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Introduction 
 

The County Tax Sale Procedural Manual, Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales, is the second of a two volume manual 

(Volume I: Chapter 7 Tax Sales) produced by the State Controller’s Office, Division of Accounting and Reporting, 

Property Tax Standards Unit. This volume provides comprehensive instructions and recommendations on how to 

prepare, conduct, and complete a Chapter 8 Tax Sale outlined in the California Revenue and Taxation Code. 

  

Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales, outlines the procedures necessary to conduct an agreement sale within the 

statutory guidelines.   

 

All statutory references cited are from the Revenue and Taxation Code, unless otherwise noted. 

 

The State Controller's Office forms referred to within this manual are samples that contain all of the required 

information pursuant to statute. The county tax collector’s office may use the sample forms or they may create 

their own forms.  Forms used should contain all information required by statute. 

 

NOTICE:  This publication is provided by the State Controller's Office, Property Tax Standards Unit, as a general 

resource for California’s county tax collectors. Processes and forms are recommended to assist the counties in 

performing their duties under the law. This publication is written primarily for use by county tax collectors and 

does not constitute legal advice.  This publication has been reviewed by The Committee on County Tax 

Collecting Procedures and members of the California Association of Treasurer Tax Collectors. 
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Section 1: Agreement Sale Overview 
 

The material in this volume is intended to provide step-by-step recommendations on the procedures and 
processes necessary to properly conduct an agreement sale.  
 
The agreement sale is designed to allow eligible taxing agencies or nonprofit organizations the opportunity to 
purchase tax defaulted property for the purpose of public benefit and/or to offset the tax owed to them by utilizing 
some other characteristic of the property for financial compensation. 
 
As a completed agreement sale deprives a person of property ownership, specific procedural requirements have 
been added to statute to ensure that individuals are afforded consistent and appropriate opportunities to retain 
their property.  Statue also gives counties the authority to initiate responsive measures should property owners 
fail to meet their property tax obligations. 
 
Below is a summary of the general logistics concerning the sale of a property that has become tax defaulted: 

 

• When a property owner fails to pay his or her property tax by the final due date and it becomes tax-

delinquent, the tax collector sends the property owner, or assessee, a notice of impending default, 

followed by a declaration of default if the delinquency is not satisfied. 

 The declaration of default opens a waiting period, during which the defaulted taxes, penalties, and costs 

accumulate until redeemed.  At the end of the waiting period, if the taxes remain unpaid, the tax 

collector has the power to sell the property. 

 Length of the waiting period will depend on the property type. 

 

Property Type Waiting Period 

Residential or Farmland 5 years 

Nonresidential Commercial 3 years 
 

 Before the sale, the tax collector is required to notify the assessee and all parties of interest, by certified 

mail, of the tax collector's power and intent to sell the property for nonpayment of taxes. The property 

must meet specific conditions to qualify for sale at an auction. 

 

Waiting period exceptions: If a county board of supervisors has, by resolution or ordinance, opted out of the 

three-year provisions for commercial property, then the waiting period is five years. Property also may be 

eligible for sale after three years if a nuisance abatement lien has been recorded against the property, or if a 

qualified public agency or nonprofit organization has identified a property for low-income housing and has sent 

a completed application to the county. 

 

Only after all of the statutory requirements are met, and not less than 45 days nor more than 120 days have 

elapsed since the mailing of the notice by certified mail, can the tax collector exercise his or her authority to sell 

the property. 
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Upon completion of the sale, the tax collector must file reports with the county recorder, county treasurer, and 

the assessor to address the transfer of title and the distribution of sale proceeds.  The tax collector also must be 

prepared to submit, upon request, a report to the State Controller’s Office on the disposition of all properties 

(§3691.6).  

 

Additionally, within the first year following the date of the execution of the tax deed to the purchaser, the tax 

collector must respond to challenges concerning the validity of the sale and accept excess proceeds claims.  

 

An action to overturn a sale based on alleged invalidity or irregularity of any proceedings may be commenced in 

court only if both of the following are satisfied (§3725): 

 

• The person commencing the proceeding has first petitioned the board of supervisors pursuant to §3731 

within one year of the date of the execution of the tax collector’s deed; and 

• The proceeding is commenced within one year of the date on which the board of supervisors 

determines that a tax deed sold under this part should not be rescinded pursuant to §3731. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3691.6.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3725.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3731.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3731.
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Section 2: Significant Factors Timeline 

The timeframes for each of the significant factors are given in ranges rather than in fixed increments.  For many 

significant factors, the timeframes are suggested upper and lower cutoff points from which certain tasks should 

begin.  For the significant factors that are in bold typeface and followed by an asterisk, the latter cutoff point is 

the statutory deadline to complete the task, rather than a suggested time to begin. 

Several requirements dictate when the actual sale may occur, and each of these requirements is contingent upon 

a block of tasks being completed, therefore the significant factors are divided into three separate sections: Pre-

Sale Authorization from the Board of Supervisors and the State Controller, Statutory Requirements for Processing 

the Sale, and Post-Sale Statutory Requirements. 

Pre-Sale Authorization from the Board of Supervisors and the State Controller 

Review the Purchase Application 35 - 20 days prior to submitting the request 
for the State Controller's authorization 

Prepare the Request for Approval 25 - 15 days prior to submitting the request 
from the Board of Supervisors for the State Controller's authorization 

Submit the Approval Request to 20 - 10 days prior to submitting the request 
the Board of Supervisors for the State Controller's authorization 

Prepare the Request for the State 10 - 5 days prior to submitting the request 
Controller's Office Authorization for the State Controller's authorization 

Submit the Request for the State Allow up to 45 days for authorization results 
Controller's Office Authorization from the State Controller. 

Statutory Requirements for Processing the Sale 

Search for Parties of Interest 40 - 30 days prior to mailing the Notice 
to Parties of Interest 

Notify Parties of Interest 45 - 60 days* prior to the effective date of sale 
(§3799)  

Notify the IRS At least 25 days* prior to the 
sale (26 U.S. Code §7425(c)(1)) 

Publish/Post the Notice of Agreement At least 21 days* prior to the effective date of 
sale (§3798) 

Agreement Sale Becomes Effective No sooner than the 21st day* after the first 
publication of the notice of agreement (§3802) 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3799.&lawCode=RTC
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/7425
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3798.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3802.&lawCode=RTC
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Post-Sale Statutory Requirements 

Execute a Deed to the Purchaser Immediately* after the effective time and date 

of the sale (§3804) 

Record the Deed with the County Recorder Immediately* after executing the deed to the 

purchaser (§3804) 

Report to the County Assessor and the Immediately* after the execution of the deed 

County Auditor (§3811) 

Report to the State Controller Within 30 days* after the effective date of the 

sale (§3811) 

Mail the Notice of Excess Proceeds Within 90 days* after the effective date of the 

sale (§4676(b)) 

Publish the Notice of Excess Proceeds Within 90 days* after the effective date of the 

sale (§4676(b)) 

(Only if the last known address of a party of 

interest cannot be obtained) 

Distribute the Excess Proceeds At least 1 year* following the recordation of 

the tax collector’s deed to the purchaser 

(§4675(e))  

*Denotes statutorily required event.  These items are also listed on the State Controller's Office sample form,

Checklist of Mandatory Requirements (Chapter 8) (SCO 8-17.1).  The list will help to track requirements that

should be initiated by the tax collector to lawfully initiate, process, conduct, and complete a Chapter 8 Tax Sale.

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3804.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3804.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3804.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3804.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3804.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3804.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3811.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3811.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-17-1.pdf
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Section 3: Identifying the Purchasing Entity 
 

At any time after the tax collector records a notice of power to sell for a tax defaulted property pursuant to  

§3691, any eligible taxing agency, revenue district, city, special district, or nonprofit organization may submit a 

proposal to purchase the property (§3773).  As the Chapter 8 Sale is initiated by an outside agency, the 

scheduling of such a sale is not predictable.  However, once a purchase proposal is received, there is a well 

defined schedule that should be followed, with certain tasks and related timelines dictated by statute. 

 

Upon receipt of a purchase proposal, identify the type of entity. 

 

 Public Agency (includes the State, counties, cities, taxing agencies, revenue districts, special districts, 

and other state agencies). 

 Nonprofit Organization (must be an entity that includes among its bylaws an express purpose of 

acquiring single-family or multifamily dwellings for rehabilitation and sale or rent to low-income 

persons, or for other use to serve low-income persons; vacant land for the purpose of constructing 

residential dwellings for subsequent sale or rent to low-income persons, or for other use to serve 

low-income persons, or for dedication of that vacant land to public use (§3772.5)). 

 

If the entity is a public agency, proceed to Section 4: Public Agency Purchase Eligibility Review.  If the entity is a 

nonprofit organization, proceed to Section 6: Nonprofit Organization Purchase Eligibility Review. 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3773.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 4: Public Agency Purchase Eligibility Review 
 

The State, taxing agencies, revenue districts, and special districts are eligible to acquire tax defaulted property 

without taking part in a public auction. They also may request that the tax collector withdraw property that is 

currently scheduled for public auction if the agency provides compelling evidence that the tax defaulted 

property is or may be needed for public use (§3695.4).  

 

Purchasing Scenarios 
 

Step 1: Determine the procedure by which the purchase is being proposed.  A public agency may apply to 

purchase properties as follows: 

 

 Submit a written application to purchase a property that is currently in tax default pursuant to §3691 

but not yet approved for any other tax sale, see State Controller's Office sample form Application to 

Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 8-16).  If the application to purchase the property follows this 

scenario, proceed to subsection Qualifications and Conditions of Sale to a Public Agency. 

 Submit a written application to purchase a property, along with an objection to the sale of that property 

if it is currently approved for public auction or sealed bid sale, see State Controller's Office sample form 

Application to Purchase Tax Defaulted (SCO 8-16).  If the application to purchase the property follows 

this scenario, determine when the application was filed with the tax collector’s office.  If the purchase 

application was filed before the date of the first published or posted notice of sale, proceed to 

subsection Qualifications and Conditions of Sale to a Public Agency.  If the purchase application was 

filed after the date of the first published or posted notice of sale, stop the review and return the 

application to the agency.  Inform the agency that objections and agreement sale purchase proposals 

are not valid if they are filed after the date of the first published or posted notice of public auction or 

sealed bid sale. 

