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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2006-17 

HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION  

JULY 5, 2006 

REVISED JULY 1, 2015 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 

submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 

state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 

eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the High School Exit Examination (HSEE) 

program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State 

Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are 

included as an integral part of the claiming instructions. 

On March 25, 2004, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that Education Code 

sections 60850, 60851, 60853, and 60855, along with California Code of Regulations, Title 5, 

sections 1200 through 1225, impose a reimbursable state-mandated program on school districts 

within the meaning of article XIIIB, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 

17514.  

Exception 

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 

operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

With the exception of community colleges, any school district, as defined in GC section 17519, 

that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 

Charter schools and block grant recipients are not eligible to claim for reimbursement.  

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed by February 16, 2016, without a late penalty. 

Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted. 

Penalty 

 Initial Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 

of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 

17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

 Annual Reimbursement Claim 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 

penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 

17568. 
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Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 

17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), provided that a 

county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts 

within their county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual school district’s 

claim does not each exceed $1,000. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, 

no reimbursement will be allowed except as otherwise allowed by GC section 17564. The county 

superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim is 

economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These 

combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent 

for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school 

district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must be filed in the combined form 

only unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the 

county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing 

the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 

claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 

validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 

activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 

the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 

time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 

allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 

declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 

declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 

true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 

section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 

activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 

However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 

mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 

SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 

to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 

adjustment. 

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 

17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 

audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 

or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
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made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 

the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 

subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 

retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 

documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 

after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 

appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller 

to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 

documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 

made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the  

Form Fam-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 

www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 

U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 

other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 

Division of Accounting and Reporting 

P.O. Box 942850 

Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 

Division of Accounting and Reporting 

3301 C Street, Suite 700 

Sacramento, CA  95816 

 

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 

LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

 

 

 

mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov


Adopted: April 26, 2006 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

Education Code Sections 60850,6085 1,60853, and 60855 

Statutes of 1999x, Chapter 1 
Statutes of 1999, Chapter 135 

California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Sections 1200- 1225 
(regulations effective July 20, 2001 [Register 01, No. 251, 
regulations effective May 1,2003 [Register 03, No. 181) 

High School Exit Examination (00-TC-06) 

Trinity Union High School District, Claimant 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 

On March 25,2004, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the Statement of 
Decision for the High School Exit Examination (00-TC-06) program. The Commission found 
that Education Code sections 60850,6085 1,60853, and 60855 as added in 1 999 along with 
California Code of Regulations, Title 5, sections 1200-1225 that became effective in 2001 and 
2003 constitute a new program or higher level of service and impose a reimbursable state- 
mandated program upon school districts within the meaning of article XI11 B, section 6, of the 
California Constitution and Government Code section 175 14. The regulations were amended in 
May 2004 and August 2005 to add additional activities which were not included in the test claim 
decision and are not reimbursable under these parameters and guidelines. The Commission 
approved this test claim for the following reimbursable activities: 

Adequate notice: notifying parents of tran~fer students who enroll after the first semester or 
quarter of the regular school term that, commencing with the 2003-04 school year, and each 
school year thereafter, each pupil completing 121h grade will be required to successfully pass the 
High School Exit Exam (HSEE). 

Documentation of adequate notice: maintaining documentation that the parent or guardian of 
each pupil received written notification of the HSEE. 

Determining English language skills: determining whether English-learning pupils possess 
sufficient English language skills at the time of the HSEE to be assessed with the HSEE. 

HSEE administration: administration of the HSEE, on designated dates to specified pupils, 
excluding a teacher's time administering the HSEE. 

Test securitylcheating: maintaining test security. 

Reporting data to the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI): providing specific HSEE 
data on each pupil to the SPI or independent evaluators or the publisher. 

The Commission denied any remaining alleged costs or activities, as identified on Attachment A, 
because they do not impose a new program or higher level of service, and do not impose costs 
mandated by the state. 
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11. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 

Any "school district" as defined in Government Code section 175 19, except for community 
colleges, which incurs increased costs as a direct result of this reimbursable state-mandated 
program is eligible to claim reimbursement of those costs. Charter schools are not eligible 
claimants. 

111. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 

Government Code section 17557 states that a test claim must be submitted on or before June 30 
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year. The test claim for this 
mandate was filed on January 25, 200 1. Therefore, the costs incurred for compliance with 
Statutes of 1999x, Chapter 1 and Statutes of 1999, Chapter 135 are eligible for reimbursement on 
or after July 1, 2000. 

Actual costs for one fiscal year should be included in each claim. Estimated costs for the 
subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable. Pursuant to Government 
Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(2), all claims for reimbursement of initial fiscal year costs 
shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming 
instructions. 

If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations. 
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify (or declare) under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct," 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5. 
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for the reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

A. Adequate notice: Notifying parents of transfer students who enroll after the first 
semester or quarter of the regular school term that, commencing with the 2003-04 school 
year, and each school year thereafter, each pupil completing 12'" grade will be required to 
successfully pass the HSEE. The notification shall include, at a minimum, the date of the 

Parameters and Guidelines 
High School Exit Examinalion (00-TC-06) 



HSEE, the requirements for passing the HSEE, the consequences of not passing the 
HSEE, and that passing the HSEE is a condition of graduation (Ed. Code, 5 60850, subds. 
(e)(l) & (f)(l)). Reimbursement is provided for notices delivered by the student or by 
U.S. Mail. 

B. Documentation of adequate notice: Maintaining documentation that the parent or 
guardian of each pupil received written notification of the HSEE. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
5 1208.) Documentation may include a written copy of the notice or a record of mailing 
the notice. 

C. Determining English language skills: Determining whether English-learning pupils1 
possess sufficient English language skills at the time of the HSEE to be assessed2 with 
the HSEE (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1217.) 

D. HSEE administration: Administration of the HSEE on SPI designated dates to all 
pupils in grade 10 beginning in the 2001-2002 school year, and subsequent 
administrations for students who do not pass until each section of the HSEE has been 
passed, and administration of the HSEE on SPI designated dates to pupils in grade 9 only 
in the 2000-2001 school year who wish to take the HSEE (Ed. Code, 5 6085 1, subd. (a).). 

A teacher's time administering the HSEE during the school day is not reimbursable for 
any of the following activities. Administration is limited to the following activities 
specified in the regulations: 

1. Training a test examiner either by a test site or district coordinator as provided in 
the test publisher's manual (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, $5 1200, subd. (g) and 1210, 
subd. (c)(3)). 

2. Allowing pupils to have additional time to complete the HSEE within the test 
security limits provided in section 121 1, but only if additional time is not 
specified in the pupil's Individual Education Program (IEP) (5 1215, subd. (a)(l)). 

3. Accurately identifying eligible pupils who take the HSEE by school personnel at 
the test site through the use of photo-identification, positive recognition by the 
test examiner, or some equivalent means of identification. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
5 1203.) 

4. Maintaining a record of all pupils who participate in each test cycle of the HSEE, 
including the date each section was offered, the name and grade level of each 
pupil who took each section, and whether each pupil passed or did not pass the 
section or sections of the HSEE taken. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1205.) 

5 .  Maintaining in each pupil's permanent record and entering in it prior to the 
subsequent test cycle the following: the date the pupil took each section of the 
HSEE and whether or not the pupil passed each section of the HSEE. (Cal. Code 
Regs., tit. 5, 5 1206.) 

6. Designation by the district superintendent, on or before July 1 of each year, of a 
district employee as the HSEE district coordinator, and notifying the publisher of 

' As defined in Education Code section 435, subdivision (a). 
Criteria are identified in Education Code section 3 13. 
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the HSEE of the identity and contact information of that individual. (Cal. Code 
Regs., tit. 5, 4 1209.) 

