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Audit Report 
 

The State Controller’s Office (SCO) audited the costs claimed by 

Riverside County for the legislatively mandated Interagency Child Abuse 

and Neglect (ICAN) Investigation Reports Program for the period of 

July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2015. 

 

The county claimed $2,110,577 for costs of the mandated program. Our 

audit found that $1,005,723 is allowable and $1,104,854 is unallowable 

because the county claimed estimated and misstated costs, claimed non-

mandate-related activities, claimed ineligible costs for classifications that 

did not perform the mandate-related activities, misstated the number of 

referrals claimed for each cost component, overstated the average time 

increments (ATIs) used to perform the mandate-related activities, 

misstated the productive hourly rates (PHRs) and benefit rates, overstated 

related indirect costs, and overstated offsetting revenues. The State made 

no payments to the county. The State will pay $1,005,723, contingent upon 

available appropriations.  

 

 

Various statutory provisions; Title 11, California Code of Regulations, 

section 903; and SS 8583 Report Forms require cities and counties to 

perform specific duties for reporting child abuse to the state, as well as 

record-keeping and notification activities that were not required by prior 

law, thus mandating a new program or higher level of service.    

 

Penal Code (PC) sections 11165.9, 11166, 11166.2, 11166.9, 11168 

(formerly 11161.7), 11169, 11170, and 11174.34 (formerly 11166.9) were 

added and/or amended by: 

 Statutes of 1977, Chapter 958;  

 Statutes of 1980, Chapter 1071; 

 Statutes of 1981, Chapter 435; 

 Statutes of 1982, Chapters 162 and 905; 

 Statutes of 1984, Chapters 1423 and 1613; 

 Statutes of 1985, Chapter 1598; 

 Statutes of 1986, Chapters 1289 and 1496; 

 Statutes of 1987, Chapters 82, 531, and 1459;  

 Statutes of 1988, Chapters 269, 1497, and 1580;  

 Statutes of 1989, Chapter 153;  

 Statutes of 1990, Chapters 650, 1330, 1363, and 1603;  

 Statutes of 1992, Chapters 163, 459, and 1338;  

 Statutes of 1993, Chapters 219 and 510;  

 Statutes of 1996, Chapters 1080 and 1081;  

 Statutes of 1997, Chapters 842, 843, and 844;  

 Statutes of 1999, Chapters 475 and 1012; and  

 Statutes of 2000, Chapter 916. 

Summary 

Background 
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The ICAN Investigation Reports Program addresses statutory 

amendments to California’s mandatory child abuse reporting laws. A child 

abuse reporting law was first added to the Penal Code in 1963, and initially 

required medical professionals to report suspected child abuse to local law 

enforcement (LE) or child welfare authorities. The law was regularly 

expanded to include more professions required to report suspected child 

abuse (now termed “mandated reporters”), and in 1980, California 

reenacted and amended the law, entitling it the “Child Abuse and Neglect 

Reporting Act” (Act). As part of this program, the Department of Justice 

(DOJ) maintains the Child Abuse Centralized Index (CACI), which has 

tracked reports of child abuse statewide since 1965. A number of changes 

to the law have occurred, including a reenactment in 1980 and substantive 

amendments in 1997 and 2000. 

 

The Act, as amended, provides for reporting of suspected child abuse or 

neglect by certain individuals, identified by their profession as having 

frequent contact with children. The Act provides rules and procedures for 

local agencies, including LE that receive such reports. The Act provides 

for cross-reporting among LE and other child protective agencies, and to 

licensing agencies and District Attorney’s (DA) offices. The Act requires 

reporting to the DOJ when a report of suspected child abuse is “not 

unfounded.” The Act requires an active investigation before a report can 

be forwarded to the DOJ.  

 

As of January 1, 2012, the Act no longer requires LE agencies to report to 

the DOJ, and now requires reporting only of “substantiated” reports by 

other agencies. The Act imposes additional cross-reporting and 

recordkeeping duties in the event of a child’s death from abuse or neglect. 

