169(c) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 
1241)). 
20 Penal Code section 11170 (Added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071 § 4; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435, § 5; Stats. 1982, ch. 162, § 3; Stats. 1984, ch. 1613, § 3; Stats. 1985, ch. 1598, § 8.5; Stats. 
1986, ch. 1496, § 3; Stats. 1987, ch. 82, § 4; Stats. 1989, ch. 153, § 2; Stats. 1990, ch. 1330 § 2 
(SB 2788); Stats. 1990, ch. 1363, § 15.7 (AB 3532); Stats. 1992, ch. 163, § 113 (AB 2641); 
Stats. 1992, ch. 1338, § 2 (SB 1184); Stats. 1993, ch. 219, § 221.1 (AB 1500); Stats. 1996, ch. 
1081, § 5 (AB 3354); Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 6 (SB 644); Stats. 1997, ch. 843, § 5 (AB 
753); Stats. 1997, ch. 844, § 2.5 (AB 1065); Stats. 1999, ch. 475, § 8 (SB 654); Stats. 2000, ch. 
916, 28 (AB 1241)). 
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3) Inform the mandated reporter of the results of the investigation and of any action 
the agency is taking with regard to the child or family, upon completion of the 
child abuse investigation or after there has been a final disposition in the matter.21 

4) Notify, in writing, the person listed in the Child Abuse Central Index that he or 
she is in the index, upon receipt of relevant information concerning child abuse or 
neglect investigation reports contained in the index from the Department of 
Justice when investigating a home for the placement of dependent children. The 
notification shall include the name of the reporting agency and the date of the 
report.22 

b. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, county welfare departments, 
county licensing agencies, and district attorney offices shall: 

Obtain the original investigative report from the agency that submitted the 
information to the CACI pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a), and objectively 
review the report, when information regarding an individual suspected of child 
abuse or neglect, or an instance of suspected child abuse or neglect, is received 
from the CACI while performing existing duties pertaining to criminal 
investigation or prosecution, or licensing, or placement of a child.23 

Reimbursement for this activity does not include investigative activities 
conducted by the agency, either prior to or subsequent to receipt of the 
information that necessitates obtaining and reviewing the investigative 
report. 

c. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments, and 
county welfare departments shall: 

Notify, in writing, the person listed in the Child Abuse Central Index that he or 
she is in the index, upon receipt of relevant information concerning child abuse or 
neglect reports contained in the index from the Department of Justice regarding 
placement with a responsible relative pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code 
sections 281.5, 305, and 361.3. The notification shall include the location of the 
original investigative report and the submitting agency. The notification shall be 

21 Penal Code section 11170(b) (Added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071 § 4; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435, § 5; Stats. 1982, ch. 162, § 3; Stats. 1984, ch. 1613, § 3; Stats. 1985, ch. 1598, § 8.5; Stats. 
1986, ch. 1496, § 3; Stats. 1987, ch. 82, § 4; Stats. 1989, ch. 153, § 2; Stats. 1990, ch. 1330 § 2 
(SB 2788); Stats. 1990, ch. 1363, § 15.7 (AB 3532); Stats. 1992, ch. 163, § 113 (AB 2641); 
Stats. 1992, ch. 1338, § 2 (SB 1184); Stats. 1993, ch. 219, § 221.1 (AB 1500); Stats. 1996, ch. 
1081, § 5 (AB 3354); Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 6 (SB 644); Stats. 1997, ch. 843, § 5 (AB 
753); Stats. 1997, ch. 844, § 2.5 (AB 1065); Stats. 1999, ch. 475, § 8 (SB 654); Stats. 2000, ch. 
916, 28 (AB 1241)). 
22 Ibid. 
23 Penal Code section 11170(b)(6) (Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)); now subdivision (b)(10), as 
amended by Statutes 2012, chapter 848 (AB 1707). 
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submitted to the person listed at the same time that all other parties are notified of 
the information, and no later than the actual judicial proceeding that determines 
placement.24 

5.  Record Retention 

a. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, and county probation departments if 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports shall: 

Retain child abuse or neglect investigative reports that result in a report filed with the 
Department of Justice for a minimum of eight years (a higher level of service above 
the two-year record retention requirement pursuant to Gov. Code §§ 26202 (cities) 
and 34090 (counties).)  If a subsequent report on the same suspected child abuser is 
received within the first 10-year period, the report shall be maintained for an 
additional 10 years.25 

This activity includes retaining copies of the Suspected Child Abuse Report form  
SS 8572, received from a mandated reporter, and the Child Abuse Summary Report 
form SS 8583, with the original investigative report. 

Reimbursement is not required for the first two years of record retention required 
under prior law, but only for the eight years following.  

b. County welfare departments shall: 

Retain child abuse or neglect investigative reports that result in a report filed with the 
Department of Justice for a minimum of seven years (a higher level of service above 
the three-year record retention requirement pursuant to Welf. & Inst. Code, § 10851.)  
If a subsequent report on the same suspected child abuser is received within the first 
10-year period, the report shall be maintained for an additional 10 years.26 

This activity includes retaining copies of the Suspected Child Abuse Report form  
SS 8572, received from a mandated reporter, and the Child Abuse Summary Report 
form SS 8583, with the original investigative report. 

Reimbursement is not required for the first three years of record retention required 
under prior law, but only for the seven years following. 

  

24 Penal Code section 11170(c) (Added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071 § 4; amended by Stats. 1981, ch. 
435, § 5; Stats. 1982, ch. 162, § 3; Stats. 1984, ch. 1613, § 3; Stats. 1985, ch. 1598, § 8.5; Stats. 
1986, ch. 1496, § 3; Stats. 1987, ch. 82, § 4; Stats. 1989, ch. 153, § 2; Stats. 1990, ch. 1330 § 2 
(SB 2788); Stats. 1990, ch. 1363, § 15.7 (AB 3532); Stats. 1992, ch. 163, § 113 (AB 2641); 
Stats. 1992, ch. 1338, § 2 (SB 1184); Stats. 1993, ch. 219, § 221.1 (AB 1500); Stats. 1996, ch. 
1081, § 5 (AB 3354); Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 6 (SB 644); Stats. 1997, ch. 843, § 5 (AB 
753); Stats. 1997, ch. 844, § 2.5 (AB 1065); Stats. 1999, ch. 475, § 8 (SB 654); Stats. 2000, ch. 
916, 28 (AB 1241)). 
25 (Penal Code section 11169(h) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241); 
Stats. 2001, ch. 133(AB 102); Stats. 2004, ch. 842 (SB 1313); Stats. 2011, ch. 468 (AB 717)). 
26 (Penal Code section 11169(h) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)). 
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6. Due Process Procedures Offered to Person Listed in CACI 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if 
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare departments 
shall: 

Provide due process reasonably necessary to comply with federal due process 
procedural protections under the 14th Amendment that must be afforded to 
individuals reported to the DOJ’s Child Abuse Central Index.  This activity includes a 
hearing before the agency that submitted the individual’s name to CACI.  This 
activity includes any due process procedures available to persons listed in the CACI 
prior to the enactment of Statutes 2011, chapter 468.   

Reimbursement is not required for a hearing meeting the requirements of due 
process if a court of competent jurisdiction has determined that child abuse has 
occurred, or while the allegation is pending before a court.27  

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 

27 (Penal Code section 11169(h) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241); 
Stats. 2011, ch. 468 (AB 717)); Humphries v. County of Los Angeles (9th Cir. 2009) 554 F.3d 
1170; San Diego Unified School District v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 
859.  
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on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services. 

4.  Fixed Assets  

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to 
implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, 
and installation costs.  If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement 
the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5.  Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, 
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element 
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both:  (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have the 
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).  However, 
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which 
indirect costs are properly allocable. The distribution base may be:  (1) total direct costs 
(excluding capital expenditures and other distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major 
subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable 
distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
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allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department 
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or 
section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing 
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable 
distribution base.  The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to 
distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage 
which the total amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed 
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter28 is subject to the initiation of an 
audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim 
is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment 
is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for 
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the 
audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section IV., must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by 
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from the 
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

28 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally 
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record.  The 
administrative record is on file with the Commission.   
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State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) 
INVESTIGATION REPORTS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
 

For State Controller Use Only 
PROGRAM

358 

(19) Program Number 00358 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04.1) (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. f. 1) (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04.2) (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined              (28) FORM 1, (04) B. 3. A. (g)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (04) B. 3. b. (g)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (04) B. 4. (g)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (04) B. 5. (g)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (04) B. 6. (g)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (06)  

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34) FORM 1, (07)  

Due from State (08) (17) (35) FORM 1, (09)  

Due to State  (18) (36) FORM 1, (10)  

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

E-Mail Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 E-mail Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
E-mail Address  
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PROGRAM 

358 
INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION REPORTS   

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A.1.(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A.1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line but 
in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and e-mail address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and e-mail address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

358 
INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION 

REPORTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

 

(03) Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits
Materials

 and 
Supplies

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

A. One-Time Activities  

1. Update departmental policies & procedures and 
develop ICAN due process procedures to 
comply with federal procedural protections under 
the 14th Amendment. 

       

2. Develop training to implement Department of 
Justice (DOJ) ICAN requirements.        

B. Ongoing Activities  

1. Distribute the Suspected Child Abuse Report 
Form (SS8572) to mandated reporters.        

2. Reporting Between Local Departments  

a. Accept and refer initial child abuse reports 
when a department lacks jurisdiction.        

b. Cross-reporting from County Welfare and 
Probation Departments to Law Enforcement 
Agency and District Attorney’s Office (DA). 

       

c. Cross-reporting from Law Enforcement Agency 
to the County Welfare and Institutions Code 
Section 300 Agency, County Welfare and the 
DA’s office. 

       

d. Receipt of cross-reports by DA’s office.        

e. Report by phone and send a written report to 
licensing agencies.        

(04.1) Subtotal B. 2. (a. through e.)        

f. Additional cross-reporting in cases of child 
death.   

 1)  City and county police or sheriff’s 
department cross-report all cases of child 
death to county child welfare agency. 

       

 2) County welfare department  

i. Cross-report all cases of child death to 
law enforcement.        

ii. Create a record in the Child Welfare 
Services/Case Management System 
(CWS/CMS).  

       

iii. Enter information in CWS/CMS if child 
death is not related to child abuse or 
neglect. 

       

(04.2) Subtotal B. 2. f. 2) (i. through iii.)        
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PROGRAM 

358 
INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION 

REPORTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant 

 

(02) Fiscal Year 

 

(03) Department 
 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities (Continued) 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits
Materials

 and 
Supplies

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

B. Ongoing Activities (Continued) 
 

 

3. Reporting to DOJ – see Claim Summary 
Instructions, Item (4), for eligible claimants and 
period of reimbursements 

 

 

a. Complete an investigation for purposes of 
preparing a report. 

 

       

b. Prepare, submit, and/or amend report of every 
investigated case which is determined to be 
substantiated. 

 

       

4. Notify suspected child abuser that he or she has 
been reported to the Child Abuse Central Index 
(CACI) – see Claim Summary Instructions, Item 
(4) 3.a. for period of reimbursements of law 
enforcement agencies 

       

5. After required retention period, record retention is 
reimbursable for eight years for City and County 
Police or Sheriff’s Dept. and County Probation 
Dept. and seven years for County Welfare Dept. 

       

6. Provide due process procedures to persons 
reported to the DOJ CACI.        

(05) Total Direct Cost – see Claim Summary 
Instructions, Item (05), for additional instructions        

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION 

REPORTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 

 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

Eligible Claimants and Period of Reimbursements: 

3.b. Beginning January 1, 2012 – County Welfare & Probation Departments submit Form SS8583 to 
DOJ. 

  Note: For activities (04) B. 3. a & b and (04) B. 6, please see the Parameter’s and Guidelines for non-
reimbursable activities. 

(04.1)  Enter the sum of lines B. 2. a. through B. 2. e. columns (a) through (g). 

(04.2)  Enter the sum of lines B. 2. f. 2) i. through B. 2. f. 2) iii. columns (a) through (g). 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g), do NOT include line (04.1), columns (a) through (g) and line (04.2), 
columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I 
and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is 
reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05) (g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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REPORTS 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                               Fiscal Year 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A.  One-time Activities 

 1. Update departmental policies & procedures and 
develop ICAN due process procedures to comply 
with federal procedural protections under the 14th 
Amendment. 

 2. Develop training to implement Department of Justice 
(DOJ) ICAN requirements. 

B.  Ongoing Activities 

 1. Distribute the Suspected Child Abuse Report Form 
(SS8572) to mandated reporters. 

 f. Additional cross-reporting in cases of child death.  

    2) County welfare department: 

2. Reporting Between Local Departments 
  i. Cross-report all cases of child death to law 

enforcement. 
 a. Accept and refer initial child abuse reports when a 

department lacks jurisdiction. 
  ii. Create a record in the Child Welfare 

Services/Case Management System 
(CWS/CMS).   

 b. Cross-reporting from County Welfare and Probation 
Departments to Law Enforcement Agency and 
District Attorney’s Office (DA). 

  iii. Enter information in CWS/CMS if child death 
not related to child abuse or neglect. 

 c. Cross-reporting from Law Enforcement Agency to 
the County Welfare and Institutions Code Section 
300 Agency, County Welfare and the DA’s office. 

3. Reporting to DOJ 

N/A a. Complete an investigation for purposes of 
preparing a report. 

 d. Receipt of cross-reports by the DA’s Office.  b. Prepare, submit, and/or amend report of every 
investigated case which is determined to be 
substantiated. 

 e. Report by phone and send a written report to 
licensing agencies. 

 4. Notify suspected child abuser that he or she has been 
reported to the Child Abuse Central Index (CACI).  

 f. Additional cross-reporting in cases of child death.  5. After required retention period, record retention is 
reimbursable for eight years for City and County Police 
or Sheriff’s Dept. and County Probation Dept. and 
seven years for County Welfare Dept. 

 1) City and county police or sheriff’s department 
cross-report all cases of child death to county 
child welfare agency. 

   6. Provide due process procedures to persons reported 
to the DOJ CACI. 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 
(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

        

Revised 07/15                                                                                                                                         Page 1 of 2

20___/20___ 
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(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                 Fiscal Year 

(04)  Description of Expenses 
        (Continued) 

Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions 

Performed 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked 

or 
Quantity

(d) 
 

Salaries
 

(e) 
 

Benefits

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 
 

Travel 

 
 
 
 

        

 
(05)  Total            Subtotal           Page:___ of___       

Revised 07/15                                                                                                                                       Page 2 of 2 

20___/20___ 
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2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 
2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. 
For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less 
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit shall be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 
Object/ 

Sub object 
Columns 

Submit  
supporting 
documents 

Accounts 
(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

with the 
claim 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries =
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits =

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies 
Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific 
Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed Assets 
Description 

of Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     
Cost = Unit 

Cost x Usage 
  

Travel 

Name of 
Employee 
Purpose of 

Travel 

Hourly 
Rate 

Travel Time      

Cost = Hourly 
Rate x Travel 
Time + Travel 

Expenses 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2013-12 

LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 

JANUARY 03, 2013 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Local Agency Ethics (LAE) program. The 
SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) 
adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an 
integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On May 25, 2012, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated program on general law counties and 
those eligible special districts subject to the tax-and-spend provisions of articles XIII A and XIII 
B, that are required by their enabling acts to provide reimbursement of expenses, within the 
meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

General law counties and those eligible special districts subject to the tax-and-spend provisions 
of articles XIII A and XIII B of the California Constitution, that are required by their enabling 
act to provide reimbursement of expenses to perform the reimbursable activities, are eligible to 
claim reimbursement. 

To establish proof of eligibility and to minimize payment delays, the SCO requests that special 
district claimants submit a supporting document affirming that the special district received an 
annual allocation of property tax revenue from the county pursuant to Article XIII A of the 
California Constitution.   This may include a Board of Directors Resolution establishing the 
appropriation limit for the fiscal year being claimed, in compliance with Article XIII B of the 
California Constitution. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late penalty.  Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 
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Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
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made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: September 28, 2012
Corrected: January 28, 2013

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

Government Code Sections 53232.2(b), 53232.3(a) and (b), 53235(f) and 53235.2(a)

Statutes 2005, Chapter 700

Local Agency Ethics (AB 1234)
07-TC-04

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE

The test claim statute addresses activities of local agencies related to transparency and ethics 
training for members of the legislative bodies of local agencies.  Specifically, it addresses the 
policymaking, reporting, recordkeeping, ethics training and notice requirements imposed on 
local agencies if they provide any type of compensation, salary, or stipend to a member of a
legislative body, or provide reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred by a 
member of a legislative body in the performance of official duties.

On May 25, 2012, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of 
decision finding that the test claim statute imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated 
program on general law counties and those eligible special districts subject to the tax and spend 
provisions of articles XIII A and XIII B, that are required by their enabling acts to provide 
reimbursement of expenses to perform the following:

1. Adopt a written policy, in a public meeting specifying the types of occurrences that 
qualify a member of the legislative body to receive reimbursement of expenses relating to 
travel, meals, lodging and other actual and necessary expenses;1

2. Provide expense report forms;2

3. Provide information on training courses to meet the ethics training requirements imposed 
by the test claim statute to its local officials at least once annually;3

4. Maintain training records, inclusive of training date and training provider, for five years.4

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS

General law counties and those eligible special districts subject to the tax and spend provisions 
of articles XIII A and XIII B of the California Constitution, that are required by their enabling 
act to provide reimbursement of expenses to perform the reimbursable activities are eligible to 
claim reimbursement.

1 Government Code section 53232.2(b).
2 Government Code section 53232.3(a).
3 Government Code section 53235(f).
4 Government Code section 53235.2(a).
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III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

Government Code section 17557(e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The City of Newport 
Beach filed the test claim on October 23, 2007, establishing eligibility for reimbursement for the 
2006-2007 fiscal year.  Therefore, costs incurred are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2006. 

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows:

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions.

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year.

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Government Code section 17560(b).)

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a).

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate.

2
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For each eligible claimant that is required by their enabling act to provide reimbursement of 
expenses to members of their legislative bodies, and that incurs increased costs, the following 
activities are reimbursable:

1. Adopt a written policy, in a public meeting specifying the types of occurrences that 
qualify a member of the legislative body to receive reimbursement of expenses relating to 
travel, meals, lodging and other actual and necessary expenses;5

2. Provide expense report forms to the members of the legislative body;6

3. Provide information on training courses to meet the ethics training requirements imposed 
by the test claim statute to its local officials at least once annually;7

4. Maintain training records indicating the dates that local officials satisfied the ethics 
training and the entity that provided the training, for five years..8

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner.

A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement.

1.  Salaries and Benefits

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed.

2.  Materials and Supplies

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied.

3.  Contracted Services

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 

5 Government Code section 53232.2(b).
6 Government Code section 53232.3(a).
7 Government Code section 53235(f).
8 Government Code section 53235.2(a).
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on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services.

4.  Fixed Assets 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to 
implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, 
and installation costs.  If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement 
the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

5.  Travel

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, 
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element 
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity.

B.  Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both:  (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan.

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have the 
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%.

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in 
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in 
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).  However, 
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which 
indirect costs are properly allocable.

The distribution base may be:  (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and 
wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution.

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies:
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1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department 
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or 
section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing 
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable 
distribution base.  The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to 
distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage 
which the total amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected.

VI. RECORD RETENTION

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter9 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated 
by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim.

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from the 
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

9 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.
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Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.  

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2.

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

The statements of decision for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally binding 
on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines. The 
support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record. The 
administrative record is on file with the Commission.
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LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00334 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
334

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 3. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) 4. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (6)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (7)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (9)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (10)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

334 
LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) 1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

334 
LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
 

    Fiscal Year  

   20___/20___

(03)   Department 

 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

1. Adopt a written policy specifying the 
types of occurrences that qualify a 
member of the legislative body to 
receive reimbursement of expenses. 

       

2. Provide expense report forms to the 
members of the legislative body. 

       

3. Provide information on training courses 
to meet the ethics training requirements 
at least once annually. 

       

4. Maintain training records indicating the 
dates and providers for five years. 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less: Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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PROGRAM 

334 
LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, 
Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total 
Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the
distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If 
more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source.  

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), 
and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward 
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

334 

LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                          Fiscal Year 

     20___/20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Adopt a written policy specifying the types of 
occurrences that qualify a member of the 
legislative body to receive reimbursement of 
expenses. 

3. Provide information on training courses to meet 
the ethics training requirements at least once 
annually. 

 2. Provide expense report forms to the members 
of the legislative body. 

4. Maintain training records indicating the dates 
and providers for five years. 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 
Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contract 
Services 

(h) 

 
Fixed 

Assets 

(i) 

 
Travel 

       

 

 

 

 

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page:____of____ 
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PROGRAM 

334 
LOCAL AGENCY ETHICS 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. 
For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less 
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   
Cost = Hourly
Rate x Hours 

Worked  
  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets  

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     
Cost = Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel 
Mode 

     

Total Travel 
Cost = Rate 
x Days or  

Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2005-08 

LOCAL ELECTIONS:  CONSOLIDATION 

SEPTEMBER 30, 2005 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants can use for filing claims for the Local Elections: Consolidation program. The 
SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates 
(CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included 
as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On July 27, 2004, the Governor enacted Chapter 206, Statutes of 2004, (AB 2854, Laird) to 
make optional the requirement that counties conduct an analysis to determine the cost-
effectiveness of a consolidation request and submit the cost-effectiveness report to the board of 
supervisors.  

On November 8, 2004, the SCO requested that the Commission amend the Ps and Gs for the 
Local Elections: Consolidation program to clarify that the above activities are no longer eligible 
for reimbursement.  

On July 28, 2005, the CSM adopted the Ps and Gs amendment to clarify that conducting a cost-
benefit analysis and submitting a cost-effectiveness report to the board of supervisors are not 
eligible for reimbursement effective July 27, 2004.  

Exception 

There will no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Counties that do not approve an election consolidation request are eligible to claim 
reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

An actual claim for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late 
penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC 
section 17561, subdivision (d)(3). 
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 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to GC sections 
17551, 17560 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, notices 
of order of suspension or revocation, sworn reports, arrest reports, notices to appear, employee 
time records, or time logs, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, 
cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations. 
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify, (or declare), under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 
correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of the Code of Civil Procedure Section 
2015.5.  

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments 
are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the claim activity adjusted, the 
amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within 30 days after payment 
of the claim. 

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed 
by a local agency pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the SCO no 
later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, 
whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a 
claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the SCO to 
initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any 
case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is 
commenced.  
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All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must 
be made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  
 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Amended:  July 28, 2005 
Adopted:   September 21, 1989  

 
 

AMENDED PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

As Added or Amended by 
Statutes 1981, Chapter 1013; Statutes 1982, Chapter 218; 

Statutes 1985, Chapter 896; Statutes 1986, Chapters 188 and 667; 
Statutes 1987, Chapters 2, 84, and 1083; Statutes 2004, Chapter 206 

Local Elections: Consolidation 
04-PGA-21 (CSM- 4317) 

 
I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

The test claim legislation authorizes city councils and the governing boards of school 
districts and community college districts and the members of county boards of education 
to request that counties consolidate elections for city officials and board members with 
the statewide primary or general election or the general municipal election in the area.  
The county board of supervisors may deny such a request only if the ballot style, voting 
equipment, or computer capacity is such that additional elections or materials cannot be 
handled at the election for which the consolidation request has been made.  County 
boards of supervisors are first required to obtain a report on the cost-effectiveness of such 
consolidation requests. 

On April 27, 1989, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the 
Statement of Decision for this program, finding that the test claim legislation constituted 
a new program or higher level of service and imposed a reimbursable state-mandated 
program upon counties that do not approve an election consolidation request, within the 
meaning of article XIII B, section 6, of the California Constitution and Government Code 
section 17514.  On September 21, 1989, the Commission adopted parameters and 
guidelines for this program, finding that (1) conducting a public board of supervisors 
meeting to consider a consolidation request and noticing that public meeting; (2) 
conducting an impact analysis to determine if the county’s voting systems are capable of 
accommodating a consolidated hearing; (3) conducting an analysis to determine the cost-
effectiveness of the proposed consolidation, and (4) submitting the report on cost-
effectiveness to the board of supervisors prior to approval or denial of the request for 
consolidation, are reimbursable activities. 

On July 27, 2004, the Governor enacted Statutes 2004, chapter 206 (AB 2854, Laird) to 
make optional the requirement that counties conduct an analysis to determine the cost-
effectiveness of a consolidation request and submit the cost-effectiveness report to the 
board of supervisors.  On November 8, 2004, the State Controller’s Office requested that 
the Commission amend the parameters and guidelines for the Local Elections:  
Consolidation program to clarify that the above activities are no longer eligible for 
reimbursement.  On July 28, 2005, the Commission adopted the parameters and 
guidelines amendment to clarify that conducting a cost-benefit analysis and submitting a 
cost-effectiveness report to the board of supervisors are not eligible for reimbursement 
effective July 27, 2004. 
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II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Counties that do not approve an election consolidation request are eligible for 
reimbursement. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

The period of reimbursement for this amendment begins on July 27, 2004.1

Pursuant to Government Code section 17560, reimbursement for state-mandated costs 
may be claimed as follows: 

1. A local agency or school district may file an estimated reimbursement claim by 
January 15 of the fiscal year in which costs are to be incurred, and, by January 15 
following that fiscal year shall file an annual reimbursement claim that details the 
costs actually incurred for that fiscal year; or it may comply with the provisions of  
subdivision (b). 

2. A local agency or school district may, by January 15 following the fiscal year in 
which costs are incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs 
actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

3. In the event revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to 
subdivision (c) of section 17558 between October 15 and January 15, a local 
agency or school district filing an annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 
days following the issuance date of the revised claiming instructions to file a 
claim. 

Reimbursable actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Estimated 
costs for the subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable.  Pursuant 
to Government Code section 17561 (d)(1), all claims for reimbursement of initial years’ 
costs shall be submitted within 120 days of the issuance of the State Controller’s claiming 
instructions.  If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no 
reimbursement shall be allowed, except as otherwise allowed by Government Code 
section 17564. 

There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES  

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may 
be claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 
activities.  Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show 
the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the 
reimbursable activities.  A source document is a document created at or near the same 
time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question.  Source documents 
may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, 
invoices, and receipts. 

 
1On July 27, 2004, the activities of conducting a cost-benefit analysis and submitting a cost-
effectiveness report to the board of supervisors was made optional (Stats. 2004, ch. 206).  
Therefore, effective July 27, 2004, these activities are not eligible for reimbursement. 
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Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, 
agendas, and declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration 
stating, “I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing is true and correct,” and must further comply with the 
requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the 
source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in 
compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  However, 
corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for 
reimbursable activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an 
activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

1. Preparing and mailing the required notice to affected districts. 

2. Preparing public notice of board of supervisors meeting held for the sole purpose 
of considering the request for consolidation. 

3. Conducting an impact analysis review of the voting systems capacity to include a 
review of the ballot style, voting equipment, computer capacity, and assessing the 
potential future impact of jurisdiction division being considered for election 
consolidation and the affect any jurisdiction divisions would have on the voting 
system.  Specifically, the study would focus on those areas that would be directly 
impacted such as additional voting precincts, election boards, voting materials, 
administrative costs, and other election costs. 

4. Conducting a Benefit/Cost Analysis to determine the cost effectiveness of the 
proposed action and submitting the report to the Board of Supervisors prior to the 
adoption of a resolution to either approve or deny a consolidation request.  
(Reimbursement period for this activity ends July 27, 2004.) 

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity 
identified in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed 
reimbursable cost must be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  
Additionally, each reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  
The following direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, 
job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related 
benefits divided by productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable 
activities performed and the hours devoted to each reimbursable activity 
performed. 
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2. Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or 
expended for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall 
be claimed at the actual price after deducting discounts, rebates, and 
allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are withdrawn from 
inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of 
costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement 
the reimbursable activities.  Attach a copy of the contract to the claim.  If 
the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours 
spent on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed 
price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all costs 
for those services. 

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including 
computers) necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The 
purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the 
fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price 
used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

B. Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are defined as costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, 
benefiting more than one program, and are not directly assignable to a particular 
department or program without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved.  
Indirect costs may include both (1) overhead costs of the unit performing the 
mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed to the 
other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost 
allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the 
procedure provided in the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-
87.  Claimants have the option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe 
benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost 
rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

 If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and 
described in OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect costs 
shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and 
described in OMB A-87 Attachments A and B).  However, unallowable costs 
must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which indirect 
costs are properly allocable. 

 The distribution base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures 
and other distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), 
(2) direct salaries and wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable 
distribution. 
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In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 
OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) 
classifying a department’s total costs for the base period as either direct or 
indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect costs (net of 
applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of this 
process is an indirect cost rate, which is used to distribute indirect costs to 
mandates. The rate should be expressed as a percentage, which the total 
amount allowable indirect costs bear to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 
OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) 
separating a department into groups, such as divisions or sections, and 
then classifying the division’s or section’s total costs for the base period as 
either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect costs 
(net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs 
to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount allowable indirect costs bear to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION  

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim 
for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter2 is 
subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the 
date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  
However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the 
program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  In 
any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit 
is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been 
initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is 
extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the 
same statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the 
costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including 
but not limited to, services fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be 
identified and deducted from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue 
claiming instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 
days after receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to 
assist local agencies and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The 

 
2 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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claiming instructions shall be derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and 
guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts 
to file reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the 
claiming instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency 
for reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters 
and guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming 
instructions and the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the 
parameters and guidelines as directed by the Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to 
Government Code section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations, 
title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and 
factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual 
findings is found in the administrative record for the test claim.  The administrative 
record, including the Statement of Decision, is on file with the Commission.   
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    Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

LOCAL ELECTIONS: CONSOLIDATION 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00259 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
259

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 3. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (06)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (07)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (09)   

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (10)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

259 
LOCAL ELECTIONS: CONSOLIDATION 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) 1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

259 
LOCAL ELECTIONS: CONSOLIDATION 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
     Fiscal Year

20___/20___
 

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

 and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel 
 

 
Total 

 

1. Preparing & Mailing Required 
Notice 

       

2. Preparing Notice of BOS 
Meeting 

       

3. Conducting Impact Analysis 
Review 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 
 
 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

 
 
 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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PROGRAM 

259 
LOCAL ELECTIONS: CONSOLIDATION 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  
Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 

 



 State Controller’s Office          Local Mandated Cost Manual 

 Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM
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LOCAL ELECTIONS: CONSOLIDATION 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                   Fiscal Year     

   20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Preparing & Mailing Required Notice  3. Conducting Impact Analysis Review 

 2. Preparing Notice of BOS Meeting 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

Salaries
 

(e) 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

Travel 

         

 
(05)  Total           Subtotal           Page: ____ of ____

      



 State Controller’s Office          Local Mandated Cost Manual 

 Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 
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LOCAL ELECTIONS: CONSOLIDATION 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services and travel. The descriptions required in column 
(4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For 
audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than 
three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 
with the 

claim 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits =

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate

x 
Hours 

Worked 

  
Copy of 
Contract 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

  

 

 
Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total Travel
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2009-05 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 

AUGUST 3, 2009 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants can use for filing claims for the Local Government Employee Relations 
program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State 
Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are 
included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On December 4, 2006, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city, county, special district or other local agency subject to the jurisdiction of the Public 
Employment Relations Board (PERB) that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is 
eligible to claim reimbursement.  