7. For the district coordinator and superintendent, within seven days of completion 
of the district testing, to certify to CDE that the district has maintained the 
security and integrity of the exam, collected all data and information as required, 
and returned all test materials, answer documents, and other materials included as 
part of the HSEE in the manner required by the publisher. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
4 1209.) 

8. Designation annually by the district superintendent a HSEE test site coordinator 
for each test site (as defined) from among the employees of the school district 
who is to be available to the HSEE district coordinator to resolve issues that arise 
as a result of administratioil of the HSEE. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 4 1210.) 

9. The HSEE district coordinator's duties listed in section 1209 and referenced 
below. 

District Coordinator duties are: (1) responding to inquiries of the publisher, (2) 
determining district and school HSEE test material needs, (3) overseeing 
acquisition and distribution of the HSEE, (4) maintaining security over the HSEE 
using the procedures in section 12 1 1, (5) overseeing administration of the HSEE 
in accordance with the manuals or other instructions provided by the test 
publisher for administering and returning the test, (6) overseeing collection and 
return of test material and test data to the publisher, (7) assisting the publisher in 
resolving discrepancies in the test information and materials, (8) ensuring all 
exams and materials are received from school test sites no later than the close of 
the school day on the school day following administration of the HSEE, (9) 
ensuring all exams and materials received from school test sites have been placed 
in a secure district location by the end of the day following administration of 
those tests, (1 0) ensuring that all exams and materials are inventoried, packaged, 
and labeled in accordance with instructions from the publisher and ensuring the 
materials are ready for pick-up by the publisher no more than five working days 
following administration of either section in the district, (1 1) ensuring that the 
HSEE and test materials are retained in a secure, locked location in the unopened 
boxes in which they were received from the publisher from the time they are 
received in the district until the time of delivery to the test sites; (12) within seven 
days of completion of the district testing, certifying with the Superintendent to 
CDE that the district has maintained the security and integrity of the exam, 
collected all data and information as required, and returned all test materials, 
answer documents, and other materials included as part of the HSEE in the 
manner required by the publisher. 

10. The HSEE test site coordinator's duties listed in section 12 10 and referenced 
below. This individual is to be available to the HSEE district coordinator to 
resolve issues that arise as a result of administration of the HSEE. 

Test site coordinator's duties are: (1) determining site examination and test 
material needs; (2) arranging for test administration at the site; (3) training the test 
examiner(s) as provided in the test publisher's manual; (4) completing the Test 
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Security Agreement and Test Security Affidavit prior to the receipt of test 
materials; (5) overseeing test security requirements, including collecting and 
filing all Test Security Affidavit forms from the test examiners and other site 
personnel involved with testing; (6) maintaining security over the examination 
and test data as required by section 12 1 1 ; (7) overseeing the acquisition of 
examinations from the school district and the distribution of examinations to the 
test examiner(s); (8) overseeing the administration of the HSEE to eligible pupils 
at the test site; (9) overseeing the collection and return of all testing materials to 
the HSEE district coordinator no later than the close of the school day on the 
school day following administration of the high school exit examination; (10) 
assisting the HSEE district coordinator and the test publisher in the resolution of 
any discrepancies between the number of examinations received from the HSEE 
district coordinator and the number of examinations collected for return to the 
HSEE district coordinator; (1 1) overseeing the collection of all pupil data as 
required to comply with sections 1205, 1206 and 1207 of the title 5 regulations; 
(12) within three (3) working days of completion of site testing, certifying with 
the principal to the HSEE district coordinator that the test site has maintained the 
security and integrity of the examination, collected all data and information as 
required, and returned all test materials, answer documents, and other materials 
included as part of the HSEE in the manner and as otherwise required by the 
publisher. The principal's activities may or may not be reimbursable, depending 
on whether the principal is acting as an HSEE district or test-site coordinator or 
test examiner. 

11. Delivery of HSEE booklets to the school test site no more than two working days 
before the test is to be administered. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1212.) This 
activity was repealed on May 19,2004, therefore this activity is not 
reimbursable after May 18,2004. 