 

Qualifications and Conditions of Sale to a Public Agency 
 

Step 1: Determine whether the type of public agency and the conditions for the purchase match any of the 

following categories: 

 

 Taxing Agency that is not also a Revenue District – The State of California, the county, or any 

district that assesses property for taxation purposes and levies taxes or assessments on the assessed 

property is included in this classification (§121).  A taxing agency that is not also a revenue district 

may acquire tax defaulted property if it needs the property for a public purpose.  A taxing agency 

that assesses and collects its own taxes may enter into a pro rata agreement with the county for the 

purpose of property resale if that agency has been owed delinquent taxes or assessments for at 

least two years prior to the date of the agreement (§3695, §3791). 

 Taxing Agency that is also a Revenue District – A revenue district is every district for which taxes 

are assessed, levied, and collected by county officers.  A taxing agency that is also a revenue district 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.4.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=121.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3791.&lawCode=RTC
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may acquire tax defaulted property if it needs the property for a public purpose.  A city is considered 

a taxing agency that is also a revenue district (§122, §3695.4). 

 Special Districts – "District" or "special district" means an agency of the state, formed pursuant to 

general law or special act, for the local performance of governmental or proprietary functions within 

limited boundaries (Government Code §56036).  Special districts may be eligible to purchase 

property, but may have jurisdictional boundaries to consider. The county’s Local Agency Formation 

Commission (LAFCo) should have documentation related to the jurisdiction of a special district, as 

well as whether a given agency fits into this category. 

 

Step 2: After determining the type of public agency and whether or not it meets the eligibility requirements 

outlined in this subsection, locate the property description in the agreement proposal and proceed to 

Property Description. 

 

Note:  If the boundaries of the special district do not include, or are not expanded to include the property, the 

taxes will not be exempt and the purchaser will have to pay taxes to the jurisdiction in which the property is 

located. 

 

Note:  Consider consulting county counsel as an additional measure to verify whether a public agency is 

qualified to make the purchase. 

 

Property Description 
 

A description of the property must be included with the purchase proposal.   

 

Existing Property Conditions 
 

Ensure that the property has no existing condition that would disqualify it from being offered at an agreement 

sale.  Appendix V describes conditions that can disqualify a property and explains how to remedy those 

conditions, if possible. 

Step 1: Determine whether one or more of the following conditions exist for each property: 

 

 Bankruptcy – Property files may be flagged with information about bankruptcy proceedings. If the 

files are not flagged or the information is not current, do not conduct any further research on the 

bankruptcy status until the parties of interest search is begun or until notification of a bankruptcy is 

received from the assessee. 

 Unprobated Property – If the file for a particular property contains any returned letters showing 

that the assessee is deceased, follow up with the county public administrator to determine if 

probate of the decedent's estate has begun.  

 Contaminated Property – The State Controller's Office recommends asking the environmental 

health and safety agency to review the list of properties to determine if any are or may be 

contaminated. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=122.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.4.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=56036.&lawCode=GOV
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 Damaged Property – If a property has sustained damage, determine whether the cause was related 

to a county, state, or federally declared disaster.  The county may have files or records containing 

this information, including dates and locations.  If not, the information may be obtained by calling 

the California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) at (916) 845-8510. The Cal OES website address 

is www.caloes.ca.gov. 

 Cemetery Property – If the property is a known cemetery, determine whether it falls under the 

requirements of Health and Safety Code §8585.  Information may be obtained by contacting the 

Department of Consumer Affairs, Cemetery and Funeral Bureau at (916) 574-7870.  The Department 

of Consumer Affair’s website address is www.cfb.ca.gov.  

 

Note:  A cemetery under an historical society’s jurisdiction is exempted from any requirements under Health 

and Safety Code §8585. 

 

Step 2: If any of the conditions in step 1 apply, proceed according to the corresponding instruction. 

 

 Bankruptcy – If the assessee has filed bankruptcy proceedings, then the property cannot be sold.  

However, an opportunity may exist to remedy the situation before the date of sale; maintain 

compliance with 11 U.S. Code §362 and seek guidance from county counsel (See Appendix II for 

more information). 

 Unprobated Property – Properties for which the assessee is deceased and no probate has 

commenced cannot be sold.  However, an opportunity may exist to remedy the situation before the 

date of sale (see Appendix II for more information). 

 Contaminated Property – Any properties that are on the Superfund list should be removed from the 

sale.  Contaminated properties not on the Superfund list may be offered for sale, but information 

about the contamination should be disclosed to prospective buyers.  The tax collector's office may 

have a file containing Superfund list information for the county.  If there are no files to refer to, 

contact the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) at (800) 728-6942.  The DTSC website 

address is:  www.dtsc.ca.gov/sitecleanup.   

 Damaged Property – If a tax defaulted property has sustained damage due to a local, state, or 

federally designated disaster, the default status may be tolled until five years have elapsed from the 

date the damage to the property was incurred.  During this tolled period, the tax collector’s power 

of sale cannot arise, and the property is ineligible for sale (§3691). However, if and when the 

damage is substantially repaired, or after five years from the date of damage, whichever comes first, 

the tolling period ends and the default status resumes.  For questions on the tolling period (see 

Appendix V for calculation method), or for a specific situation, please contact the State Controller’s 

Office, Government Compensation and Property Tax Standards Section, by e-mail at 

propertytax@sco.ca.gov. 

 Cemetery Property – If a property falls with Health and Safety Code §8585  the tax collector must notify 

the cemetery authority who will in turn notify the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau in the Department of 

Consumer Affairs. 

http://www.caloes.ca.gov/
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=8585.&lawCode=HSC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=8585.&lawCode=HSC
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/11/362
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
mailto:propertytax@sco.ca.gov
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=8585.


Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales 

April 2016 Betty T. Yee · California State Controller 10 

Homeowner’s Exemption/Situs 
 

Determine whether the property has a valid homeowner's exemption.  This information is located on the tax 

roll. 

 

Note:  If the homeowner's exemption is not on the tax roll, check the roll to determine whether the mailing 

address for the last tax bill is the same as the situs. 

 

If a property does have a homeowner's exemption or the mailing address and situs are the same, then a 

personal contact visit must be made in addition to mailing a notice to parties of interest. The tax collector or his 

or her agent must make a reasonable effort to contact the owner occupant of the property in person not more 

than 120 days nor less than 10 days prior to the date of the sale (§3704.7(a)). For detailed instructions regarding 

the personal contact visit, refer to Section 13: Notice to Assessee by Personal Contact (Public and Internet 

Auctions) with in the County Tax Sale Procedural Manual, Volume I: Chapter 7 Tax Sales.

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax_tcs_taxguide.html
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Section 5: Public Agency Application Requirements 
 

Eligible public agencies may purchase all or any portion of tax defaulted property subject to the tax collector's 

power to sell, including a right-of-way or other easement. Multiple properties may be consolidated into one 

purchase agreement.  The agreement may provide for either the purchase of, or for an option to purchase, the 

tax defaulted properties.  An option to purchase is limited to a period of three years (§3794). 

 

The public agency should be encouraged to acquire the entire interest in the property if the acquisition of a 

right-of-way or other easement would impair the salability of the remaining portion of the property.  The 

purchaser must submit the executed agreement, including all supporting documents. 

 

Note:  "Executed" means that the signatures and titles of all authorizing officials appear on the agreement.  The 

signatures of all attestants, their respective titles, and the seal of their individual offices must be included. 

 

Purchase Agreement 
 

Outline the conditions of the sale in the purchase agreement for all purchase agreements between eligible 

public agencies and the county board of supervisors.  See State Controller's Office sample form, Agreement to 

Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 8-13). 

 

Note:  Do not use the criteria in State Controller's Office sample form, Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted 

Property (SCO 8-13) for agreement sales with nonprofit organizations.  Refer to Section 6:  Nonprofit 

Organization Purchase Eligibility Review for information on nonprofit agreement sales. 

 

The purchase agreement should contain the following elements: 

 

 Date – Agreement must be dated; 

 Name of the Purchasing Agency – Must be entered on the purchase agreement in the same manner in 

which the agency is to acquire title and the taxing status of the agency must be shown directly after the 

name of the agency; 

 

For example: 

 

o The City of Watsonville, a municipal corporation, as a Taxing Agency; 

o The State of California, acting by and through its Department of General Services, as a Taxing 

Agency; 

o The Sacramento County Flood Control District, as a Revenue District; 

 

 Property Description – Property must be identified by the Assessor's Property Number(s), the default 

number, the fiscal year of default, and either the metes-and-bounds or lot-and-block description;  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3794.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-13.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-13.pdf
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If all of the elements required for the property description will not fit on the agreement, a document 

named Exhibit A may be used to accommodate the description of the property.  See State Controller's 

Office sample form, Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property: Exhibit A (SCO 8-14); 

 Purchase Amount – Determined as follows: 

 

o If the property is currently authorized by the board of supervisors to be sold by a Chapter 7 sale, 

and, therefore, a minimum bid amount has already been established using Chapter 7 procedures, 

the purchase price must be equal to the minimum bid approved and set by the board. Under no 

circumstances may the property be sold for less (§3695). For more information on Chapter 7 

procedures, refer to the County Tax Sale Procedural Manual, Volume I: Chapter 7 Tax Sales; 

o If the property has never been authorized for sale pursuant to Chapter 7, the purchase price may be 

negotiated between the purchaser and the board of supervisors. The tax collector may recommend 

a sale price to the board.  While the price is negotiable, it must not be less than the amount required 

to redeem the property plus costs (§3793.1).  See Appendix V for more information; 

o If the property has already been offered at least once for a Chapter 7 sale but has not sold, and the 

property is not currently authorized for a new Chapter 7 sale, the purchase price may be lowered 

with the approval of the board of supervisors (§3793.1(b)); 

o If the property is being purchased by the State or county, the State Controller and the county board 

of supervisors must agree upon the price (§3775); 

 

 Terms and Conditions – The board of supervisors may set terms and impose conditions regarding the 

conveyance to and use of the property by the acquiring agency;  

 Sale Costs – The board of supervisors may require the purchasing agency to pay for other expenses 

beyond the purchase price of the property;  

 

 These expenses may include, but are not limited to: 

 

o Cost of publication; 

o Cost of a guaranty of title; 

o Cost of proceedings to obtain a clear title to the property; and 

o Expenses incurred in the payment, compromise, or other method of removal of any liens or adverse 

claims against the property. 