The Act requires agencies and the DOJ to keep records of investigations 

for a minimum of 10 years, and to notify suspected child abusers that they 

have been listed in the CACI. The Act imposes certain due process 

protections owed to persons listed in the CACI, and provides certain other 

situations in which a person would be notified of his or her listing in the 

CACI.  

 

On December 19, 2007, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) 

adopted a statement of decision finding that the test claim statutes impose 

a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies 

within the meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California 

Constitution and Government Code (GC) section 17514. The Commission 

approved the test claim for the reimbursable activities described in 

section IV of the program’s parameters and guidelines, performed by city 

and county police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, 

county probation departments designated by the county to receive 

mandated reports, DAs’ offices, and county licensing agencies. The 

Commission outlined reimbursable activities relating to the following 

categories: 

 Distributing the Suspected Child Abuse Report form; 

 Reporting between local departments; 

 Reporting to the DOJ; 

 Providing notifications following reports to the CACI; 
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 Retaining records; and 

 Complying with due process procedures offered to persons listed in 

the CACI. 

 

The program’s parameters and guidelines establish the state mandate and 

define the reimbursement criteria. The Commission adopted the 

parameters and guidelines on December 6, 2013. In compliance with GC 

section 17558, the SCO issues claiming instructions to assist local 

agencies in claiming mandated program reimbursable costs.1 
 

 

We conducted this performance audit in accordance with 

GC sections 17558.5 and 17561, which authorize the SCO to audit the 

county’s records to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. In 

addition, GC section 12410 provides the SCO with general audit authority 

to audit the disbursement of state money for correctness, legality, and 

sufficient provisions of law. 

 

 

The objective of our audit was to determine whether costs claimed 

represent increased costs resulting from the legislatively mandated ICAN 

Investigation Reports Program. Specifically, we conducted this audit to 

determine whether costs claimed were supported by appropriate source 

documents, were not funded by another source, and were not unreasonable 

and/or excessive.2  

 

The audit period was July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2015. 

 

To achieve our objective, we: 

 Reviewed the annual mandated cost claims filed by the county for the 

audit period and identified the significant cost components of each 

claim as salaries, benefits, and indirect costs. Determined whether 

there were any errors or unusual or unexpected variances from year to 

year. Reviewed the activities claimed to determine whether they 

adhered to the SCO’s claiming instructions and the program’s 

parameters and guidelines; 

 Completed an internal control questionnaire by interviewing key 

county staff. Discussed the claim preparation process with county staff 

to determine what information was obtained, who obtained it, and how 

it was used;  

 Accessed the reliability of data generated from the county’s 

management information system (payroll, revenue, and expenditure 

records) and the statewide child welfare system (Child Welfare 

Services [CWS]/Case Management System [CMS]) by interviewing 

county staff and examining supporting records. Determined that the 

data is sufficiently reliable to address the audit objectives; 

                                                 
1 The SCO publishes claiming instructions in the Mandated Cost Manual for Local Agencies. 
2 Unreasonable and/or excessive costs include ineligible costs that are not identified in the programs parameters and 

guidelines as a reimbursable cost. 

Objective, Scope, 

and Methodology 

Audit Authority 
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 Reviewed the results of the prior SCO audit for the county’s ICAN 

Investigation Reports program for the period of July 1, 1999, through 

June 30, 2013. We also conducted interviews with Department of 

Public Social Services (DPSS) management to assess whether there 

were any significant changes in the department’s processes for 

performing the mandated activities since the prior SCO audit. DPSS 

management confirmed that the processes remained the same and that 

the ATIs and classifications determined allowable in the prior SCO 

audit were relevant to the current audit period.  