The City of Los Angeles and the County of Los Angeles are not eligible claimants because they 
are specifically excluded from PERB’s jurisdiction pursuant to Government Code Section 3507. 

Special districts, subject to tax and spend limitations pursuant to the provisions of Articles XIII 
A and B of the California Constitution, are eligible to file a claim for reimbursement.  To 
establish proof of eligibility and to minimize payment delays, the SCO requests that special 
district claimants submit a supporting document affirming that the special district received an 
annual allocation of property tax revenue from the county pursuant to Article XIII A of the 
California Constitution.   This may include a Board of Directors Resolution establishing the 
appropriation limit for the fiscal year being claimed, in compliance with Article XIII B of the 
California Constitution. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

 



 
2 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC Section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), provided that a 
county may submit a combined claim on behalf of direct service districts or special districts 
within their county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual direct service 
district’s or special district’s claim does not each exceed $1,000. The county shall determine if 
the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for 
disbursing the funds to each direct service district or special district. These combined claims may 
be filed only when the county is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show 
the individual claim costs for each eligible district. All subsequent claims based upon the same 
mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a direct service district or special district 
provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county and to the SCO, at 
least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, notices of 
order of suspension or revocation, sworn reports, arrest reports, notices to appear, employee time 
records, or time logs, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify, (or 
declare), under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of the Code of Civil Procedure 
Section 2015.5.  

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 
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Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments are 
made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the claim activity adjusted, the 
amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within 30 days after payment 
of the claim. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC Section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim was 
filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment 
was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time 
for the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim. 

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Corrected:  June 16, 2009 
Adopted:  May 29, 2009 

 
PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

 
Government Code Sections 3502.5 and 3508.5 

Statutes 2000, Chapter 901 (SB 739) 

California Code of Regulations, Title 8, Sections 32132, 32135, 32140, 32149, 32150, 32160, 
32168, 32170, 32175, 32176, 32180, 32190, 32205, 32206, 32207, 32209, 32210, 32212, 32310, 

32315, 32375, 32455, 32620, 32644, 32649, 32680, 32980, 60010, 60030, 60050, 60070  

Register 2001, Number 49 

Local Government Employee Relations 
01-TC-30 

 
I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

The test claim statute amended the Meyers-Milias-Brown Act (hereinafter the “MMBA”) 
regarding employer-employee relations between local public agencies and their employees.  The 
test claim statute and its attendant regulations created an additional method for creating an 
agency shop arrangement, and expanded the jurisdiction of the Public Employment Relations 
Board (hereinafter “PERB”) to include resolving disputes and enforcing the statutory duties and 
rights of those public employers and employees subject to the MMBA.  

On December 4, 2006, the Commission on State Mandates found that the test claim statute and 
regulations impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies for the 
following activities: 

1. Deduct from an employees’ wages the payment of dues or service fees required 
pursuant to an agency shop arrangement that was established under subdivision 
(b) of Government Code section 3502.5, and transmit such fees to the employee 
organization.  (Gov. Code § 3508.5, subd. (b)). 

2. Receive from the employee any proof of in lieu fee payments made to charitable 
organizations required pursuant to an agency shop arrangement that was 
established under subdivision (b) of Government Code section 3502.5.  (Gov. 
Code, § 3502.5, subd. (c)). 

3. Follow PERB procedures in responding to charges and appeals filed with PERB, 
by an entity other than the local public agency employer, concerning an unfair 
labor practice, a unit determination, representation by an employee organization, 
recognition of an employee organization, or election.  Mandated activities are: 

a. procedures for filing documents or extensions for filing documents with 
PERB (Cal.Code Reg., tit. 8, §§ 32132, 32135 (Register 2001, No. 49)); 

b. proof of service  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 32140 (Register 2001, No. 
49)); 

Parameters & Guidelines 
 Local Government Employment Relations 

01-TC-30 

1



c. responding to subpoenas and investigative subpoenas  (Cal. Code Regs., 
tit. 8, §§ 32149, 32150 (Register 2001, No. 49)); 

d. conducting depositions  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 32160 (Register 2001, 
No. 49)); 

e. participate in hearings and responding as required by PERB agent, PERB 
Administrative Law Judge, or the five-member PERB  (Cal. Code Regs., 
tit. 8, §§ 32168, 32170, 32175, 32176, 32180, 32205, 32206, 32207, 
32209, 32210, 32212, 32310, 32315, 32375, 32455, 32620, 32644, 32649, 
32680, 32980, 60010, 60030, 60050 and 60070 (Register 2001, No. 49)); 
and 

f. filing and responding to written motions in the course of the hearing.  
(Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, § 32190. (Register 2001, No. 49.) 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any county, city, or city and county, special district or other local agency subject to the 
jurisdiction of PERB that incurs increased costs as a result of this reimbursable state-mandated 
program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs.  However, the City of Los Angeles 
and the County of Los Angeles are not eligible claimants because they are specifically excluded 
from PERB jurisdiction pursuant to Government Code section 3507.   

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557 states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year.  The 
test claim for this mandate was filed by the test claimants, the County of Sacramento and the 
City of Sacramento, on August 1, 2002.  Therefore, the period of reimbursement begins on  
July 1, 2001.   

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Pursuant to Government Code 
section 17561, subdivision (d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of initial fiscal year costs 
shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming 
instructions. 

If the total costs for a given year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any given fiscal year, only actual costs may 
be claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, time sheets, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, 
calendars, and declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I 
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certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the 
foregoing is true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil 
Procedure section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data 
relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise reported in compliance with local, state, and 
federal government requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for 
source documents.   

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task-
repetitive.  Time study usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State 
Controller’s Office. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are eligible for reimbursement: 

A. One Time Activities 

1. Establish procedures and documentation for deduction from employees’ wages 
the payment of dues, or service fees, including transmittal of such payments, and 
handling proof of in lieu fee payments made to charitable organizations as 
required by the agency shop agreement pursuant to Government Code sections 
3502.5, subdivisions (b) and (c).  

2. Develop and provide training for employees charged with responsibility for 
responding to PERB administrative actions, including attorneys, supervisory and 
management personnel.  (One time per employee). 

3. Establish procedures and systems for handling PERB matters, including 
calendaring, docketing and file management systems. 

B. On-Going Activities  

1. Deduct from employees’ wages the payment of dues or service fees required 
pursuant to an agency shop arrangement that was established under subdivision 
(b) of Government Code section 3502.5, and transmit such fees to the employee 
organization.  (Gov. Code, §, 3508.5, subd. (b).) 

2. On a monthly basis, receive from the employee proof of in lieu fee payments 
made to charitable organizations pursuant to an agency shop arrangement that was 
established by signed petition and election in Government Code section 3502.5, 
subdivision (b).  (Gov. Code, § 3502.5, subd. (c).) 

3. When a person or entity other than the public entity files with the PERB an unfair 
practice charge, unit determination, representation by an employee organization, , 
recognition of an employee organization, or an election request, or the public 
agency employer is ordered by PERB to join in a matter, the following activities 
are reimbursable: 

a. filing documents or requests for extension of time to file documents with 
PERB  (Cal. Code Regs., tit.8, §§ 32132, 32135); 

b. proof of service, including mailing and service costs  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 
8, § 32140); 
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c. preparation for and participation in informal conferences as required by 
any  PERB Board agents and PERB Administrative Law Judges to clarify 
issues and explore the possibility of a voluntary settlement  including, but 
not limited to, preparation of briefs, documentation and evidence, exhibits, 
witnesses and expert witnesses (Cal. Code Regs., tit.8, §§  32170, subd. 
(e) and 32650); 

d. responding to subpoenas and investigative subpoenas, including the time 
spent obtaining the information or documentation requested in the 
subpoena, and copying and service charges (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, §§ 
32149, 32150); 

e. the conduct of depositions, including service of subpoenas, deposition 
reporter and transcription fees, expert witness fees, preparation for the 
deposition and the time of any governmental employee or attorney 
incurred in the conduct of the deposition (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 32160); 

f. preparation for and participation in any hearing as required by any PERB 
Board agent, PERB Administrative Law Judge, the five-member PERB, or 
the General Counsel, including preparation of answer to complaint or answer 
to amendment, witnesses, evidence, exhibits, expert witnesses, statements1,2, 
stipulated facts3 and informational briefs, oral argument, response to 
exceptions, response to administrative appeal or compliance matter.   

Effective July 1, 2001 through May 10, 2006:  California Code of 
Regulations, title 8, §§ 32168, 32170, 32175, 32176, 32180, 32205, 32206, 
32207, 32210, 32212, 32310, 32315, 32375, 32455, 32620, 32644, 32649, 
32680, 32980, 60010, 60030, 60050, and 60070.  (Register 2001, No. 49.)     

Effective May 11, 2006:  California Code of Regulations, title 8, §§ 32168, 
32170, 32175, 32176, 32180, 32205, 32206, 32207, 32210, 32212, 32310, 
32315, 32375, 32455, 32620, 32644, 32649, 32680, 32980.  (Register 2001, 
No. 49.)   

Effective May 11, 2006, responses to petitions for board review pursuant to 
former sections 60010, 60030, 60050, and 60070 of the California Code of 
Regulations, title 8, are not reimbursable.  (Register 2006, No. 15.) 

g.   The preparation, research, and filing of motions, including correction of 
transcript and responding to written motions in the course of a hearing and 
immediately after. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, § 32190, 32209.) 

 

 

                                                 
1 Section 32206. 
2 Section 32455 – preparation of written position statements or other documents filed with the 
General Counsel. 
3 Section 32207. 
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C. Non-Reimbursable Activities  

1. The following activities initiated by the local public agency are not state-
mandated activities: 

a. file an unfair practice charge (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, §§ 32602, 32604, 
32615, 32621, 32625, 32650); 

b. appeal of a ruling on a motion (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, § 32200);  

c. amend complaint (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, §§ 32625, 32648); 

d. appeal of an administrative decision, including request for stay of activity 
and appeal of dismissal (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, §§ 32350, 32360, 
32370, 32635, and 60035); 

e. statement of exceptions to Board agent decision (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, 
§ 32300);  

f. request for reconsideration (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, § 32410); and,  

g. request for injunctive relief (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 8, § 32450).  

2. Sections 3501, 3507.1 and 3509 of the Government Code do not apply to persons 
who are peace officers as defined in section 830.1 of the Penal Code.  Therefore, 
increased costs related to peace officers are ineligible for reimbursement under 
this program.  (Gov. Code, § 3511.) 

3. Effective May 11, 2006, activities based on former sections 60010, 60030, 60050, 
and 60070 of California Code of Regulations, title 8, are not reimbursable.   

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for the reimbursable activities identified 
in section IV of this document.  Each reimbursable cost must be supported by source 
documentation as described in section IV.  Additionally, each reimbursement claim must be filed 
in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for reimbursable activities.  The 
following direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after 
deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are 
withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of 
costing, consistently applied. 
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3. Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 
on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services were also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and invoices with the claim and a description of the 
contract scope of services. 

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5. Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination point, the specific reimbursable activity requiring 
travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the 
rules of the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost 
element A.1, Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B. Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include (1) the overhead costs of the 
unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed to 
the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
the 2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have 
the option of using 10% of labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) and the indirect 
shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in 2 CFR Part 
225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).)  However, unallowable 
costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which indirect costs are 
properly allocable. 

The distributions base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) direct salaries and 
wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 
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1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 2 CRF Part 
225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) shall be 
accomplished by (1) classifying a department’s total costs for the base period as 
either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect costs (net of 
applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of this process is 
an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The 
rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable 
indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 2 CFR Part 
225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) shall be 
accomplished by (1) separate a department into groups, such as divisions or 
sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total costs for the base 
period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect 
costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs to 
mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount 
allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORDS RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter4 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the State Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual 
reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are 
appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which 
the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the 
date of initial payment of the claim.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, 
as described in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has 
been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is 
extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same statutes or 
executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed.  In 
addition, reimbursement for this mandate received from any federal, state or non-local source 
shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

 

VIII.  STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be 
derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Commission. 

                                                 
4 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1)(A), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file 
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon the request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions to 
conform to the parameters and guidelines as directed by the Commission. 

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557, subdivision (a), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual 
basis for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual findings is found in 
the administrative record for the test claim.  The administrative record, including the Statement 
of Decision, is on file with the Commission. 
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00298 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
298

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1.(g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2.(g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) A. 3.(g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) B. 1.(g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 2.(g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 3.(g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (07)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 

Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

298 
LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should 
be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block 
will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
  Fiscal Year 

20___/ 20___  

(03) Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

 and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

 
Travel 

 
Total 

A. One-Time Activities  

1. Establish Procedures and 
Documentation         

2. Training for Employees        

3. Establish Procedures and 
Systems        

B. Ongoing Activities  

1. Deduction from Employees’ 
Wages 

       

2. Receipt of Proof of In Lieu 
Payments 

       

3. Reimbursable Activities for 
PERB Matters 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 must be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  
Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 

 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                    Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. One-Time Activities B. Ongoing Activities 

 1. Establish Procedures and Documentation  1. Deduction from Employees’ Wages 

 2. Training for Employees  2. Receipt of Proof of In Lieu Payments 

 3. Establish Procedures and Systems  3. Reimbursable Activities for PERB Matters 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 

Salaries
 

(e) 

 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 

 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

 

Travel 

         

(05)  Total           Subtotal           Page: ____of____       
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services and travel. The descriptions required in column 
(4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For 
audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less 
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds 
were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the 
Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents
must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the claim(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries =
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits =

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate

x 
Hours 

Worked 

  
Copy of 

Contract and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

  

 

 
Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage 
Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total Travel
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-42 

MEDI-CAL BENEFICIARY PROBATE 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Medi-Cal Beneficiary Probate program. The 
SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) 
adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an 
integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On December 2, 1982, the CSM, formerly the Board of Control, adopted a Statement of Decision 
finding that the test claim legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local 
agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC 
section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a result of this 
mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Amended and Adopted:  2-3-83 
Amended:  3-28-84 
Amended:  1-29-10 

 
Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines 

Statutes 1981, Chapters 102 and 1163; and  

DHS All County Letters 

Medi-Cal Beneficiary Probate 
05-PGA-33 (4032) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the 
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

I. SUMMARY OF MANDATE 

Statutes 1981, chapter 102, effective June 28, 1981 added Probate Code Section 700.1; and 
Statutes 1981, chapter 1163effective October 2, 1981 amended Probate Code Section 700.1.  In 
part, Section 700.1 states that where a deceased person has received or may have received 
health care under the provisions of Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 14000) of Chapter 8 
(commencing with Section 14200), Part 3, Division 9, Welfare and Institutions Code, the heirs, 
the executor, the administrator, or the person in possession of any property of the decedent shall 
give the Director of Health Services or his or her successor  notice of the death no later than 90 
days from the date of death.  Such notice shall be mailed postage prepaid, and addressed to the 
director at his or her Sacramento office.  

The Department of Health Services prepared two (2) all county letters to Public 
Guardians/Public Administrators; one dated February 118, 1982 and the second dated  
March 31, 1982 which included a suggested form letter. The purpose of the all county letters 
was to provide clarification of Probate Code Section 700.1 and request specific information. 

II. BOARD OF CONTROL DECISION 

On December 2, 1982 the Board of Control found that Statutes 1981, Chapters.102 and 1163, 
and State Department of Health Services all county letters of  
February 18, 1982 and March 31, 1982 imposed reimbursable state mandated costs. 

III. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Only counties are eligible to file for reimbursement, as under State of California law the Office 
of Public Guardian/Public Administrator is a county function. 

IV. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through  
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

Statutes 1981, chapter 102 became operative on June 28, 1981.  Statutes 1981, chapter 1163 
became operative on October 2, 1981.  The test claim was filed on July 8, 1982.  Revenue and 
Taxation Code Section 2253.8 states that test claims must be submitted on or before November 
30 following a given fiscal year in order to obtain reimbursement for costs incurred during the 
given fiscal year.  Therefore, costs incurred during 1981-82 and subsequent fiscal years would 
be reimbursable unless otherwise limited.  
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V. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of 
such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A 
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, 
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, 
cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, 
and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct 
based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source documents may include 
data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal 
government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

Probate Code Section 700.1, and the all county letters of February 18, 1982 and March 31, 1982 
with its form letter requested the following information: 

Description     Probate Code   All County  

Section 700.1   letters dated 

        2-18-82 & 3-31-92 

Notice of Death     X         - 

Death Certificate     X         X 

Probate Number      -        X 

Medi-Cal Number              X               X 

Estate Inventory & Appraisal            X             X 

Date of Death          X 

Approximate Estate Value        X 

Social Security Number          X 

Date of Birth           X 

Marital Status         X 

Type of Probate          X 

Counties shall be reimbursed for the increased costs directly related to providing information as 
required above. 
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VI. REIMBURSABLE COSTS 

Salary and Fringe Benefits: 

Classification of employee, number of- hours devoted to mandated functions, hourly rate, and 
fringe benefits. 

Other Costs: 

Computer costs, mileage, death certificates, forms, etc.   Claimants must provide justification 
for these costs. 

Allowable Indirect  Costs: 

Indirect costs are defined as costs, which are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting 
more than one program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program 
without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved. Indirect costs may include both (1) 
overhead costs of the unit performing the mandate, and (2) the costs of central government 
services distributed to other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost 
allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided 
in the OMB Circular A-87. Claimants have the option of using 10 % of direct labor, excluding 
fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) for the department if the 
indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. If more than one department is claiming indirect costs 
for the mandated program, each department must have its own ICRP prepared in accordance 
with OMB Circular A-87. An ICRP must be submitted with the claim when the indirect cost 
rate exceeds 10%. 

Offsetting Revenues: 

Claimants shall pursue reimbursement for the costs claimed above, from a decedent’s estate 
before seeking SB 90 reimbursement. The full amount of estate reimbursement shall be 
subtracted from the SB 90 reimbursement claim. 

VII. CLAIM PREPARATION 

Claimants shall categorize the activities necessary to carry out the mandated functions using the 
categories cited in the Reimbursable Costs Section. Claimants shall provide appropriate case 
load statistics to support claimed costs. 

VIII. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for 
actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the 
initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual 
reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are 
appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which 
the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the 
date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two 
years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the 
reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be retained during the period subject to 
audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention 
period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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To be Completed by Claimant 

REQUIRED CERTIFICATION: 

The following certification must accompany the claim: 

I DO HEREBY CERTIFY: 

THAT Sections 1090 to 1096, inclusive, of the Government Code and other applicable 
provisions of the law have been complied with; and, 

THAT I am the person authorized by the local agency to file claims with the State of 
California. 

 

________________________________    ______________________ 

Signature of Authorized Representative     Date 

 

____________________________________  
 __________________________ 

Title         Telephone Number 
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     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

MEDI-CAL BENEFICIARY PROBATE 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00043 
(20) Date Filed 
(21) LRS Input 

043
 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (05)(e)  

County of Location 
 (23) FORM 1, (06)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 
 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (07)  

City State Zip Code (25)   

  Type of Claim (26)   

 (03) (09) Reimbursement    (27)   

 (04) (10) Combined             (28)   

 (05) (11) Amended              (29)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 
  

Date Signed  
 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   
 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

043 
MEDI-CAL BENEFICIARY PROBATE 

CLAIMS FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (08). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (05)(e), means the information is located on Form 1, line (05), column (e). Enter the information on the same line but in the 
right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be shown 
as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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MEDI-CAL BENEFICIARY PROBATE 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)            Fiscal Year

   

(03)  Department  

(04) Computation of Claimable Increased Costs 

(a) 
 

Name of Decedents 

(b) 
Cost of 

Providing the 
Required 

Information 
 

(c) 
Cost of All 

County Services
Provided to the 

Estate 

(d) 
Reimbursement 

Received by 
County from 
the Estate  

(e) 
Claimable 

Increased Costs 
Col. (b) - 

[{Col. (b) ÷ Col. (c)}
X Col. (d)] 

 
 
 

    

(05) 
 
Claimable Increased Costs          Total             Subtotal              Page: ____of____  

 

Cost Reduction   

(06) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(07) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(08) Total Claimed Amount [Line (09) - {line (10) + line (11)}]  

20 /20 
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PROGRAM 

043 

MEDI-CAL BENEFICIARY PROBATE 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of claim. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 must be completed for each department. 

(04)  Computation of Claimable Increased Costs. Enter information as follows: 

Column (a), the case number or name of the decedents. 

Column (b), the county’s customary charge per case for providing the required information to DOHS.
Attach a worksheet detailing the costs for those cases which are significantly different than the 
customary rate. 

Column (c), the county’s customary charge per case for providing all county services to the estate of 
the decedent. Attach a worksheet detailing the costs for those cases which are significantly different 
than the customary rate. 

Column (d), the amount of reimbursement the county has received from the estate of the decedent 
for the cost of services rendered. 

Column (e), the formula for computing the claimable increased costs: 

Claimable Increased Costs = Column (b) – [{Column (b) ÷ Column (c)} x Column (d)] 

(05)  Enter the sum of the Claimable Increased Costs for all the deceased Medi-Cal recipients. Check the 
appropriate box to indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed, 
number each page. 

(06)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(07)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(08)  From Increased Costs, line (05), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (06), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (07). Enter the total on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-
27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-08  

MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS 

JULY 3, 2014 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders 
(M-CEJO) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission 
on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The    
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On December 6, 2013, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the Welfare and 
Institution Code section 14029.5 imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon 
local agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and 
GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any county or city and county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate, is eligible to claim for reimbursement.  

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: March 28, 2014  
 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Welfare and Institutions Code Section 14029.5 

Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 

Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders 
08-TC-04 

County of Alameda, Claimant 

 Period of reimbursement begins January 1, 2008 
 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

These parameters and guidelines address activities of county juvenile detention facilities and 
county welfare departments (CWDs) to assist juveniles whose Medi-Cal coverage is terminated 
as a result of incarceration in a juvenile detention facility for 30 days or more to obtain Medi-Cal 
or other health coverage immediately upon release from custody.  Beginning January 1, 2008, 
county juvenile detention facilities are required to provide specified information regarding Medi-
Cal eligibility to CWDs and, if the ward is a minor, provide notice to the ward’s parent or 
guardian.  The CWD is then required to perform specified mandated activities to initiate an 
application for Medi-Cal benefits for the ward.  The CWD is also required to determine the 
ward’s Medi-Cal eligibility; however, this requirement does not impose a reimbursable state-
mandated program because it is not new. 

On December 6, 2013, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of 
decision on the test claim finding that Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5, as 
amended by test claim statute, imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated program on local 
agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, and 
Government Code section 17514.  The Commission approved the test claim for the reimbursable 
activities found under Section IV. Reimbursable Activities. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any county and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible 
to claim reimbursement.  

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557(e) states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The County of Alameda 
filed the test claim on January 29, 2009, establishing eligibility for reimbursement for the 2007-
2008 fiscal year.  However, the effective date of the reimbursable state-mandated activities begins 
January 1, 2008, the effective date of the test claim statute.  As a result, any costs incurred for the 
activities in these parameters and guidelines are reimbursable on or after January 1, 2008.   
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Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.   

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller (Controller) within 120 
days of the issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Gov. Code, § 17560(b).) 

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a). 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.   

Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant that incurs increased costs, the following activities are reimbursable: 

For County Juvenile Detention Facilities: 

1. Subject to the provisions in Activity 2 below, immediately following the issuance of an 
order of the juvenile court committing the ward to a juvenile hall, camp, or ranch for 30 
days or longer, provide the appropriate CWD with the following information:  (a) the 
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ward’s name, (b) scheduled or actual release date, (c) any known information regarding 
the ward’s Medi-Cal status prior to disposition, and (d) sufficient information when 
available for the CWD to begin the process of determining the ward’s eligibility for the 
Medi-Cal program, including available contact information for the ward’s parent or 
guardian if the ward is a minor. 

2. If the ward is a minor and before providing information to the CWD, notify the parent or 
guardian in writing of the intention to submit the information to the CWD.  The parent or 
guardian shall be given a reasonable time to opt out of the Medi-Cal eligibility 
determination.  If the parent or guardian opts out of the Medi-Cal eligibility 
determination, the county detention facility shall not provide information to the CWD. 

For County Welfare Departments: 

1. From January 1, 2008, until December 31, 2008, upon receipt of the information from the 
county detention facility, and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed by the 
Department of Health Services (DHCS), initiate an application for benefits under the 
Medi-Cal program for all juvenile wards. 

2. Beginning January 1, 2009, upon receipt of the information from the county detention 
facility, and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed by DHCS, initiate an 
application for benefits under the Medi-Cal program only for wards not already enrolled 
in the Medi-Cal program.  If the ward is a minor, promptly contact the parent or guardian 
to arrange for completion of the application.  Applications shall be expedited for those 
wards scheduled to be released in fewer than 45 days. 

3. If the ward does not meet the eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, forward 
the ward’s information to the appropriate entity to determine eligibility for the Healthy 
Families Program, or other appropriate health coverage program, with the consent of the 
ward’s parents or guardian if the ward is a minor. 

4. If the ward meets eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, provide sufficient 
documentation to enable the ward to obtain necessary medical care upon release from 
custody.  The documentation consists of issuing an immediate need paper Medi-Cal card 
for the juvenile as soon as eligibility is established.   

The activity to “determine the individual’s eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program” 
is not reimbursable because it is not new.  

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 
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1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after 
deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are 
withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of 
costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 
on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services. 

4.  Fixed Assets  

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to 
implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, 
and installation costs.  If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement 
the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5.  Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, 
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element 
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both:  (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) 
Circular A-87).  Claimants have the option of using 10 percent of direct labor, excluding fringe 
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benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed 
exceeds 10 percent. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR part 225, appendices A and B (OMB Circular A-87 attachments A & B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR part 225, appendices A and B (OMB Circular A-87 attachments A & B).  However, 
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which 
indirect costs are properly allocable.   

The distribution base may be:  (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and 
wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular  
A-87 attachments A & B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s total 
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total allowable 
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount of allowable 
indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-
87 attachments A & B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department into 
groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total 
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total allowable 
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount of allowable 
indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed 
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation of an audit 
by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is 
filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for 
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the 
audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section IV., must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by 
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

1 This refers to title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from 
these parameters and guidelines and the statements of decisions on the test claim and parameters 
and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the Controller or any other authorized state agency for reimbursement of 
mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the Commission determines that 
the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and guidelines, the Commission shall 
direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and the Controller shall modify the 
claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines as directed by the 
Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally 
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record.  The 
administrative record is on file with the Commission.   
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State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00361 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
361

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 3. (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 4. (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (07)   

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

361 
MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A.1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04), section A.1., column (g). Enter the information on the 
same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs 
percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of 
this data block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant 

  
(02)  

 
Fiscal Year 

20 ___ /20___       

(03)  Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel 
and 

Training 
Total 

A.  For County Juvenile Detention Facilities  

1. Provide appropriate County Welfare Department 
(CWD) with ward’s information.        

    2. If the ward is a minor, notify the parent or guardian of 
the intention to submit the information to the CWD.        

B. For County Welfare Departments  

1. Initiate an application for benefits under the Medi-Cal 
program for all juvenile wards. 
(From January 1, 2008, until December 31, 2008) 

       

2. Initiate an application for benefits under the Medi-Cal 
program for wards not already enrolled in the Medi-
Cal program.  If ward is a minor, promptly contact the 
parent or guardian to arrange for completion of the 
application.  
(Reimbursement begins January 1, 2009.) 

       

3. Forward the ward’s information, with parental or 
guardian consent if ward is a minor, to the appropriate 
entity to determine eligibility. 

        

4. If ward is eligible, provide sufficient documentation to 
enable the ward to obtain necessary medical care 
upon release from custody. 
(The activity to “determine the individual’s 
eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal 
program” is not reimbursable.) 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate                                                           [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs                                            [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions] 

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs                                       [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]                   

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements  

(11) Total Claimed Amount          [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 1, 
block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing an 
Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP 
with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department’s 
ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, 
Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an 
ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect 
cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must 
have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source.  

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-27, 
line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 

 



        State Controller’s Office            Local Mandated Cost Manual 

    Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

361 

MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02)                                                          Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 A. For County Juvenile Detention Facilities  

 1. Provide appropriate County Welfare Department 
(CWD) with ward’s information. 

(For minor wards, see provisions in A.2.) 

2. 
 

Notify the parent or guardian in writing of the intention to 
submit the information to the CWD. If parent or guardian 
opts out of the Medi-Cal eligibility, disregard A.1. 

B. For County Welfare Departments  

(The activity to “determine the individual’s eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program” is not reimbursable.) 

 1. 
 
Initiate an application for benefits under the Medi-
Cal program for all juvenile wards. 
(Reimbursement from 01/01/2008, until 
12/31/2008.) 