 

Note:  When calculating the minimum bid, it is important to remember that the redemption penalties and fees 

portion must be based on the amount due during the month for which the property will be sold 

(§3793.1(d)(2&3)).  If the intended schedule is delayed, the amount would need to be increased accordingly.  

This statutory requirement should be incorporated into the agreement sale contract to avoid any 

misunderstanding should the purchase price need to be adjusted. 

 

Note: When a taxing agency, as defined by §3791, objects to the sale of tax defaulted property, it is not entitled 

to a portion of the distribution of the sale proceeds (§3720).  Ensure that this circumstance is addressed in the 

terms and conditions of the agreement on item 4 of the State Controller's Office sample form, Agreement to 

Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 8-13).  

http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-14.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax_tcs_taxguide.html
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3775.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3791.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3720.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-13.pdf
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Parties to the Agreement 
 

 If the purchaser is the State of California or a county, and the property lies within the boundaries of a 

city, then the city must approve the purchase price (§3775). 

 If the purchaser is a city, then the signatories to the agreement are the governing body of the city, the 

board of supervisors, and the State Controller. 

 If the purchaser is a taxing agency, then the signatories to the agreement are the governing body of the 

taxing agency, the board of supervisors, and the State Controller. 

 If the purchaser is a revenue district, then the signatories to the agreement are the governing body of 

the revenue district, the board of supervisors, and the State Controller. 

 If the purchaser is the State, then the signatories to the agreement are the director of the Department 

of General Services on behalf of the purchasing agency (or the agency itself if authorized by law to 

purchase on its own behalf), the board of supervisors; the State Controller, and the governing body of 

the city in which the property is located, if the property is within the city limits. 

 If the purchaser is a county, then the signatories to the agreement are the board of supervisors or their 

designee on behalf of the purchasing agency within the county (e.g., the county flood control district or 

the parks and recreation district), the board of supervisors, the State Controller, and the governing body 

of the city in which the property is located, if the property is within the city limits. 

 If the purchaser is a special district, then the signatories to the agreement are the governing body of the 

special district, the board of supervisors, the State Controller, and the governing body of the city in 

which the property is located, if the property is within the city limits. 

 

Note:  The facsimile signature of the chairperson of the board of supervisors is acceptable.  A facsimile signature 

has the same authority as an original signature. 

 

Note:  No agreement is valid until it is approved by the State Controller (§3795). 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3775.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 6: Nonprofit Organization Purchase Eligibility 

Review 
 

Nonprofit organizations that meet certain criteria also may purchase property under the provisions of Chapter 8 

of the Revenue and Taxation Code.  A nonprofit organization may purchase property only for the purposes of 

constructing or rehabilitating property to rent or sell to low-income persons, dedicating vacant land for open 

space, or otherwise using the property to serve low-income persons (§3791.4). 

 

Purchasing Scenarios 
 

Step 1: Determine the procedure by which the purchase is being proposed.  A nonprofit organization may apply 

to purchase properties by: 

 

 Submitting an application form to purchase a property, along with an objection to the sale that is 

currently in tax default pursuant to §3691 and has not yet been approved for any other type of tax 

sale.  See State Controller's Office sample form, Application to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 

8-16).  If the application to purchase the property follows this scenario, proceed to the next section 

on Qualifications and Conditions of Sale. 

 Submitting an application form to purchase a property, along with an objection to the sale of that 

property currently approved for public auction or sealed bid sale. See State Controller's Office sample 

form, Application to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 8-16).  If the application to purchase the 

property follows this scenario, proceed to Step 2 

 

Step 2: Determine when the application was submitted to the tax collector’s office. 

 

 If the purchase proposal was filed with the tax collector's office before the date of the first 

published or posted notice of sale, proceed to the next section on Qualifications and Conditions of 

Sale. 

 If the purchase proposal was filed with the tax collectors' office after the date of the first published 

or posted notice of sale, stop the review and return the application to the organization. Inform the 

organization that objections and purchase agreement proposals are not valid if they are filed after 

the date of the first published or posted public auction or sealed bid sale. 

 

Qualifications and Conditions of Sale 
 

Step 1: Determine whether the nonprofit entity is incorporated in the State of California (§3772.5(b)). 

 

Step 2: Verify that the entity is incorporated for the purpose of acquiring single-family dwellings for 

rehabilitation and sale to low-income persons, vacant land for construction of low-income housing, or 

vacant land to be dedicated to public use. 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3791.4.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
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A nonprofit entity incorporated as a church, a general philanthropy organization, or a nonprofit with 

other charitable purposes is qualified to purchase through Chapter 8 proceedings only if its 

incorporation papers include any of the aforementioned purposes. 

 

Step 3: If the nonprofit entity meets both of the criteria in Steps 1 and 2, proceed to Property Description.  If 

the nonprofit entity does not meet the criteria in Steps 1 and 2, then the entity cannot purchase the 

property under the Chapter 8 agreement sale process.  However, the entity may bid on the property at a 

public auction. 

 

Note:  Consult county counsel as an additional measure to verify whether a nonprofit corporation is qualified to 

purchase a property. County counsel may recommend that a qualified nonprofit entity submit additional 

supporting documentation or that additional conditions be made a part of the purchase agreement. 

 

Property Description 
 

A description of the property must be included with the purchase proposal. 

 

Existing Property Conditions 
 

Ensure that the property has no existing conditions that would disqualify it from being sold.  Appendix II 

describes conditions that can disqualify a property from being sold through an agreement sale and explains how 

to remedy those conditions, if possible. 

 

Step 1: Determine whether one or more of the following conditions exist for each property: 

 

 Bankruptcy – Property files may be flagged with information about bankruptcy proceedings. If the 

files are not flagged or the information is not current, do not conduct any further research on the 

bankruptcy status until the parties of interest search is begun or until notification of a bankruptcy is 

received from the assessee. 

 Unprobated Property – If the file for a particular property contains any returned letters showing 

that the assessee is deceased, follow up with the county public administrator to determine if 

probate of the decedent's estate has begun 

 Contaminated Property – Ask the environmental health and safety agency to review the list of 

properties to determine if any are or may be contaminated. 

 Damaged Property – If a property has sustained damage, determine whether the cause was related 

to a county, state, or federally declared disaster.  The county may have files or records containing 

this information, including dates and locations.  If not, the information may be obtained by calling 

the California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES), at (916) 845-8510. The Cal OES website 

address is www.caloes.ca.gov. 

 Cemetery Property – If the property is a known cemetery, determine whether it falls under the 

requirements of Health and Safety Code §8585.  This information may be obtained by contacting the 

Department of Consumer Affairs, Cemetery and Funeral Bureau at (916) 574-7870.  The Department 

of Consumer Affairs’ website address is www.cfb.ca.gov. 

http://www.caloes.ca.gov/
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=8585.&lawCode=HSC
file://///SCONET/Data/DAR/Group/Property%20Tax/PT%20Stds/Active%20files/Publications/Procedural%20Manual/2015%20Committee%20Comments%20Incorporated/Most%20Current%20Documents/www.cfb.ca.gov


Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales 

April 2016 Betty T. Yee · California State Controller 16 

Step 2: If any of the conditions listed in Step 1 exist, proceed to the corresponding instruction. 

 

 Bankruptcy – If the assessee has filed bankruptcy proceedings, the property cannot be sold.  

However, an opportunity may exist to remedy the situation before the date of the sale; maintain 

compliance with 11 U.S. Code §362 and seek guidance from county counsel (See Appendix II for 

more information).   

 Unprobated Property – Properties for which the assessee is deceased and no probate has 

commenced cannot be sold.  However, an opportunity may exist to remedy the situation before the 

date of the sale  (See Appendix II for more information). 

 Contaminated Property – Properties that are on the Superfund list, if any, should be removed from 

the sale.  Contaminated properties not on the Superfund list may be offered for sale, but 

information about the contamination should be disclosed to prospective buyers (See Appendix III for 

more information).  The tax collector's office may have a file containing Superfund list information 

for the county.  If there are no files to refer to, contact the Department of Toxic Substances Control 

(DTSC) at (800) 728-6942.  The DTSC website address is:  www.dtsc.ca.gov/sitecleanup.   

 Damaged Property – If a tax defaulted property has sustained damage due to a local, state, or 

federally designated disaster, the default status may be tolled until five years have elapsed from the 

date the damage to the property was incurred.  During this tolled period, the tax collector’s power 

of sale cannot arise, and the property is ineligible for sale (§3691).  However, if and when the 

damage is substantially repaired, or after five years from the date of damage, whichever comes first, 

the tolling period ends and the default status resumes.  (See Appendix IV for calculation method and 

the power to sell schedule.)  For questions on the tolling period or a specific situation, please 

contact the State Controller’s Office, Government Compensation and Property Tax Standards 

Section, by e-mail at: propertytax@sco.ca.gov. 

 Cemetery Property – If a property falls with Health and Safety Code §8585  the tax collector must notify 

the cemetery authority who will in turn notify the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau in the Department of 

Consumer Affairs.  

Homeowner’s Exemption/Situs 
 

Determine whether the property has a valid homeowner's exemption.  This information is located on the tax 

roll.   

 

Note:  If a homeowner's exemption is not indicated on the tax roll, check the roll to determine whether the 

mailing address for the last tax bill is the same as the situs.   

 

If a property does have a homeowner's exemption or the mailing address and situs are the same, then a 

personal contact visit must be made in addition to mailing a notice to parties of interest. The tax collector or his 

or her agent must make a reasonable effort to contact the owner-occupant of the property in person not more 

than 120 days nor less than 10 days prior to the date of the sale (§3704.7(a)). For detailed instructions regarding 

the personal contact visit, refer to the County Tax Sale Procedural Manual, Volume I: Chapter 7 Tax Sales.

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/11/362
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
mailto:propertytax@sco.ca.gov
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=8585.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
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 Section 7: Nonprofit Organization Application 

Requirements 
 

Eligible nonprofit organizations may purchase all or any portion of residential or vacant tax defaulted property 

subject to the tax collector's power to sell.  It is important to know that the purchasing criteria for a nonprofit 

organization are very different from those for a public agency in a Chapter 8 sale.  

 

The potential purchaser must submit a completed and executed copy of the purchase agreement, with all 

supporting documents.  