 Reviewed and analyzed the detailed case listing reports provided by 

the county and generated from the CWS/CMS to determine the total 

eligible number of referrals for the Cross-reporting from County 

Welfare to Law Enforcement and the District Attorney’s Office cost 

component. We identified and excluded the non-mandate-related 

referrals that were cross-reported to the DOJ that are ineligible for 

reimbursement (see Finding 1); 

 Reviewed and analyzed the detailed case listing reports provided by 

the county and generated from the CWS/CMS to determine the total 

eligible number of referrals for the Complete an Investigation for 

Purposes of Preparing the SS 8583 Report Form cost component. We 

identified and excluded duplicate referrals, referrals initiated by DPSS 

staff as the mandated reporter and subsequently investigated by CWS 

staff, and general neglect referrals from the population as they are 

ineligible and unallowable for reimbursement. We judgmentally 

selected a non-statistical sample of the 150 referrals for testing to 

determine the number of allowable referrals investigated. Based on 

our review of these referrals, we determined that DPSS staff members 

performed investigation activities on these referrals. We recalculated 

the costs based on the allowable number of referrals (see Finding 2); 

 Reviewed and analyzed the detailed case listing reports provided by 

the county and generated from the CWS/CMS to determine the total 

eligible number of substantiated referrals for the Forwarding the 

SS 8583 Report Forms to the Department of Justice cost component. 

We identified and excluded duplicate referrals and general neglect 

referrals from the population, as they are ineligible and unallowable 

for reimbursement. We relied on the results of the 150 referrals that 

were judgmentally selected as a non-statistical sample. Based on our 

review, we found that 110 out of the 150 referrals were substantiated. 

Based on our testing results, we found that an SS 8583 Report Form 

was prepared and submitted to the DOJ for 70 referrals (33 out of 55 

in fiscal year [FY] 2013-14 and 37 out of 55 in FY 2014-15) out of 

110 referrals that we determined to be allowable. Consistent with the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ Clarified 

Statement on Auditing Standards (AU-C) section 530, we calculated 

a weighted average based on the results of our testing. We projected 

the results by applying the weighted average of 64% to the total 

number of substantiated referrals to determine the total allowable 

number of substantiated referrals for which DPSS staff members 

prepared and submitted an SS 8583 Report Form to the DOJ for the 

audit period. We recalculated the costs based on the allowable number 

of referrals (see Finding 3);  
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 Reviewed and analyzed the detailed case listing reports provided by 

the county and generated by the CWS/CMS to determine the total 

eligible number of referrals for which CACI notifications were sent to 

known or suspected child abusers, notifying them that they had been 

reported to CACI. We identified and excluded duplicate referrals and 

general neglect referrals from the population, as they are ineligible and 

unallowable for reimbursement. We relied on the results of the 150 

referrals that were judgmentally selected as a non-statistical sample. 

Based on our review, we found that 110 out of the 150 referrals were 

substantiated. Based on our test results, we determined that CACI 

notifications were sent to 58 (28 out of 55 in FY 2013-14 and 30 out 

of 55 in FY 2014-15) out of 110 referrals which we determined to be 

allowable. Consistent with AU-C section 530, we calculated a 

weighted average based on the results of our testing. We projected the 

results by applying the weighted average of 53% to the total number 

of substantiated referrals to determine the total allowable number of 

substantiated referrals for which a CACI notification was sent to 

suspected child abusers by DPSS staff members during the audit 

period. We recalculated the costs based on the allowable number of 

referrals (see Finding 4); 

 Reviewed written documentation provided by DPSS management 

explaining the county’s relative assessment/criminal exemptions 

process. The county did not maintain documentation to support the 

number of referrals claimed for which investigative reports were 

obtained and reviewed by DPSS staff members while performing 

existing duties for placement of a child. Using professional auditor 

judgment and consistent with the results of the prior SCO audit, we 

allowed 96 referrals for this activity (see Finding 4); 

 Reviewed Grievance Request Reports provided by the county to 

determine the number of allowable hearings held for the Due Process 

Procedures Offered to Persons Listed in Child Abuse Centralized 

Index cost component. We identified and excluded hearing requests 

that were denied, withdrawn, or required an allegation conclusion 

review, as these types of grievance requests are ineligible for 

reimbursement. Grievance requests resulting in an approved hearing 

are allowable. We recalculated allowable costs based on the number 

of approved hearings (see Finding 5); 