3. If ward is not eligible for Medi-Cal program, forward the 
ward’s information, with parental or guardian consent if 
ward is a minor, to the appropriate entity to determine 
eligibility. 

 2. 
 
Initiate an application for benefits under the Medi-
Cal program for wards not already enrolled in the 
Medi-Cal program.  If the ward is a minor, promptly 
contact the parent or guardian to arrange for 
completion of the application.  
(Reimbursement begins 01/01/2009.) 

 
4. 

 
If ward is eligible for the Medi-Cal program, provide 
sufficient documentation to enable the ward to obtain 
necessary medical care upon release from custody. 
 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 
Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contract 
Services 

(h) 

 
Fixed 

Assets 

(i) 

 
Travel

 

 

 

 

 

       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page: ____of____       

                     20___ / 20___ 
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ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 2 
must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, fringe 
benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  expenses. The descriptions required in column 
(4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit 
purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than three 
years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated 
and no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will 
be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made available to the SCO on 
request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name & 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits= 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 

X Quantity 
Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours

Worked or 
Total 

Contract 

  

Copy of 
Contract

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total 
Travel=Rate x 

Days or  
Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) 
through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2006-04 

PEACE OFFICER PERSONNEL RECORDS:  UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS AND 

DISCOVERY 

FEBRUARY 21, 2006 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Peace Officer Personnel Records: Unfounded 
Complaints and Discovery program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to 
the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines       
(Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On September 25, 2003, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the FAM-

27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  
 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted:  December 9, 2005 

 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Evidence Code Section 1043, subdivision (a) 
Penal Code Sections 832.5, subdivisions (b) and (c), and 832.7, subdivisions (b) and (e)  

Statutes 1978, Chapter 630 
Statutes 1994, Chapter 741 

Peace Officer Personnel Records: 
Unfounded Complaints and Discovery (00-TC-24) 

City of Hayward and County of San Mateo, Claimants 
 
 
I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On June 29, 2001, claimant, City of Hayward (City), submitted a test claim alleging a 
reimbursable state mandate for employers of peace officers was imposed by amendments to 
Penal Code section 832.5.  On the same date,1 claimant, County of San Mateo (County), 
submitted a test claim alleging a reimbursable state mandate for employers of peace officers 
arising from additions and amendments to the Evidence and Penal Codes, including Penal Code 
section 832.5. 

On September 13, 2002,2 the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) received two test 
claims from claimant, Santa Monica Community College District, alleging substantially similar 
(but not identical) test claim legislation and activities on behalf of school district employers of 
peace officers to the claims originally filed by the City and County.  On May 1, 2003, the 
Commission consolidated all four claims designating them Peace Officer Personnel Records:  
Unfounded Complaints and Discovery (00-TC-24).   

The Commission heard and decided this test claim during regularly scheduled hearings on 
July 31, 2003, and September 25, 2003.  At the July 31, 2003 hearing, the Commission heard and 
decided the test claim allegations from the city and county claimants.  At the September 25, 2003 
hearing, the Commission heard the test claim allegations from the school district claimant. 

On September 25, 2003, the Commission adopted the Statement of Decision for Peace Officer 
Personnel Records:  Unfounded Complaints and Discovery (00-TC-24).  The Commission found 
that Evidence Code sections 1043, subdivision (a), Penal Code sections 832.5, subdivisions (b) 
and (c), and 832.7, subdivisions (b) and (e), constitute a new program or higher level of service 
and impose a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agency employers of peace officers 
within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6, of the California Constitution and Government 
Code section 17514.  Accordingly, the Commission approved this test claim for the following 
reimbursable activities:  

                                                 
1 Reimbursement period begins no earlier than July 1, 1999.  (Gov. Code, § 17557, subd. (c).) 
2 Reimbursement period begins no earlier than July 1, 2001.  (Gov. Code, § 17557, subd. (c).) 
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• Upon receipt of the notice that discovery or disclosure is sought of peace officer 
personnel records, the local agency served shall immediately notify the individual whose 
records are sought. (Evid. Code, § 1043, subd. (a).)3 

• Retain complaints against peace officers by members of the public, and any reports or 
findings relating to these complaints, either in the officer’s general personnel file or in a 
separate file, for an additional three years (a higher level of service above the two-year 
record retention requirement pursuant to Government Code sections 26202 and 34090).  
Complaints found to be frivolous, unfounded, or exonerated shall not be maintained in 
that officer’s general personnel file, but shall be retained in other, separate files.   
(Pen. Code, § 832.5, subds. (b) and (c).)4 

• Release to the complaining party a copy of his or her own statements at the time the 
complaint against the peace officer is filed.  (Pen. Code, § 832.7, subd. (b).)5 

• Provide written notification to the complaining party of the disposition of the complaint 
against the peace officer within 30 days of the disposition.  (Pen. Code, § 832.7, 
subd. (e).)6 

The Commission concluded that Evidence Code sections 1044, 1045, 1046 and 1047, Penal 
Code section 832.8, and none of the additional activities or costs claimed for receiving, 
responding to, or defending against a discovery motion, or investigating complaints against 
peace officers, constitute a new program or higher level of service within the meaning of the 
California Constitution, article XIII B, section 6. 

The Commission also found that forming a school district police department and employing 
peace officers is a discretionary activity on the part of all school districts.  Pursuant to Education 
Code sections 38000 and 72330, school districts remain free to discontinue providing their own 
police department, and statutory duties that follow from discretionary activities do not impose a 
reimbursable state mandate.  Thus, the Commission concluded that school districts are not 
eligible claimants for the test claim statutes. 

The Commission denied any remaining alleged costs or activities because they do not impose a 
new program or higher level of service, and do not impose costs mandated by the state. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a direct result of this 
reimbursable state-mandated program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs.  

                                                 
3 As amended by Statutes 1978, chapter 630; test claim allegation filed June 29, 2001, 
reimbursement period begins no earlier than July 1, 1999.  (Gov. Code, § 17557, subd. (c).). 
4 As amended by Statutes 1978, chapter 630; test claim allegation filed June 29, 2001, 
reimbursement period begins no earlier than July 1, 1999.  (Gov. Code, § 17557, subd. (c).). 
5 As amended by Statutes 1994, chapter 741; test claim allegation filed September 13, 2002, 
reimbursement period begins no earlier than July 1, 2001. (Gov. Code, § 17557, subd. (c).) 
6 Ibid. 
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III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557 states that a test claim must be submitted on or before June 30 
following a fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The test claims for this mandate 
were filed on June 29, 2001 and September 13, 2002.  Therefore, costs incurred for compliance 
with Evidence Code section 1043, subdivision (a), and Penal Code section 832.5, subdivisions 
(b) and (c), are reimbursable on or after July 1, 1999, and costs incurred for compliance with 
Penal Code section 832.7, subdivisions (b) and (e), are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2001. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable.  Pursuant to Government 
Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of initial fiscal year 
costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the 
claiming instructions. 

If the total costs for a given year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.  
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5. 
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.  

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. Notice to Peace Officers (Evid. Code, § 1043, subd. (a).) Reimbursement period begins 
July 1, 1999.       

1. Provide immediate notice to an officer that his personnel file is the subject of 
discovery or disclosure. 
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B. Record Retention (Pen. Code, § 832.5, subds. (b) and (c).)  Reimbursement period begins 
July 1, 1999. 

1. Retain complaints against peace officers and any reports on findings relating to these 
complaints, for an additional three years.  This is limited to the cost of retaining 
complaints against peace officers and any reports on findings relating to these 
complaints, including file storage of those records for the three-year period of time 
after the mandatory two-year retention period provided in Government Code sections 
26202 and 34090.  No staff time is required or reimbursable for this activity. 

2. Maintain those complaints found to be frivolous, unfounded or exonerated in a file 
separate from the officer’s general personnel file. 

C. Notice to Complaining Party (Pen. Code, § 832.7, subds. (b) and (e).)  Reimbursement 
period begins July 1, 2001.

1. Make a copy of the complaining party’s own statements at the time the complaint 
against the peace officer is filed, and provide the complaining party a copy of that 
statement. 

2. Provide written notification to the complaining party of the disposition of the 
complaint against the peace officer within thirty days of the disposition. 

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A.  Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job classification, 
and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by productive hours).  
Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 
reimbursable activity performed. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after 
deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are 
withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of 
costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent on 
the activities and all costs charged. If the contract is a fixed price, report the services that 
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were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the contract 
services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata 
portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.  Submit 
contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a description of the contract 
scope of services.   

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes 
other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to 
implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both: (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87.  Claimants have the option of 
using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal 
(ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in 
OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect costs shall exclude capital 
expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in OMB A-87 Attachments A and 
B).  However, unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities 
to which indirect costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) direct salaries and 
wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the Claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-
87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) classifying a department’s total 
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable 
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect 
costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-
87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by (1) separating a department into 
groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total 
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable 

Parameters and Guidelines 
Peace Officer Personnel Records:   

Unfounded Complaints and Discovery (00-TC-24) 

5



indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect 
costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter7 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated 
by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, services fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim.  Service fees collected include cost reimbursements received by counties 
pursuant to Government Code, Sections 27135, 27013, and 53684, subdivision (b). 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code, section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be 
derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code, section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file 
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code,  section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   
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7 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 



In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code, section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual 
basis for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual findings is found in 
the administrative record for the test claim.  The administrative record, including the Statement 
of Decision, is on file with the Commission. 
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State Controller’s Office                            Local Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

PEACE OFFICER PERSONNEL RECORDS: 
UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS AND DISCOVERY 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00264 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
264

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1.(f)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) B. 1.(f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) B. 2.(f)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) C. 1.(f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) C. 2.(f)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (07)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (09)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (10)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PEACE OFFICER PERSONNEL RECORDS: 

UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS AND DISCOVERY 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1., column (f). Enter the information on the same line but 
in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PEACE OFFICER PERSONNEL RECORDS:  UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS 

AND DISCOVERY 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
  Fiscal Year 

  

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

 
Fixed 

Assets 
 

Total 

 A. Notice to Peace Officers       

1. Provide Immediate Notice to Officer       

 B. Record Retention       

1. Retain Complaints and Reports for 3 More 
Years 

      

2. Maintain Separate Files       

 C.  Notice to Complaining Parties       

1. Provide a Copy of Complaint to 
Complainant 

      

2. Provide Written Notification to Complainant 
in 30 days 

      

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20  /20 
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PEACE OFFICER PERSONNEL RECORDS:  UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS 

AND DISCOVERY 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PEACE OFFICER RECORDS:  UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS 
AND DISCOVERY 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 

(01)  Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. Notice to Peace Officers B. Record Retention C. Notice to Complaining Party 

 1. Provide Immediate Notice 
to Officer 

 1. Retain Complaints and 
Reports for 3 More Years 

 1. Provide a Copy of Complaints 
to Complainant 

  
 2. Maintain Separate Files  2. Provide Written Notification to 

Complainant in 30 days 
     

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job Classifications,  

Functions Performed,  

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 
Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contracted 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

        

(05) Total  Subtotal Page:  ____ of ____       
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PEACE OFFICER PERSONNEL RECORDS:  UNFOUNDED COMPLAINTS 
AND DISCOVERY 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 

 
(01) 

 
Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 
2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, fringe 
benefits, supplies used, and contracted services expenses. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) 
must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit 
purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than three 
years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated 
or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will 
be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made available to SCO on 
request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns Submit these 
supporting 
documents 

with the claim(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

 
 

Salaries 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked

     

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  

Benefits = 
Benefit Rate 

x 
Salaries 

    

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Quantity Used

   

Contracted  
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked 
Inclusive Dates 

of 
Service  

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked 

 

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

 

 
(05) 

 
 

 
Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the component costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns (a) 
through (e) in the appropriate row.  
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2009-10 

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS  

LOCAL AGENCIES 

OCTOBER 5, 2009 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants can use for filing claims for the Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights 
(POBOR) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission 
on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The     
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On July 27, 2000, the CSM adopted the Ps & Gs that listed counties, cities, school districts, and 
special districts that employ peace officers as eligible claimants.  

On July 31, 2009, the CSM amended the decision to deny reimbursement to school districts, 
community college districts, and special districts that are permitted by statue but not required to 
employ peace officers who supplement the general law enforcement units of cities and counties.  

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city, county or special police protection district named in GC sections 17511, 17515, and 
53060.7 that wholly supplants the law enforcement functions of the county within its jurisdiction 
is eligible to claim reimbursement. 

School districts, community college districts, and special districts that are permitted by statute, 
but not required, to employ peace officers who supplement the general law enforcement units of 
cities and counties are not eligible claimants to reimbursement.  

Special districts, subject to tax and spend limitations pursuant to the provisions of Articles XIII 
A and B of the California Constitution, are eligible to claim reimbursement.  To establish proof 
of eligibility and to minimize payment delays, SCO requests that special district claimants 
submit a supporting document affirming that the special district received an annual allocation of 
property tax revenue from the county pursuant to Article XIII A of the California Constitution.   
This may include a Board of Directors Resolution establishing the appropriation limit for the 
fiscal year being claimed, in compliance with Article XIII B of the California Constitution. 
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Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

An actual claim for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late 
penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC Section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), provided that a 
county may submit a combined claim on behalf of direct service districts or special districts 
within their county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual direct service 
district’s or special district’s claim does not each exceed $1,000. The county shall determine if 
the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for 
disbursing the funds to each direct service district or special district. These combined claims may 
be filed only when the county is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show 
the individual claim costs for each eligible district. All subsequent claims based upon the same 
mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a direct service district or special district 
provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county and to the SCO, at 
least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 
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Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, a Notice of Claim Adjustment specifying the activity adjusted, the amount adjusted, 
and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above. 
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Adopted: July 27, 2000 
Corrected: August 17, 2000 
Amended:  December 4, 2006 
Amended:  March 28, 2008 
Amended:  July 31, 2009 

 
AMENDED PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Government Code Sections 3301, 3303, 3304, 3305, 3306 

As Added and Amended by Statutes 1976, Chapter 465; 
Statutes 1978, Chapters 775, 1173, 1174, and 1178;  

Statutes 1979, Chapter 405; Statutes 1980, Chapter 1367; Statutes 1982,  
Chapter 994; Statutes 1983, Chapter 964; Statutes 1989, Chapter 1165; and  

Statutes 1990, Chapter 675 

Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights  
05-RL-4499-01(4499) 

06-PGA-06 
 

BEGINNING IN FISCAL YEAR 2006-2007 

 

I. SUMMARY AND SOURCE OF THE MANDATE 

In order to ensure stable employer-employee relations and effective law enforcement 
services, the Legislature enacted Government Code sections 3300 through 3310, known as 
the Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights (POBOR). 

The test claim legislation provides procedural protections to peace officers employed by 
local agencies and school districts1 when a peace officer is subject to an interrogation by 
the employer, is facing punitive action or receives an adverse comment in his or her 
personnel file.   

In 1999, the Commission approved the test claim and adopted the original Statement of 
Decision.  The Commission found that certain procedural requirements under POBOR 
were rights already provided to public employees under the due process clause of the 
United States and California Constitutions.  Thus, the Commission denied the procedural 
requirements of POBOR that were already required by law on the ground that they did not 
impose a new program or higher level of service, or impose costs mandated by the state 
pursuant to Government Code section 17556, subdivision (c).  Government Code  
section 17556, subdivision (c), generally provides that the Commission shall not find costs 
mandated by the state for test claim statutes that implement a federal law, unless the test 
claim statute mandates costs that exceed the federal mandate.  The Commission approved 

                                                 
1 Government Code section 3301 states: “For purposes of this chapter, the term public 
safety officer means all peace officers specified in Sections 830.1, 830.2, 830.3, 830.31, 
830.32, 830.33, except subdivision (e), 830.34, 830.35, except subdivision (c), 830.36, 
830.37, 830.38, 830.4, and 830.5 of the Penal Code.” 
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the activities required by POBOR that exceeded the requirements of existing state and 
federal law. 

On July 27, 2000, the Commission adopted parameters and guidelines that authorized 
reimbursement, beginning July 1, 1994, to counties, cities, a city and county, school 
districts, and special districts that employ peace officers for the ongoing activities 
summarized below: 

• Developing or updating policies and procedures. 

• Training for human resources, law enforcement, and legal counsel. 

• Updating the status of cases. 

• Providing the opportunity for an administrative appeal for permanent, at-will, and 
probationary employees that were subject to certain disciplinary actions that were 
not covered by the due process clause of state and federal law. 

• When a peace officer is under investigation, or becomes a witness to an incident 
under investigation, and is subjected to an interrogation by the employer that could 
lead to certain disciplinary actions, the following costs and activities are eligible for 
reimbursement: compensation to the peace officer for interrogations occurring 
during off-duty time; providing prior notice to the peace officer regarding the 
nature of the interrogation and identification of investigating officers; tape 
recording the interrogation; providing the peace officer employee with access to the 
tape prior to any further interrogation at a subsequent time or if any further 
specified proceedings are contemplated; and producing transcribed copies of any 
notes made by a stenographer at an interrogation, and copies of complaints of 
reports or complaints made by investigators. 

• Performing certain activities, specified by the type of local agency or school 
district, upon the receipt of an adverse comment against a peace officer employee. 

A technical correction was made to the parameters and guidelines on August 17, 2000. 

In 2005, Statutes 2005, chapter 72, section 6 (AB 138) added section 3313 to the 
Government Code to direct the Commission to “review” the Statement of Decision, 
adopted in 1999, on the Peace Officer Procedural Bill of Rights test claim (commonly 
abbreviated as “POBOR”) to clarify whether the subject legislation imposed a mandate 
consistent with California Supreme Court Decision in San Diego Unified School Dist. v. 
Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859 and other applicable court 
decisions.   

On April 26, 2006, the Commission reviewed its original findings and adopted a Statement 
of Decision on reconsideration (05-RL-4499-01).  The Statement of Decision on 
reconsideration became final on May 1, 2006.   

The Commission found that the San Diego Unified School Dist. case supports the 
Commission’s 1999 Statement of Decision that the test claim legislation constitutes a 
partial reimbursable state-mandated program within the meaning of article XIII B,  
section 6 of the California Constitution and Government Code section 17514 for all 
activities previously approved by the Commission for counties, cities, school districts, and 
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special districts identified in Government Code section 3301 that employ peace officers, 
except the following: 

• The activity of providing the opportunity for an administrative appeal to 
probationary and at-will peace officers (except when the chief of police is removed) 
pursuant to Government Code section 3304 is no longer a reimbursable state-
mandated activity because the Legislature amended Government Code section 3304 
in 1998.  The amendment limited the right to an administrative appeal to only those 
peace officers “who successfully completed the probationary period that may be 
required” by the employing agency and to situations where the chief of police is 
removed.  (Stats. 1998, ch. 786, § 1.) 

• The activities of obtaining the signature of the peace officer on the adverse 
comment or noting the officer’s refusal to sign the adverse comment, pursuant to 
Government Code sections 3305 and 3306, when the adverse comment results in a 
punitive action protected by the due process clause2 does not constitute a new 
program or higher level of service and does not impose costs mandated by the state 
pursuant to Government Code section 17556, subdivision (c).   

The Statement of Decision adopted by the Commission on this reconsideration applies to 
costs incurred and claimed for the 2006-2007 fiscal year. 

On February 6, 2009, the Third District Court of Appeal, in Department of Finance v. 
Commission on State Mandates (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 1357, determined that 
POBOR is not a reimbursable mandate as to school districts and special districts that are 
permitted by statute, but not required, to employ peace officers who supplement the 
general law enforcement units of cities and counties. 

On May 8, 2009, the Sacramento County Superior Court issued a judgment and writ in 
Case No. 07CS00079, pursuant to the Third District Court of Appeal’s decision in 
Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 
requiring the Commission to: 

a. Set aside the portion of its reconsideration decision in “Case No. 05-RL-4499-01 
Peace Officer Procedural Bill of Rights” (reconsideration decision) that found that 
the Peace Officer Procedural Bill of Rights program constitutes a reimbursable 
state-mandated program for school districts, community college districts, and 
special districts that are permitted by statute, but not required, to employ peace 
officers who supplement the general law enforcement units of cities and counties; 

b. Issue a new decision denying the portion of the reconsideration decision approving 
reimbursement for school districts, community college districts, and special 
districts that are permitted by statute, but not required, to employ peace officers 
who supplement the general law enforcement units of cities and counties; and 

                                                 
2 Due process attaches when a permanent employee is dismissed, demoted, suspended, 
receives a reduction in salary, or receives a written reprimand.  Due process also attaches 
when the charges supporting a dismissal of a probationary or at-will employee constitute 
moral turpitude that harms the employee’s reputation and ability to find future employment 
and, thus, a name-clearing hearing is required. 
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c. Amend the parameters and guidelines consistent with this judgment. 

This judgment does not affect cities, counties, or special police protection districts 
named in Government Code section 53060.7, which wholly supplant the law 
enforcement functions of the County within their jurisdiction. 

Accordingly, on July 31, 2009, the Commission amended the decision to deny 
reimbursement to school districts, community college districts, and special districts that are 
permitted by statute, but not required, to employ peace officers who supplement the 
general law enforcement units of cities and counties. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Counties, cities, a city and county, and special police protection districts named in 
Government Code section 53060.7 that wholly supplant the law enforcement functions of 
the county within their jurisdiction are eligible claimants.   

School districts, community college districts, and special districts that are permitted by 
statute, but not required, to employ peace officers who supplement the general law 
enforcement units of cities and counties are not eligible claimants entitled to 
reimbursement. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

The period of reimbursement for the activities and reasonable reimbursement methodology 
in this parameters and guidelines amendment begins on July 1, 2006. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17560, reimbursement for state-mandated costs may 
be claimed as follows: 

1. A local agency may, by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs are 
incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim  for that fiscal year. 

2. In the event revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to 
subdivision (c) of section 17558 between  November 15 and  February 15, a local 
agency filing an annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the 
issuance date of the revised claiming instructions to file a claim. 

Reimbursable costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  If total costs for a 
given year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed, except as otherwise 
allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, an eligible claimant 
may file a reimbursement claim based on the reasonable reimbursement methodology 
described in Section V A. or for actual costs, as described in Section V. B.   

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. Administrative Activities (On-going Activities) 

1.  Developing or updating internal policies, procedures, manuals and other 
materials pertaining to the conduct of the mandated activities.  
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2.  Attendance at specific training for human resources, law enforcement and legal 
counsel regarding the requirements of the mandate.  The training must relate to 
mandate-reimbursable activities. 

3.  Updating the status report of mandate-reimbursable POBOR activities.  
“Updating the status report of mandate-reimbursable POBOR activities” means 
tracking the procedural status of the mandate-reimbursable activities only.  
Reimbursement is not required to maintain or update the cases, set up the cases, 
review the cases, evaluate the cases, or close the cases. 

B.   Administrative Appeal   

1.  The administrative appeal activities listed below apply to permanent peace 
officer employees as defined in Penal Code sections 830.1, 830.2, 830.3, 830.31, 
830.32, 830.33, except subdivision (e), 830.34, 830.35, except subdivision (c), 
830.36, 830.37, 830.4, and 830.5.  The administrative appeal activities do not apply 
to reserve or recruit officers; coroners; railroad police officers commissioned by the 
Governor; or non-sworn officers including custodial officers, sheriff security 
officers, police security officers, and school security officers.3 

The following activities and costs are reimbursable: 

a. Providing the opportunity for, and the conduct of an administrative appeal 
hearing for the following disciplinary actions (Gov. Code, § 3304, subd. (b)): 

• Transfer of permanent employees for purposes of punishment; 

• Denial of promotion for permanent employees for reasons other than merit; 
and 

• Other actions against permanent employees that result in disadvantage, 
harm, loss or hardship and impact the career opportunities of the employee. 

b. Preparation and review of the various documents necessary to commence and 
proceed with the administrative appeal hearing. 

c. Legal review and assistance with the conduct of the administrative appeal 
hearing. 

d. Preparation and service of subpoenas. 

e. Preparation and service of any rulings or orders of the administrative body. 

f. The cost of witness fees. 

g. The cost of salaries of employee witnesses, including overtime, the time and 
labor of the administrative appeal hearing body and its attendant clerical 
services. 

 

 

                                                 
3 Burden v. Snowden (1992) 2 Cal.4th 556, 569; Government Code section 3301; Penal 
Code sections 831, 831.4. 
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The following activities are not reimbursable: 

a. Investigating charges. 

b. Writing and reviewing charges. 

c. Imposing disciplinary or punitive action against the peace officer. 

d. Litigating the final administrative decision. 

2. Providing the opportunity for, and the conduct of an administrative appeal hearing 
for removal of the chief of police under circumstances that do not create a liberty 
interest (i.e., the charges do not constitute moral turpitude, which harms the 
employee’s reputation and ability to find future employment).  (Gov. Code, § 3304, 
subd. (b).) 

The following activities and costs are reimbursable: 

a. Preparation and review of the various documents necessary to commence and 
proceed with the administrative appeal hearing. 

b. Legal review and assistance with the conduct of the administrative appeal 
hearing. 

c. Preparation and service of subpoenas. 

d. Preparation and service of any rulings or orders of the administrative body. 

e. The cost of witness fees. 

f. The cost of salaries of employee witnesses, including overtime, the time and 
labor of the administrative appeal hearing body and its attendant clerical 
services. 

The following activities are not reimbursable: 

a. Investigating charges. 

b. Writing and reviewing charges. 

c. Imposing disciplinary or punitive action against the chief of police. 

d. Litigating the final administrative decision. 

C. Interrogations  

The performance of the activities listed in this section are eligible for reimbursement 
only when a peace officer, as defined in Penal Code sections 830.1, 830.2, 830.3, 
830.31, 830.32, 830.33, except subdivision (e), 830.34, 830.35, except subdivision (c), 
830.36, 830.37, 830.4, and 830.5, is under investigation, or becomes a witness to an 
incident under investigation, and is subjected to an interrogation by the commanding 
officer, or any other member of the employing public safety department, that could 
lead to dismissal, demotion, suspension, reduction in salary, written reprimand, or 
transfer for purposes of punishment.  (Gov. Code, § 3303.)4 

                                                 
4 Interrogations of reserve or recruit officers; coroners; railroad police officers 
commissioned by the Governor; or non-sworn officers including custodial officers, sheriff 
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Claimants are not eligible for reimbursement for the activities listed in this section 
when an interrogation of a peace officer is in the normal course of duty, counseling, 
instruction, or informal verbal admonishment by, or other routine or unplanned contact 
with, a supervisor or any other public safety officer.  Claimants are also not eligible for 
reimbursement when the investigation is concerned solely and directly with alleged 
criminal activities. (Gov. Code, § 3303, subd. (i).) 

The following activities are reimbursable: 

1.  When required by the seriousness of the investigation, compensating the peace 
officer for interrogations occurring during off-duty time in accordance with regular 
department procedures. (Gov. Code, § 3303, subd. (a).) 

Preparation and review of overtime compensation requests are reimbursable. 

2. Providing notice to the peace officer before the interrogation.  The notice shall 
inform the peace officer of the rank, name, and command of the officer in charge of 
the interrogation, the interrogating officers, and all other persons to be present 
during the interrogation.  The notice shall inform the peace officer of the nature of 
the investigation.  (Gov. Code, § 3303, subds. (b) and (c).) 

The following activities relating to the notice of interrogation are reimbursable: 

a. Review of agency complaints or other documents to prepare the notice of 
interrogation. 

b. Identification of the interrogating officers to include in the notice of 
interrogation. 

c. Preparation of the notice. 

d. Review of notice by counsel. 

e. Providing notice to the peace officer prior to interrogation. 

3. Recording the interrogation when the peace officer employee records the 
interrogation. (Gov. Code, § 3303, subd. (g).) 

 The cost of media and storage, and the cost of transcription are reimbursable.  The 
investigator’s time to record the session and transcription costs of non-sworn peace 
officers are not reimbursable. 

4. Providing the peace officer employee with access to the recording prior to any 
further interrogation at a subsequent time, or if any further proceedings are 
contemplated and the further proceedings fall within the following categories (Gov. 
Code, § 3303, subd. (g)): 

 a. The further proceeding is not a disciplinary action; 

 b. The further proceeding is a dismissal, demotion, suspension, salary reduction or 
written reprimand received by a probationary or at-will employee whose liberty 

                                                                                                                                                    
security officers, police security officers, and school security officers are not reimbursable.  
(Burden v. Snowden (1992) 2 Cal.4th 556, 569; Government Code section 3301; Penal 
Code sections 831, 831.4.) 
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interest is not affected (i.e., the charges supporting the dismissal does not harm the 
employee’s reputation or ability to find future employment); 

 c. The further proceeding is a transfer of a permanent, probationary or at-will 
employee for purposes of punishment; 

 d. The further proceeding is a denial of promotion for a permanent, probationary or 
at-will employee for reasons other than merit; 

 e. The further proceeding is an action against a permanent, probationary or at-will 
employee that results in disadvantage, harm, loss or hardship and impacts the career 
of the employee. 

The cost of media copying is reimbursable. 

5.  Producing transcribed copies of any notes made by a stenographer at an 
interrogation, and copies of reports or complaints made by investigators or other 
persons, except those that are deemed confidential, when requested by the officer, 
in the following circumstances (Gov. Code, § 3303, subd. (g)): 

 a) When the investigation does not result in disciplinary action; and 

 b) When the investigation results in: 

• A dismissal, demotion, suspension, salary reduction or written reprimand 
received by a probationary or at-will employee whose liberty interest is not 
affected (i.e.; the charges supporting the dismissal do not harm the 
employee’s reputation or ability to find future employment); 

• A transfer of a permanent, probationary or at-will employee for purposes of 
punishment; 

• A denial of promotion for a permanent, probationary or at-will employee 
for reasons other than merit; or 

• Other actions against a permanent, probationary or at-will employee that 
result in disadvantage, harm, loss or hardship and impact the career of the 
employee. 

Review of the complaints, notes or recordings for issues of confidentiality by law 
enforcement, human relations or counsel; and the cost of processing, service and 
retention of copies are reimbursable. 

The following activities are not reimbursable: 

1. Activities occurring before the assignment of the case to an administrative 
investigator.  These activities include taking an initial complaint, setting up the 
complaint file, interviewing parties, reviewing the file, and determining whether the 
complaint warrants an administrative investigation. 