 

Note:  "Executed" means that the signatures and titles of all authorizing officials appear on the agreement. The 

signatures of all attestants, their respective titles, and the seal of their individual offices must be included. 

 

Purchase Agreement 
 

Outline the conditions of the sale for all purchase agreements between eligible nonprofit organizations and the 

county board of supervisors.  See State Controller's Office sample form, Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted 

Land (Non Profit) (SCO 8-15).  Do not use the criteria listed on this form for agreement sales with public 

agencies.  Refer to Section 4:  Public Agency Purchase Eligibility Review for information on public agency 

agreement sales.  The purchase agreement should contain the following elements: 

 

 Date – Agreement must be dated; 

 “Substandard Building” Documentation – If the property is going to be acquired for rehabilitation and 

sold or rented as low-income housing, then the purchase agreement must include documentation from 

the local building department certifying that the property is currently substandard, as defined in 

§17920.3 of the California Health and Safety Code (§3772.5(c)); 

 Property Description – The property must be identified by the Assessor's Property Number(s), the 

default number, the fiscal year of default, and either the metes-and-bounds or the lot-and-block 

description.  If all of the elements required for the property description do not fit on the agreement, 

create an exhibit A.  See State Controller's Office sample form, Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted 

Property: Exhibit A (SCO 8-14); 

 Purpose of Acquisition – The purchase agreement must include a signed statement declaring the 

purpose of the acquisition and the subsequent disposition of the property. The property must be used 

for any of the following: vacant land for public use, including preservation of open space; rehabilitation 

or construction of residential dwellings for either sale or rent to low-income persons; or for other use to 

serve low-income persons (§3772.5(b)); 

 Purchase Amount – This is determined by one of the following methods: 

 

o If the property is currently authorized by the board of supervisors or their designee to be sold by a 

Chapter 7 sale and, therefore, a purchase amount has already been established using Chapter 7 

procedures, then the purchase price must be equal to the minimum bid approved and set by the 

board or its designee. Under no circumstances may the property be sold for less (§3695). For more 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-15.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=17920.3.&lawCode=HSC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-14.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.&lawCode=RTC
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information on Chapter 7 procedures, refer to the County Tax Sale Procedural Manual, Volume I: 

Chapter 7 Tax Sales; 

o If the property has never been authorized for sale pursuant to Chapter 7, the purchase price may be 

negotiated between the purchaser and the board of supervisors. The tax collector may recommend 

a sale price to the board. While the price is negotiable, it must not be less than the amount required 

to redeem the property plus costs (§3793.1).  See Appendix V for more information; 

o If the property has already been offered at least once for a Chapter 7 sale but has not sold, and the 

property is not currently authorized for a new Chapter 7 sale, then the purchase price may be 

lowered with the approval of the board of supervisors (§3793.1(b)); 

 

 Terms and Conditions – The board may set terms and impose conditions regarding the conveyance to 

and use of the property by the acquiring nonprofit organization (§3795.5). If the board establishes any 

terms or conditions, they shall include, but are not limited, to the following: 

 

o Project Compliance – Documentation showing consistency and compliance with the jurisdiction’s 

consolidated plan or community development plan. It is recommended that the documentation be 

in the form of a letter or resolution signed by an officer of the local jurisdiction that administers the 

housing plan for the region; and 

o Articles of Incorporation – The purchase agreement must include a copy of the nonprofit 

organization's articles of incorporation, approved by the California Secretary of State, clearly stating 

the purpose of rehabilitating or constructing low-income housing or dedicating vacant land to public 

use. 

 

Other terms or conditions not specifically outlined in statute, but granted to the board under the general 

authority of §3795.5, may include:  

 

 Sale Costs – The board may require the purchasing nonprofit entity to pay for other expenses beyond 

the purchase price of the property.  These expenses may include, but are not limited to: 

 

o Cost of publication; 

o Cost of a guaranty of title; 

o Cost of proceedings to obtain a clear title to the property; and 

o Expenses incurred in the payment, compromise, or other method of removal of any liens or adverse 

claims against the property. 

 

 Project References – The board may ask the nonprofit organization to include a list of successful 

projects and/or references and any other documentation deemed necessary 

 

Note:  When calculating the purchase price, it is important to remember that the redemption penalties and fees 

portion must be based on the amount due during the month for which the property is eventually sold 

(§3793.1(d)(2&3)). Consequently, if the intended schedule is delayed, then the amount would need to be 

increased accordingly.  As such, this statutory requirement and fact should be incorporated into the agreement 

sale contract to avoid any misunderstanding should the purchase price need to be adjusted. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
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Note:  A nonprofit entity that does not meet specifications pursuant to §3772.5(b) is not qualified to purchase 

property through Chapter 8 proceedings. 

 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 8: Requesting Approval from the Board of 

Supervisors 
 

Once the review of the purchase proposal is complete, the next step is to submit a request to approve the 

agreement sale to the county board of supervisors for review.  Prepare a request form, see State Controller's 

Office sample form Request for Approval to Sell Tax Defaulted Property Subject to the Power of Sale (Chapter 8), 

(SCO 8-02.2). 

 

Include in the request package the following items: 

 

 Complete executed copy of the agreement; and 

 All supporting documents. 

 

Note: "Executed" means that the signatures and titles of all authorizing officials appear on the agreement. The 

signatures of all attestants, their respective titles, and the seal of their individual offices must be included. 

 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-02-2.pdf
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Section 9: State Controller’s Authorization 
 

The final step of the agreement sale approval process is to obtain the State Controller's Office authorization, 

pursuant to §3795.  In order to receive State Controller authorization, certain documents must be submitted, 

depending on the type of sale.  

  

Documents required for Chapter 8 Agreement Sales 
 

_____ Notice of Power to Sell (§3691, §3773) 

• One per property 

 

_____ Objection Letter (§3695.4, §3695.5) 

 

_____ Application (SCO 8-16) (§3695.4, §3695.5) 

• List all properties or include as an exhibit or attachment 

• Must be dated prior to the first publication if the property is currently scheduled for a Chapter 7 Tax 

Sale  

 

_____ Agreement (SCO 8-13 or 8-15) (§3795) 

• List all properties or include as an exhibit or attachment 

• Must be signed and dated 

 

_____ Chapter 8 Purchase Resolution (§3695) 

• From purchasing entity 

 

_____ County Board of Supervisors Resolution or Minute Order Approving the Sale (§3794.3) 

 

_____ Chapter 7 Tax Sale Resolution (§3694) 

• Only needed if the property is currently scheduled for a Chapter 7 Tax Sale 

 

_____ Publication (§3702) 

• Only needed if the property is currently scheduled for a Chapter 7 Tax Sale 

 

Additional Components for Nonprofit 
 

_____ Articles of Incorporation (§3772.5, §3795.5) 

 

_____ Document listing each property and intended use (§3772.5, §3695.5) 

 

Send the materials to:  California State Controller’s Office 

Division of Accounting and Reporting 

Attn: Property Tax Standards Unit     

    3301 C Street Suite 740 

    Sacramento, CA 95819 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3773.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.4.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.4.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-13.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-15.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3794.3.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3702.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3772.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3695.5.&lawCode=RTC


Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales 

April 2016 Betty T. Yee · California State Controller 22 

Agreement Approved 
 

Once the State Controller's Office receives the Chapter 8 Agreement Sale package, the materials will be 

reviewed for compliance with all applicable statutes.  Upon completion of the review, the State Controller’s 

Office, Property Tax Standards Unit will keep a copy of the agreement package and will send the original back to 

the tax collector’s office, with the following: 

 

 The agreement contract, signed, and affixed with the State Controller's seal; and 

 A notice that the State Controller’s authorization certifies that the agreement has been approved by the 

State Controller and directs the tax collector to publish a notice of the agreement, pursuant to §3796. 

 

For more information on publishing a notice of the agreement, refer to Section 15:  Publishing/Posting Notice 

of Sale.  Before publishing the notice of the sale, all parties of interest must be notified, as well as the IRS if 

there is an IRS lien on the property.  Refer to Section 11:  Searching for Parties of Interest. 

 

Agreement Materials Not Complete 
 

If the State Controller cannot determine that compliance with all relevant statutes has been met based on the 

information provided, then the materials will be returned to the tax collector with a letter outlining the 

additional elements needed.  A new or modified agreement containing the requested materials may be 

resubmitted for authorization review (§3795). 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3796.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3795.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 10: Effective Date of the Sale  
 

The agreement sale becomes effective, by operation of law, no sooner than 5:01 p.m. on the 21st day after the 

date of the first published or posted notice of agreement (§3802).  The right to redeem terminates on the date 

and at the time the agreement becomes effective.  However, if all or any portion of the property is redeemed 

before the agreement becomes effective, the agreement is null as to the property redeemed (§3803). 

 

Note: The recommended period which the purchaser should complete the payment, plus costs, is within 14 days 

after the effective date.  Regardless of the payment date determined in the agreement, if the purchaser fails to 

pay the purchase price within the agreed-upon time, do not execute the deed to the purchaser.  The right of 

redemption is automatically restored to the last assessee or his or her successor in interest. 

 

The board of supervisors may permit a nonprofit organization to purchase property or a property interest by 

way of installment payments (§3793.1(c)). 

 

If the agreement sale involves specific terms or conditions regarding the rehabilitation of the property, the 

board of supervisors may take measures to ensure compliance.  The board may direct the tax collector to 

execute these measures. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3802.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3803.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3793.1.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 11: Searching for Parties of Interest 
(40– 30 days prior to mailing Notice to Parties of Interest) 

 
Once the board of supervisors has approved the tax sale agreement, begin research to identify potential parties 

of interest.  The search may begin prior to receiving the State Controller approval for the agreement.  Do not 

mail the notices until after receiving the State Controller’s written authorization for the sale (§3796). 

 

Note:  Parties of interest are defined as lienholders of record and any persons with title of record to all or any 

portion of the property prior to the recordation of the tax deed to the purchaser (§4675). 

 

The preliminary task consists of researching, for each property, the identities of all individuals or entities 

considered a party of interest, as defined in §4675.  This procedure is usually the most complex and can be the 

most time consuming of the entire tax sale process.  Therefore, the timeframe selected to complete this 

procedure depends on both the number of properties included in the agreement and the method used to 

conduct the research.  The tax collector is required to make a reasonable effort to obtain the names and 

addresses of all parties of interest and then notify those parties of the agreement by certified mail to their last 

known address, if available, no more than 60 days nor less than 45 days before the effective sale date pursuant 

to §3799. 