 Traced PHRs and benefit rate calculations for all of the DPSS 

classifications responsible for performing the mandated activities to 

payroll reports provided by the county (see Findings 1 through 7); 

 Verified the county’s calculations of indirect costs using the Office of 

Management and Budget Circular A-87 approved rate of 10% of direct 

labor costs. Performed recalculations of indirect costs based on the 

audit adjustments made to claimed salaries for each cost component 

(see Findings 1 through 6); and 

 Traced offsetting revenues to supporting documentation. Determined 

that the county’s ratios used to calculate offsetting revenues were 

reasonable. Performed recalculations of offsetting revenues based on 

the audit adjustments made to total direct and indirect costs (see 

Finding 8).    
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We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally 

accepted government auditing standards. Those standards require that we 

plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to 

provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our 

audit objective. We believe that the evidence obtained provides a 

reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit 

objective. 

 

We did not audit the county’s financial statements. 

 

 

As a result of performing the audit procedures, we found instances of 

noncompliance with the requirements described in our audit objective. We 

found that the county claimed unsupported and ineligible costs, and 

overstated costs that were funded by other sources, as quantified in the 

Schedule and described in the Findings and Recommendations section of 

this audit report. 

 

For the audit period, Riverside County claimed $2,110,577 for costs of the 

legislatively mandated ICAN Investigation Reports Program. Our audit 

found that $1,005,723 is allowable and $1,104,854 is unallowable. The 

State made no payments to the county. The State will pay $1,005,723, 

contingent upon available appropriations. 

 

Following issuance of this audit report, the SCO’s Local Government 

Programs and Services Division will notify the county of the adjustment 

to its claims via a system-generated letter for each fiscal year in the audit 

period. 

 

 

The county has not resolved the findings noted in our prior audit report for 

the period of July 1, 1999, through June 30, 2013, issued on June 29, 2015, 

as described in Findings 1 through 6 and in Finding 8. All of the findings 

in this report, with the exception of Finding 7, are repeat findings of the 

prior audit report. For FY 2013-14, the county was not able to implement 

the SCO’s recommendations because the prior audit report was issued 

after the statutory deadline to submit FY 2013-14 claims.   

 

 
We issued a draft audit report on September 23, 2021. René Casillas, CPA, 

CRMA, Chief Internal Auditor, responded by letter dated October 13, 

2021 (Attachment), concurring with the audit findings. 

 

  

Conclusion 

Follow-up on 

Prior Audit 

Findings 

Views of 

Responsible 

Officials 
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This audit report is solely for the information and use of Riverside County, 

the California Department of Finance, and SCO; it is not intended to be 

and should not be used by anyone other than these specified parties. This 

restriction is not intended to limit distribution of this audit report, which is 

a matter of public record and is available on the SCO website at 

www.sco.ca.gov. 

 

 

 
Original signed by 

 

KIMBERLY TARVIN, CPA 
Chief, Division of Audits 

 

October 27, 2021 

 

 

Restricted Use 
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Schedule— 

Summary of Program Costs 

July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2015 
 

 

Cost Elements

Actual Costs 

Claimed

Allowable 

per Audit

Audit 

Adjustment Reference
1

July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2014

Direct costs – salaries and benefits:

    Reporting between local departments 

        Cross-reporting from county welfare to law

          enforcement and the DA’s Office 157,992$     35,119$     (122,873)$    Finding 1, 6, 7

        Receipt of cross-reports by the DA’s Office 26,497        26,497       -                 

    Reporting to DOJ

        Complete an investigation for purposes of 

          preparing the SS 8583 Report Form 1,984,922    1,080,096   (904,826)     Finding 2, 6, 7

        Forwarding the SS 8583 Report Forms to DOJ 12,363        4,111         (8,252)         Finding 3, 6, 7

    Notifications following reports to the CACI 62,962        9,121         (53,841)       Finding 4, 6, 7

    Due process procedures offered to persons listed in CACI 863,031       4,959         (858,072)     Finding 5, 6, 7