2. Investigation activities, including assigning an investigator to the case, reviewing 
the allegation, communicating with other departments, visiting the scene of the 
alleged incident, gathering evidence, identifying and contacting complainants and 
witnesses. 
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3. Preparing for the interrogation, reviewing and preparing interrogation questions, 
conducting the interrogation, and reviewing the responses given by the officer 
and/or witness during the interrogation. 

4. Closing the file, including the preparation of a case summary disposition reports 
and attending executive review or committee hearings related to the investigation. 

D. Adverse Comment 

Performing the following activities upon receipt of an adverse comment concerning a 
peace officer, as defined in Penal Code sections 830.1, 830.2, 830.3, 830.31, 830.32, 
830.33, except subdivision (e), 830.34, 830.35, except subdivision (c), 830.36, 830.37, 
830.4, and 830.5. (Gov. Code, §§ 3305 and 3306.): 5  

Counties 

(a) If an adverse comment is related to the investigation of a possible criminal offense, 
then counties are entitled to reimbursement for the following activities: 

1. Providing notice of the adverse comment; 

2. Providing an opportunity to review and sign the adverse comment; 

3. Providing an opportunity to respond to the adverse comment within 30 days; 
and 

4. Noting the peace officer’s refusal to sign the adverse comment and obtaining 
the signature or initials of the peace officer under such circumstances. 

(b) If an adverse comment is not related to the investigation of a possible criminal 
offense, then counties obtained are entitled to reimbursement for: 

1. Providing notice of the adverse comment: and 

2. Obtaining the signature of the peace officer on the adverse comment; or 

3. Noting the peace officer’s refusal to sign the adverse comment and obtaining 
the signature or initials of the peace officer under such circumstances. 

Cities and Special Police Protection Districts 

(a) If an adverse comment is related to the investigation of a possible criminal offense, 
then cities and special districts are entitled to reimbursement for the following 
activities: 

1. Providing notice of the adverse comment; 

2. Providing an opportunity to review and sign the adverse comment; 

                                                 
5 The adverse comment activities do not apply to reserve or recruit officers; coroners; 
railroad police officers commissioned by the Governor; or non-sworn officers including 
custodial officers, sheriff security officers, police security officers, or school security 
officers.  (Burden v. Snowden (1992) 2 Cal.4th 556, 569; Government Code section 3301; 
Penal Code sections 831, 831.4.) 
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3. Providing an opportunity to respond to the adverse comment within 30 days; 
and 

4. Noting the peace officer’s refusal to sign the adverse comment and obtaining 
the signature or initials of the peace officer under such circumstances. 

(b) If an adverse comment is not related to the investigation of a possible criminal 
offense, then cities and special districts are entitled to reimbursement for the 
following activities: 

1. Providing notice of the adverse comment; 

2. Providing an opportunity to respond to the adverse comment within 30 days; 
and 

3. Obtaining the signature of the peace officer on the adverse comment; or 

4. Noting the peace officer’s refusal to sign the adverse comment and obtaining 
the signature or initials of the peace officer under such circumstances. 

The following adverse comment activities are reimbursable: 

1. Review of the circumstances or documentation leading to the adverse comment 
by supervisor, command staff, human resources staff, or counsel to determine 
whether the comment constitutes a written reprimand or an adverse comment. 

2. Preparation of notice of adverse comment. 

3. Review of notice of adverse comment for accuracy. 

4. Informing the peace officer about the officer’s rights regarding the notice of 
adverse comment. 

5. Review of peace officer’s response to adverse comment. 

6. Attaching the peace officers’ response to the adverse comment and filing the 
document in the appropriate file. 

The following activities are not reimbursable: 

1. Investigating a complaint. 

2. Interviewing a complainant. 

3. Preparing a complaint investigation report. 

V.  CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION  

Claimants may be reimbursed for the Reimbursable Activities described in Section IV 
above by claiming costs mandated by the state pursuant to the reasonable reimbursement 
methodology or by filing an actual cost claim, as described below: 

 A.  Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology 

The Commission is adopting a reasonable reimbursement methodology to reimburse local 
agencies for all direct and indirect costs, as authorized by Government Code section 
17557, subdivision (b), in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred for the 
reimbursable activities specified in Section IV above.   
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1.  Definition 
The definition of reasonable reimbursement methodology is in Government Code 
section 17518.5, as follows: 
(a) Reasonable reimbursement methodology means a formula for reimbursing 

local agency and school districts for costs mandated by the state, as defined in 
Section 17514.   

(b) A reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on cost information 
from a representative sample of eligible claimants, information provided by 
associations of local agencies and school districts, or other projections of local 
costs. 

(c) A reasonable reimbursement methodology shall consider the variation in costs 
among local agencies and school districts to implement the mandate in a cost-
efficient manner. 

(d) Whenever possible, a reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on 
general allocation formulas, uniform cost allowances, and other approximations 
of local costs mandated by the state rather than detailed documentation of actual 
local costs. In cases when local agencies and school districts are projected to 
incur costs to implement a mandate over a period of more than one fiscal year, 
the determination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology may consider 
local costs and state reimbursements over a period of greater than one fiscal 
year, but not exceeding 10 years.  

(e) A reasonable reimbursement methodology may be developed by any of the 
following: 
(1) The Department of Finance. 
(2) The Controller. 
(3) An affected state agency. 
(4) A claimant. 
(5) An interested party. 

2. Formula  

The reasonable reimbursement methodology shall allow each eligible claimant to be 
reimbursed at the rate of $ 37.25 per full-time sworn peace officer employed by the agency 
for all direct and indirect costs of performing the activities, as described in Section IV, 
Reimbursable Activities.   

The rate per full-time sworn peace officer shall be adjusted each year by the Implicit Price 
Deflator referenced in Government Code section 17523.   
 
Reimbursement is determined by multiplying the rate per full time sworn peace officer for 
the appropriate fiscal year by the number of full time sworn peace officers employed by 
the agency and reported to the Department of Justice. 
 

B. ACTUAL COST CLAIMS 

Although the Commission adopted a reasonable reimbursement methodology for this 
mandated program, any eligible claimant may instead choose to file a reimbursement claim 
based on actual costs.   
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Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  Actual 
costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A 
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was 
incurred for the event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not 
limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, 
training packets, and declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration 
stating, “I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing is true and correct,” and must further comply with the 
requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the 
source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in 
compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  However, 
corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task-
repetitive.  Time study usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State 
Controller’s Office. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for 
reimbursable activities identified above.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity 
that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity 
identified in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed 
reimbursable cost must be supported by source documentation as described above.   
Additionally, each reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

1. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The 
following direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

a. Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided 
by productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and 
the hours devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

b.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for 
the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual 
price after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  
Supplies that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and 
recognized method of costing, consistently applied. 

c.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the 
reimbursable activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the 
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number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a 
fixed price, report the services that were performed during the period covered by 
the reimbursement claim.  If the contract services are also used for purposes other 
than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the services used to 
implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.  Submit contract consultant 
and attorney invoices with the claim and a description of the contract scope of 
services. 

d.  Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including 
computers) necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price 
includes taxes, delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment 
is also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata 
portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  

e.  Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable 
activities.  Include the date of travel, destination point, the specific reimbursable 
activity requiring travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in 
compliance with the rules of the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time 
according to the rules of cost element  B. 1. a. Salaries and Benefits, for each 
applicable reimbursable activity. 

f.  Training 

Report the cost of training an employee to perform the reimbursable activities, as 
specified in Section IV of this document.  Report the name and job classification of 
each employee preparing for, attending, and/or conducting training necessary to 
implement the reimbursable activities.  Provide the title, subject, and purpose 
(related to the mandate of the training session), dates attended, and location.  If the 
training encompasses subjects broader than the reimbursable activities, only the 
pro-rata portion can be claimed.  Report employee training time for each applicable 
reimbursable activity according to the rules of cost element  B.1.a, Salaries and 
Benefits, and B.1.b, Materials and Supplies.  Report the cost of consultants who 
conduct the training according to the rules of cost element B.1.c, Contracted 
Services. 

2.  Indirect Cost Rates 

  a. Local Agencies 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting 
more than one program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department 
or program without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs 
may include both (1) overhead costs of the unit performing the mandate; and (2) 
the costs of the central government services distributed to the other departments 
based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the 
procedure provided in 2 CFR Part 225 (the Office of Management and Budget 
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(OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have the option of using 10% of direct labor, 
excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) if the 
indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and 
described in 2 CFR Part 225 (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the 
indirect costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined 
and described in 2 CFR Part 225 (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).  
However, unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent 
activities to which indirect costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures 
and other distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) 
direct salaries and wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable 
distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

i.  The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 2 CFR 
Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) shall 
be accomplished by (1) classifying a department’s total costs for the base 
period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect 
costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of 
this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to 
mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount 
allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

ii The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 2 CFR 
Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) shall 
be accomplished by (1) separating a department into groups, such as divisions 
or sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total costs for the 
base period as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable 
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The 
result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for 
actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter6 is subject to 
the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the 
actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no 
funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal 
year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall 
commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  In any case, an audit shall 
be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced.  All 
documents used to support the application of a reasonable reimbursement methodology     
                                                 
6 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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must also be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by 
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same statutes 
or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed.  
In addition, reimbursement for this mandate received from any source, including but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds and other state funds shall be identified and 
deducted from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S REVISED CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (c), the Controller shall issue 
revised claiming instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later 
than 60 days after receiving the revised parameters and guidelines from the Commission, 
to assist local agencies and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The revised 
claiming instructions shall be derived from the test claim decision and the revised 
parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(2), issuance of the revised 
claiming instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school 
districts to file reimbursement claims, based upon the revised parameters and guidelines 
adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the 
claiming instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency 
for reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters 
and guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming 
instructions and the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the 
parameters and guidelines as directed by the Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to 
Government Code section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations,  
title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND 
GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision (CSM 4499) and the Statement of Decision on Reconsideration 
(05-RL-4499-01) are legally binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis 
for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual findings is found 
in the administrative record for the test claim, and in Department of Finance v. 
Commission on State Mandates (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355.  The administrative record, 
including the Statement of Decision and the Statement of Decision on Reconsideration, is 
on file with the Commission.   
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PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS  
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00187 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
187

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (05)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (06)(A)(g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (06)(B)(g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (06)(C)(g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (06)(D)(g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (08)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (09)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (11)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (12)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

187 
PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (13). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (06)(A)(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (06)(A), column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

187 

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS  
CLAIM SUMMARY  

FORM

1 

(01) Claimant (02)   Fiscal Year 
    20__/20__ 

(03)  Department  

Claim Statistics 

(04) Number of full-time sworn peace officers employed by the agency during this fiscal year  

 

Flat Rate Method 

(05) Total Cost [Line (04) X $44.57 for 2014-15 FY] [Skip (06) to (09) and carry forward total to line (10)]  

 

Actual Cost Method 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(06)  Reimbursable Activities  

(a) 

 

Salaries 

(b) 

 

Benefits 

(c) 

Materials 

And 

Supplies 

(d) 

Contract 

Services 

(e) 

Fixed 

Assets 

(f) 

Travel 

And 

Training 

(g) 

 

Total 

A. Administrative Activities        

B. Administrative Appeal        

C. Interrogations        

D. Adverse Comment        

(07) Total Direct Costs        

Indirect Costs 

(08) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %l

(09) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(10) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

Cost Reduction   

(11) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(12) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(13) Total Claimed Amount [Line (10) - {line (11) + line (12)}]  
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PROGRAM 

187 

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS  
CLAIM SUMMARY  

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of claim. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  Enter the number of full-time sworn peace officers who were employed by the agency during the fiscal 
year of claim. 

 
(05) 

  
Flat Rate Method 

Multiply the number of peace officers from line (04) by the flat rate for the total cost, and enter the 
result on line (05) and line (10). 

 
(06) 

  
Actual Cost Method 

For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 
1, block (06), columns (a) through (f) in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(07)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(08)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(09)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I 
and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(07)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department 
is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(10)  Flat Rate Method:  Enter the total from line (05). 

Actual Cost Method:  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (07)(g), and Total Indirect Costs,    line
(09). 

(11)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(12)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(13)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (10), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (11), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (12). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

187 

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS  
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL  

FORM 

2 

(01) Claimant (02)                                                            Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 A. Administrative Activities C. Interrogations 

 B. Administrative Appeal D. Adverse Comment 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 
 

Materials 
And 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 
 

Travel 
And 

Training 

         

 

(05)  Total           Subtotal           Page:____ of ____
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PROGRAM 

187 

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS  
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL  

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 

 

(01) 

 For Actual Cost Method Use Only. 

Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box that indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 2 
must be prepared for each activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail costs 
for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief description of 
the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, benefits, materials 
and supplies used, contract services, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For 
audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than 
three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate 
an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made available to 
the SCO on request. 

 
Object/ 

Sub object 
Columns 

Submit  
supporting 
documents 

Accounts (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) with the 
claim 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits= 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies 
Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 
X Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific 
Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly
Rate x Hours

Worked or 
Total 

Contract 
Cost

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description 
of 

Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

 
Travel 

 
 

 
and 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure 
and 

Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total 
Travel=Rate 

x Days or  
Miles 

 

Training 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 
Name of 

Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
     

Registration
Fee 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to indicate 
if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, number each 
page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (06), columns (a) through (f) in 
the appropriate row.  
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-01 

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS II 

MARCH 12, 2014 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights II 
(POBOR II) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission 
on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The         
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On December 1, 2011, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the 
meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city, county, or city and county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that has been 
the traditional law enforcement provider of the state, or any special district that has been granted 
statutory authorization to perform police protection activities named in GC section 53060.7*, 
that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is eligible to claim reimbursement. 

* These special districts include (1) the Bear Valley Community Services District, (2) the 
Broadmoor Police Protection District, (3) the Kensington Police Protection and Community 
Services District, (4) the Lake Shastina Community Services District, and (5) the Stallion 
Springs Community Services District. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 
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 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  
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Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: December 6, 2013 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Government Code Sections 3304, 3306.5, 3309 and 3312 

Statutes 1976, Chapter 465; Statutes 1998, Chapter 786;  
Statutes 2000, Chapter 209; and Statutes 2002, Chapter 170 

Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights II 
03-TC-18 

Period of reimbursement begins July 1, 2002,  
or later for specified activities added by subsequent statutes.  

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On December 1, 2011, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the test claim 
statement of decision finding that the test claim statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-
mandated program upon local agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the 
California Constitution and Government Code section 17514.  Specifically, the Commission 
found that specified notices required to be provided to an officer in order to take disciplinary 
action, activities regarding providing access to officer personnel files, and the notice 
requirements to search an officer’s locker imposed an incremental higher level of service above 
what was required under prior law. 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, city and county, or special police protection district named in Government 
Code section 53060.7 that incurs increased costs as a result of this reimbursable state-mandated 
program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557(e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before  
June 30 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The City of 
Newport Beach filed the test claim on September 26, 2003, establishing eligibility for 
reimbursement on or after July 1, 2002.  Therefore, costs incurred pursuant to Government Code 
sections 3304, 3306.5, and 3309 are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2002.  However, because 
Government Code section 3312 was effective January 1 2003, costs incurred pursuant to 
Government Code section 3312 are reimbursable on or after January 1, 2003. 

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim. 

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 
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4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Government Code section 17560(b).) 

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, timesheets, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and 
declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task- 
repetitive. Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies. 
Time study usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State Controller’s Office. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

1. Draft, review, edit, and approve a written notice and give it to a chief of police that is 
dismissed when the charges supporting the dismissal do not damage the chief of police’s 
ability to find other employment and trigger existing notice requirements under the due 
process clause of the United States and California Constitutions. Written notice must be 
accompanied by the reason or reasons for the dismissal.  (Gov. Code, § 3304(c), Stats. 
1998, ch. 786.) 

2. Within one year of discovery of any misconduct, draft, review, edit, and approve a 
written notice and give it to the peace officer being investigated, stating that he or she 
may face disciplinary action after the investigation is completed.  (Gov. Code, § 3304(d), 
Stats. 1998, ch. 786.) 
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3. After the investigation and any predisciplinary response or procedure utilized by the 
employer, draft, review, edit, and approve a written notice that the employer has decided 
to impose discipline on the officer and give it to the peace officer.  (Gov. Code, § 
3304(f), Stats. 1998, ch. 786): 

a. Dismissal, demotion, suspension, salary reduction or written reprimand received by 
probationary and at-will employees whose liberty interest are not affected (i.e., the 
charges supporting a dismissal do not harm the employee’s reputation or ability to 
find future employment); 

b. Transfer of permanent, probationary and at-will employees for purposes of 
punishment; 

c. Denial of promotion for permanent, probationary, and at-will employees for reasons 
other than merit; and 

d. Other actions against permanent, probationary, and at-will employees that result in 
disadvantage, harm, loss or hardship and impact the career opportunities of the 
employee. 

Conducting investigations and the filing and service of the written notice are not 
reimbursable activities. 

4. On or after January 1, 2003, draft, review, edit, and approve a notice in order to take any 
of the following disciplinary actions for wearing a pin or displaying any other item 
containing the American flag (Gov. Code, § 3312 (Stats. 2002, ch. 170)): 

a. Dismissal of a probationary or at-will officer when the charges supporting the 
dismissal do not damage the officer’s ability to find other employment; 

b. Demotion, suspension, salary reduction, or written reprimand of a probationary or at-
will officer; 

c. Transfer for purposes of punishment of a permanent, probationary, or at-will officer; 

d. Denial of promotion to a permanent, probationary, or at-will officer;  and 

e. Other actions against permanent, probationary, or at-will officer that result in 
disadvantage, harm, loss, or hardship and impact the career opportunities of the 
officer. 

The notice must include: (1) a statement that the officer’s pin or other item violates an 
existing rule, regulation, policy, or local agency agreement or contract regarding the 
wearing of a pin, or the displaying of any other item, containing the American flag; (2) a 
citation to the specific rule, regulation, policy, or local agency agreement or contract that 
the pin or other item violates; and (3) a statement that the officer may file an appeal 
against the employer challenging the alleged violation pursuant to the applicable 
grievance or appeal procedures adopted by the department or public agency that 
otherwise comply with existing law. 

5. Perform the following activities upon receipt of a request by an officer to inspect his or 
her personnel file (Gov. Code, § 3306.5): 

 

3 
Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights II, 03-TC-18 

Parameters and Guidelines 



Counties 
Permit a peace officer to inspect letters of reference and records relating to the 
investigation of a possible criminal offense if they are used or have been used to 
determine that officer’s qualifications for employment, promotion, additional 
compensation, or termination or other disciplinary action.  (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(a) 
(Stats. 2000, ch. 209).)  Under these circumstances, the following activities are eligible 
for reimbursement: 

a. Make the personnel file or copy thereof available within a reasonable period of time 
after a request therefor by the officer.  (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(b), Stats. 2000, ch. 209.) 

This activity does not include scheduling an appointment to inspect personnel file, 
monitoring the officer while he or she reviews information, or paying the officer for 
time away from normal duty. 

b. File in an officer’s personnel file a copy of the officer’s written request to correct or 
delete a portion of the officer’s personnel file, which the officer believes to be 
mistakenly or unlawfully placed in the file.  (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(c), Stats. 2000,  
ch. 209.) 

c. Within 30 calendar days of receiving an officer’s request to correct or delete a portion 
of his or her personnel file pursuant to Government Code section 3306.5(c), review 
the request and either: 

i. Grant the request and make the requested changes to the personnel file; or  

ii. Notify the officer of the decision to refuse the request.  If the employer refuses to 
grant the request, in whole or in part, the employer shall state in writing the 
reasons for refusing the request, and that written statement shall become part of 
the personnel file of the officer.  This activity includes drafting, reviewing, 
editing, and approving the written statement, and filing the written statement in 
the officer’s personnel file.  (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(d), Stats. 2000, ch. 209.) 

Cities and Special Police Protection Districts Named in Government Code Section 
53060.7 

a. Permit a peace officer to inspect personnel files at reasonable times and intervals, and 
during usual business hours, upon request by the officer. The personnel files that an 
officer may inspect are limited to those that are used or have been used to determine 
that officer’s qualifications for employment, promotion, additional compensation, or 
termination or other disciplinary action. (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(a), Stats. 2000, ch. 
209.) 

b. Make the personnel file or copy thereof available within a reasonable period of time 
after a request therefor by the officer.  (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(b), Stats. 2000, ch. 209.) 

This activity does not include scheduling an appointment to inspect personnel file, 
monitoring the officer while he or she reviews information, or paying the officer for 
time away from normal duty. 

c. File in an officer’s personnel file a copy of the officer’s written request to correct or 
delete a portion of the officer’s personnel file, which the officer believes to be 
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mistakenly or unlawfully placed in the file. (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(c), Stats. 2000,  
ch. 209.) 

d. Within 30 calendar days of receiving an officer’s request to correct or delete a portion 
of his or her personnel file pursuant to Government Code section 3306.5(c), review 
the request and either:  

i) Grant the request and make the requested changes to the personnel file; or  

ii) Notify the officer of the decision to refuse the request.  If the employer refuses to 
grant the request, in whole or in part, the employer shall state in writing the 
reasons for refusing the request, and that written statement shall become part of 
the personnel file of the officer.  This activity includes drafting, reviewing, 
editing, and approving the written statement, and filing the written statement in 
the officer’s personnel file.  (Gov. Code, § 3306.5(d) (Stats. 2000, ch. 209).) 

6. Notify an officer, either orally or in writing, that a search of the officer’s employer 
assigned locker or storage space will be conducted, if during the course of an 
investigation into officer misconduct an employer determines it is necessary to conduct a 
search of the officer’s employer assigned locker or storage space.  For written notices this 
also includes drafting, reviewing, editing, and approving the notice.  (Gov. Code, § 3309, 
Stats. 1976, ch. 465.) 

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in section IV. Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities. The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

 Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the 
hours devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

 Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for 
the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual 
price after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. 
Supplies that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and 
recognized method of costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contracted Services 

 Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the 
reimbursable activities. Attach a copy of the contract to the claim. If the contractor 
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bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all 
costs charged. If the contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were 
performed and itemize all costs for those services during the period covered by the 
reimbursement claim. If the contract services are also used for purposes other than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement 
the reimbursable activities can be claimed. Submit contract consultant invoices with 
the claim and a description of the contract scope of services. 

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment 

 Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities. The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the 
purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5. Travel 

 Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable 
activities. Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity 
requiring travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in 
compliance with the rules of the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time 
according to the rules of cost element A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable 
reimbursable activity. 

B. Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both: (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87). Claimants have the 
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in 
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in 2 
CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B). 

The distribution base may be: (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and 
wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
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allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base. 
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates. The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department 
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or 
section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing 
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable 
distribution base. The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to 
distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage 
which the total amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed 
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation of an audit 
by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is 
filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for 
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the 
audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by 
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from the 
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

  

1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code 
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IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission. 

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally 
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record for the test 
claim.  The administrative record is on file with the Commission. 
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State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS II 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00356 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
356

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 3. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) 4. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) 5. (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) 6. (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (07)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

356 
PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS II 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1.(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04), section 1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should 
be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block 
will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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356 
PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS II 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant 

  
(02)  

 
Fiscal Year 

20 ___ /20___       

(03)  Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

1. Draft, review, edit, approve, and give a 
written notice to a dismissed police chief.        

2. Draft, review, edit, approve, and give a 
written notice to a peace officer (PO) 
being investigated of any misconduct. 

       

3. Draft, review, edit, approve, and give a 
written notice imposing discipline to a PO.        

4. Draft, review, edit, and approve a notice 
of disciplinary action(s) to a PO for 
wearing a pin or any item containing the 
American flag.  
(Reimbursement begins – 01/01/2003) 

        

5. Perform activities related to inspection of 
the PO’s personnel file.  

       

6. Draft, review, edit, and approve a written 
notice to, or orally, notify a PO that a 
search of his or her assigned locker or 
storage space will be conducted. 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate                                                            [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs                                            [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions] 

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs                                       [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]                   

 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements  

(11) Total Claimed Amount                  [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 1, 
block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing 
an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the 
ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department’s
ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, 
Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an 
ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect 
cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must 
have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form 
FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PEACE OFFICERS PROCEDURAL BILL OF RIGHTS II 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02)                                                          Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1.  Draft, review, edit, approve, and give a written 
notice to a dismissed police chief. 

 4.  
 

Draft, review, edit, and approve a notice of 
disciplinary action(s) to a PO for wearing a pin or any 
item containing the American flag.  
(Reimbursement begins – 01/01/2003) 

 2.  
 

Draft, review, edit, approve, and give a written 
notice to a peace officer (PO) being investigated of 
any misconduct. 

 5.  
 

Perform activities related to inspection of the PO’s 
personnel file. 

 3.  Draft, review, edit, approve, and give a written 
notice imposing discipline to a PO. 

 6. Draft, review, edit, and approve a written notice to, or 
orally, notify a PO that a search of his or her assigned 
locker or storage space will be conducted. 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 
Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contract 
Services 

(h) 

 
Fixed 

Assets 

(i) 

 
Travel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page: ____of____       

                     20___ / 20___ 
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 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form 
2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. 
For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less 
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated and no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name & 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits= 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 

X Quantity 
Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours

Worked or 
Total 

Contract 

  

Copy of 
Contract

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

Travel 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total 
Travel=Rate x 

Days or  
Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2009-09 

PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 

OCTOBER 5, 2009 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Pesticide Use Reports program. The SCO 
issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) 
adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an 
integral part of the claiming instructions. 

On January 21, 1993, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On July 31, 2009, the CSM amended the Ps & Gs to align the mandate reimbursement with 
current law and regulations which include mill disbursement, contracts, and unclaimed gas tax 
funds received by the claimant as offsetting revenues and other reimbursements.  

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515,that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Exceptions and Limitations 

1. Activities related to reports for the use of pesticides that are classified by the State as 
restricted materials or for the use of pesticides that are applied by commercial pest control 
applicators and businesses are not reimbursable because those reports were required prior to 
the enactment of Food and Agricultural Code Section 12979, Chapter 1200, Statutes of 1989, 
and its implementing regulations in Title 3 of the CCR. 

2. If the purpose of the travel includes activities broader than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion can be claimed. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to GC sections 
17551, 17560 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  
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Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Amended: July 31, 2009 
Adopted:  February 23, 1995 

 

AMENDED PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Food and Agricultural Code Section 12979 
Statutes 1989, Chapter 1200 

California Code of Regulations, Title 3, Sections 6000, 6393 (c), 
6562, 6568, 6619, 6622, 6624, 6626, 6627, 6627.1, 6628 

(Register 90, No. 1)  

Pesticide Use Reports  
06-PGA-02 (CSM-4420) 

 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On January 21, 1993, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a Statement of 
Decision finding that  Food and Agricultural Code section 12979, as added by Statutes 1989, 
Chapter 1200, and its implementing regulations in Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations, 
required county agricultural commissioners to implement a new program or higher level of 
service in an existing program within the meaning of Government Code section 17514 and 
article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution.     

The enactment of the test claim statute and adoption of implementing regulations resulted in 
county agricultural commissioners receiving a greatly expanded number of pesticide use reports.  
While the chapter contained a funding mechanism, the Commission found that the funding was 
not sufficient to cover all of the increase in costs experienced by counties.  Costs related to 
activities required by Food and Agricultural Code section 12979, and its implementing 
regulations in Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations that are not otherwise reimbursed by 
the Food Safety Account and increased mill assessment, were therefore found to be reimbursable 
costs mandated by the state. 

Counties shall be reimbursed for the costs of increased pesticide use reporting requirements 
resulting from the enactment of Food and Agricultural Code section 12979, of Chapter 1200, 
Statutes of 1989 and its implementing regulations in Title 3 of the California Code of 
Regulations (Title 3, California Code of Regulations, sections 6000, 6393(c), 6562, 6568, 6619, 
6622, 6623, 6624, 6626, 6627, 6627.1, 6628), which increased pesticide use reporting 
requirements on pesticide users to include all agricultural users; increased record keeping 
requirements on pesticide dealers that are licensed by the state; and required county agricultural 
commissioners to issue operator and site identification numbers to specified persons, inspect and 
audit certain records, and file the newly-required pesticide use reports with the state.    

Activities related to reports from the use of pesticides that are classified by the state as restricted 
materials or for the use of pesticides that are applied by commercial pest control applicators and 
businesses are not reimbursable because those reports were required prior to the enactment of 
Food and Agricultural Code section 12979, of Chapter 1200, Statutes 1989, and its implementing 
regulations in Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations (3 CCR). 
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II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this reimbursable 
state-mandated program is eligible to file a reimbursement claim for those costs.   

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

This parameters and guidelines amendment is effective for the period of reimbursement beginning 
on July 1, 2005. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17560, reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be 
claimed as follows: 

1. A county or city and county may, by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs 
were incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs actually incurred 
for that fiscal year. 

2. In the event that revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to 
subdivision (c) of section 17558 between November 15 and February 15, a local agency 
or school district filing an annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the 
issuance date of the revised claiming instructions to file a claim. 

Reimbursable costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim. Pursuant to Government 
Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), all claims for reimbursement of initial years’ costs shall 
be submitted within 120 days of the issuance of the State Controller’s claiming instructions.  If 
the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise provided by Government Code section 17564. 

There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. and Pesticide Regulatory 
Activity Monthly Reports (PRAMR). 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 
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The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, costs of performing the following activities are reimbursable: 

1. Issuing operator identification numbers for the use of pesticides that are not classified 
by the state as restricted materials pursuant to 3 CCR section 6622. 

2. Issuing site identification numbers for the use of pesticides that are not classified by 
the state as restricted materials pursuant to 3 CCR section 6623. 

3. Reviewing and filing with the Department of Pesticide Regulation pesticide use 
reports other than those specified in V below.  This activity may be performed by 
unlicensed persons. 

4. Inspecting pesticide use records of growers and other property operators who the 
county agricultural commissioner had reason to believe failed to report to the 
commissioner the use of pesticides that are not classified by the state as restricted 
materials. 