 

Begin the search for parties of interest by identifying the names and last known addresses of all of the parties of 

interest for each property. One of the following methods or a combination thereof may be used: 

 

 Research Consultant - Hiring a research consultant involves contracting with a company that locates 

lienholders or parties of interest of real property.  Research agency reports tend to be moderately 

expensive, but they provide a comprehensive listing of all parties of interest on record. 

 Title Company - This option involves the purchase of a litigation guarantee, which provides 

information sufficient to determine the parties of interest.  Title company reports can be expensive 

and take some time to generate. 

 In-House Research - Initially, in-house research involves updating existing parties of interest lists or, 

when a list is absent, updating from a point in the past at which all parties of interest were 

definitively known.  Once that date is known, a search is conducted for any updated information 

that may have been recorded about the property from the current year back to the point when the 

initial analysis was done.  The following conditions may favor in-house research over contracting 

out: 

 

o If the property has been offered at a previous tax sale, an extensive list of parties of interest 

may already exist in the file.  Although the list may not be up-to-date, the fact that it exists may 

justify doing in-house research rather than purchasing another report. 

o If the property has not sold at several previous sales, it may not be prudent to spend additional 

funds on reports for the property; in this case, in-house research may be the best alternative. 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3796.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3799.&lawCode=RTC
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Note:  Although hiring a research consultant and doing a title search can save a substantial amount of research 

time, in each instance in which a property does not sell, the money spent for the information is not immediately 

recouped.  The cost can be added to the redemption amount, but the county may not collect the money until 

the property is redeemed or purchased through a tax sale.  

 



Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales 

April 2016 Betty T. Yee · California State Controller 26 

Section 12: Notice to Parties of Interest 
(60 – 45 days prior to effective date of sale) 

 
Once a list of parties of interest has been compiled for each property, mail the notice of agreement to the last 

assessee and each party's last known address. 

 

Send  the notice of agreement to the assessee and other parties of interest by registered mail not more than 60 

days nor less than 45 days before the effective date of sale(§3799).  It is not necessary to mail a copy of the 

notice to any party who files a written waiver of notice with the tax collector’s office (§3799). See State 

Controller's Office sample form, Notice of Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (figure 9.7a or 9.7b). 

 

Note:  Although the parties of interest search may begin before receiving approval for the agreement from the 

State Controller, the notices cannot be mailed until after written authorization from the State Controller is 

received (§3796). 

 

Step 1: Prepare the transmittal form to include with a copy of the notice of agreement.  See State Controller's 

Office sample form, Notice of Sale of Tax Defaulted Property to Parties of Interest (Chapter 8) (SCO 8-

05.13). 

 

Note: The notice of agreement must contain information pursuant to §3797. See Section 15: Publishing/Posting 

Notice of Sale 

 

Step 2. Determine whether an IRS lien exists on any property. 

 

 If a property with an attached IRS lien exists, proceed to Section 14:  Notice to the IRS. 

 If no property with an IRS lien exists, proceed to Section 15:  Publishing/Posting Notice of Sale. 

Mailing Considerations  
 

Do not use an envelope with a requested return date printed on it because, if the notice is returned without 

having been delivered, the sale may be made void (Numitor Gold Mining Co. v. Katzer, 83 Cal. App. 161). 

When an envelope is returned, do not alter or open it; keep it in the property file.  After the sale, it may become 

necessary to show proof that the notice was mailed.  If the envelope is opened or altered in any way, this proof 

may be compromised. 

 

If an envelope is returned showing the assessee as deceased, check the records of the superior court for a 

probate. If the estate is in probate, mail the notice to the executor or administrator of the estate.  If evidence of 

probate cannot be found, withdraw the property from the sale and notify the public administrator.  See 

Appendix II for more information.  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3799.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3799.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3796.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-05-3.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-05-3.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3797.&lawCode=RTC
https://casetext.com/case/numitor-gold-min-co-v-katzer
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Section 13: Notice to Assessee by Personal Contact 
(120 – 10 days prior to sale) 

 
For certain properties, attempt to contact the assessee in person to notify him or her of the impending sale as 

soon as the parties of interest notices are mailed.  Attempting to notify the assessee is required for each 

property having either:  a valid homeowner's exemption on file with the county assessor in the name of the last 

known assessee; or a mailing address for the last tax bill that is the same as the situs. 

 

The tax collector or his or her agent is required to make a reasonable effort to contact the owner/occupant of 

the property in person, not more than 120 days nor less than 10 days prior to the date of the sale (§3704.7(a)). 

 

Note: In most cases, the parties of interest notice will have already been mailed. Contacting the assessee by mail 

does not, however, eliminate the need for a personal contact.  These are two separate notification 

requirements. 

 

Step 1: Make a personal appearance at the property.  A law enforcement agent may accompany the tax 

collector’s representative or serve the notice on the tax collector’s behalf. 

 

Step 2: Whichever method of contact is used, the owner/occupant must be informed of the following: 

 

 That the property will be offered for sale if it is not redeemed (§3704.7(a) (1)); and  

 That redemption rights are afforded to the owner/occupant pursuant to Part 7, commencing with 

§101 (§3704.7(a) (2)). 

 

Step 3: If, after making a reasonable effort, personal contact cannot be made with the assessee, serve a written 

notice (e.g., posting notice on the property) no fewer than five days before the date of the sale 

(§3704.7(b)).  The notice must include a statement requiring the assessee to contact the tax collector's 

office immediately regarding the redemption of the property (§3704.7(b)). 

 

Step 4: Calculate the actual and reasonable cost involved in making the personal contact and, if applicable, 

serving notice, and include that cost in the amount required to redeem the property (§3704.7(c)). 

 

Note: In a number of counties, it is the tax collector’s policy to notify, by personal contact, the owner/occupants 

of each property slated for public auction, regardless of whether a valid homeowner's exemption exists or the 

mailing address is the same as the situs.  No law or statute requires this practice.  Be aware that any cost 

incurred from a personal contact for a property that does not meet the criteria outlined in Chapter 12.5 

(commencing with Section 54985) of Part 1 of Division 2 of Title 5 of the Government Code cannot be added to 

the redemption amount (§3704.7(c)). 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=101.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&division=2.&title=5.&part=1.&chapter=12.5.&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&division=2.&title=5.&part=1.&chapter=12.5.&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 14: Notice to the Internal Revenue Service  
(45 – 25 days prior to sale) 

 
Notification to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for properties with an IRS lien can begin immediately after the 

board of supervisors approves the sale, but it is recommended that notification be to the IRS as close to the 25-

day deadline as possible, to avoid missing any filed liens. 

 

The United States (U.S.) Code, Title 26, Section 7425(c), requires that, whenever an IRS lien is discovered on a 

property subject to a tax sale, the IRS be given notice of that fact before the sale occurs.  The United States has 

the right to redeem from the purchaser, up to 120 days after the date of the sale, any property sold at a tax sale 

that has an IRS lien on it (26 U.S. Code §7425(d)).  If a property has an IRS lien on it, that information should be 

included in the property description announcement prior to the sale. 

 

Step 1: Prepare the notice. It must contain the following information, pursuant to Title 26 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR), Section 301.7425-3: 

 

 The name and address of the person submitting the notice of sale; 

 A copy of each notice of Federal Tax Lien affecting the property to be sold, or the following 

information as shown on each such notice of Federal Tax Lien: 

 

o The IRS office named thereon; 

o The name and address of the taxpayer; 

o The date and place of filing of the notice; 

 

 With respect to the property to be sold, the following information must be included: 

 

o A detailed description, including location, of the property affected by the notice (in the case of 

real property, the street address, city, and State and the legal description contained in the title 

or deed to the property and, if available, a copy of the abstract of title); 

o The date, time, place, and terms of the proposed sale of the property; 

o In the case of a sale of perishable property described in paragraph (c) of CFR, Section  

301.7425-3, a statement of the reasons why the property is believed to be perishable; and 

o The approximate amount of the principal obligation, including interest, secured by the lien 

sought to be enforced and a description of the other expenses (such as legal expenses, selling 

costs, etc.) which may be charged against the sale proceeds. 

 

Step 2: Send the notice by registered mail, certified mail, or personal service no fewer than 25 days prior to the 

date of the sale (26 U.S. Code §7425(c)).  

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/7425
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/7425
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/26/301.7425-3
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/26/301.7425-3
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/7425
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Section 15: Publishing/Posting Notice of Sale 
(Not less than 21 days prior to the sale) 

 
A notice must be published once a week for three successive weeks in a newspaper published in the county 

where the property to be sold is located.  If no newspaper is published in the county seat or in the judicial 

district, a notice may be posted in three public places (§3798).  If a newspaper of general circulation is published 

in both the county seat and the judicial district where the property is located, publication in that paper alone will 

satisfy the notice-of-sale requirements.  Also, if in the judgment of the board of supervisors, any property to be 

sold by public auction will bring at sale less than the cost of the newspaper publication, a notice may be posted 

in three public places rather than published in a newspaper (§3798.1). 

 

Step 1: Determine the publishing or posting dates.  The agreement sale shall become effective no sooner than 

5:01 p.m. on the 21st day after the first publishing or posting date pursuant to §3802.  However, the 

effective sale date must be no more than 60 days and no less than 45 days after the notice to parties of 

interest is mailed.  Therefore, the first notice of sale must be published or posted 24-39 days after the 

notice to parties of interest is mailed. 

 

Step 2: Prepare the notice of sale.  See State Controller's Office sample forms, Notice of Agreement to Purchase 

Tax Defaulted Property (Purchase by a City) (Figure 9.7a )and Notice of Agreement to Purchase Tax 

Defaulted Property (Purchase by an Entity Other Than a City) (Figure 9.7b) respectively. 