E. Test securitylcheating: Doing the following to maintain security: 

1. For HSEE test site coordinators to ensure that strict supervision is maintained 
over each pupil being administered the HSEE, both while in the testing room and 
during any breaks (5 12 10, subd. (c)(7)(B)). 

2. Limiting access to the HSEE to pupils taking it and employees responsible for its 
administration (5 12 1 1, subd. (a)). 

3. Having all HSEE district and test site coordinators sign the HSEE Test Security 
Agreement set forth in subdivision (b) of section 121 1.5 of the title 5 regulations. 
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1210, subd. (c)(5).) 

4. Abiding by the Test Security Agreement by limiting access to persons in the 
district with a responsible, professional interest in the test's security. The 
Agreement also requires the coordinator to keep on file the names of persons 
having access to exam and test materials, and who are required to sign the HSEE 
Test Security Affidavit, and requires coordinators to keep the tests and test 
materials in a secure, locked location, limiting access to those responsible for test 
security, except on actual testing dates. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1210 (c)(5), 

121 1, subd. (a), 5 121 1.5 (b)(4).) 
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5. HSEE test site coordinators deliver the exams and test materials only to those 
actually administering the exam on the date of testing and only on execution of 
the HSEE Test Security Affidavit (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1210, subd. 
(c)(7)(A)). 

6. For persons with access to the HSEE (including test site coordinators and 
testexaminers) to acknowledge the limited purpose of their access to the test by 
signing the HSEE Test Security Affidavit set forth in subdivision (g). (Cal. Code 
Regs., tit. 5, 9 121 1.5, subd. (c).) 

7. HSEE district and test site coordinators control of inventory and use of 
appropriate inventory control forms to monitor and track test inventory. (Cal. 
Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 121 1 subd. (b).) 

8. Being responsible for the security of the test materials delivered to the district 
until the materials have been inventoried, accounted for, and delivered to the 
common or private carrier designated by the publisher. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 
12 1 1, subd. (c).) 

9. Providing secure transportation within the district for test materials once they 
have been delivered to the district. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 121 1, subd. (d).) 

10. Not scoring the test for any pupil found to have cheated or assisted others in 
cheating, or who has compromised the security of the HSEE, and notifying each 
eligible pupil before administration of the HSEE of these consequences of 
cheating. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 5 1220.) 

F. Reporting data to the SPI: Providing HSEE data to the SPI or independent evaluators 
or the publisher is reimbursable. Specifically, providing the following information on 
each pupil tested: (1) date of birth, (2) grade level, (3) gender, (4) language fluency and 
home language, (5) special program participation, (6) participation in fiee or reduced 
priced meals, (7) enrolled in a school that qualifies for assistance under Title 1 of the 
Improving America's School Act of 1994, (8) testing accommodations, (9) handicapping 
condition or disability, (10) ethnicity, (1 1) district mobility, (12) parent education, (13) 
post-high school plans. 
(5 1207); and reporting to the CDE the number of examinations for each test cycle within 
10 working days of completion of each test cycle in the school district, and for the district 
superintendent to certify the accuracy of this information submitted to CDE 
(5 1207). 

The regulation (5 1207) was amended in May 2004 and August 2005 to add the following 
data that must be submitted to the state (which are not reimbursable under these 
parameters and guidelines): (1) pupil's full name; (2) date of English proficiency 
reclassification; (3) if R-FEP pupil scored proficient or above on the California English- 
Language Arts Standards Test three (3) times since reclassification; (4) use of 
modifications during the exam [accommodations are reimbursed]; (5) participation in 
California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA); (6) school and district CBEDS 
enrollment; (7 district and county of residence for students with disabilities; (8) 
California School Information Services (CSIS) Student Number, once assigned. 
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V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IVY Reimbursable Activities, of this document. Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV. Additionally, each 
reimbursable claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities. The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1. Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours). Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2. Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3. Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities. Attach a copy of the contract to the claim. If the contractor bills for time and 
materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged. If the 
contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all 
costs for those services. 

4. Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities. The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5. Travel 

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities. 
Include the date of travel, destination point, the specific reimbursable activity requiring 
travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the 
rules of the local jurisdiction. Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost 
element A. 1, Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

6. Training 

Report the cost of training an employee to perform the reimbursable activities, as 
specified in Section IV of this document. Report the name and job classification of each 
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employee preparing for, attending, and/or conducting training necessary to implement the 
reimbursable activities. Provide the title, subject, and purpose (related to the mandate of 
the training session), dates attended, and location. If the training encompasses subjects 
broader than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion can be claimed. Report 
employee training time for each applicable reimbursable activity according to the rules of 
cost element A. 1, Salaries and Benefits, and A.2, Materials and Supplies. Report the cost 
of consultants who conduct the training according to the rules of cost element A.3, 
Contracted Services. 

B. Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes. These costs 
benefit more than one cost objective and cannot be readily identified with a particular final cost 
objective without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. After direct costs have been 
determined and assigned to other activities, as appropriate, indirect costs are those remaining to 
be allocated to benefited cost objectives. A cost may not be allocated as an indirect cost if any 
other cost incurred for the same purpose, in like circumstances, has been claimed as a direct cost. 

Indirect costs include: (a) the indirect costs originating in each department or agency of the 
governmental unit carrying out state mandated programs, and (b) the costs of central 
governmental services distributed through the central service cost allocation plan and not 
otherwise treated as direct costs. 

School districts must use the 5-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate 
provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. 

County offices of education must use the 5-580 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive 
indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. 

VI. RECORD RETENTION 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter3 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the State Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual 
reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are 
appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which 
the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the 
date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two 
years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documentation used to support the 
reimbursable activities, as described in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to 
audit. If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same 
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs 
claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including, but not limited 
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds shall be identified and deducted 
from this claim. 

This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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Reimbursement shall be offset by funding provided in the State Budget for the HSEE Program. 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER'S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (c), the Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement no later than 60 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. The claiming instructions shall be 
derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 1756 1, subdivision (d)(2), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute notice of the right of local agencies and schools districts to file 
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 1757 1. If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission. 

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 

The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual 
basis for the parameters and guidelines. The support for the legal and factual findings is found in 
the administrative record for the test claim. The administrative record, including the Statement 
of Decision, is on file with the Commission. 

Parameters and Guidelines 
High School Exit Examination (00-TC-06) 



ATTACHMENT A 

The Commission found that the following activities are not reimbursable. (See Statement of 
Decision adopted on March 25, 2004.) 

1. Duties of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (Ed. Code, 5  60850, subds. (a), (b), (d), 
(e)(2), (e)(3), (e)(4), (h)). 

2. Field testing of the HSEE (Ed. Code, 5 60850, subd. (c)). 

3. Providing HSEE results to all pupils. 

4. Administering the HSEE to adult students. 

5. Restructuring academic offerings (Ed. Code, 5  60853, subds. (b)(c)). 

6. Using test proctors to administer the HSEE (Cal. Code Regs, tit.5, 5  1200, subd. (i)). 

7. Permissive accommodations (Cal. Code Regs., tit., 5, $ 5  121 6, subd. (d), 121 8 & 1219). 

8. Federally mandated accommodations (Cal. Code Regs, tit. 5, $ 5  121 5.5 & 121 6; 
Ed. Code, 5  60850, subd (g).) 

9. A teacher's time in administering the examination. 

10. Supplemental instruction (Ed. Code, $ 5  60851, subd. (f) & 60853, subd. (a)). 

11. Evaluations of the HSEE by the SPI (Ed. Code, 5  60855). 

Parameters and Guidelines 
High School Exit Examination (00-TC-06) 



State Controller’s Office              School Mandated Cost Manual 
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HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM

(19) Program Number 00268 

(20) Date Filed 

(21) LRS Input 
268

 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. (f)  

County of Location   

 
(23) FORM 1, (04) B. (f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box   

 

Suite 

 
(24) FORM 1, (04) C. (f)  

City 

 

State 

 