5. Auditing the pesticide use records of growers who submitted pesticide use reports to 
the county agricultural commissioner for the use of pesticides that are not classified 
by the state as restricted materials. 

6. Audit the sales records of pesticide dealers as specified in 3 CCR section 6352, for 
the sale of pesticides that are not classified by the state as restricted materials. 

V.   NON-REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

Activities related to reports for the use of pesticides that are classified by the state as restricted 
materials or for the use of pesticides that are applied by commercial pest control applicators and 
businesses are not reimbursable because those reports were required prior to the enactment of 
Food and Agricultural Code section 12979, of Chapter 1200, Statutes of 1989, and its 
implementing regulations in Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations. 

If the purpose of the travel includes activities broader than the reimbursable activities, only the 
pro-rata portion can be claimed.   

VI. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 



Amended Parameters and Guidelines 

Pesticide Use Reports, 06-PGA-02 (CSM-4420) 
 

6

productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is 
task repetitive in nature.  Time study usage is subject to the time study guidelines 
included in the State Controller’s annual claiming instructions. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 
on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services. 

4.  Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5.  Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination point, the specific reimbursable activity requiring 
travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the 
rules of the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost 
element A.1, Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity 

6.  Training 

Report the cost of training an employee to perform the reimbursable activities, as 
specified in Section IV of this document.  Report the name and job classification of each 
employee preparing for, attending, and/or conducting training necessary to implement the 
reimbursable activities.  Provide the title, subject, and purpose (related to the mandate of 
the training session), dates attended, and location.  If the training encompasses subjects 
broader than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion can be claimed.  Report 
employee training time for each applicable reimbursable activity according to the rules of 
cost element A.1. Salaries and Benefits, and A.2, Materials and Supplies.  Report the cost 



Amended Parameters and Guidelines 

Pesticide Use Reports, 06-PGA-02 (CSM-4420) 
 

7

of consultants who conduct the training according to the rules of cost element A.3, 
Contracted Services.   

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both (1) overhead costs of the 
unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed to 
the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 CFR Part 225 (the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have 
the option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost 
Rate Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in 2 
CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)).  However, 
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which 
indirect costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.), (2) direct salaries and 
wages, or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 2 CFR Part 
225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) shall be 
accomplished by (1) classifying a department’s total costs for the base period as 
either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect costs (net of 
applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of this process is an 
indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate 
should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect costs 
bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in 2 CFR Part 
225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B)) shall be 
accomplished by (1) separating a department into groups, such as divisions or 
sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total costs for the base period 
as either direct or indirect, and (2) dividing the total allowable indirect costs (net of 
applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  The result of this process is an 
indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should 
be expressed as a percentage which the total amount allowable indirect costs bears to 
the base selected. 
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VII. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a county or city and county pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation of 
an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, and offsetting revenues and reimbursements, as described in Section VIII, must be 
retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during 
the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any 
audit findings. 

VIII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS  

Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a direct result of the same statute or 
executive orders found to contain the mandate from any source, including and not limited to, 
service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted from 
the costs claimed   

Specifically, the following revenues and reimbursements must be deducted from any costs 
claimed: 

1. The mill disbursement funds allocated to each county pursuant to California Code 
of Regulations, title 3, section 6393, subdivision (b) (1), (2), and (9) that are based 
on the reimbursable activities in Section IV of the parameters and guidelines.  

2. The mill disbursement funds allocated to each county pursuant to California Code 
of Regulations, title 3, section 6393, subdivision (b) (4), (5) and  (6) that are used 
to offset the reimbursable activities in Section IV of the parameters and guidelines.  

3. The payments received under each county’s contract with DPR for the review and 
filing of pesticide use reports (electronic submittal to DPR)  that are identified as 
reimbursable in Section IV of the parameters and guidelines.    

And, if unclaimed gas tax funds are used for any of the reimbursable activities in Section IV of 
the parameters and guidelines, that amount must be deducted from any costs claimed. 

IX. STATE CONTROLLER’S REVISED CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

The Controller shall, within 60 days after receiving amended parameters and guidelines prepare 
and issue revised claiming instructions for mandates that require state reimbursement established 
by Commission action pursuant to Government Code section 17557, section 17557.2, or any 
decision or order of the Commission pursuant to section 17559.  The claiming instructions shall 
be derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Commission.  Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), issuance of the 
claiming instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school 
districts to file reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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Commission.  In preparing revised claiming instructions, the Controller may request the 
assistance of other state agencies.  (Gov. Code, § 17558, subdivision (c).) 

If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (c) of section 
17558 between November 15 and February 15, a local agency or school district filing an annual 
reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the revised claiming 
instructions to file a claim. 

X. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

XI.     LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision (CSM-4220) is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal 
and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual 
findings is found in the administrative record for the test claim.  The administrative record, 
including the Statement of Decision, is on file with the Commission.   
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PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00121 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
121

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04)(1)(g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04)(2)(g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04)(3)(g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04)(4)(g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04)(5)(g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04)(6)(g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (07)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

121 
PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04)(1)(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04)(1), column (g). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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 Revised 07/15  

PROGRAM 

121 

PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 

(01) Claimant (02)   Fiscal Year 

  20___/20___

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries  Benefits 
Materials

and 
Supplies  

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets  

Travel 
and 

Training  
Total 

1. Issuing operator I.D. numbers 
       

2. Issuing site I.D. numbers 
       

3. Reviewing reports and filing with 
DPR        

4. Inspecting pesticide use records of 
growers and other property 
operators 

       

5. Auditing the pesticide use records of 
growers        

6. Auditing sales records of pesticide 
dealers        

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [10% or from ICRP] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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 Revised 07/15  

PROGRAM 

121 
PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred or are to be incurred. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d), through (i) to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a), through (f) in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  
Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an ICRP. If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, 
Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total 
Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the 
distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If 
more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).  

(09)  Refer to Section VIII of the P’s & G’s for Offsetting Revenues and Reimbursements. 

  The Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) developed an Offsetting Revenue Worksheet to 
assist counties in identifying the appropriate amounts to apply as an offset to a 
reimbursement claim. For assistance, you may call the Product Compliance Branch of DPR at 
(916) 445-4159. 

  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If the county needs assistance in calculating offsetting revenues and reimbursements, DPR 
may be contacted via the Internet at http://www.cdpr.ca.gov. 

  If applicable, enter the amount of any reimbursements received from mill disbursement funds, the 
contract between the county and DPR for the review and filing of pesticide use reports (electronic 
submittal to DPR), unclaimed gas tax, if applicable, and any other source, including, but not limited to, 
service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the sources and amounts of reimbursements.  

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

121 

PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 

(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                      Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Issuing operator I.D. numbers  4. Inspecting pesticide use records of growers and 
other property operators 

 2. Issuing site I.D. numbers  5. Auditing the pesticide use records of growers 

 3. Reviewing reports and filing with DPR  6. Auditing sales records of pesticide dealers 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 
 

Salaries
 

(e) 
 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

Travel 
and 

Training 

         

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page: ____of____
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PROGRAM 

121 

PESTICIDE USE REPORTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
benefits, materials and supplies used, contract services, and travel and training expenses. The 
descriptions required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities 
or items being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the 
claimant for a period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, 
whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made after the claim was filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
Activities 

Performed Benefit 
Rate 

  

Benefits =
Benefit 
Rate 

x Salaries 

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies 
Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific 
Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

  

 
 

Travel 
 

 
and 

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total Travel
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

Training 

Employee 
Name and 

Title Name of 
Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
     

Registration 
Fee 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-49  

RAPE VICTIMS COUNSELING CENTER NOTICE 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Rape Victims Counseling Center Notice 
(RVCN) program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on 
State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The         
Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On July 22, 1993, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  
 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Adopted:  5/26/94 
Amended:  12/19/96 
Amended:  1/29/10 
 

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines 

Penal Code Section 264.2, Subdivisions (b)(1) and (b)(2) 
Penal Code Section 13701 

Statutes 1991, Chapter 999 
Statutes 1992, Chapter 224  

Rape Victims Counseling Center Notice 
05-PGA-41 (CSM-4426) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement. 

I. Summary of Mandate 

The provisions of Penal Code section 264.2, subdivisions (b)(1) and (b)(2), as added and 
amended by Statutes 1991, chapter 999, and Statutes 1992, chapter 224, and Penal Code 
Section 13701, as amended by Statutes 1991, chapter 999, require local law enforcement 
agencies to: reprint existing "Victims of Domestic Violence" cards with new information to 
assist rape victims, furnish a rape victim with a "Victims of Domestic Violence" card, obtain 
victim consent to notify a local rape victim counseling center, notify the victim-selected 
center, and subject to the approval of the victim and upon the treating hospital’s request, 
verify whether the local rape victim counseling center has been notified. 

II. Commission on State Mandates Decision 

At its July 22, 1993, hearing, the Commission on State Mandates determined that the 
provisions of Penal Code section 264.2, subdivisions (b)(1), and (b)(2), as added and amended 
by Statutes 1991, chapter 999, and Statutes 1992, chapter 224, and Penal Code section 13701, 
as amended by Statutes 1991, chapter 999, impose a reimbursable state mandated program by 
requiring local law enforcement agencies to notify the local rape victim counseling center 
when the victim is transported to a hospital for examination and the victim approves of that 
notification; subject to the approval of the victim and upon a request from the treating 
hospital, to verify whether the local rape victim counseling center has been notified; to revise 
the "Victims of Domestic Violence" card by adding information to assist rape victims, and to 
furnish a rape victim with a "Victims of Domestic Violence" card. 

III. Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county which incurs increased costs as a result of the subject state mandates is 
eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs. 

IV. Period of Reimbursement 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through  
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement. 
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Statutes 1991, chapter 999, was approved by the Governor on October 13, 1991 and became 
operative on January 1, 1992 and Statutes 1992, chapter 224, was approved by the Governor 
on July 14, 1992 and became effective operative on January 1, 1993. 

Section 17557 of the Government Code states that a test claim must be submitted on or 
before December 31 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for reimbursement 
for that fiscal year.  The test claim for the state subject mandates was filed by the County of 
Los Angeles on December 29, 1992.  Therefore, costs incurred for Statutes 1991, chapter 
999, on or after its operative date of January 1, 1992, and costs incurred for Statutes 1992, 
chapter 224, on or after its effective operative date of January 1, 1993, are eligible for 
reimbursement. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, actual costs for one fiscal year shall be 
included in each claim, and estimated costs for the subsequent year may be included on the 
same claim, if applicable.   

If total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

V.  Reimbursable Activities and Related Costs 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of 
such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A 
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred 
for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, 
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.  

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, 
cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training 
packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I 
certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source 
documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance 
with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents 
cannot be substituted for source documents. 

 The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant 
is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

A. Scope of Mandate 

Local law enforcement agencies shall be reimbursed for the increased costs which they are 
required to incur to: reprint existing "Victims of Domestic Violence" cards with new 
information to assist rape victims, furnish a rape victim with a "Victims of Domestic 
Violence" card, obtain victim consent to notify a local rape counseling center, notify the 
victim-selected local rape counseling center, and subject to the victim's approval and upon 
the treating hospital’s request, verify whether the local rape victim counseling center has 
been notified. 
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      B. For each eligible claimant, the following one-time costs and continuing costs are 
reimbursable: 

1. Reimbursable One-Time Costs 

a. Costs of updating policies and procedures to conform with the special 
requirements of Chapter 999, Statutes of 1991 and Chapter 224, Statutes of 
1992. 

b. Costs of modifying existing record-keeping systems to provide reliable and 
timely retrieval of verification information required by Chapter 224, 
Statutes of 1992, but not to exceed $2,000. 

2. Reimbursable Continuing Costs 

a. Costs of reprinting the existing "Victims of Domestic Violence" card to add 
information, relating to rape victim services, required by Chapter 999, 
Statutes of 1991, but not to exceed one reprinting per fiscal year. 

b. Law enforcement's road officer, clerical, and dispatcher costs required to: 
request each victim's consent to notify a rape counseling center, each time 
alleged violation(s) include at least one violation of Penal Code section 261, 
261.5, 262, 286, 288a, 289, alleged separately or in combination with other 
violations; furnish a rape victim with a "Victims of Domestic Violence" card; 
record, file, and/or data-process state mandated information; and, provide 
hospital verification whether the local rape victim counseling center has been 
notified, upon the consent of the victim. 

VI. Claim Preparation and Submission 

      One-time costs and continuing costs that are reimbursable are limited to: 

A.  Employee Salaries and Benefits 

1.  For one-time costs and reprinting costs described in part V, paragraph B, 2 (a), 
show the name of the employee involved, the classification of the employee, state 
mandated functions performed, number of hours devoted to the function, productive 
hourly rates and benefits. 

2.  For continuing costs, excluding reprinting costs described in part V, paragraph  B, 
2 (a), unit costs must be claimed for each specified victim, based upon the following 
standard times: 

a.  10 minutes - road officer's time related to the subject state mandates 

b.  4 minutes - clerical duties related to recording, filing, and/or data processing 

c.  2 minutes - dispatcher's time related to hospital verification 

Each standard time is multiplied by the average productive hourly rate, including 
applicable indirect cost as specified in part VI, paragraph D herein, for road 
officers, clerical staff, and dispatchers assigned state mandated duties, and, the 
results totaled to obtain a reimbursable unit cost.  Such reimbursable unit cost is 
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then multiplied by the total number of reported incidents regarding alleged 
violations described in part V, paragraph B, 2 (b), above. 

B.  Services, Equipment and Supplies 

Allowed only for one-time costs and reprinting costs described in part V, paragraph B, 
2 (a).  Claimed expenditures must be identified with a direct cost reimbursable activity 
resulting from the subject state mandates.  List the cost of materials or equipment 
acquired which have been consumed or expended specifically for the purposes of the 
subject state mandates. 

C.  Contract Services 

Allowed only for one time costs and reprinting costs described in part V, paragraph B, 2 
(a).  List costs incurred for contract services for the subject state mandates.  Contracting 
costs are reimbursable to the extent that the function performed requires special skills or 
knowledge that is not readily available from the claimant's staff.  Use of contract 
services must be justified by the claimant. 

D.  Allowable Overhead Cost 

Allowed for one-time costs and for continuing costs.  Cities and counties have the 
option of using 10% of direct labor as indirect costs or preparing a departmental 
Indirect Cost Rate Proposal.  If the city or county elects to prepare an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal, the Proposal must be prepared in accordance with Office of Management and 
Budget Circular A-87 (OMB A-87). 

VII. Record Retention 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for 
actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to 
the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the 
actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no 
funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal 
year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall 
commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall 
be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All 
documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be 
retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the 
period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any 
audit findings. 

VIII. Offsetting Savings and Other Reimbursement 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of the subject statutes 
must be deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursements for the subject state 
mandates received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and 
deducted from this claim. 

IX. State Controller’s Office Required Certification 

                         
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 



5 

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of the 
claim, as specified in the State Controller's claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the 
state contained herein. 



State Controller’s Office                                 Local Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

RAPE VICTIMS COUNSELING CENTER NOTICE 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00127 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
127

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (03)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) 1. a. (e)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) 1. b. (e)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) 2. a. (e)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) 2. b. (e)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (07)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (09)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (10)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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RAPE VICTIM COUNSELING CENTER NOTICES 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. a. (e), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) 1. a., column (e). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should 
be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block 
will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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PROGRAM 

127 
RAPE VICTIMS COUNSELING CENTER NOTICE 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)        Fiscal Year 

  20___ / 20___ 

Claim Statistics 

(03) Number of rape victims involved in at least one alleged violation of Penal Code 
Sections 261, 261.5, 262, 288a, or 289 for the fiscal year of claim.  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)      Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b)           (c) (d) (e) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials  

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Total 

1. One-Time Costs      

a. Update policies and procedures      

b. Modify existing record-keeping systems      

2. Ongoing Costs      

a. Reprint Victims of Domestic Violence (VDV) 
Cards 

     

b. Law Enforcement Officer’s and Support Cost  
(From Form 2.1) 

     

(05) Total Direct Costs      

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs 
 

[Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(e) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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PROGRAM 

127 
RAPE VICTIM COUNSELING CENTER NOTICES 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Enter the number of rape victims who were involved in at least one alleged violation of Penal Code 
Sections 261, 261.5, 262, 288a, or 289 for the fiscal year of claim. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (g), to 
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (d), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Enter the sum of columns (04)(a) through (04)(e). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, 
Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total 
Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the 
distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If 
more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(e), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.  

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), 
and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward 
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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RAPE VICTIMS COUNSELING CENTER NOTICE 

 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)    Fiscal Year 

 20___/20___

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

1. One-Time Costs 2. Ongoing Costs 

 a. Update policies and procedures 
 

a.  Reprint Victims of Domestic Violence (VDV) Cards 

 b. Modify existing record-keeping 
systems 

b.  Law Enforcement Officer’s and Support Cost 
(from Form 2.1) 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

Salaries 

(e) 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

Contract
Services 

       

 
(05)  Total           Subtotal               Page: ___of___      
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PROGRAM 

127 
RAPE VICTIM COUNSELING CENTER NOTICES 

 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL  
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each activity. 

(04) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, materials and supplies used, and contract expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being 
claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period 
of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no 
funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the 
Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents 
must be made available to the SCO on request. 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (g) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (g) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (d) in the appropriate row. 

   
 
 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

 supporting
 documents

 with the claim(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

Salaries 
Employee 
Name and 

Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

     

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

    

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

   

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked
 

Inclusive Dates 
of Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked 

 

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 
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RAPE VICTIMS COUNSELING CENTER NOTICE 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2.1
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                                Fiscal Year

20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activity:   Ongoing Costs:  Rape victims involved in at least one alleged violation of 
Penal Code Sections 261, 261.5, 262, 288a, or 289 for the claim year. 

(04) Description of Expenses:  Complete columns (a) through (f).  Object Accounts 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Standard Time 
(Hour/Victim) 

Number 
of Victims 

Total Time
(Hours) 
(a x b) 

Hourly 
Rate 

Salaries 
(c x d) 

Fringe 
Benefits 

       

Road Officers (10 min/victim) 
List job classification(s) 

0.166 
Hours 

     

1.       

2.       

3.       

                                             * Total Cases      

       

Clericals (4 min/victim) 0.066 
Hours 

     

1.       

2.       

3.       

                                            * Total Cases      

       

Dispatchers (2 min/victim) 0.033 
Hours 

     

1.       

2.       

3.       

                                            * Total Cases      

  

* Total victims not to exceed Form-1, line (03)      

(05)  Total Subtotal Page:____ of ____    
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127 
RAPE VICTIM COUNSELING CENTER NOTICES 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2.1
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  No action required. 

(04)  Complete columns (a) through (f) 

  Column (a): Road officers, clerical, and dispatchers must be listed by job classification(s). Road officers 
are allowed ten minutes or 0.166 hours per victim for time related to the state mandate.  

Clericals are allocated four minutes or 0.066 hours per victim for time related to recording, 
filing, and/or data processing.  

Dispatchers are allowed two minutes or 0.033 hours per victim for time related to notification 
of the local rape victim counseling center by the hospital. 

  Column (b): Enter the number of victims assisted by employees at each job classification.  

  Column (c): Enter the result of multiplying the standard time by the number of victims to compute the 
time in hours. 

  Column (d): Enter the hourly rate by job classification. 

  Column (e): Enter the result of multiplying the total time in hours by the hourly rate to compute the 
amount of total salaries. 

  Column (f): Enter the result of multiplying the fringe benefit rate by total salaries to compute the amount 
of fringe benefits. 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (e) and (f) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to indicate if 
the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, number each 
page. Enter the totals from line (05), columns (e) and (f) to Form 1, line (04)(B)(2) columns (a) and (b). 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-10 

SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Sexually Violent Predators (SVP) program. 
The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates 
(CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included 
as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On June 25, 1998, CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim legislation 
imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning of article 
XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On November 7, 2006, California voters approved Proposition 83, also known as Jessica’s Law, 
which amended and reenacted several sections of the Welfare and Institutions Code, including 
sections approved for reimbursement in the SVP, CSM-4509 test claim. 

On October 30, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

On January 15, 2013, the Department of Finance filed a request for redetermination of the 
CSM-4509 decision pursuant to Government Code section 17570.  A new test claim decision was 
adopted December 6, 2013.  Pursuant to that decision, the Ps & Gs were amended on May 30, 
2014, effective July 1, 2011. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any county, or city and county, as defined in GC section 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late penalty.  Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 
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Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).  

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity 
of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A 
source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or 
activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time 
records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  
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All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  
 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Amended:  May 30, 2014 
Amended:  October 30, 2009 
Adopted: September 24, 1998 

AMENDMENT TO PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Welfare and Institutions Code Section 6602 

Statutes 1995, Chapter 762 
Statutes 1995, Chapter 763 
Statutes 1996, Chapter 4 

As Modified by: 
Proposition 83, General Election, November 7, 2006 

Sexually Violent Predators 

CSM-4509 
(amended by 05-PGA-43, 12-MR-01)  

This amendment is effective beginning July 1, 2011. 

I. Summary of the Mandate 

Statutes 1995, chapters 762 and 763, and Statutes 1996, chapter 4 established new civil 
commitment procedures for the continued detention and treatment of sexually violent offenders 
following their completion of a prison term for certain sex-related offenses.  Before detention and 
treatment are imposed, the county attorney is required to file a petition for civil commitment.  A 
trial is then conducted to determine if the inmate is a sexually violent predator beyond a 
reasonable doubt.  If the inmate accused of being a sexually violent predator is indigent, the test 
claim legislation requires counties to provide the indigent with the assistance of counsel and 
experts necessary to prepare the defense. 

On June 25, 1998, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of 
decision which approved reimbursement for the following services: 

• Designation by the County Board of Supervisors of the appropriate District Attorney 
or County Counsel who will be responsible for the sexually violent predator civil 
commitment proceedings.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 6601(i).) 

• Initial review of reports and records by the county’s designated counsel to determine 
if the county concurs with the state’s recommendation.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 
6601(i).) 

• Preparation and filing of the petition for commitment by the county’s designated 
counsel.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 6601(i).) 

• Preparation and attendance by the county’s designated counsel and indigent defense 
counsel at the probable cause hearing.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 6602.) 

• Preparation and attendance by the county’s designated counsel and indigent defense 
counsel at trial.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 6603 and 6604.) 
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• Preparation and attendance by the county’s designated counsel and indigent defense 
counsel at subsequent hearings regarding the condition of the sexually violent 
predator.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 6605(b) through (d), and 6608(a) through (d).) 

• Retention of necessary experts, investigators, and professionals for preparation for 
trial and subsequent hearings regarding the condition of the sexually violent predator.  
(Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 6603 and 6605(d).) 

• Transportation and housing for each potential sexually violent predator at a secured 
facility while the individual awaits trial on the issue of whether he or she is a sexually 
violent predator.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 6602.) 

On November 7, 2006, the voters approved Proposition 83, also known as Jessica’s Law, which 
amended and reenacted several sections of the Welfare and Institutions Code, including sections 
approved for reimbursement in the Sexually Violent Predators, CSM-4509 test claim. 

On January 15, 2013, the Department of Finance filed a request for redetermination of the  
CSM-4509 decision pursuant to Government Code section 17570.  A new test claim decision was 
adopted December 6, 2013, and these parameters and guidelines were amended, as follows, 
pursuant to that decision. 

II. Eligible Claimants 

Any county or city and county which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible 
to claim reimbursement. 

III. Period of Reimbursement 

Government Code section 17570(f) provides that a request for adoption of a new test claim 
decision (mandate redetermination) shall be filed on or before June 30 following a fiscal year in 
order to establish eligibility for reimbursement or loss of reimbursement for that fiscal year.  The 
request for mandate redetermination was filed on January 15, 2013, establishing eligibility for 
reimbursement or loss of reimbursement based on a new test claim decision on or after  
July 1, 2011. 

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.   

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim 
that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the State Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Gov. Code §17560(b).) 
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5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a). 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. Reimbursable Activities 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  

Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.  

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations.  Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5.  Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the 
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government 
requirements.  However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task-
repetitive.  Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.  
Time study usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State Controller’s Office. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities only are eligible for reimbursement:   

A.  Preparation and attendance by the county’s designated counsel and indigent defense counsel 
at the probable cause hearing.  Preparation for the probable cause hearing includes the 
following: 

1. Secretarial, paralegal and investigator services; 

2. Copying and making long distance telephone calls; and 

3. Travel. 

4. Retention of necessary experts, investigators, and professionals for preparation 
for the probable cause hearing ONLY. 

This activity does not include retention of experts, investigators, and professionals for 
preparation for trial on the issue of whether an individual is a sexually violent 
predator.  
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B. Transportation for each potential sexually violent predator between the designated secured 
housing facility and the court only for purposes of a probable cause hearing.  Counties shall 
be entitled to reimbursement for such transportation and housing costs, regardless of whether 
the secured facility is a state facility or county facility, except in those circumstances when 
the State has directly borne the costs of housing and transportation, in which case no 
reimbursement of such costs shall be permitted. 
This activity does not include transportation for purposes other than the probable 
cause hearing or for potential sexually violent predators awaiting trial. 

C. Housing for each potential sexually violent predator from the time of the court’s order 
that the person be detained in a secure facility pending a probable cause hearing 
pursuant to Section 6602, until the probable cause hearing is complete.   

Housing costs are not reimbursable after the completion of the probable cause hearing, 
including the costs incurred pending trial on the issue of whether an individual is a sexually 
violent predator.  Housing costs are not reimbursable if the secured facility is a state facility, 
except in those circumstances when the state has charged the county for the state facility 
housing costs. Housing costs for those potential sexually violent predators currently serving a 
criminal sentence are not reimbursable pursuant to Government Code 17556(g). 

V. Claim Preparation and Submission  

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified in 
Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must be 
supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job classification, 
and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by productive hours).  
Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 
reimbursable activity performed. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after 
deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies that are 
withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of 
costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent on 
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the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services that 
were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the contract 
services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata 
portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.  Submit 
contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a description of the contract 
scope of services. 

4. Fixed Assets 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to implement 
the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, and installation 
costs.  If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed. 

5. Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, and 
related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of the local 
jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element A.1., Salaries 
and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

6. Training 

Report the cost of training an employee to perform the reimbursable activities, as specified in 
Section IV of this document.  Report the name and job classification of each employee 
preparing for, attending, and/or conducting training necessary to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  Provide the title, subject, and purpose (related to the mandate of the training 
session), dates attended, and location.  If the training encompasses subjects broader than the 
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion can be claimed.  Report employee training 
time for each applicable reimbursable activity according to the rules of cost element A.1., 
Salaries and Benefits, and A.2., Materials and Supplies.  Report the cost of consultants who 
conduct the training according to the rules of cost element A.3., Contracted Services. 

B.  Indirect Costs  

Indirect costs are defined as costs which are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting 
more than one program and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program 
without efforts disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both  
(1) overhead costs of the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of central government 
services distributed to other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost 
allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) 
Circular A-87).  Claimants have the option of using 10 percent of direct labor, excluding fringe 
benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed 
exceeds 10 percent.   
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If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR part 225, appendices A and B (OMB Circular A-87 attachments A & B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR part 225, Appendices A and B (OMB Circular A-87 attachments A & B).  However, 
unallowable costs must be included in the direct cots if they represent activities to which indirect 
costs are properly allocable. 

The distribution base may be:  (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and 
wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 attachments A & B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 attachments A & B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department into 
groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs 
to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount of 
allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. Record Retention 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by 
a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation of an audit by 
the State Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is 
filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the 
State Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the 
claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the 
audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in 
Section IV., must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If the State Controller has 
initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. Offsetting Revenues and Reimbursements 

Any offsetting savingsrevenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a direct result of 
the subject mandatesame statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be 

1  This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate received from any 
source, including but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds and other state funds 
shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

VIII. State Controller’s Claiming Instructions 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the State Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be 
derived from these parameters and guidelines and the statements of decision on the test claim and 
parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. Remedies Before the Commission 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for reimbursement 
of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the Commission determines 
that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and guidelines, the Commission 
shall direct the State Controller to modify the claiming instructions and the State Controller shall 
modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines as directed by the 
Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. Legal and Factual Basis for the Parameters and Guidelines 

The statements of decision for the first and second hearings for the request for mandate 
redetermination and amendment to parameters and guidelines are legally binding on all parties 
and provide the legal and factual basis for the amended parameters and guidelines.  The support 
for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record for the test claim.  The 
administrative record is on file with the Commission. 
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State Controller’s Office                              Local Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00175 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
175

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (g)  

Street Address of P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) A. 3. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) A. 4. (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (06) C. (g)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (06)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (07)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (09)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (10)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

175 
SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A. 1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should 
be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block 
will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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PROGRAM 

175 
SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
  Fiscal Year 

   

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 
       (Reimbursement begins 07/01/2011) 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

 and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel 
and 

Training 
Total 

A. Preparation and attendance by the 
county’s designated counsel and indigent 
defense counsel at the probable cause 
hearing.   

       

 Preparation includes:  

1. Secretarial, paralegal and investigator 
services        

2. Copying and making long distance 
telephone calls        

3. Travel 
       

4. Retention of necessary experts, 
investigators, and professionals for 
preparation for the probable cause 
hearing ONLY 

       

B. Transportation for each potential 
Sexually Violent Predator (SVP) between 
the designated secured housing facility 
and the court only for purposes of a 
probable cause hearing 

       

C. Housing for each potential SVP from the 
time of the court’s order that the person 
be detained pending a probable cause 
hearing pursuant to Section 6602, until 
the probable cause hearing is complete 

       

(05) Total Direct Costs        

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20 /20 
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175 
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CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. 
A separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 
mbursable activities exceptions:  

A.4. Retention of experts.  This activity does not include retention of experts, investigators, and 
professionals for preparation for trial on the issue of whether an individual is a sexually violent 
predator. 

B.  

 

Transportation.  This activity does not include transportation for purposes other than the 
probable cause hearing or for potential sexually violent predators awaiting trial. 