 

Pursuant to §3797 the notice of agreement shall state: 

 

 A description of the property substantially as described in the agreement; 

 The name of the last assessee of the property. To ascertain the name of the last assessee of the tax 
defaulted property, an examination shall be made of the assessment of this property on the last 
equalized roll, or if this property does not appear thereon, the last previous roll on which it was 
assessed; 

 That an agreement for the sale of the property or for an option to purchase it, or both, as the case 
may be, has been made by the board of supervisors of the county with the taxing agency or 
nonprofit organization named in the agreement and has been approved by the State Controller; 

 That a copy of the agreement is on file in the office of the board of supervisors; 

 If the right to redeem the property has not already been terminated, there shall also be a statement 
that unless the property is redeemed before the agreement becomes effective, the right of 
redemption will cease; 

 The date and time that the agreement will become effective; 

 That parties of interest, as defined in §4675, have the right to file a claim with the county for any 
proceeds received by the tax collector under the agreement which are in excess of the liens and 
costs required to be paid from the proceeds; and  

 If excess proceeds result from the agreement, notice will be given to parties of interest pursuant to 

law. 

Note:  Although the amount required to redeem the property is not a required element of the notice to parties 

of interest pursuant to §3797, it is recommended that the tax collector include it.  This will help any party of 

interest determine whether redeeming the property is the best course of action. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3798.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3798.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3802.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/scofig9pt7a.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/scofig9pt7b.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3797.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3797.
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Step 3: File an affidavit in the tax collector's office showing that notice has been given as prescribed (§3801).  If 

the notice was published, the affidavit is provided by the newspaper.  This affidavit is not recorded if the 

notice was posted.  Affidavits should be prepared by the tax collector.  See State Controller's Office 

sample form, Affidavit of Posting Notice of (Public Auction/Sealed Bid) Sale (SCO 9-02).

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3801.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco9-02.pdf
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Section 16: Redemptions and Other Issues Prior to the 

Sale 
 

Last minute variables can affect a property’s eligibility to be sold by agreement, such as whole or partial 

redemption or bankruptcy of the assessee.  This section outlines these variables and the methods for addressing 

each. 

 

Redemption 
 

The right to redeem the property terminates at the date and time the agreement becomes effective (§3803).  If 

the property or any portion of the property is redeemed before the agreement becomes effective, the 

agreement is null as to the property redeemed (§3803). 

 

If a payment for redemption is received by mail and the postmark date on the envelope is the same as or prior 

to the date the agreement becomes effective, payment must be accepted as a valid redemption and the sale of 

the property redeemed is null (§2512, §3803).   

 

Note:  Last-minute redemption payments for properties under a Chapter 7 sale are handled differently; the 

payment must be physically received in the tax collector’s office before the date of the sale. 

 

If the redemption payment is made 90 days or less prior to the sale date, add $150 to the total amount to 

redeem (§4112(a) (3)).  If personal contact was attempted or a written notice was served, calculate the cost of 

one or both actions and add that cost to the total amount to redeem (§3704.7(c)). 

 

Properties Withdrawn for Any Other Reason 
 

The tax collector may withdraw a property from a tax sale, with consent of county counsel, if it is deemed to be 

in the best interest of the county to do so (§3698.8). 

 

Injunction Brought Against Tax Sale  
 

An injunction, restraining order, or other legal action cannot be brought against the county to either prevent or 

enjoin the collection of property taxes sought to be collected (§4807).  However, an injunction can be used to 

stop the county from offering a property at a tax sale. 

 

If an injunction for a particular property is brought against the tax sale, take the following steps: 

 

Step 1: Notify county counsel. 

 
Step 2: If the county counsel is unable to have the injunction or restraining order lifted before the effective sale 

date or if the hearing is within 90 days of the sale, notice must be given to parties of interest of the 
postponement of the sale of the affected property (§3706.1). 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3803.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3803.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=2512.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3803.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4807.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3706.1.&lawCode=RTC


Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales 

April 2016 Betty T. Yee · California State Controller 32 

Note:  Withdraw the property from the sale if it becomes known that the assessee is in bankruptcy. 

 

Other Conditions 
 

Additional factors that may require withdrawing property from the agreement sale are as follows: 

 

 Property is determined not to be subject to tax default, e.g. mobile homes without permanent 

foundation, possessory interests, leasehold estates, and property subject to the conditions listed; 

 Assessee declares bankruptcy; and or 

 Power to sell is cancelled. 
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Section 17: Recording of Deed and Deposit of Proceeds 
 

Once the sale is concluded, a number of follow-up procedures must be completed, including collecting payment, 

title transfer, and deposit of proceeds. 

 

Deed Preparation and Recording 
 

Upon completion of the sale, a deed must be recorded in the purchaser's name, see State Controller’s Office 

sample form, Tax Deed to Purchaser of Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 8-19).  The form must contain the required 

information specified in §3710. 

 

The recommended preparation procedures are as follows: 

 

Step 1: Prepare and execute a deed in the purchaser's name only after the purchaser has made full payment for 

each property and the funds have been verified (§3708).  The deed must specify any conditions 

necessary to comply with the agreement (§3804). 

 

Step 2: Record the deed with the county recorder (§3804(b)). 

 

Step 3: Within 30 days, notify the county assessor of the change of ownership (§3716).  For the complete 

change of ownership notification procedures, see Section 18: Fee Calculation and Post-Sale Required 

Reports. 

 

Note:  A preliminary change of ownership report is not required when recording a deed transfer from a sale for 

defaulted taxes. The information given to the assessor pursuant to §3716 or §3811 is considered sufficient 

(§480.3(e)). 

 

Step 4: Prepare a copy of the recorded deed or a conformed copy.  This document must be included in the 

report to be submitted to the State Controller's Office (§3804(b)). 

 

Step 5: Note the fact and date of sale on each delinquent roll (or abstract) and current roll on which the 

property sold appears (§3813). 

 

Note:  Do not record a rescission of notice of power to sell or a cancellation of notice of power to sell for 

property redeemed as a result of a tax sale. The recorded tax deed to purchaser is considered public notice that 

taxes have been satisfied and the property has been conveyed to a bona fide purchaser. 

 

Additional Deed Recording Provisions 
 

In addition to the provisions required of a deed conveying real property, the deed shall specify the following 

(§3805): 

 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-19.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3710.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3708.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3804.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3804.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3716.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3716.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3811.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=480.3.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3804.&lawCode=RTC
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http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3805.&lawCode=RTC
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 That the real property was subject to a power of sale pursuant to §3691 for nonpayment of taxes which 

had been legally levied and were a lien on the property; 

 The name of the purchaser; and 

 Any condition deemed necessary to effect compliance with the agreement, including, but not limited to, 

a condition that the real property be used by the taxing agency or nonprofit organization for the public 

use specified in the agreement. 

 

Note:  If the entire description of the conditions does not fit into the space provided on the tax deed document, 

include them on a separate page. 

 

Deposit of Proceeds 
 

Deposit the money received from a tax sale as all money collected for tax payments is deposited (§3808).  

Allocate the proceeds in the following manner: 

 

 Deposit the amount of the cost of advertising the sale into the county general fund (§4673, §3719); 

 Deposit the balance of the proceeds, less the recorder's fee and the transfer tax, in the delinquent tax 

sale trust fund (§3719); and  

 Deposit the recorder's fee and the transfer tax in an appropriate fund (such as the tax collector's trust 

fund) (§3719) and draw a warrant, or separate warrants, in favor of the county recorder for payment.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3691.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 18: Fee Calculation and Post Sale Reports 
 

After the sale has been completed, compile reports and supporting documentation to record and track various 

aspects of the post-sale property condition and the distribution of proceeds.   

 

Fee Calculations  
 

Before preparing the reports, make the following calculations for each property: 

 

 Purchase price 

 Recording fee 

 Transfer tax 

 $1.50 State fee (§4672) 

 $150 county fee (§4672.1) 

 Cost of researching and giving notice to the parties of interest (§4672.2) 

 Cost of advertising the sale (§4673) 

 Cost of personal contact, if applicable, and follow-up service of written notice, also if applicable 

(§4672.3) 

 Property Tax Postponement distribution (§4673.1) 

 The sum of the proceeds remaining after subtracting the amounts above from the purchase price 

 

Other Elements of the Sale 
 

The following information, which should be available from previous research or tasks, should also be gathered: 

 

 Name of each purchaser; 

 Date of the sale; and  

 Legal description of each property. 

 

Required Reports  

 

After completing all calculations and obtaining the additional information, prepare the various post-sale reports. 

Although the schedule for preparing reports may be based on the schedule for depositing proceeds, always give 

reports with statutory deadlines top priority. 

 

Report to the County Treasurer and the County Auditor  
 

After depositing sale proceeds, immediately transmit a report of the sale to the county treasurer and the county 

auditor (§3718).  See State Controller's Office sample form, Report of Sale of Tax Defaulted Property (SCO 8-07). 

 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.2.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.3.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3718.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-07.pdf
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The report of sale must include the following information (§3718): 

 

 The cost of advertising the sale, including but not limited to the published notice required by §3702; 

 The sums received for individual properties; 

 Identification of the properties by year, page, and number of the delinquent and current roll; and 

 The cost of recording the deeds. 

 

Report to the Assessor 
 

Within 30 days after the sale, the tax collector is required to report to the assessor (§3716).  The report must 

include the following: 

 

 The name of the purchaser; 

 The date the property was sold; 

 The amount for which the property was sold; and 

 The description of the property conveyed. 

 

Notations on Tax Roll 
 

The tax collector must note the fact and date of a Chapter 8 sale in the permanent record notes of the property 

account appearing on the delinquent and current rolls in the tax operating system.  Any charges against the tax 

collector having custody of the delinquent and current rolls must be reduced accordingly (§3813). 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3718.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=3702.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3716.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3813.&lawCode=RTC
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Section 19: Excess Proceeds Notification and Claim 

Request Processing 
(0 – 90 days after the sale) 

 
Excess proceeds are the amount remaining from the sale after all required distributions have been made 

(§4674).  When excess proceeds from the sale exceed $150, notice of the right to claim the excess proceeds 

must be given to all parties of interest (§4676(a)).  The notice and claim form must be mailed within 90 days 

after the date of sale (§4676(b)). 

 

Notification 
 

Step 1: Identify those properties that have excess proceeds, pursuant to §4674 and §4675. 

 

Step 2: Develop a parties of interest list for each of these properties.  Make a reasonable effort to obtain the 

names and last known mailing addresses of each party of interest (§4676(b)). 

 

Step 3: Prepare a written notice of the right to claim excess proceeds and mail it, no later than 90 days after the 

sale, to each party of interest with a last known address (§4676(b)).  See State Controller's Office sample 

form, Notice Of Right To Claim Excess Proceeds From The Sale Of Tax Defaulted Property (Parties of 

Interest) (SCO Figure 9.8). 