Zip Code 

 
(25) FORM 1, (04) D. (f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) E. (f)  

 
(03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) F. (f)  

 
(04) (10) Combined             (28) FORM 1, (06)  

 
(05) (11) Amended              (29) FORM 1, (07)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the 
school district or county office of education to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under 
penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, for reimbursement 
of costs claimed herein; claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program; and claimed 
amounts do not include charter school costs, either directly or through a third party.  All offsetting revenues and reimbursements set 
forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently 
maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 

  
Date Signed  

 Telephone Number  

 

 

Email Address  

 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory   

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number  

 Email Address  

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer 
Telephone Number  

Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

268 
HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown in the attached Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed 
$1,000; minimum claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions.  Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or 
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by 
a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as 
follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) A. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A., column (f). Enter the information on the same line but in 
the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be 
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data block will 
expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, date signed, telephone number and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original 
signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

268 

HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 

(01) Claimant (02)        Fiscal Year

    

(03) Leave blank 

 
 
 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04) Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries and 
Benefits 

Materials and
Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel and 
Training 

Total 

A. Adequate Notice  
      

B. Documentation of 
Adequate Notice 

     
 
 

C. Determination of English 
Language Skills 

      

D. HSEE Administration       

E. Test Security       

F. Reporting Data to the SPI        

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 
 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]  %l

(07) Total Indirect Costs 
 

[Line (05)(f) - line (05)(d) - $                         ] x line (06)  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 
 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20___/20___ 
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PROGRAM 

268 

HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 

(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Leave blank. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (e) in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Enter the indirect cost rate from the California Department of Education approved indirect cost rate 
for the year the funds are expended. 

(07)  From the Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), deduct Total Fixed Assets, line (05)(d), and any other item 
excluded from indirect cost distribution base in accordance with CSAM Procedure 915. Enter zero if 
there are no exclusions. Multiply the result by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), 
and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward 
to Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 
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PROGRAM 

268 
HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

 20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

  A. Adequate Notice  D. HSEE Administration 

  B. Documentation of Adequate Notice  E. Test Security 

  C. Determination of English Language Skills  F. Reporting Data to the SPI 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed, 

and Description of Expenses 

Hourly 
Rate 

or 
Unit Cost 

Hours 
Worked 

or 
Quantity 

Salaries 
and 

Benefits 

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed  
Assets  

Travel 
and 

Training 

        

(05)  Total Subtotal Page: ____of____      
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PROGRAM 

268 
HIGH SCHOOL EXIT EXAMINATION 

ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detail 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief 
description of the activities performed, productive hourly rates, actual time spent by each employee, 
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, fixed assets, and travel and training expenses. The 
descriptions required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of 
activities or items being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by 
the claimant for a period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, 
whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was 
filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will be three years from the date of initial payment of 
the claim. Such documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns Submit these 
supporting 
documents 

with the claim(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

Salaries 
 
 

and 

Employee 
Name and Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked

     

Benefits 

 
 

Activities Benefit 
Rate 

 

Benefits = 
Benefit Rate 

x 
Salaries 

     

Materials 
and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

 

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

 
Dates of 
Service 

  

Cost = 
Hourly Rate 

x 
Hours Worked

  
Copy of 

Contract and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

 

Equipment ID 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used 

   

Cost = 
Unit Cost 

x 
Quantity Used 

 Invoices 

 
Travel 

  
 
 

and  

Purpose of 
Travel 

 

Name and Title 
 

Departure and  
Return Date 

Per Diem Rate 
 

Mileage Rate 
 

Transportation 
Cost 

Days 
 

Miles 
 

Transportation 
Mode 

    

Rate x Days
 

or Miles = 
 

 Total 
Transportation 

Cost 

 

Training 

Employee 
Name and Title 

 

Name of Class 

 
Dates 

Attended 
    

Registration 
Fee 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h), and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h), to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e), in the appropriate row. 

 


	268 Cover Letter
	268 HSEE P's & G's
	268 FAM-27
	268 Form-1
	268 Form-2