C. Housing.  Housing costs are not reimbursable after the completion of the probable cause 
hearing, including the costs incurred pending trial on the issue of whether an individual is a 
sexually violent predator. Housing costs are not reimbursable if the secured facility is a state 
facility, except in those circumstances when the state has charged the county for the state 
facility housing costs. Housing costs for those potential sexually violent predators currently 
serving a criminal sentence are not reimbursable pursuant to Government Code 17556(g). 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, 
Chapter I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total 
Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the 
distribution base for the computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If 
more than one department is reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), 
and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward 
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 
 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                           Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 A. Preparation and attendance by the county’s designated 
counsel and indigent defense counsel at the probable 
cause hearing. 

 B. Transportation for each potential Sexually Violent Predator 
(SVP) between the designated secured housing facility and the 
court only for purposes of a probable cause hearing. 

   Preparation includes: 
C. Housing for each potential SVP from the time of the court’s 

order that person be detained in a secure facility pending a 
probable cause hearing pursuant to Section 6602, until the 
probable cause hearing is complete. 

 1. Secretarial, paralegal and investigator services. 

 2. Copying and making long distance telephone calls. 

 3. Travel.   

 
 

4. Retention of necessary experts, investigators, and   
professionals for preparation for the probable cause hearing 
ONLY. 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

Salaries
 

(e) 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

Travel 
and 

Training 

   

 

     

(05)  Total           Subtotal           Page:_____ of_____ 
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175 

SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATORS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03) Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable component. 

(04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions 
required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items 
being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a 
period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is 
later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time 
for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

 
Columns 

Submit  
supporting 
documents 

with the claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

Salaries 
Employee 

Name and Title 
Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries =
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits =

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

     

Materials and 
Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost
x Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours 

Worked 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed Assets 
Description of 

Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage     

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Usage 

  

 

 
Travel 

 
and 

Purpose of Trip 
Name and Title 
Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage 
Rate 

Travel Cost 

Days 

Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total Travel
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

Training 
Employee 

Name and Title 
Name of Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
     

Registration 
Fee 

 

 

 (05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-07  

STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOL FOR SEX OFFENDERS (SARATSO) 

JULY 3, 2014 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for 
Sex Offenders program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the 
Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines      
(Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On January 24, 2014, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the 
meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC sections 17500 et seq., 
and related case law. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement.  

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 



 

 
2

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  



















State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOLS FOR SEX 
OFFENDERS (SARATSO) 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00360 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
360

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) B. 1.a (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) B. 1.b (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 3. (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (04) B. 4. (g)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (04) B. 5. (g)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (04) B. 6. (g)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (06)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (07)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (09)  

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34) FORM 1, (10)  

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  

 



State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

PROGRAM 

360 
STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOLS FOR SEX  

OFFENDERS (SARATSO) 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A.1. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04), section A.1., column (g). Enter the information on the 
same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs 
percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of 
this data block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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 Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

360 
STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOL FOR SEX  

OFFENDERS (SARATSO) 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant 

  
(02)  

 
Fiscal Year

20 ___ /20___

(03)  Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits Materials
and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel  
and  

Training 

Total 

A. For a county, city, and city and county   
(Reimbursement begins 02/01/2008.)  

   1. Designate key persons to attend training and to train 
others within the organization.        

   2. Persons administering the SARATSO receive training 
no less than every two years.        

B. For county probation departments only 
(Reimbursement begins FY 2007-08.)  

  1.a. Assess every eligible person for whom the department 
prepares a presentencing report.        

  1.b. Assess every eligible person under the department’s 
supervision who was not assessed pursuant to a 
presentencing report, prior to the termination of 
probation but no later than 01/01/2010. 

       

2. Include administered SARATSO results in the 
presentencing report, if the person is convicted and 
required to register as a sex offender, or if probation 
report recommends registration at sentencing. 

          

   3. Include in the report prepared for the department the 
results of the SARATSO whenever a person is 
convicted and required to register as a sex offender. 

       

4. Compile Facts of Offense Sheet (FOS) pursuant to PC 
1230e and PC 290.04 for each person convicted that 
requires being registered as a sex offender. Include the 
FOS in the probation report to the court and SARATSO 
results. Send FOS to the DOJ Sex Offenders Tracking 
Program within 30 days of conviction.           
(Reimbursement begins 01/01/2010.) 

       

  5. Report to the Corrections Standards Authority info and 
stats of continuous electronic monitoring of sex 
offenders, including costs and recidivism rates. 
(Reimbursement begins 01/01/2009 and every two 
years thereafter.) 

       

  6. Grant access to all records pertaining to registered sex 
offender to anyone authorized to administer SARATSO.         

(05) Total Direct Costs        

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate                                                 [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs                                             [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions] 

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs                               [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]  

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements  

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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 Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

360 
STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOL FOR SEX  

OFFENDERS (SARATSO) 
 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 1, 
block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing an 
Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP 
with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department’s 
ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, 
Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an 
ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect 
cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must 
have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source.  

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-27, 
line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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   Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

360 

STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOL FOR SEX  
OFFENDERS (SARATSO) 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02)                                                          Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. For a county, city and city and county (Reimbursement begins 02/01/2008.) 

  1.   Designate key persons to attend training and to train other 
within their organizations. 

  2.  Persons administering the SARATSO receive training no less 
than every two years. 

B. For a county probation departments only (Reimbursement begins FY 2007-08.) 

 1.a. Assess every eligible person for whom the department 
prepares a presentencing report. 

4. Compile Facts of Offense Sheet (FOS) pursuant to PC 1230e 
and PC 290.04 for each person convicted that requires being 
registered as a sex offender. Include the FOS in the 
probation report to the court and SARATSO results. Send 
FOS to the DOJ Sex Offenders Tracking Program within 30 
days of conviction.            

(Reimbursement begins 01/01/2010.) 

 1.b. Assess every eligible person under the department’s 
supervision who was not assessed pursuant to a 
presentencing report, prior to the termination of probation 
but no later than 01/01/2010. 

5. Report to the Corrections Standards Authority info and stats 
of continuous electronic monitoring of sex offenders, including 
costs and recidivism rates.                             
(Reimbursement begins 01/01/2009 and every two years 
thereafter.)   

 2. Include administered SARATSO results in presentencing 
report, if the person is convicted and required to register 
as a sex offender or if probation report recommends 
registration at sentencing. 

 3. Include in the report prepared for the department the 
results of the SARATSO whenever a person is convicted 
and required to register as a sex offender.        

6. Grant access to all records pertaining to registered sex 
offender to anyone authorized to administer SARATSO.   

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

Salaries 

(e) 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 

Fixed 
Assets 

(i) 

Travel 
and 

Training
 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page: ____of____       

                     20___ / 20___ 
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PROGRAM 

360 
STATE AUTHORIZED RISK ASSESSMENT TOOL FOR SEX  

OFFENDERS (SARATSO)  

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. 
For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less 
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated and no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 

Submit  
supporting 

documents with 
the claim 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i)  

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name & 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits 
Activities 

Performed 
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits= 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 
X Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours

Worked or 
Total 

Contract 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

Travel  
 

and 
 

Training  

Purpose of 
Trip 

Name and 
Title 

Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 

Travel Mode 
     

Total 
Travel=Rate x 

Days or  
Miles 

 

Employee 
Name and 

Title 
Name of 

Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
     

Registration 
Fee 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-50 

THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 

LOCAL AGENCIES 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Threats Against Peace Officers program. The 
SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) 
adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an 
integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On April 24, 1997, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
legislation imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning 
of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

On January 29, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify the source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception 

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Eligible claimants include any local governmental entity employing peace officers, as defined in 
Penal Code section 830. Local governmental entities include “local agencies” as defined in GC 
section 17518, and “school districts” as defined in GC section 17519. 

Special districts, subject to tax and spend limitations pursuant to the provisions of articles XIII A 
and B of the California Constitution, are eligible to file a claim for reimbursement.  To establish 
proof of eligibility and to minimize payment delays, the SCO requests that special district 
claimants submit a supporting document affirming that the special district received an annual 
allocation of property tax revenue from the county pursuant to article XIII A of the California 
Constitution.   This may include a Board of Directors Resolution establishing the appropriation 
limit for the fiscal year being claimed, in compliance with article XIII B of the California 
Constitution. 

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 
Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 
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Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC Section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), provided that a 
county may submit a combined claim on behalf of direct service districts or special districts 
within their county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual direct service 
district’s or special district’s claim does not each exceed $1,000. The county shall determine if 
the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for 
disbursing the funds to each direct service district or special district. These combined claims may 
be filed only when the county is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show 
the individual claim costs for each eligible district. All subsequent claims based upon the same 
mandate must be filed in the combined form only unless a direct service district or special district 
provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county and to the SCO, at 
least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 
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Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Adopted:  2/27/98 
Amended:  1/29/10 
 

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines  

Penal Code Section 832.9 

Statutes 1992, Chapter 1249 
Statutes 1995, Chapter 666 

Threats Against Peace Officers 
05-PGA-44 (96-365-02) 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

I. Summary of the Mandate Source 

Statutes 1992, chapter 1249 added Penal Code section 832.9.  This statute 
requires governmental entities employing peace officers to reimburse the officer, 
or any member of his or her family for actual and necessary moving and 
relocation expenses incurred when it is necessary to move because the officer has 
received a threat that a life threatening action may be taken against the officer or 
his or her immediate family as a result of the peace officer’s employment. 

Statutes 1995, chapter 666 amended Penal Code section 832.9, by specifying 
guidelines for reimbursement. 

II. Commission on State Mandates Decision 

On April 24, 1997, the Commission determined that the requirements of Penal 
Code section 832.9, as added by Statutes 1992, chapter 1249, and amended by 
Statutes 1995, chapter 666imposed upon local governments, a new program or 
higher level of service, within the meaning of section 6, article XIII B of the 
California Constitution and section 17514 of the Government Code. 

III. Eligible Claimants 

Eligible claimants include any local governmental entity employing peace 
officers, as defined in Penal Code section 830.  Local governmental entities 
include “local agencies” as defined in Government Code section 17518, and 
“school districts” as defined in Government Code section 17519. 

IV. Period of Reimbursement 

This amendment is effective beginning with claims filed for the July 1, 2005 
through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement.  

Section 17557 of the Government Code states that a test claim must be submitted 
on or before December 31 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for 
that fiscal year.  The test claim for this state mandated program was filed on 
December 30, 1996, establishing eligibility for Fiscal Year 1995-96, commencing 
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July 1, 1995.  However, both test claim statutes were not in effect on July 1, 1995.  
Therefore, reimbursement claims may be filed as follows: 

Actual and necessary costs incurred pursuant to Statutes 1992, chapter 1249, are 
reimbursable after July 1, 1995. 

Actual and necessary costs incurred pursuant to Statutes 1995, chapter 666, are 
reimbursable after January 1, 1996. 

Actual and necessary costs for one fiscal year should be included in each claim.  
Estimated costs for the subsequent fiscal year may be included on the same claim, 
if applicable.  Pursuant to section 17561, subdivision (d)(3) of the Government 
Code, all claims for reimbursement of initial year’s costs shall be submitted 
within 120 days of release of claiming instructions by the State Controller. 

If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement 
shall be allowed, except as otherwise allowed by Government Code 
section 17564. 

V.  Reimbursable Costs 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual 
costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement 
the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source 
documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and 
their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document 
created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or 
activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, 
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.  

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, 
worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, 
agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a 
certification or declaration stating, “I certify under penalty of perjury under the 
laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon 
personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source documents may include 
data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, 
state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents 
cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for 
reimbursable activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an 
activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

A.  Scope of Mandate 

Eligible claimants shall be reimbursed for the costs incurred to reimburse peace 
officers or any member of their immediate family for actual and necessary 
moving and relocation expenses when it is necessary to move because the officer 
has received a credible threat that a life threatening action may be taken against 
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the officer or his or her immediate family as a result of the peace officer’s 
employment. 

B.  Reimbursable Activities 

For the following state mandated activities, costs incurred by a local 
governmental entity for the direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, services, 
and reimbursement payments made to a peace officer or member of his or her 
immediate family, residing with the peace officer, are reimbursable: 

1. From July 1, 1995 through December 31, 1995 

a. Review and approve claims for actual and necessary moving and 
relocation expenses incurred when it is necessary to move because 
the officer has received a threat that a life threatening action may be 
taken against the officer or his or her immediate family as a result of 
the peace officer’s employment.  Costs incurred both before and 
after the change of residence, including costs of moving household 
effects either by a commercial household goods carrier or by the 
employee, are reimbursable. 

b. Payment of the approved reimbursement to the peace officer or 
member of his or her immediate family residing with the officer for 
actual and necessary moving and relocation expenses. 

2.  From January 1, 1996 through Present 

a. Receive notification of a “credible threat.” (Pen. Code, § 832.9, 
subds. (b)(5) & (c).) 

b. Approve relocation plans and if necessary, verify residency of 
immediate family member.  (Pen. Code, § 832.9, subds. (a), (b)(3), & 
(d).) 

c. Review and approve claims for actual and necessary moving and 
relocation expenses incurred when it is necessary to move because 
the officer has received a threat that a life threatening action may be 
taken against the officer or his or her immediate family as a result of 
the peace officer’s employment.  Costs incurred both before and 
after the change of residence, including costs of moving household 
effects either by a commercial household goods carrier or by the 
employee, are reimbursable.  Approval of “actual and necessary 
relocation costs” is subject to the limitations set forth in Penal Code 
section 832.9, as amended by Statutes 1995, chapter 666. 

d. Payment of the approved reimbursement to the peace officer or 
member of his or her immediate family for actual and necessary 
moving and relocation expenses. 
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C. Non-Reimbursable Costs 

1.  Litigation expenses “allowable as costs” and “not allowable as costs” 
pursuant to section 1033.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure, are not 
reimbursable if incurred by claimants and/or local law enforcement 
agencies responding to and/or defending claims or actions brought under 
Penal Code section 832.9. 

2. After January 1, 1996, the following costs are not reimbursable: 

a. Moving costs that are not included in the Department of Personnel 
Administration rules governing promotional relocations. 
(Pen. Code, § 832.9, subd. (1).) 

b. Loss or decrease in value to a peace officer’s residence due to a 
forced sale. (Pen. Code, § 832.9, subd. (b)(2).) 

c. Costs incurred by a peace officer or member of their immediate 
family without prior approval of the appointing authority. 
(Pen. Code, § 832.9, subd. (b)(3).) 

d. Unauthorized payment of peace officers’ salaries while moving. 
(Pen. Code, § 832.9, subd. (b)(4).) 

e. Temporary relocation housing which exceeds 60 days. 
(Pen. Code, § 832.9, subd. (b)(6).) 

f. Relocation costs incurred 120 days after the original notification of a 
viable threat if the peace officer has failed to relocate. 
(Pen. Code, § 832.9, subd. (b)(7).) 

VI. Claim Preparation and Submission 

Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to this mandate must be timely filed and 
provide documentation in support of the reimbursement claimed for this mandate. 

A. Reporting by Components 

Claimed costs must be allocated according to the components of 
reimbursable activity described in Section V.B. 

B. Supporting Documentation 

Claimed costs should be supported by the following information: 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Claimed reimbursement for employee costs should be supported by name, 
position, hourly productive rate, hours worked, fringe benefits amount, 
and a brief description of assigned unit and function relative to the 
mandate. 

 

 

2. Services and Supplies 
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The claimant should identify all direct costs for materials, services and 
supplies which have been purchased, leased, consumed or expended for 
purposes of compliance with the mandate. 

3. Reimbursements to Peace Officer or Member of His or Her Immediate 
Family for Actual and Necessary Moving and Relocation Expenses 

a. Show the dates when the claimant received notification of the threat, 
when moving and relocation expenses were incurred, and when the 
officer or member of his or her immediate family was reimbursed. 

b. Submit with the claim, a copy of the contract, invoices, and receipts 
for the cost of moving and relocation.  Identify the independent 
contractor or employee who provided services for moving and 
relocation.  

c. If confidentiality is involved to protect the officer’s relocation, mark 
out sensitive areas of the contract, invoices, and receipts. 

4. Allowable Overhead Costs 

Government Code section 17564, subdivision (b), provides that claims for 
indirect costs shall be filed in the manner prescribed by the State 
Controller’s Office. 

VII. Records Retention  

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a 
reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district 
pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation of an audit by the 
Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual 
reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if 
no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the 
program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the 
Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial 
payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than 
two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to 
support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be 
retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an 
audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until 
the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VIII.  Offsetting Savings and Other Reimbursement 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of this 
statute must be deducted from the costs claimed.  In addition, reimbursement 
for this mandate received from any source, e.g., service fees collected, federal 
funds, other state funds, etc. shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

IX.  Required Certification 

                                                 
1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a 
certification of the claim, as specified in the State Controller’s claiming 
instructions, for those costs mandated by the state contained therein. 
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THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00163 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
163

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) a. (f)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) b. (f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) c. (f)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) d. (f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (07)   

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (09)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (10)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30)   

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31)   

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

163 
THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

 (22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) a. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) a., column (f). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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PROGRAM 

163 
THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  

 
  Fiscal Year

  

(03) Department  

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials and

Supplies 
Contract 
Services 

Employee 
Reimbursement

Total 

a. Receive Notification of a Credible 
Threat 

      

b. Approve Relocation Plans/Verify 
Residency  

      

c. Review and Approve Claims 
      

d. Reimbursement to PO/Immediate 
Family Member       

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 
 
 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 
 
 

Cost Reduction 

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount  [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20 /20 

 



State Controller’s Office        Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Revised 07/15 

PROGRAM 

163 
THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h), to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without 
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, 
include the ICRP with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a 
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter 
I and Chapter II, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line 
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the 
computation of the indirect cost rate by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is 
reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source.  

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

163 
THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02)                                                              Fiscal Year 

                                                               20___ / 20___ 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 a. Receive Notification of a Credible Threat    c. Review and Approve Claims 

 b. Approve Relocation Plans/Verify Residency 
   d. Reimbursement to Peace Officer/Immediate  

   Family Member 

(04)  Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job 

Classifications, Functions Performed 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cos 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

Salaries 

(e) 

Benefits 

(f) 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

Contract 
Services 

(h) 

Employee 
Reimbursement

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

 
(05)  Total            Subtotal           Page: ____ of ____ 
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PROGRAM 

163 

THREATS AGAINST PEACE OFFICERS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each activity. 

(04) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, and travel expenses. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) 
must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit 
purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less than 
three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made 
available to the SCO on request. 

 
 

Object/ 
Sub-Object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

 Supporting
 Documents

 With The  
Claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

Salaries 
Employee 

Name and Title 
Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate

x Hours 
Worked 

     

Benefits 

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits = 

Benefit Rate
x Salaries 

    

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

   

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked
 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked 

 

Copy of 
Contract 

and  
Invoices 

Employee 
Reimbursement 

Name of 
Peace 
Officer 

Date of 
Receipt of 

Notification of 
Threat 

Date of  
Moving and
Relocation 
Expenses 

    
Amount of

Reimburse-
ment 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES RULES 

Moving and Relocation Expenses 

Effective January 1, 2015 

599.714.1 Scope-Excluded Employees 

(a) Whenever a permanent state officer or employee is required by any appointing power because of 
a change in assignment, promotion or other reason related to his/her duties, to change his/her 
place of residence, such officer, agent or employee shall receive reimbursement of his/her actual 
and necessary moving and relocation expenses incurred by him/her both before and after and by 
reason of such change of residence, subject to the provisions and limitations of this article. 

(b) For the purposes of this article, a move occurs on the official reporting date to the new 
headquarters, and when a change in residence is reasonably to be required. Relocation shall be 
paid, when the following conditions are met: 

(1) The officer's or employee’s officially designated headquarters is changed for the advantage of 
the State, which includes the following:  

(A) A promotion offered by any appointing authority, not including those movements that the 
employee could make through transfer, reinstatement or reemployment eligibility; or  

(B) An involuntary transfer initiated by and at the discretion of the appointing authority,  

(C) An involuntary transfer required to affect a mandatory reinstatement following: 

(I) Termination of a career executive or exempt appointment 

(II) Leave of absence 

(III) Rejection from probation 

(D) Any involuntary transfer required to affect a mandatory reinstatement following the 
expiration or involuntary termination of a temporary appointment, limited term 
appointment or training and development assignment when: 

(I) The employee did not relocate to accept the appointment or assignment, or 

(II) The employee did relocate, at State expense, to accept the appointment or 
assignment. 

(2) The move must be a minimum of 50 miles plus the number of miles between the old 
residence and the old headquarters. 

(3) Relocations that meet the above criteria will be fully reimbursed to the extent and limitations 
in this article. 

(c) A change of residence is not deemed reasonably to be required for voluntary transfers or 
permissive reinstatements, with or without a salary increase, in response to general requests 
which specify that moving and relocation expenses will not be paid, or for any non-promotional 
transfer which is primarily for the benefit of the officer or employee. 

(d) When an appointment does not meet the criteria in (a) and (b) the appointing power may, at 
his/her discretion, determine in advance that it is in the best interest of the State to reimburse all 
or part of the actual reasonable and necessary relocation expenses provided in this article as an 
incentive to recruit employees to positions that are designated by the appointing power as difficult 
to fill or because of outstanding qualifications of the appointee, or due to unusual and 
unavoidable hardship to the employee by reason of the change of residence. 

(1) Relocations that meet these criteria shall be reimbursed only for the items in this article 
specifically authorized by the appointing power and may be subject to further limitations 
designated by the appointing power. 
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(2) Upon determination that any reimbursement will be made, the appointing power shall:  

(A) Determine which provisions will apply to the relocation and establish any additional 
limitations to those provisions such as dollar limits, weight limits or time limits. 

(B) Notify the employee, in writing, of specific allowable reimbursements prior to the move. 

(e) Requirements and limitations specified in this article may not be waived or exceeded by the 
appointing power. 

(f) Unauthorized relocation expenses and relocation expenses incurred prior to receipt of a written 
notice of allowable relocation expenses are the responsibility of the employee. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 
19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.715.1 Reimbursement for Miscellaneous Expenses-Excluded Employees 

An officer or employee who is required to change his/her place of residence according to Section 
599.714.1 may receive reimbursement for up to $200 for miscellaneous expenses upon submittal of 
documentation of the payment of all such expenses and certification that the expenses were related 
to dissolution of the old household and/or the establishment of a new household and were not 
otherwise reimbursed. 

(a) Reimbursement for the installation and/or connection of appliances or antennas purchased 
after the change of residence shall be allowed provided no claim is made for installation and/or 
connection of a similar item in the movement of household goods, and installation and/or 
connection occurs within sixty days of the establishment of a new residence. 

(b) Deposits are not reimbursable. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code Reference: 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.716.1 Reimbursement for Sale of a Residence-Excluded Employee 

(a) Whenever a state officer or employee is required, as defined in Section 599.714.1 to change 
his/her officially designated headquarters and this requires the sale of his/her residence the 
officer or employee shall be reimbursed only for actual and necessary selling costs as determined 
by prevailing practices within the area of sale. Claims for reimbursement must be substantiated 
by the seller's closing escrow statement and other pertinent supportive documents. Seller's points 
are not eligible for reimbursement. Claims will include only those items which are listed in the 
following subsection. 

(b) Actual and necessary selling costs are: 

(1) Brokerage commission; and 

(2) Title insurance; and 

(3) Escrow fees; and 

(4) Prepayment penalties; and 

(5) Taxes, charges or fees fixed by local authority required to consummate the sale of the 
residence; and 

(6) Miscellaneous sellers cost customary to the area, not to exceed $200. 

(c) Actual and necessary selling costs will be reimbursed for that portion of the dwelling the 
employee actually occupies if the employee or officer owns and resides in a multi-family dwelling. 

(d) Commissions and fees will not be reimbursed if paid to the employee, the employee's spouse or 
the spouse's employer, or to any member of the household. 
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(e) Claims for the sale of a residence must be submitted within two years following the date the 
officer or employee reports to the new official headquarters. No extensions will be allowed 
thereafter. 

(f) Rebates to employees will be deducted from the claim prior to reimbursement. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3517.8, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.717.1- Settlement of a Lease -Excluded Employees 

(a) Whenever an officer or employee is required, as defined by Section 599.714.1(a) to change 
his/her place of residence and such change requires the settlement of a lease on the employee's 
old residence, the officer or employee shall receive the actual and necessary cost of settlement of 
the unexpired lease to a maximum of one year. In no event shall the lease settlement include any 
costs, deposits or fees. 

(1) Reimbursement shall not be allowed if it is determined that the officer or employee knew or 
reasonably should have known that a transfer according to Section 599.714.1 was imminent 
before entering into a lease agreement. 

(2) Claims for settlement of a lease shall include a lease agreement signed by both the 
employee and the lessor, and shall be itemized and submitted within nine months following 
the new reporting date. 

(b) If an employee is required under 599.714.1(a) to change his/her place of residence and such 
notice to the employee is insufficient to provide the employee the notice period required by a 
month to month rental agreement, reimbursement may be claimed for the number of days penalty 
paid by the employee to a maximum of 30 calendar days. 

(1) Reimbursement shall not be allowed for days that the employee failed to notify the landlord 
after notification by the employer of the reassignment. 

(2) Claims shall be accompanied by a copy of the rental agreement, an itemized receipt for the 
penalty and the name and address of the individual or company to which the rental penalty 
has been paid. 

(c) No reimbursement shall be made for forfeiture of cleaning or security deposits, or for repair, 
replacement or damages of rental property. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 
19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.718.1 Expenses for Moving Household Effects - Excluded Employees 

(a) For the purpose of these regulations, household or personal effects include items such as 
furniture, clothing, musical instruments, household appliances, food, and other items which are 
usual or necessary for the maintenance of one household. 

(b) Household effects shall not include items connected to a for profit business, items from another 
household, items that are permanently affixed to the property being vacated or items that would 
normally be discarded or recycled. 

(c) At the discretion of the appointing power, other items may be considered household effects based 
on a consideration of the estimated cost of the move and a review of the items listed on the 
inventory. Expenses related to moving items other than those described in (a) that have not been 
approved by the appointing power shall be the responsibility of the employee. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 
19841, Government Code. 
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Section 599.719.1 Reimbursement for Moving Household Effects - Excluded Employees 

Reimbursement shall be allowed for the cost of moving an employee's effects either via commercial 
household goods carrier or by the employee. Reimbursements under this rule shall not exceed the 
cost of moving the employee's household goods from the old residence to the new headquarters 
plus 50 miles unless the appointing authority determines that a longer move is in the best interest of 
the State. Any additional expense associated with an interstate or inter-country move shall be 
approved in advance by the appointing power. No reimbursement will be allowed for the hiring of 
casual labor. 

(a) When the employee retains a commercial mover, reimbursement for actual and necessary 
expenses incurred by a commercial mover under this article for the packing, insurance, one 
pickup, transportation, storage-in-transit (not including warehouse handling charges except 
when required by interstate tariffs), one delivery, unpacking, and installation at the new 
location of an employee's household effects shall be allowed subject to the following: 

(1) Weight of household effects for which expenses may be reimbursed shall not exceed 
5,000 kilograms (11,000 pounds). 

(2) Duration of storage-in-transit for which charges may be reimbursed shall not exceed 60 
calendar days unless a longer period of storage is approved in advance by the appointing 
authority based on hardship to the employee. 

(3) Rates at which reimbursement is allowed shall not exceed the minimum rates, at the 
minimum declared valuation, established by the California Public Utilities Commission for 
household goods carriers, unless a higher rate is approved by the Department of General 
Services. 

(4) Cost of insurance for which reimbursement is allowed shall not exceed the cost of 
insurance coverage at $2.00 valuation for each pound of household effects shipped by 
household goods carrier. 

(5) Claims for exceptions to the 11,000 pounds statutory limit will be considered by the 
appointing authority, up to a maximum of 23,000 pounds, only when it has been 
determined that every reasonable effort had been made to conform to the limit. 
Exceptions to the number of pick-ups and deliveries may be made by the appointing 
power when it is reasonably necessary and in the best interest of the state. 

(b) When the employee does not retain a commercial mover, reimbursement shall be allowed as 
follows for expenses related to the movement by the employee of his/her household effects in 
a truck or trailer. 

(1) Rental of a truck or trailer from a commercial establishment. When not included in the 
truck rental rate, the cost of gasoline, rental of a furniture dolly, packing cartons and 
protective pads will be reimbursed. If the total costs exceed $1,000 the claim must be 
accompanied by at least one written commercial rate quote. Reimbursement will be made 
at the rate (including gasoline) which results in the lowest cost; or 

(2) Mileage reimbursement at the rates provided in Section or 599.631.1(b) for 
noncommercial privately-owned motor vehicles used in transporting the employee's 
household effects. 

(3) Reimbursement for more than one trip by the method described in (b)(1) or (2) above 
may be allowed if the employee's agency has determined that the total cost would be 
less than the cost of movement by a commercial household goods carrier. 

(c) If household goods are moved exclusively in the employee's personal vehicle, reimbursement 
for mileage may be claimed at the State mileage rate. No other mileage or moving expense 
shall be allowed. 

(d) All claims for the reimbursement of the movement of household goods require receipts. Unless 
an exception is granted by the appointing authority, claims shall be submitted no later than 2 
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years and 60 days from the effective date of appointment or 15 days prior to voluntary 
separation, whichever is first. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.720.1 Reimbursement for Movement of a Mobile Home - Excluded Employees 

For the movement of a mobile home which contains the household effects of an officer or employee, 
and has served as the employee's residence at the previous location at the time of notification of 
relocation, reimbursement will be allowed as follows: 

(a) Where transportation of the trailer coach is by a commercial mobile home transporter and 
receipts are submitted: 

(1) For tolls, taxes, charges, fees or permits fixed by the State or local authority required for the 
transportation or assembly of trailer coaches actually incurred by the employee. 

(2) Charges for disassembly and assembly of the trailer, including but not limited to, 
disassembly and assembly of trailer, skirts, awnings, porch, the trailer coach itself and other 
miscellaneous documented, itemized expenses related to the dissolution of the old 
household and/or the establishment of the new household, up to $2,500 unless an exception 
is approved by the appointing power. 

(3) Reimbursement will be allowed for the actual cost supported by voucher of rental and 
installation of wheels and axles necessary to comply with the requirements of Chapter 5, 
Article 1 of the California Vehicle Code. 