 

Step 4: If the last known address of a party of interest cannot be obtained, then the county shall publish notice 

of the right to claim excess proceeds in a newspaper of general circulation in the county. The notice shall 

be published once a week for three successive weeks and shall commence no later than 90 days after 

the sale of the property (§4676(c)).  

 

Note: If the cost of publishing the notice is greater than or equal to the amount of excess proceeds, then a 

published notice is not required (§4676(c)).   

 

Step 5: Upon completion of the notification process, calculate the notification costs and deduct them from the 

balance of the excess proceeds.  The amount deducted must be deposited into the county general fund 

(§4676(d)). 

 

Step 6: Retain excess proceeds in the delinquent tax sale trust fund for a period of one year following the date 

of recordation of the tax deed to the purchaser.  After one year, and upon order of the board of 

supervisors, disburse proceeds, in proper proportion, to all eligible parties of interest who submitted a 

claim (§4675(e)). 

 

Note: An excess proceeds claim form may be sent with the written notice of right to claim excess proceeds. See 

State Controller's Office sample form, Claim for Excess Proceeds (SCO 8-21). 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4674.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4674.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/scofig9pt8.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4676.&lawCode=RTC
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-21.pdf
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Claim Request Processing 
 

Step 1: Review the claim form to determine whether the claimant has provided the necessary proof to establish 

his or her interest in the property (§4675). 

 

Step 2: Determine both the ownership interest and the ownership portion, as proceeds are distributed in direct 

proportion to the ownership interest that was held in the property.  For example, the holder of a one-

quarter divided interest could claim no more than one-quarter of the total excess proceeds (First 

Corporation Inc. v. Santa Clara County, 146 Cal App. 3d 841). 

 

Step 3: If the information submitted on the claim application meets the requirements outlined in §4674 and 

§4675, make the proper distribution according to the policy of the office. 

 

Step 4: If the distribution involves more than one person and/or entity and the total monetary claims are more 

than the available proceeds, determine the order of priority for parties of interest as follows (§4675(e)): 

 

 Lienholders of record prior to recordation of the tax deed to purchaser in the order of their priority; 

 Any person with title of record to all or any portion of the property prior to recordation of the tax 

deed to the purchaser; and  

 In the event that a person with title of record is deceased at the time of the distribution of the 

excess proceeds, the heirs may submit an affidavit pursuant to Chapter 3 of Part 1 of Division 8 of 

the Probate Code, to support their claim for excess proceeds. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://scholar.google.com/scholar_case?case=14915457535543929964&q=First+Corporation+Inc.+v.+Santa+Clara+County,+146+Cal+App.+3d+841&hl=en&as_sdt=2006&as_vis=1
http://scholar.google.com/scholar_case?case=14915457535543929964&q=First+Corporation+Inc.+v.+Santa+Clara+County,+146+Cal+App.+3d+841&hl=en&as_sdt=2006&as_vis=1
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4674.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4675.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=PROB&division=8.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=PROB&division=8.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=
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I. Chapter 8 Sample Forms 
 

Request for Approval to Sell Tax Defaulted Property Subject to the Power of Sale…………………………SCO 8-02.2 

Notice of Sale of Tax Defaulted Property……………………………………………………………………………………….SCO 8-05.1 

Notice of Personal Contact for Sale of Tax Defaulted Property………………………………………………………SCO 8-05.4 

Report of Sale of Tax Defaulted Property……………………………………………………………………………………….SCO 8-07 

Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property…………………………………………………………………………….SCO 8-13 

Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property: Exhibit A.……………………………………………………….……SCO 8-14 

Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (Non Profit)………………………………………………………….SCO 8-15 

Application to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property…………………………………………………………………………….SCO 8-16 

Checklist of Mandatory Requirements (Chapter 8)…………………………………………………………….…………..SCO 8-17.1 

Tax Deed to Purchase of Tax Defaulted Property……………………………………………………………………………SCO 8-19 

Claim for Excess Proceeds……………………………………………………………………………………………………….………SCO 8-21 

Request for Probate Investigation…………………………………………………………………………………………….…….SCO 8-26 

Affidavit of Posting of Notice…………………………………………………………………………………………………….……SCO 9-02 

Notice of Agreement to Purchase Tax Defaulted Property (Purchase by a City)…..…………………….…..SCO Figure 9.7a 

Notice of Agreement to Purchse Tax Defaulted Property (Purchase by an entity other than a City).SCO Figure 9.7b 

Notice of Right to Claim Excess Proceeds……………………………………………………………………………………...SCO Figure 9.8 

  

http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-02-2.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-05-1.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-05-4.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-07.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-13.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-14.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-15.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-16.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-17-1.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-19.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-21.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco8-26.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/sco9-02.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/scofig9pt7a.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/scofig9pt7a.pdf
http://www.sco.ca.gov/Files-ARD-Tax-Info/Tax-Collector-Ref-Man/scofig9pt8.pdf
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II. Disqualifying Parcel Conditions 
 

The following conditions will cause a given property to be exempted or excluded from agreement sale. However, 

in some cases, these conditions can be remedied.  Where applicable, there are corrective measures included in 

these descriptions. 

 

1) Property with an Indefinite or Improper Description 

Reference made to acreage without specifying boundaries is an improper description. For example, "the 

south 10 acres of the NW 1/4" creates probable lines but may lead to conflicts over boundaries. Examples 

of inadequate descriptions are: a description that is dependent upon another description, a lot shown on 

an official map without reference to that map, and metes-and-bounds descriptions that do not establish a 

basic reference such as township, range, meridian, or name of a valid Spanish or Mexican land grant.  See 

section 8120 of the County Tax Collectors' Reference Manual for the full explanation and definition of 

"indefinite description." 

 

2) Property Belonging to Public Agencies 

Properties belonging to public agencies normally should not be sold, pursuant to Article XIII, Section 3, of 

the Constitution and §202 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact the State Controller's Office for any 

situation regarding a public agency. 

 

3) Unpatented Property 

Unpatented property is land that has never been granted or conveyed to an individual by either the federal 

government or the State. It is not subject to taxation and, therefore, cannot be sold at a tax defaulted land 

tax sale.  

 

4) Property Assessed to an Individual Who Has Filed for Bankruptcy 

The filing of a bankruptcy petition creates an automatic stay in the enforcement of any lien against the 

estate of the debtor, and the stay continues until the case is closed or the real property no longer belongs 

to the estate.  If the tax collector learns that bankruptcy proceedings have begun for the assessed owner, 

the tax collector must ensure that no attempt is made to sell the secured property covered by the 

bankruptcy without the bankruptcy court’s permission.  This permission is in the form of a relief from stay.  

The tax collector should contact the county counsel to file such a motion with the court. 

 

5) Property Assessed to Individuals Not Responsible for Their Affairs 

If a property that is subject to sale is owned by a person who is committed to a state hospital, the property 

cannot be offered for sale until the status of the property owner has been determined.  It may be necessary 

to call one or both of the following agencies to locate that information. 

 

Department of Developmental Services 

Client Financial Services 

(916)654-1690 

 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=202.&lawCode=RTC


 Volume II: Chapter 8 Tax Sales 

April 2016 Betty T. Yee · California State Controller 42 

Department of Health Care Services 

(916)445-4171 

If the individual in question is responsible for his or her affairs, proceed with advertising the sale. If a 

conservator or guardian has been appointed on behalf of the individual, notify the appointed party before 

including the property in the sale. 

6) Indian Allotment Land

Indian allotment land on which a trust patent has been issued or reissued may not be sold at a tax sale.  A

trust patent is the instrument by which the United States government conveys title of public lands to Indian

tribes.

7) California Veteran's Land (CalVet Property)

If taxes become delinquent on a Cal Vet property, contact the California Department of Veterans Affairs at

800-952-5626 and inform the office of the delinquency.  The department may pay the taxes to prevent the

property from becoming tax defaulted or subject to the tax collector's power of sale.

8) Property Exempted under the Service Member’s Civil Relief Act

Title 50 of the United States Code (USC), Appendix, §3902 and §3991, affords protection to a person in the 
military service from the loss of real property through enforcement of the collection of taxes when such 
property is owned and occupied by dependents or employees as a dwelling or for professional, business, or 
agricultural purposes. If the real property is subject to the tax collector's power of sale, the enforcement 
action may be commenced only by court permission granted upon the application of the tax collector.

The serviceperson's exemption extends for a period not exceeding 180 days (six months) following 

termination of service.  Pursuant to 50 USC §3936, when computing the tax-default time period, do not 

include in the calculations the period of military service. 

9) Contaminated Property

It is recommended that any property on the Superfund list not be sold at a tax sale. Property not on the

Superfund list but known or suspected to be contaminated may be sold. In such cases, consult county

counsel on the specific circumstances.  If the sale goes forward, disclose all that is known; do not attempt

to estimate the extent of the contamination or the cost of cleanup.

10) Unprobated Property

If, prior to the tax sale, the tax collector receives delivery of a certified death certificate showing that an

assessee is deceased, the tax collector should initiate an inquiry with the clerk of the superior court to

determine whether probate proceedings have been commenced (§4986.6).

Note:  On occasion, the notice mailed to the last known assessee of record may be returned by the post office 

with the word "deceased" stamped on the envelope.  This type of documentation is not considered conclusive 

or an official determination of whether the assessee is deceased.  Further investigation may be initiated by the 

http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title50-section3902&num=0&edition=prelim
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title50-section3991&num=0&edition=prelim
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title50-section3936&num=0&edition=prelim
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4986.6.&lawCode=RTC
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office, but it is not required by statute.  Only upon receipt of a certified death certificate is the tax collector 

required to take any action related to the probate process. 

 

Probate Scenarios 

 

 If it is determined that probate proceedings have been initiated, then notice of the sale should be sent 

to the court appointed representative (and his or her attorney of record) and the sale should proceed 

as scheduled.  

 If it is determined that probate proceedings have not been started, notification should be sent to the 

public administrator of the county in which the decedent resided at the time of death, as well as to 

the county public administrator where the property is located, stating that the property is subject to 

tax sale and that the public administrator shall take possession of the property pursuant to §7601 of 

the Probate Code and will conduct an investigation as authorized. 

 If the public administrator has located a person or persons with higher authority to assume 

responsibility for the estate, notice of sale should be sent to that person(s). However, the property 

may only be offered for sale if the person(s) located by the public administrator initiated a probate. 

 

Note:  It is recommended that staff members involved in the tax sale process continue to follow up on the public 

administrator’s investigation progress periodically. Following the public administrator’s investigation, the public 

administrator is required to either notify the tax collector that the value of the estate does not warrant opening 

a probate (and thus the sale of the property may proceed) or commence a probate proceeding if no person of a 

higher authority can be discovered, at which time the property must be withdrawn from the sale. 

 

Note:  Generally, the public administrator may not be able to complete the investigation and report of findings 

as required by §4986.6 within the statutory time frames required for noticing. As such, once a certified copy of 

the death certificate is received, it is recommended that the property be pulled from the scheduled sale to allow 

sufficient time for the investigation. Monitoring the public administrator’s progress on a regular basis during the 

conduct of their investigation will assure tax sale staff of the proper timing for scheduling the property at the 

next sale if not redeemed.  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=7601.&lawCode=PROB
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4986.6.&lawCode=RTC
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III. Establishing the Negotiable Selling Price 
Supplemental Procedures 

 

When the board of supervisors has not previously established the selling price of a property and an agency has 

submitted an application to purchase the property by agreement sale, the price can be negotiated between the 

purchasing agency, the board, and the tax collector.  It is recommended that the following criteria be used to 

determine the selling price: 

 

Step 1: Determine which category the property falls into: 

 

Category A - Properties that have not been offered at a tax sale previously and do not have a welfare 

exemption  

Category B - Properties that have been offered at a tax sale previously and not sold 

Category C - Properties with a welfare exemption and have not been offered for sale previously 

 

Step 2: For any properties that meet the criteria in Category A, proceed to Step 3.  For any properties that meet 

the criteria in Category B or C, proceed to Step 4. 

 

Step 3: For properties meeting the criteria in Category A, the minimum selling price must be at least the sum of 

the following amounts, pursuant to §3698.5(a)(1): 

 

 All unpaid defaulted taxes; 

 Delinquent penalties and interest; 

 Redemption penalties; 

 Redemption fee ($15) ((§4102)(d));  

 Additional costs, as described in §3704.7(c), 4112(a)(b), 4672, 4672.1, 4672.2, 4673, and 4673.1(b), 

which include: 

 

o The actual and reasonable costs incurred in obtaining the names and addresses of parties of 

interest and for mailing notices to these entities for each property, pursuant to §4112(a)(1); 

These costs and any increases shall be established by the county board of supervisors and shall 

be subject to the requirements of Chapter 12.5 (commencing with §54985) of Part 1 of Division 

2 of Title 5 of the Government Code; 

o Recording Fee. This cost references a required fee for recording any notice by a county, 

pursuant to Government Code §27361.3.  If the cost has increased, the current rate may be 

applied; 

o $1.50 State fee (§4672); 

o $150 county fee (§4112(a)(3)); 

o Publication cost.  This cost must be estimated, because the publication notice takes place 

several procedures after the minimum selling price is established (§4673); 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4102.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.2.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&division=2.&title=5.&part=1.&chapter=12.5.&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=27361.3.&lawCode=GOV
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.&lawCode=RTC
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o The actual and reasonable costs incurred  in conducting personal contact and, if necessary, also 

serving written notice, for each property that is a primary residence for the last known assessee 

(§3704.7(c)).  Indicators of primary residence include: 

 

o A valid homeowners exemption; 

o Evidence showing that the mailing address on the tax bill is the same as the situs (§3704.7); 

 

o The outstanding balance of any property tax postponement loan is the sum of the following: 

 

o The tax payments made by the State Controller’s office on behalf of the claimant in the 

Property Tax Postponement Program; 

o Accrued interest pursuant to §16183 of the Government Code, subject to §20644 and 

20644.5; 

o Other associated fees and penalties as deemed appropriate by law; and 

o Less any payments already made on the property tax postponement loan. 

 

Note:  This information should be available from previous research; see Section 4: Public Agency Purchase 

Eligibility Review, or Section 6: Nonprofit Organization Purchase Eligibility Review. 

 

 

Step 4: For property meeting the criteria in Category B, the minimum selling price must be determined by one 

of the following options: 

 

 The tax collector, with the approval of the board of supervisors, may offer the property at less than 

the required minimum selling price.  The tax collector may set the minimum price that he or she 

deems appropriate (§3698.5(c)).  This option is usually exercised when it is apparent that the market 

value of a property is substantially less than the sum of the standard minimum bid amount outlined 

in §3698.5(a). 

 The tax collector may offer the property at the standard minimum price as calculated in Step 2 

(§3698. 5(a)). 

 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=16183.&lawCode=GOV
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=20644.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=20644.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.5.&lawCode=RTC
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IV. Establishing the Minimum Selling Price-Welfare 

Exemptions 
 

Calculate the minimum selling price for each property, pursuant to §3698.5. For those with welfare exemptions, 

determine a minimum selling amount using each of two categories. Once the total for each category has been 

determined, use the higher total as the minimum selling price (§3698.5(a)). Descriptions of the categories 

follow. 

 

Category 1 – Fifty Percent of the Fair Market Value of the Property 

 

Fair market value is “the amount as defined in Section 110 as determined pursuant to an appraisal of the 

property by the county assessor within one year immediately preceding the date of the public auction. From 

the proceeds of the sale, there shall be distributed to the county general fund an amount to reimburse the 

county for the cost of appraising the property. The value of the property as determined by the assessor 

pursuant to an appraisal shall be conclusively presumed to be the fair market value of the property for the 

purpose of determining the minimum price at which the property may be offered for sale." (§3698.7(a)(1)). 

 

Category 2 – The Total Amount Necessary to Redeem the Property, Plus Costs 

 

Category 2 includes the following, which are the same totals of all factors outlined in §3698.5(a)(1): 

 

 The amount of defaulted taxes; 

 Delinquent penalties and costs; 

 Redemption penalties; 

 Redemption fee of $15 ((§4102)(d)); 

 Additional costs, as described in §3704.7(c), 4112, 4672, 4672.1, 4672.2 and 4673 include: 

 

o The amount of the actual and reasonable costs incurred by the tax collector (§3704.7(c)); 

o The actual and reasonable costs incurred in obtaining the names and addresses of parties of interest 

and for mailing notices to these entities for each property (§4112(a)(1)); 

o A fee of one hundred fifty dollars $150 if redemption is within 90 days of the proposed date for the 

tax sale of the redeemed property (§4112(a)(3)); 

o The actual and reasonable costs incurred in conducting personal contact and, if necessary, also 

serving written notice for each property that is a primary residence for the last known assessee 

(§4112(a)(4)); 

o $1.50 State fee (§4672); 

o $150 County fee for the cost of conducting the sale (§4672.1); 

o The costs of researching and giving notice to the parties of interest (§4672.2); 

o The cost of advertising the sale of the property (§4673); 

o The amount necessary to satisfy current taxes and assessments and applicable penalties and costs 

thereon for the fiscal year in which the tax sale is held (§4673.1); 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.5.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3698.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4102.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.2.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=3704.7.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4112.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.1.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4672.2.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4673.1.&lawCode=RTC
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 The outstanding balance of any property tax postponement loan is the sum of the following: 

o The tax payments made by the State Controller’s office on behalf of the claimant in the Property Tax 
Postponement Program; 

o Accrued interest pursuant to §16183 of the Government Code, subject to §20644 and §20644.5; 
o Other associated fees and penalties as deemed appropriate by law; and  
o Less any payments already made on the property tax postponement loan. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=16183.&lawCode=GOV
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=20644.&lawCode=RTC
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=20644.5.&lawCode=RTC
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V. Calculating the Power of Sale Schedule for Disaster-

Damaged Property 
 

Consider the following steps in order to calculate when property damaged by a local, state, or federally declared 

disaster is subject to power of sale.  
 

Step 1: Calculate the Total Default Time 

  

The default status for disaster-damaged property is suspended (tolled) until substantial repair is made or 

after five years have passed, whichever comes first. A disaster-damaged property will not be subject to 

power of sale in the standard five consecutive years after the initial date of default. Use the equation 

below to incorporate the time period during which default was suspended into the overall default time, 

from the date that the property first became defaulted to the current date.  To illustrate, consider that: 
 

X – Y = 5 years or more  
 

Let X represent the total time the property has been in default status (i.e., the current date minus the 

date the property first became defaulted).  For example:  Current date 11/01/15 minus default date 

07/01/2011 = seven (7) years and four (4) months. 
 

Let Y represent the total time the property has been in suspended default, (i.e., the date the property 

was substantially repaired minus the date the damage occurred).  For example: Repair date 8/01/2014 

minus damage date 05/01/2011 = three (3) years and three (3) months.  

 

In the example provided, the difference of x – y (seven years, four months minus three years, three 

months) is four (4) years and one month, which is less than five years.  Thus, the property is not subject 

to power of sale, nor can it be offered for sale.  
 

Once five years of default have passed for disaster-damaged property, additional considerations remain 

regarding the property becoming subject to power to sell.  See Step 2. 
 

Step 2: Calculate the Power of Sale Schedule  

 

Assuming that the calculation in Step 1 has shown that a disaster-damaged property’s total default time, 

less the suspended default time, exceeds five years, the next step is to determine when the property 

becomes subject to the power of sale. The code states that all property that has been defaulted for five 

years or more becomes subject to the power of sale as of 12:01p.m. on July 1 of the fifth year of default.  

 

The notice of impending power to sell must be published on or before June 8 of the fifth year of default.   

 

If the tax collector fails to provide such notice, or the property has not been defaulted for five years or 

more as of June 8 of a given year (and thus could not be included in the notice), any sale made until 

proper notice is provided (within the statutory guidelines) would be invalid.  
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As such, if a disaster-damaged property’s five-year default time is calculated to occur just after June 8 of 

a given year, then the property would not qualify for inclusion in the current notice; it would have to 

appear in the following year’s notice.  Accordingly, it would not be subject to the power of sale until the 

following year.



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To view an electronic copy of this volume visit: 

The State Controller’s Website 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax_tcs_taxguide.html 

 

State Controller’s Office 

Division of Accounting and Reporting 

Government Compensation and Property Tax Standards Section 

Post Office Box 942850 

Sacramento, California 94250-5875 

propertytax@sco.ca.gov 

 

http://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax_tcs_taxguide.html
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