(4) Three competitive bids shall be obtained and reimbursement will be approved at the lowest 
bid. Based on information documenting the attempt to obtain three bids as provided by the 
employee, the appointing power may waive the three-bid requirement. 

(5) Reimbursement received under this section precludes any additional reimbursement for 
miscellaneous expenses under Section 599.715.1. 

(6) Movement of the trailer coach at rates not exceeding the minimum rates established by the 
California Public Utilities Commission for mobile home transporters: 

(7) Charges at P.U.C. minimum rates to obtain permits identified above; 

(8) Storage-in-transit for up to 60 calendar days at P.U.C. minimum rates, unless the appointing 
authority approves an extension. 

(b) Where transportation of the coach is by the employee, expense may be claimed for a one-way 
trip by submitting gasoline receipts. 

(c) Reimbursement will not be allowed for: 

(1) Purchase of parts and materials except for those items necessary to comply with minimum 
requirements of the California Administrative Code, Title 25, Chapter 5. 

(2) Repairs including tires and tubes, and breakdown in transit. 

(3) Costs associated with maintenance or repair of the trailer coach. 

(4) Costs for separate shipment of household effects by a household goods carrier unless that 
is determined to be the most economical method of transport. 

(5) Costs associated with the movement or handling of permanent structures. 

(d) All claims related to the movement of a trailer coach and the household goods therein require 
receipts and shall be submitted no later than 2 years and 60 days from the effective date of 
appointment, or 15 days prior to voluntary separation, whichever is first. No extensions will be 
granted. 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.722 Relocation Subsistence Reimbursement and Mileage - Excluded Employees 

An excluded employee is defined in Section 599.619. 

(a) If eligible under Section 599.714(a), an officer or employee shall be reimbursed for actual lodging, 
supported by a receipt, and meal and incidental expenses in accordance with and not to exceed 
the rates established in Section 599.619(a)(1) and (2) while locating a permanent residence at 
the new location. Employees who do not furnish receipts for lodging may be reimbursed for meals 
only in accordance with 599.619(a). A permanent residence is typically an abode that is 
purchased or rented on a monthly basis, of a type that provides long-term living accommodations, 
where any utilities are hooked up (gas, electric, cable, phone), and mail is delivered. 

(1) Reimbursement may be claimed for up to 60 days, except an extension of up to 30 days 
may be granted when the Appointing power has determined in advance that the delay of 
change of residence is a result of unusual and unavoidable circumstances that are beyond 
the control of the officer or employee. The maximum reimbursement to be received by said 
officer or employee shall not exceed the equivalent dollar amount of 60 days of full meals, 
incidentals, and receipted lodging. 

(2) Interruptions in relocation caused by sick leave, vacation or other authorized leaves of 
absence shall be reimbursable at the option of the employee providing the employee 
remains at the new location and is actively seeking permanent residence. 

(3) The relocation subsistence claim shall terminate immediately upon establishment of a 
permanent residence. The appointing power shall determine when a permanent residence 
has been established. 

(4) Partial days shall count as full days for the purpose of computing the 60-day period. 

(b) Upon approval of the Appointing Power, meals and/or lodging expenses, for up to fourteen days, 
arising from trips to the new location for the sole purpose of locating housing shall be reimbursed 
in accordance with Section 599.619(a)(1) and (2), or 599.619(c)(1), or 599.619(d). Claims for 
reimbursement of meals/lodging expenses in this item are limited to those incurred after receipt of 
formal written authorization for relocation and prior to the effective date of appointment. The 
period claimed shall be included in the computation of the 60-day relocation period. 

(c) Reimbursement for travel from the old residence to the new headquarters may be claimed one-
way one time and shall not exceed the mileage rate allowed in 599.631(a). 

Note: Authority cited: Section 3539.5, Government Code Reference: Section 19841, Government 
Code. 

Section 599.724.1 Payment of Claims for Moving and Relocation Expenses - Excluded Employees 

(a) The Department of Personnel Administration shall be responsible for prescribing any specific 
procedures necessary for effective and economical operation of this article. Claims shall be made 
on authorized forms, scheduled in the normal manner and submitted through regular channels to 
the State Controller for payment. All claims must be substantiated by invoices, receipts or other 
evidence for each item claimed. 

(b) Agencies may contract directly with the carrier for movement of household effects of officers and 
employees at state expense, subject to the same restrictions as if the shipment were arranged by 
the officer or employee and reimbursed by the State. 

(c) If the change in residence results in the salary of the officer or employee being paid by a different 
appointing power, all allowable moving and relocation expenses shall be paid by the new 
appointing power except where the old appointing power agrees to pay all or part of the expenses 
allowable under this Article. 
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(d)  Each department shall be responsible for insuring that upon notice to the employee of an 
impending move, a copy of these rules shall be given to the officer or employee. 

(e) When exceptions have been granted by an appointing authority, the written justification of those 
exceptions shall be maintained with the applicable claims. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: 
Sections 19841 and 19842, Government Code. 

Section 599.619 Reimbursement for Meals and Lodging - Excluded Employees 

The employee on travel status shall be reimbursed actual expenses for receipted lodging, and for 
meals and incidentals as provided in this section, unless directed to travel under the provisions of 
599.624.1. Lodging and/or meals provided by the state or included in hotel expenses or conference 
fees, or in transportation costs such as airline tickets, or otherwise provided shall not be claimed for 
reimbursement. Snacks and continental breakfasts, such as rolls, juice and coffee, are not considered 
to be meals. The circumstances of travel will determine the rate allowed. 

(a) Short-term Travel. Reimbursement for short-term subsistence will be authorized only when the 
traveler incurs expenses arising from the use of reasonable, moderately priced commercial 
lodging and meal establishments, such as hotels, motels, bed and breakfast inns, campgrounds, 
restaurants, cafes, diners, etc. that cater to the general public. Employees who stay with friends 
or relatives may claim meals only in accordance with the rates and time frames set forth below. 
Lodging receipts are required. The short-term rate is intended for trips of such duration that 
weekly or monthly rates are not obtainable and will be discontinued after the 30th consecutive 
day assigned to one location unless an extension has been previously documented and approved 
by the appointing power. In extending short-term travel, the appointing power shall consider the 
expected remaining length of the travel assignment. 

(1) In computing reimbursement for continuous short-term travel of more than 24 hours and less 
than 31 consecutive days, the employee will be reimbursed for actual costs up to the 
maximum allowed for each meal, incidental, and lodging expense for each complete 24 hours 
of travel, beginning with the traveler's times of departure and return, as follows.  

(a) On the first day of travel on a trip of 24 hours or more: 

Trip begins at or before 6 am: breakfast may be claimed on the first day 

Trip begins at or before 11 am: lunch may be claimed on the first day 

Trip begins at or before 5 pm: dinner may be claimed on the first day 

(b) On the fractional day of travel at the end of a trip of more than 24 hours: 

Trip ends at or after 8 am: breakfast may be claimed 

Trip ends at or after 2 pm: lunch may be claimed 

Trip ends at or after 7 pm: dinner may be claimed 

If the fractional day includes an overnight stay, receipt lodging may be claimed. No meal 
or lodging expense may be claimed or reimbursed more than once on any given date or 
during any 24 hour period. 

(c) Reimbursement shall be for actual expenses only, subject to the following maximum 
rates: 

(1) Meals: 

Breakfast:     $  7.00 

Lunch:     $11.00 

Dinner:      $23.00 

Incidentals:     $  5.00 



State Controller’s Office  School Mandated Cost Manual 

Revised 07/15  Section 4, Appendix, Page 8 

Receipts for meals must be maintained by the employee as substantiation that the 
amount claimed was not in excess of the amount of actual expense. The term incidentals 
includes but is not limited to expenses for laundry, cleaning and pressing of clothing, and 
fees and tips for services, such as for porters and baggage carriers. It does not include 
taxicab fares, lodging taxes or the costs of telegrams or telephone calls. 

(2) Lodging: 

Statewide, supported by receipts, actual lodging up to $90.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in the Counties of 
Napa, Riverside, and Sacramento, actual lodging up to $95.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in the Counties of 
Los Angeles, Orange, Ventura, and Edwards AFB (excluding the City of Santa 
Monica), actual lodging up to $120.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain in lodging in the Counties of 
Alameda, Monterey, San Diego, San Mateo, and Santa Clara, actual lodging up to 
$125.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in San Francisco 
County and the City of Santa Monica, actual lodging up to $150.00 per night, plus 
tax. 

If lodging receipts are not submitted, reimbursement will be for actual expenses for 
meals/incidentals only at the rates and time frames set forth in this section. 

(2) In computing reimbursement for continuous travel of less than 24 hours, actual expenses, up 
to the maximums in (C) above, will be reimbursed for breakfast and/or dinner and/or lodging 
in accordance with the following timeframes:  

Travel begins at or before 6 am and ends at or after 9 am: Breakfast may be claimed. 

Travel begins at or before 4 pm and ends at or after 7 pm: Dinner may be claimed. 

If the trip of less than 24 hours includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed. 

No lunch or incidentals may be reimbursed on travel of less than 24 hours. 

(b) Long-term Travel. Reimbursement for long-term meals and receipted lodging will be authorized 
when the traveler incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of 
commercial establishments catering to the long-term visitor. Meals and/or lodging provided by the 
state shall not be claimed for reimbursement. With approval of the appointing power and upon 
meeting the criteria in (3) below, an employee on long-term field assignment who is living at the 
long term location may claim either: 

(1) $24.00 for meals and incidentals and up to $24.00 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours 
up to 24 hours; either $24.00 for meals or up to $24.00 for receipted lodging for travel less 
than 12 hours, or 

(2) Reimbursement for actual individual expense, substantiated by receipts, for lodging, utility 
gas and electricity, up to a maximum of $1,130.00 per calendar month while on the long term 
assignment, and $10.00 for meals and incidentals, without receipts, for each period of 12 to 
24 hours; $5.00 for meals and incidentals for periods of less than 12 hours at the long term 
location 

(3) To claim expenses under either (1) or (2) above the employee must meet the following 
criteria:  

(A) The employee continues to maintain a permanent residence at the primary headquarters; 
and 

(B) The permanent residence is occupied by employee's dependents, or 
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(C) The permanent residence is maintained at a net expense to the employee exceeding 
$200 per month. 

(D) The employee must submit substantiating evidence of these conditions to the appointing 
power in accordance with its requirements. 

(4) Employees who do not meet the criteria to claim (1) or (2) above may claim $12.00 for meals 
and incidentals and $12.00 for receipted lodging for every 12 to 24 hours at the long term 
location; $12 for meals OR $12 receipted lodging for periods of less than 12 hours at the long 
term location. 

(5) With approval of the appointing power, the reimbursement of long term lodging may continue 
when the employee is away from the long term location on short term business travel or other 
absences from that location as approved by the appointing authority. 

(c) Out-of-State Travel. Out-of-state travel is any travel outside the State of California for conducting 
business outside the State of California. For short-term out-of-state travel, employees will be 
reimbursed for actual lodging expenses, supported by a receipt, and will be reimbursed for meal 
and incidental expenses as defined in Section 599.619(a). Failure to furnish lodging receipts will 
limit reimbursement to meals only at the rates specified in (a). Long-term out-of-state travel will be 
reimbursed according to Section 599.619(c). 

(d) Out-of-Country Travel. For short-term out-of-country travel, employees will be reimbursed for 
actual lodging expenses, supported by a receipt, and will be reimbursed for actual meal and 
incidental expenses subject to maximum rates in accordance with the published Government 
meal and incidental rates for foreign travel for the dates of travel. Failure to furnish lodging 
receipts will limit reimbursement to meals only in accordance with the published Government 
meal and incidental rates for foreign travel. Long-term out-of-country travel will be reimbursed 
according to Section 599.619(a) through (c). 

(e) Exceptions to reimburse in excess of the maximum lodging rate cited in (a) of this rule may be 
granted by the Appointing Power only in an emergency, or when there is no lodging available at 
the State maximum rate or when it is cost effective. The Appointing Power shall document the 
reasons for each exception and shall keep this documentation on file for three calendar years 
from the date of the exception. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3539.5, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. 
Reference: Sections 3527(b) and 11030, Government Code. 

Section 599.631 Transportation by Automobile - Excluded Employees 

(a) Where the employee is authorized to use a privately owned automobile on official state business 
the reimbursement rate shall be 57.5 cents per mile. Claims for reimbursement for private vehicle 
expenses must include the vehicle license number and the name of each state officer, employee 
or board, commission or authority member transported on the trip. No reimbursement of 
transportation expense shall be allowed any passenger in any vehicle operated by another state 
officer, employee or member.  

(1) Expenses arising from travel between home and headquarters or garage shall not be 
allowed, except as provided in 599.626(d)(2) or 599.626.1(c), regardless of the employee's 
normal mode of transportation. 

(2) When a trip is commenced or terminated at a claimant's home on a regularly scheduled 
work day, the distance traveled shall be computed from either his/her residence or 
headquarters, whichever shall result in the lesser distance except as provided in 
599.626.1(c). 

(3) However, if the employee commences or terminates travel on a regularly scheduled day off, 
mileage may be computed from his/her residence. 

(b) Where the employee's use of a privately owned automobile is authorized for travel to or from a 
common carrier terminal, and the automobile is not parked at the terminal during the period of 
travel, the employee may claim double the number of miles between the terminal and the 
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employee's headquarters or residence, whichever is less, at a rate as defined in Section 
599.631(a), while the employee occupies the automobile for the distance between the terminal 
and his/her residence or headquarters. If the employee commences or terminates travel one hour 
before or after his/her regularly scheduled work day, or on a regularly scheduled day off, mileage 
may be computed from his/her residence. 

(c) All ferry, bridge, or toll road charges will be allowed with any required receipts. 

(d) All necessary parking charges while on state business will be allowed, with any required receipts, 
for:  

(1) Day parking on trips away from the headquarters office and excluded employee's primary 
residence. 

(2) Overnight public parking on trips away from the headquarters and excluded employee's 
primary residence, except that parking shall not be claimed if expense-free overnight parking 
is available. 

(3) Day parking adjacent to either a headquarters office, a temporary job site or training site, but 
only if the excluded employee had other reimbursable private or state automobile expenses 
for the same day. An employee may not prorate weekly or monthly parking fees. 

(e) Gasoline, maintenance and automobile repair expenses will not be allowed. 

(f) The mileage reimbursement rates include the cost of maintaining liability insurance at the 
minimum amount prescribed by a law and collision insurance sufficient to cover the reasonable 
value of the automobile, less a deductible. When a privately owned automobile operated by state 
officer, agent or excluded employee is damaged by collision or is otherwise accidentally 
damaged, reimbursement for repair or the deductible to a maximum of $500.00 will be allowed if:  

(1) The damage occurred while the automobile was used on official state business by permission 
or authorization of the employing agency; and 

(2) The automobile was damaged through no fault of the state officer, agent or excluded 
employee; and 

(3) The amount claimed is an actual loss to the state officer, agent or excluded employee, and is 
not recoverable directly from or through the insurance coverage of any party involved in the 
accident; and 

(4) The loss claimed does not result from a decision of a state officer, agent or excluded 
employee not to maintain collision coverage; and 

(5) The claim is processed in accordance with the procedures prescribed by the Department of 
Personnel Administration. 

(g) Specialized Vehicles. An employee with a physical disability who must operate a motor vehicle on 
official state business and who can operate only specially equipped or modified vehicles may 
claim a rate of 34 cents per mile without certification and up to 37 cents per mile with certification. 
Where travel is authorized to and from a common carrier terminal, as specified in Section 
599.631(b) the employee may compute the mileage as defined in Section 599.631(b). 
Supervisors approving these claims must determine the employee's need for the use of such 
vehicles. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3539.5, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. 
Reference: Section 11030, Government Code. 

AUTHORIZED RELOCATION EXPENSES 

Per Diem - Employees may claim up to 60 days while at the new location until a new permanent 
residence is found. Specific per diem allowances for excluded employee are listed below. 
Extensions of the per diem may be granted by the Department of Personnel Administration if the 
employee suffers unusual hardship. Requests for extensions must be submitted to the Relocation 
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Liaison, on a Std. 256 prior to the expiration of the 60 day period. The Relocation Liaison will review 
the Std. 256 for completeness then forward to the Department of Personnel Administration. 

Shipment of Household Goods - The State will pay for the packing, transportation, insurance, 
storage-in transit, unpacking and installation of employee's household effects. The employer will 
issue the relocating employee a "Moving Service Authorization" which the employee will give to any 
licensed mover. The Moving Service Authorization authorizes the mover to bill the State directly. 
There is no actual dollar limitation (the State only pays minimum tariff rates); however, there is an 
11,000 pound weight limit. If the mover estimates the weight of the household goods to be more 
than 11,000 pounds, the employee should immediately submit a Std. 256 with the mover's estimate 
to the Relocation Liaison. The Department of Personnel Administration may approve excess weight 
provided the employee requests the exception in advance of the actual move. 

The State will not pay for the shipment of the following items: 

Automobiles, other motor vehicles, farm tractors, implements and equipment trailers with or 
without other property, boats, all animals, livestock, or pets belongings which are not the 
property of the immediate family of the officer or employee, belongings related to commercial 
enterprises engaged in by the officer or employee, firewood, fuel, bricks, sand, ceramic wall tile, 
wire fence, or other building materials, wastepaper, and rags.  

Storage in Transit - The State will pay for the storage of household goods for up to 60 days. 
Storage is limited to 11,000 pounds of household goods unless the excess weight has been 
previously approved by DPA. The storage company should bill the State directly using the 
authorization of the Moving Service Authorization. Miscellaneous items taken out of storage prior to 
the moving company delivering all household goods is not reimbursable and must be paid by the 
employee. 

Sale of Residence - The State will pay for certain costs associated with the sale of the employee's 
dwelling which was his/her residence at the time of notification of the transfer. 

Reimbursable costs are: 

Brokerage commission, escrow fees, title insurance, prepayment penalties, local taxes, charges 
or fees required to consummate the sale. Miscellaneous sellers cost up to $200.00. 

Non-reimbursable Costs are: 

Seller's points, property tax, repair work, and re-inspection fees. 

Excluded employees have two years from the reporting date at the new headquarters to submit 
a claim for reimbursement of seller's costs. There is no extension of the time limit for Non-
represented employees. 

Settlement of a Lease - The State will pay for the settlement of a lease which was entered into prior 
to notification of the transfer. Claims for payment of the lease settlement must be submitted within 9 
months from the reporting date at the new headquarters. 

Movement of a Trailer Coach - The State will pay for the actual cost of transporting the mobile 
home to the new location plus up to $2,500 for disassembly and assembly of the trailer. Request for 
reimbursement in excess of $2,500 must be submitted to DPA on a Std. 256 prior to the move; 
approval will only be given for the lowest of three bids. Household goods must be shipped in the 
mobile home unless DPA approves a separate shipment. 

Miscellaneous - There is a $200.00 miscellaneous allowance with documentation and certification, 
which is intended to assist the employee in establishing the new household. This allowance should 
be used to pay utility installation fees, appliance hook-up fees and the like. It is appropriate to use 
this allowance for cable hook-up. This allowance may not be used to satisfy deposit requirements. 
The allowance may not be claimed if moving a mobile home; hook-up, etc., are included in the 
mobile home set-up charge. 
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Mileage - The employee may be reimbursed 23 cents per mile for one vehicle to make one-way trip 
between the old residence and the new residence effective January 1, 2015. Anything over locating 
cents is considered taxable income.  

Private car mileage for the purpose of locating housing at the new location is not reimbursable. 

EXPENSES INCURRED PRIOR TO THE OFFICIAL TRANSFER CANNOT BE CLAIMED. 
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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2013-13 

TUBERCULOSIS CONTROL 

MARCH 13, 2013 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Tuberculosis Control (TC) program. The 
SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) 
adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an 
integral part of the claiming instructions.  

On October 27, 2011, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
statute imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the 
meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514. 

Exception  

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a 
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement.  

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a 
late claim penalty.  Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
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documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 

Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: December 7, 2012 
 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Health and Safety Code sections 121361, 121362 and 121366 

Statutes 1993, Chapter 676; Statutes 1994, Chapter 685;  
Statutes 1997, Chapter 116; and Statutes 2002, Chapter 763 

Tuberculosis Control  
03-TC-14 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On October 27, 2011, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of 
decision finding that the test claim statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated 
program upon local agencies within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution and Government Code section 17514.  The Commission approved this test claim for 
the following reimbursable activities: 

• For local detention facilities to: 

o Submit notification and a written treatment plan that includes the information 
required by Health and Safety Code section 121362 to the Local Health Officer when 
a person with active TB or reasonably believed to have active TB is discharged or 
released from the detention facility; and 

o Submit notification and a written treatment plan that includes the information 
required by Health and Safety Code section 121362 to the Local Health Officer and 
the medical officer of the local detention facility receiving the person when a person 
with active TB or reasonably believed to have active TB is transferred to a local 
detention facility in another jurisdiction 

• For Local Health Officers to: 

o Review for approval within 24 hours of receipt only those treatment plans submitted 
by a health facility; and 

o Notify the medical officer of a parole region or a physician or surgeon designated by 
the Department of Corrections when there are reasonable grounds to believe that a 
parolee has active TB and ceases treatment for TB. 

• For counties or specified cities to provide counsel to non-indigent TB patients who are 
subject to an order of detention. 
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II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this reimbursable 
state-mandated program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557(e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The County of Santa Clara 
filed the test claim on September 26, 2003, establishing eligibility for reimbursement on or after 
July 1, 2002.  Therefore, costs incurred pursuant to Health and Safety Code sections 121361, 
121362 and 121366 are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2002.  

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: 

1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.   

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of 
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the 
issuance date for the claiming instructions. 

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15 
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement 
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. 

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government 
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an 
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the 
revised claiming instructions to file a claim.  (Government Code section 17560(b).) 

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be 
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended 
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.  
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
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activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task-
repetitive.  Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.  
Claimants wishing to use time studies to support salary and benefit costs are required to comply 
with the State Controller’s Time-Study Guidelines before a time study is conducted.  Time study 
usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State Controller’s Office. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. The following activities mandated by Health and Safety Code sections 121361 and 
121362 are eligible for reimbursement: 

1. For local detention facilities: 

  

a. When a person with active TB or reasonably believed to have active TB is discharged 
or released from a detention facility: 

i. Draft and submit notification to the Local Health Officer; and 

ii. Submit the written treatment plan that includes the information required by 
Health and Safety Code section 121362 to the Local Health Officer. 

Drafting the written treatment plan is not eligible for reimbursement. 

b. When a person with active TB or reasonably believed to have active TB is transferred 
to a local detention facility in another jurisdiction: 

i. Draft and submit notification to the Local Health Officer and the medical 
officer of the local detention facility receiving the person; and 

ii. Submit the written treatment plan that includes the information required by 
Health and Safety Code section 121362 to the Local Health Officer and the 
medical officer of the local detention facility receiving the person. 

Drafting the written treatment plan is not eligible for reimbursement. 

2. For Local Health Officers or others acting at the direction of the Local Health Officer: 

a. Receive and review for approval within 24 hours of receipt only those treatment 
plans submitted by a health facility.  This activity includes the following: 

• Receive health facility’s treatment plan. 

• Send request to health facility for medical records and information on TB 
medications, dosages and diagnostic work-up.  Review records and 
information. 

• Coordinate with health facility on any adjustments to the treatment plan. 
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• Send approval to health facility.   

b. Draft and send a notice to the medical officer of a parole region, or a physician or 
surgeon designated by the Department of Corrections, when there are reasonable 
grounds to believe that a parolee has active TB and ceases treatment for TB. 

B. The following activity mandated by Health and Safety Code section 121366 is eligible 
for reimbursement: 

1. For cities, counties, and cities and counties to provide counsel to non-indigent TB 
patients who are subject to a civil order of detention issued by a Local Health Officer 
pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 121365 upon request of the patient.  Services 
provided by counsel include representation of the TB patient at any court review of the 
order of detention required by Health and Safety Code section 121366.  

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent 
on the activities and all costs charged.  If the contract is a fixed price, report the services 
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.  If the 
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only 
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be 
claimed.  Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a 
description of the contract scope of services. 

4.  Fixed Assets and Equipment 
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Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5.  Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, 
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of 
the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element 
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one 
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts 
disproportionate to the result achieved.  Indirect costs may include both:  (1) overhead costs of 
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed 
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan. 

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in 
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87).  Claimants have the 
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate 
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%. 

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect 
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in  
2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B).   

The distribution base may be:  (1) total direct costs (excluding capital expenditures and other 
distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and 
wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable distribution. 

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following 
methodologies: 

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by:  (1) classifying a department’s 
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total 
allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.  
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect 
costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total 
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or 

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular 
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department 
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or 
section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing 
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable 
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distribution base.  The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to 
distribute indirect costs to mandates.  The rate should be expressed as a percentage 
which the total amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter1 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated 
by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed.  In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited 
to, fees and assessments from Health and Safety Code section 101325 to the extent received and 
applied to the reimbursable activities, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, 
shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions 
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the 
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school 
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be derived from the 
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall 
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement 
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   

1 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally 
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.  
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record for the test 
claim.  The administrative record is on file with the Commission.   
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State Controller’s Office                   Local Mandated Cost Manual 

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)  

TUBERCULOSIS CONTROL 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00345 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
345

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. a. (g)  

County of Location 

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. b. (g)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 

 

Suite 
(24) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. a. (g)  

City State Zip Code 
(25) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. b. (g)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (g)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. (g)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (04) C. 1. (g)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (06)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (07)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (09)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32) FORM 1, (10)  

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the local 
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

  

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 

 Telephone Number   

 

 

Email Address   

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 Email Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer 

 
Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

345 
TUBERCULOSIS CONTROL 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) Not applicable 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.   

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum 
claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified 
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. 1. a. (g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04), section A.1., line a., column (g). Enter the information 
on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs 
percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of 
this data block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant 

  
(02)  

 
         Fiscal Year 

    20 ___ /20___    

(03)  Department 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) 

Salaries Benefits 
Materials 

and 
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel Total 

A.    Local Detention Facilities  

1. Discharges and Releases  

 a. Draft and submit notification        

 
b. Submit the written treatment plan.     

(Drafting the written treatment plan      
is not eligible for reimbursement.)  

       

2. Transfers  

 a. Draft and submit notification        

 
b. Submit the written treatment plan. 

(Drafting the written treatment plan is 
not eligible for reimbursement.) 

        

B. Local Health Officers (LHO) or 
Others Acting at the Direction of 
the LHO 

 

1. Receive and review for approval within 
24 hours of receipt only the treatment 
plans submitted by a health facility 

       

2. Draft and send a notice to the medical 
officer when there are reasonable 
grounds to believe that a parolee has 
active TB and ceases treatment for TB 

       

C.     Cities and Counties  
1. Provide counsel to non-indigent TB 

patients        

(05) Total Direct Costs        

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate                                                            [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs                                            [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions] 

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs                                       [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]                   

 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues  

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements  

(11) Total Claimed Amount                         [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  
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TUBERCULOSIS CONTROL 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A 
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form 1, 
block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (g). 

(06)  Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without preparing an 
Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used, include the ICRP 
with the claim.   

(07)  Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a department’s 
ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter I and Chapter II, 
Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line (05)(a), by 10%. If an 
ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the computation of the indirect 
cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is reporting costs, each must 
have its own ICRP for the program. 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of the 
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and Other 
Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form FAM-27, 
line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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TUBERCULOSIS CONTROL 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02)                                                          Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

A. Local Detention Facilities  

1. Discharges and Releases 

B. Local Health Officers (LHO) or Others Acting at 
the Direction of the LHO 

 a. Draft and submit notification 1. Receive and review for approval within 24 
hours of receipt only the treatment plans  

 
b. Submit the written treatment plan 

(Drafting the written treatment plan is  
not eligible for reimbursement.) 

 submitted by a health facility 

2. Draft and send a notice to the medical officer

2. Transfers 
 when there are reasonable grounds to 

believe that a parolee has active TB and 
ceases treatment for TB 

 a. Draft and submit notification   

 b. Submit the written treatment plan 
(Drafting the written treatment plan is 
not eligible for reimbursement.) 

C. Cities and Counties 

1. Provide counsel to non-indigent tuberculosis 

   patients 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 

Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 

Hours 
Worked or
Quantity 

(d) 

 
Salaries 

(e) 

 
Benefits 

(f) 

Materials
and 

Supplies 

(g) 

 
Contract 
Services 

(h) 

 
Fixed 

Assets 

(i) 

 
Travel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(05)  Total           Subtotal             Page: ____of____       

                     20___ / 20___ 
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 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To 
detail costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a 
brief description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly 
rates, fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  expenses. The descriptions 
required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items 
being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a 
period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is 
later. If no funds were appropriated and no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns 
Submit  

supporting 
documents 

with the 
claim 

 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) 

 
Salaries 

 
 

Employee 
Name & 

Title 

Hourly 
 Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries= 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours 
Worked 

      

Benefits  
Benefit 
Rate 

  
Benefits= 

Benefit Rate
X Salaries 

    

 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description of 
Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

  

Cost= 
Unit Cost 
X Quantity

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 
Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

   

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours 

Worked or 
Total Contract

Cost 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit  
Cost 

Usage     
Cost=Unit 

Cost 
x Usage 

  

Travel 
 

and 

Purpose of Trip 
Name and Title 
Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 
Travel 
Mode 

     

Total 
Travel=Rate 

x Days or  
Miles 

 

Training 
Employee 

Name and Title 
Name of Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
     

Registration
Fee 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES RULES 

Moving and Relocation Expenses 

Effective January 1, 2015 

599.714.1 Scope-Excluded Employees 

(a) Whenever a permanent state officer or employee is required by any appointing power because of 
a change in assignment, promotion or other reason related to his/her duties, to change his/her 
place of residence, such officer, agent or employee shall receive reimbursement of his/her actual 
and necessary moving and relocation expenses incurred by him/her both before and after and by 
reason of such change of residence, subject to the provisions and limitations of this article. 

(b) For the purposes of this article, a move occurs on the official reporting date to the new 
headquarters, and when a change in residence is reasonably to be required. Relocation shall be 
paid, when the following conditions are met: 

(1) The officer's or employee’s officially designated headquarters is changed for the advantage of 
the State, which includes the following:  

(A) A promotion offered by any appointing authority, not including those movements that the 
employee could make through transfer, reinstatement or reemployment eligibility; or  

(B) An involuntary transfer initiated by and at the discretion of the appointing authority,  

(C) An involuntary transfer required to affect a mandatory reinstatement following: 

(I) Termination of a career executive or exempt appointment 

(II) Leave of absence 

(III) Rejection from probation 

(D) Any involuntary transfer required to affect a mandatory reinstatement following the 
expiration or involuntary termination of a temporary appointment, limited term 
appointment or training and development assignment when: 

(I) The employee did not relocate to accept the appointment or assignment, or 

(II) The employee did relocate, at State expense, to accept the appointment or 
assignment. 

(2) The move must be a minimum of 50 miles plus the number of miles between the old 
residence and the old headquarters. 

(3) Relocations that meet the above criteria will be fully reimbursed to the extent and limitations 
in this article. 

(c) A change of residence is not deemed reasonably to be required for voluntary transfers or 
permissive reinstatements, with or without a salary increase, in response to general requests 
which specify that moving and relocation expenses will not be paid, or for any non-promotional 
transfer which is primarily for the benefit of the officer or employee. 

(d) When an appointment does not meet the criteria in (a) and (b) the appointing power may, at 
his/her discretion, determine in advance that it is in the best interest of the State to reimburse all 
or part of the actual reasonable and necessary relocation expenses provided in this article as an 
incentive to recruit employees to positions that are designated by the appointing power as difficult 
to fill or because of outstanding qualifications of the appointee, or due to unusual and 
unavoidable hardship to the employee by reason of the change of residence. 

(1) Relocations that meet these criteria shall be reimbursed only for the items in this article 
specifically authorized by the appointing power and may be subject to further limitations 
designated by the appointing power. 
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(2) Upon determination that any reimbursement will be made, the appointing power shall:  

(A) Determine which provisions will apply to the relocation and establish any additional 
limitations to those provisions such as dollar limits, weight limits or time limits. 

(B) Notify the employee, in writing, of specific allowable reimbursements prior to the move. 

(e) Requirements and limitations specified in this article may not be waived or exceeded by the 
appointing power. 

(f) Unauthorized relocation expenses and relocation expenses incurred prior to receipt of a written 
notice of allowable relocation expenses are the responsibility of the employee. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 
19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.715.1 Reimbursement for Miscellaneous Expenses-Excluded Employees 

An officer or employee who is required to change his/her place of residence according to Section 
599.714.1 may receive reimbursement for up to $200 for miscellaneous expenses upon submittal of 
documentation of the payment of all such expenses and certification that the expenses were related 
to dissolution of the old household and/or the establishment of a new household and were not 
otherwise reimbursed. 

(a) Reimbursement for the installation and/or connection of appliances or antennas purchased 
after the change of residence shall be allowed provided no claim is made for installation and/or 
connection of a similar item in the movement of household goods, and installation and/or 
connection occurs within sixty days of the establishment of a new residence. 

(b) Deposits are not reimbursable. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code Reference: 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.716.1 Reimbursement for Sale of a Residence-Excluded Employee 

(a) Whenever a state officer or employee is required, as defined in Section 599.714.1 to change 
his/her officially designated headquarters and this requires the sale of his/her residence the 
officer or employee shall be reimbursed only for actual and necessary selling costs as determined 
by prevailing practices within the area of sale. Claims for reimbursement must be substantiated 
by the seller's closing escrow statement and other pertinent supportive documents. Seller's points 
are not eligible for reimbursement. Claims will include only those items which are listed in the 
following subsection. 

(b) Actual and necessary selling costs are: 

(1) Brokerage commission; and 

(2) Title insurance; and 

(3) Escrow fees; and 

(4) Prepayment penalties; and 

(5) Taxes, charges or fees fixed by local authority required to consummate the sale of the 
residence; and 

(6) Miscellaneous sellers cost customary to the area, not to exceed $200. 

(c) Actual and necessary selling costs will be reimbursed for that portion of the dwelling the 
employee actually occupies if the employee or officer owns and resides in a multi-family dwelling. 

(d) Commissions and fees will not be reimbursed if paid to the employee, the employee's spouse or 
the spouse's employer, or to any member of the household. 
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(e) Claims for the sale of a residence must be submitted within two years following the date the 
officer or employee reports to the new official headquarters. No extensions will be allowed 
thereafter. 

(f) Rebates to employees will be deducted from the claim prior to reimbursement. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3517.8, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.717.1- Settlement of a Lease -Excluded Employees 

(a) Whenever an officer or employee is required, as defined by Section 599.714.1(a) to change 
his/her place of residence and such change requires the settlement of a lease on the employee's 
old residence, the officer or employee shall receive the actual and necessary cost of settlement of 
the unexpired lease to a maximum of one year. In no event shall the lease settlement include any 
costs, deposits or fees. 

(1) Reimbursement shall not be allowed if it is determined that the officer or employee knew or 
reasonably should have known that a transfer according to Section 599.714.1 was imminent 
before entering into a lease agreement. 

(2) Claims for settlement of a lease shall include a lease agreement signed by both the 
employee and the lessor, and shall be itemized and submitted within nine months following 
the new reporting date. 

(b) If an employee is required under 599.714.1(a) to change his/her place of residence and such 
notice to the employee is insufficient to provide the employee the notice period required by a 
month to month rental agreement, reimbursement may be claimed for the number of days penalty 
paid by the employee to a maximum of 30 calendar days. 

(1) Reimbursement shall not be allowed for days that the employee failed to notify the landlord 
after notification by the employer of the reassignment. 

(2) Claims shall be accompanied by a copy of the rental agreement, an itemized receipt for the 
penalty and the name and address of the individual or company to which the rental penalty 
has been paid. 

(c) No reimbursement shall be made for forfeiture of cleaning or security deposits, or for repair, 
replacement or damages of rental property. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 
19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.718.1 Expenses for Moving Household Effects - Excluded Employees 

(a) For the purpose of these regulations, household or personal effects include items such as 
furniture, clothing, musical instruments, household appliances, food, and other items which are 
usual or necessary for the maintenance of one household. 

(b) Household effects shall not include items connected to a for profit business, items from another 
household, items that are permanently affixed to the property being vacated or items that would 
normally be discarded or recycled. 

(c) At the discretion of the appointing power, other items may be considered household effects based 
on a consideration of the estimated cost of the move and a review of the items listed on the 
inventory. Expenses related to moving items other than those described in (a) that have not been 
approved by the appointing power shall be the responsibility of the employee. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 
19841, Government Code. 
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Section 599.719.1 Reimbursement for Moving Household Effects - Excluded Employees 

Reimbursement shall be allowed for the cost of moving an employee's effects either via commercial 
household goods carrier or by the employee. Reimbursements under this rule shall not exceed the 
cost of moving the employee's household goods from the old residence to the new headquarters 
plus 50 miles unless the appointing authority determines that a longer move is in the best interest of 
the State. Any additional expense associated with an interstate or inter-country move shall be 
approved in advance by the appointing power. No reimbursement will be allowed for the hiring of 
casual labor. 

(a) When the employee retains a commercial mover, reimbursement for actual and necessary 
expenses incurred by a commercial mover under this article for the packing, insurance, one 
pickup, transportation, storage-in-transit (not including warehouse handling charges except 
when required by interstate tariffs), one delivery, unpacking, and installation at the new 
location of an employee's household effects shall be allowed subject to the following: 

(1) Weight of household effects for which expenses may be reimbursed shall not exceed 
5,000 kilograms (11,000 pounds). 

(2) Duration of storage-in-transit for which charges may be reimbursed shall not exceed 60 
calendar days unless a longer period of storage is approved in advance by the appointing 
authority based on hardship to the employee. 

(3) Rates at which reimbursement is allowed shall not exceed the minimum rates, at the 
minimum declared valuation, established by the California Public Utilities Commission for 
household goods carriers, unless a higher rate is approved by the Department of General 
Services. 

(4) Cost of insurance for which reimbursement is allowed shall not exceed the cost of 
insurance coverage at $2.00 valuation for each pound of household effects shipped by 
household goods carrier. 

(5) Claims for exceptions to the 11,000 pounds statutory limit will be considered by the 
appointing authority, up to a maximum of 23,000 pounds, only when it has been 
determined that every reasonable effort had been made to conform to the limit. 
Exceptions to the number of pick-ups and deliveries may be made by the appointing 
power when it is reasonably necessary and in the best interest of the state. 

(b) When the employee does not retain a commercial mover, reimbursement shall be allowed as 
follows for expenses related to the movement by the employee of his/her household effects in 
a truck or trailer. 

(1) Rental of a truck or trailer from a commercial establishment. When not included in the 
truck rental rate, the cost of gasoline, rental of a furniture dolly, packing cartons and 
protective pads will be reimbursed. If the total costs exceed $1,000 the claim must be 
accompanied by at least one written commercial rate quote. Reimbursement will be made 
at the rate (including gasoline) which results in the lowest cost; or 

(2) Mileage reimbursement at the rates provided in Section or 599.631.1(b) for 
noncommercial privately-owned motor vehicles used in transporting the employee's 
household effects. 

(3) Reimbursement for more than one trip by the method described in (b)(1) or (2) above 
may be allowed if the employee's agency has determined that the total cost would be 
less than the cost of movement by a commercial household goods carrier. 

(c) If household goods are moved exclusively in the employee's personal vehicle, reimbursement 
for mileage may be claimed at the State mileage rate. No other mileage or moving expense 
shall be allowed. 

(d) All claims for the reimbursement of the movement of household goods require receipts. Unless 
an exception is granted by the appointing authority, claims shall be submitted no later than 2 
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years and 60 days from the effective date of appointment or 15 days prior to voluntary 
separation, whichever is first. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.720.1 Reimbursement for Movement of a Mobile Home - Excluded Employees 

For the movement of a mobile home which contains the household effects of an officer or employee, 
and has served as the employee's residence at the previous location at the time of notification of 
relocation, reimbursement will be allowed as follows: 

(a) Where transportation of the trailer coach is by a commercial mobile home transporter and 
receipts are submitted: 

(1) For tolls, taxes, charges, fees or permits fixed by the State or local authority required for the 
transportation or assembly of trailer coaches actually incurred by the employee. 

(2) Charges for disassembly and assembly of the trailer, including but not limited to, 
disassembly and assembly of trailer, skirts, awnings, porch, the trailer coach itself and other 
miscellaneous documented, itemized expenses related to the dissolution of the old 
household and/or the establishment of the new household, up to $2,500 unless an exception 
is approved by the appointing power. 

(3) Reimbursement will be allowed for the actual cost supported by voucher of rental and 
installation of wheels and axles necessary to comply with the requirements of Chapter 5, 
Article 1 of the California Vehicle Code. 

(4) Three competitive bids shall be obtained and reimbursement will be approved at the lowest 
bid. Based on information documenting the attempt to obtain three bids as provided by the 
employee, the appointing power may waive the three-bid requirement. 

(5) Reimbursement received under this section precludes any additional reimbursement for 
miscellaneous expenses under Section 599.715.1. 

(6) Movement of the trailer coach at rates not exceeding the minimum rates established by the 
California Public Utilities Commission for mobile home transporters: 

(7) Charges at P.U.C. minimum rates to obtain permits identified above; 

(8) Storage-in-transit for up to 60 calendar days at P.U.C. minimum rates, unless the appointing 
authority approves an extension. 

(b) Where transportation of the coach is by the employee, expense may be claimed for a one-way 
trip by submitting gasoline receipts. 

(c) Reimbursement will not be allowed for: 

(1) Purchase of parts and materials except for those items necessary to comply with minimum 
requirements of the California Administrative Code, Title 25, Chapter 5. 

(2) Repairs including tires and tubes, and breakdown in transit. 

(3) Costs associated with maintenance or repair of the trailer coach. 

(4) Costs for separate shipment of household effects by a household goods carrier unless that 
is determined to be the most economical method of transport. 

(5) Costs associated with the movement or handling of permanent structures. 

(d) All claims related to the movement of a trailer coach and the household goods therein require 
receipts and shall be submitted no later than 2 years and 60 days from the effective date of 
appointment, or 15 days prior to voluntary separation, whichever is first. No extensions will be 
granted. 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference 
Section 19841, Government Code. 

Section 599.722 Relocation Subsistence Reimbursement and Mileage - Excluded Employees 

An excluded employee is defined in Section 599.619. 

(a) If eligible under Section 599.714(a), an officer or employee shall be reimbursed for actual lodging, 
supported by a receipt, and meal and incidental expenses in accordance with and not to exceed 
the rates established in Section 599.619(a)(1) and (2) while locating a permanent residence at 
the new location. Employees who do not furnish receipts for lodging may be reimbursed for meals 
only in accordance with 599.619(a). A permanent residence is typically an abode that is 
purchased or rented on a monthly basis, of a type that provides long-term living accommodations, 
where any utilities are hooked up (gas, electric, cable, phone), and mail is delivered. 

(1) Reimbursement may be claimed for up to 60 days, except an extension of up to 30 days 
may be granted when the Appointing power has determined in advance that the delay of 
change of residence is a result of unusual and unavoidable circumstances that are beyond 
the control of the officer or employee. The maximum reimbursement to be received by said 
officer or employee shall not exceed the equivalent dollar amount of 60 days of full meals, 
incidentals, and receipted lodging. 

(2) Interruptions in relocation caused by sick leave, vacation or other authorized leaves of 
absence shall be reimbursable at the option of the employee providing the employee 
remains at the new location and is actively seeking permanent residence. 

(3) The relocation subsistence claim shall terminate immediately upon establishment of a 
permanent residence. The appointing power shall determine when a permanent residence 
has been established. 

(4) Partial days shall count as full days for the purpose of computing the 60-day period. 

(b) Upon approval of the Appointing Power, meals and/or lodging expenses, for up to fourteen days, 
arising from trips to the new location for the sole purpose of locating housing shall be reimbursed 
in accordance with Section 599.619(a)(1) and (2), or 599.619(c)(1), or 599.619(d). Claims for 
reimbursement of meals/lodging expenses in this item are limited to those incurred after receipt of 
formal written authorization for relocation and prior to the effective date of appointment. The 
period claimed shall be included in the computation of the 60-day relocation period. 

(c) Reimbursement for travel from the old residence to the new headquarters may be claimed one-
way one time and shall not exceed the mileage rate allowed in 599.631(a). 

Note: Authority cited: Section 3539.5, Government Code Reference: Section 19841, Government 
Code. 

Section 599.724.1 Payment of Claims for Moving and Relocation Expenses - Excluded Employees 

(a) The Department of Personnel Administration shall be responsible for prescribing any specific 
procedures necessary for effective and economical operation of this article. Claims shall be made 
on authorized forms, scheduled in the normal manner and submitted through regular channels to 
the State Controller for payment. All claims must be substantiated by invoices, receipts or other 
evidence for each item claimed. 

(b) Agencies may contract directly with the carrier for movement of household effects of officers and 
employees at state expense, subject to the same restrictions as if the shipment were arranged by 
the officer or employee and reimbursed by the State. 

(c) If the change in residence results in the salary of the officer or employee being paid by a different 
appointing power, all allowable moving and relocation expenses shall be paid by the new 
appointing power except where the old appointing power agrees to pay all or part of the expenses 
allowable under this Article. 
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(d)  Each department shall be responsible for insuring that upon notice to the employee of an 
impending move, a copy of these rules shall be given to the officer or employee. 

(e) When exceptions have been granted by an appointing authority, the written justification of those 
exceptions shall be maintained with the applicable claims. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: 
Sections 19841 and 19842, Government Code. 

Section 599.619 Reimbursement for Meals and Lodging - Excluded Employees 

The employee on travel status shall be reimbursed actual expenses for receipted lodging, and for 
meals and incidentals as provided in this section, unless directed to travel under the provisions of 
599.624.1. Lodging and/or meals provided by the state or included in hotel expenses or conference 
fees, or in transportation costs such as airline tickets, or otherwise provided shall not be claimed for 
reimbursement. Snacks and continental breakfasts, such as rolls, juice and coffee, are not considered 
to be meals. The circumstances of travel will determine the rate allowed. 

(a) Short-term Travel. Reimbursement for short-term subsistence will be authorized only when the 
traveler incurs expenses arising from the use of reasonable, moderately priced commercial 
lodging and meal establishments, such as hotels, motels, bed and breakfast inns, campgrounds, 
restaurants, cafes, diners, etc. that cater to the general public. Employees who stay with friends 
or relatives may claim meals only in accordance with the rates and time frames set forth below. 
Lodging receipts are required. The short-term rate is intended for trips of such duration that 
weekly or monthly rates are not obtainable and will be discontinued after the 30th consecutive 
day assigned to one location unless an extension has been previously documented and approved 
by the appointing power. In extending short-term travel, the appointing power shall consider the 
expected remaining length of the travel assignment. 

(1) In computing reimbursement for continuous short-term travel of more than 24 hours and less 
than 31 consecutive days, the employee will be reimbursed for actual costs up to the 
maximum allowed for each meal, incidental, and lodging expense for each complete 24 hours 
of travel, beginning with the traveler's times of departure and return, as follows.  

(a) On the first day of travel on a trip of 24 hours or more: 

Trip begins at or before 6 am: breakfast may be claimed on the first day 

Trip begins at or before 11 am: lunch may be claimed on the first day 

Trip begins at or before 5 pm: dinner may be claimed on the first day 

(b) On the fractional day of travel at the end of a trip of more than 24 hours: 

Trip ends at or after 8 am: breakfast may be claimed 

Trip ends at or after 2 pm: lunch may be claimed 

Trip ends at or after 7 pm: dinner may be claimed 

If the fractional day includes an overnight stay, receipt lodging may be claimed. No meal 
or lodging expense may be claimed or reimbursed more than once on any given date or 
during any 24 hour period. 

(c) Reimbursement shall be for actual expenses only, subject to the following maximum 
rates: 

(1) Meals: 

Breakfast:     $  7.00 

Lunch:     $11.00 

Dinner:      $23.00 

Incidentals:     $  5.00 
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Receipts for meals must be maintained by the employee as substantiation that the 
amount claimed was not in excess of the amount of actual expense. The term incidentals 
includes but is not limited to expenses for laundry, cleaning and pressing of clothing, and 
fees and tips for services, such as for porters and baggage carriers. It does not include 
taxicab fares, lodging taxes or the costs of telegrams or telephone calls. 

(2) Lodging: 

Statewide, supported by receipts, actual lodging up to $90.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in the Counties of 
Napa, Riverside, and Sacramento, actual lodging up to $95.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in the Counties of 
Los Angeles, Orange, Ventura, and Edwards AFB (excluding the City of Santa 
Monica), actual lodging up to $120.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain in lodging in the Counties of 
Alameda, Monterey, San Diego, San Mateo, and Santa Clara, actual lodging up to 
$125.00 per night, plus tax. 

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in San Francisco 
County and the City of Santa Monica, actual lodging up to $150.00 per night, plus 
tax. 

If lodging receipts are not submitted, reimbursement will be for actual expenses for 
meals/incidentals only at the rates and time frames set forth in this section. 

(2) In computing reimbursement for continuous travel of less than 24 hours, actual expenses, up 
to the maximums in (C) above, will be reimbursed for breakfast and/or dinner and/or lodging 
in accordance with the following timeframes:  

Travel begins at or before 6 am and ends at or after 9 am: Breakfast may be claimed. 

Travel begins at or before 4 pm and ends at or after 7 pm: Dinner may be claimed. 

If the trip of less than 24 hours includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed. 

No lunch or incidentals may be reimbursed on travel of less than 24 hours. 

(b) Long-term Travel. Reimbursement for long-term meals and receipted lodging will be authorized 
when the traveler incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of 
commercial establishments catering to the long-term visitor. Meals and/or lodging provided by the 
state shall not be claimed for reimbursement. With approval of the appointing power and upon 
meeting the criteria in (3) below, an employee on long-term field assignment who is living at the 
long term location may claim either: 

(1) $24.00 for meals and incidentals and up to $24.00 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours 
up to 24 hours; either $24.00 for meals or up to $24.00 for receipted lodging for travel less 
than 12 hours, or 

(2) Reimbursement for actual individual expense, substantiated by receipts, for lodging, utility 
gas and electricity, up to a maximum of $1,130.00 per calendar month while on the long term 
assignment, and $10.00 for meals and incidentals, without receipts, for each period of 12 to 
24 hours; $5.00 for meals and incidentals for periods of less than 12 hours at the long term 
location 

(3) To claim expenses under either (1) or (2) above the employee must meet the following 
criteria:  

(A) The employee continues to maintain a permanent residence at the primary headquarters; 
and 

(B) The permanent residence is occupied by employee's dependents, or 
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(C) The permanent residence is maintained at a net expense to the employee exceeding 
$200 per month. 

(D) The employee must submit substantiating evidence of these conditions to the appointing 
power in accordance with its requirements. 

(4) Employees who do not meet the criteria to claim (1) or (2) above may claim $12.00 for meals 
and incidentals and $12.00 for receipted lodging for every 12 to 24 hours at the long term 
location; $12 for meals OR $12 receipted lodging for periods of less than 12 hours at the long 
term location. 

(5) With approval of the appointing power, the reimbursement of long term lodging may continue 
when the employee is away from the long term location on short term business travel or other 
absences from that location as approved by the appointing authority. 

(c) Out-of-State Travel. Out-of-state travel is any travel outside the State of California for conducting 
business outside the State of California. For short-term out-of-state travel, employees will be 
reimbursed for actual lodging expenses, supported by a receipt, and will be reimbursed for meal 
and incidental expenses as defined in Section 599.619(a). Failure to furnish lodging receipts will 
limit reimbursement to meals only at the rates specified in (a). Long-term out-of-state travel will be 
reimbursed according to Section 599.619(c). 

(d) Out-of-Country Travel. For short-term out-of-country travel, employees will be reimbursed for 
actual lodging expenses, supported by a receipt, and will be reimbursed for actual meal and 
incidental expenses subject to maximum rates in accordance with the published Government 
meal and incidental rates for foreign travel for the dates of travel. Failure to furnish lodging 
receipts will limit reimbursement to meals only in accordance with the published Government 
meal and incidental rates for foreign travel. Long-term out-of-country travel will be reimbursed 
according to Section 599.619(a) through (c). 

(e) Exceptions to reimburse in excess of the maximum lodging rate cited in (a) of this rule may be 
granted by the Appointing Power only in an emergency, or when there is no lodging available at 
the State maximum rate or when it is cost effective. The Appointing Power shall document the 
reasons for each exception and shall keep this documentation on file for three calendar years 
from the date of the exception. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3539.5, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. 
Reference: Sections 3527(b) and 11030, Government Code. 

Section 599.631 Transportation by Automobile - Excluded Employees 

(a) Where the employee is authorized to use a privately owned automobile on official state business 
the reimbursement rate shall be 57.5 cents per mile. Claims for reimbursement for private vehicle 
expenses must include the vehicle license number and the name of each state officer, employee 
or board, commission or authority member transported on the trip. No reimbursement of 
transportation expense shall be allowed any passenger in any vehicle operated by another state 
officer, employee or member.  

(1) Expenses arising from travel between home and headquarters or garage shall not be 
allowed, except as provided in 599.626(d)(2) or 599.626.1(c), regardless of the employee's 
normal mode of transportation. 

(2) When a trip is commenced or terminated at a claimant's home on a regularly scheduled 
work day, the distance traveled shall be computed from either his/her residence or 
headquarters, whichever shall result in the lesser distance except as provided in 
599.626.1(c). 

(3) However, if the employee commences or terminates travel on a regularly scheduled day off, 
mileage may be computed from his/her residence. 

(b) Where the employee's use of a privately owned automobile is authorized for travel to or from a 
common carrier terminal, and the automobile is not parked at the terminal during the period of 
travel, the employee may claim double the number of miles between the terminal and the 
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employee's headquarters or residence, whichever is less, at a rate as defined in Section 
599.631(a), while the employee occupies the automobile for the distance between the terminal 
and his/her residence or headquarters. If the employee commences or terminates travel one hour 
before or after his/her regularly scheduled work day, or on a regularly scheduled day off, mileage 
may be computed from his/her residence. 

(c) All ferry, bridge, or toll road charges will be allowed with any required receipts. 

(d) All necessary parking charges while on state business will be allowed, with any required receipts, 
for:  

(1) Day parking on trips away from the headquarters office and excluded employee's primary 
residence. 

(2) Overnight public parking on trips away from the headquarters and excluded employee's 
primary residence, except that parking shall not be claimed if expense-free overnight parking 
is available. 

(3) Day parking adjacent to either a headquarters office, a temporary job site or training site, but 
only if the excluded employee had other reimbursable private or state automobile expenses 
for the same day. An employee may not prorate weekly or monthly parking fees. 

(e) Gasoline, maintenance and automobile repair expenses will not be allowed. 

(f) The mileage reimbursement rates include the cost of maintaining liability insurance at the 
minimum amount prescribed by a law and collision insurance sufficient to cover the reasonable 
value of the automobile, less a deductible. When a privately owned automobile operated by state 
officer, agent or excluded employee is damaged by collision or is otherwise accidentally 
damaged, reimbursement for repair or the deductible to a maximum of $500.00 will be allowed if:  

(1) The damage occurred while the automobile was used on official state business by permission 
or authorization of the employing agency; and 

(2) The automobile was damaged through no fault of the state officer, agent or excluded 
employee; and 

(3) The amount claimed is an actual loss to the state officer, agent or excluded employee, and is 
not recoverable directly from or through the insurance coverage of any party involved in the 
accident; and 

(4) The loss claimed does not result from a decision of a state officer, agent or excluded 
employee not to maintain collision coverage; and 

(5) The claim is processed in accordance with the procedures prescribed by the Department of 
Personnel Administration. 

(g) Specialized Vehicles. An employee with a physical disability who must operate a motor vehicle on 
official state business and who can operate only specially equipped or modified vehicles may 
claim a rate of 34 cents per mile without certification and up to 37 cents per mile with certification. 
Where travel is authorized to and from a common carrier terminal, as specified in Section 
599.631(b) the employee may compute the mileage as defined in Section 599.631(b). 
Supervisors approving these claims must determine the employee's need for the use of such 
vehicles. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3539.5, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. 
Reference: Section 11030, Government Code. 

AUTHORIZED RELOCATION EXPENSES 

Per Diem - Employees may claim up to 60 days while at the new location until a new permanent 
residence is found. Specific per diem allowances for excluded employee are listed below. 
Extensions of the per diem may be granted by the Department of Personnel Administration if the 
employee suffers unusual hardship. Requests for extensions must be submitted to the Relocation 
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Liaison, on a Std. 256 prior to the expiration of the 60 day period. The Relocation Liaison will review 
the Std. 256 for completeness then forward to the Department of Personnel Administration. 

Shipment of Household Goods - The State will pay for the packing, transportation, insurance, 
storage-in transit, unpacking and installation of employee's household effects. The employer will 
issue the relocating employee a "Moving Service Authorization" which the employee will give to any 
licensed mover. The Moving Service Authorization authorizes the mover to bill the State directly. 
There is no actual dollar limitation (the State only pays minimum tariff rates); however, there is an 
11,000 pound weight limit. If the mover estimates the weight of the household goods to be more 
than 11,000 pounds, the employee should immediately submit a Std. 256 with the mover's estimate 
to the Relocation Liaison. The Department of Personnel Administration may approve excess weight 
provided the employee requests the exception in advance of the actual move. 

The State will not pay for the shipment of the following items: 

Automobiles, other motor vehicles, farm tractors, implements and equipment trailers with or 
without other property, boats, all animals, livestock, or pets belongings which are not the 
property of the immediate family of the officer or employee, belongings related to commercial 
enterprises engaged in by the officer or employee, firewood, fuel, bricks, sand, ceramic wall tile, 
wire fence, or other building materials, wastepaper, and rags.  

Storage in Transit - The State will pay for the storage of household goods for up to 60 days. 
Storage is limited to 11,000 pounds of household goods unless the excess weight has been 
previously approved by DPA. The storage company should bill the State directly using the 
authorization of the Moving Service Authorization. Miscellaneous items taken out of storage prior to 
the moving company delivering all household goods is not reimbursable and must be paid by the 
employee. 

Sale of Residence - The State will pay for certain costs associated with the sale of the employee's 
dwelling which was his/her residence at the time of notification of the transfer. 

Reimbursable costs are: 

Brokerage commission, escrow fees, title insurance, prepayment penalties, local taxes, charges 
or fees required to consummate the sale. Miscellaneous sellers cost up to $200.00. 

Non-reimbursable Costs are: 

Seller's points, property tax, repair work, and re-inspection fees. 

Excluded employees have two years from the reporting date at the new headquarters to submit 
a claim for reimbursement of seller's costs. There is no extension of the time limit for Non-
represented employees. 

Settlement of a Lease - The State will pay for the settlement of a lease which was entered into prior 
to notification of the transfer. Claims for payment of the lease settlement must be submitted within 9 
months from the reporting date at the new headquarters. 

Movement of a Trailer Coach - The State will pay for the actual cost of transporting the mobile 
home to the new location plus up to $2,500 for disassembly and assembly of the trailer. Request for 
reimbursement in excess of $2,500 must be submitted to DPA on a Std. 256 prior to the move; 
approval will only be given for the lowest of three bids. Household goods must be shipped in the 
mobile home unless DPA approves a separate shipment. 

Miscellaneous - There is a $200.00 miscellaneous allowance with documentation and certification, 
which is intended to assist the employee in establishing the new household. This allowance should 
be used to pay utility installation fees, appliance hook-up fees and the like. It is appropriate to use 
this allowance for cable hook-up. This allowance may not be used to satisfy deposit requirements. 
The allowance may not be claimed if moving a mobile home; hook-up, etc., are included in the 
mobile home set-up charge. 
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Mileage - The employee may be reimbursed 23 cents per mile for one vehicle to make one-way trip 
between the old residence and the new residence effective January 1, 2015. Anything over locating 
cents is considered taxable income.  

Private car mileage for the purpose of locating housing at the new location is not reimbursable. 

EXPENSES INCURRED PRIOR TO THE OFFICIAL TRANSFER CANNOT BE CLAIMED. 
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