Total direct costs 3,107,767    1,159,903   (1,947,864)   

Indirect costs 225,698       88,341       (137,357)     Finding 1-6

Total direct and indirect costs 3,333,465    1,248,244   (2,085,221)   

Less offsetting revenues and reimbursements (1,549,932)   (569,565)    980,367       Finding 8

Total program costs 1,783,533$  678,679     (1,104,854)$ 

Less amount paid by the State
3

-

Allowable costs claimed in excess of amount paid 678,679$    

July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015

Direct costs – salaries and benefits:

    Reporting between local departments 

        Cross-reporting from county welfare to law

          enforcement and the DA’s Office 18,573$       36,592$     18,019$       Finding 1, 6, 7

        Receipt of cross-reports by the DA’s Office 27,936        27,936       -                 

    Reporting to DOJ

        Complete an investigation for purposes of 

          preparing the SS 8583 Report Form -                 1,246,589   1,246,589    Finding 2, 6, 7

        Forwarding the SS 8583 Report Forms to DOJ 417,748       4,326         (413,422)     Finding 3, 6, 7

    Notifications following reports to the CACI 1,851          2,022         171             Finding 4, 6, 7

    Due process procedures offered to persons listed in CACI 18,079        13,465       (4,614)         Finding 5, 6, 7

Total direct costs 484,187       1,330,930   846,743       

Indirect costs 39,160        97,003       57,843        Finding 1-6

Total direct and indirect costs 523,347       1,427,933   904,586       

Less offsetting revenues and reimbursements (196,303)     (559,494)    (363,191)     Finding 8

Subtotal 327,044       868,439     541,395       

Less allowable costs that exceed costs claimed
2

-                 (541,395)    (541,395)     

Total program costs 327,044$     327,044     -$               

Less amount paid by the State
3

-                

Allowable costs claimed in excess of amount paid 327,044$    
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Schedule (continued)  
 

 

Cost Elements

Actual Costs 

Claimed

Allowable 

per Audit

Audit 

Adjustment Reference
1

Summary: July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2015

Direct costs – salaries and benefits:

    Reporting between local departments 

        Cross-reporting from county welfare to law

          enforcement and the DA’s Office 176,565$     71,711$     (104,854)$    Finding 1, 6, 7

        Receipt of cross-reports by the DA’s Office 54,433         54,433       -                 

    Reporting to DOJ

        Complete an investigation for purposes of 

          preparing the SS 8583 Report Form 1,984,922    2,326,685   341,763       Finding 2, 6, 7

        Forwarding the SS 8583 Report Forms to DOJ 430,111       8,437         (421,674)     Finding 3, 6, 7

    Notifications following reports to the CACI 64,813         11,143       (53,670)       Finding 4, 6, 7

    Due process procedures offered to persons listed in CACI 881,110       18,424       (862,686)     Finding 5, 6, 7

Total direct costs 3,591,954    2,490,833   (1,101,121)   

Indirect costs 264,858       185,344     (79,514)       Finding 1-6

Total direct and indirect costs 3,856,812    2,676,177   (1,180,635)   

Less offsetting revenues and reimbursements (1,746,235)   (1,129,059) 617,176       Finding 8

Subtotal 2,110,577    1,547,118   (563,459)     

Less allowable costs that exceed costs claimed
2

-                  (541,395)    (541,395)     

Total program costs 2,110,577$   1,005,723   (1,104,854)$ 

Less amount paid by the State
3

-                

Allowable costs claimed in excess of amount paid 1,005,723$ 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

_________________________ 

1  See the Findings and Recommendations section. 

2 Payment amount current as of October 11, 2021.  

3 GC section 17568 stipulate that the State will not reimburse any claim more than one year after the filing deadline 

specified in the SCO’s claiming instructions. That deadline has expired for FY 2014-15. 
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Findings and Recommendations 
 

The county claimed $176,565 in salaries and benefits for the Cross-

reporting from County Welfare to Law Enforcement and the District 

Attorney’s Office cost component during the audit period. We found that 

$71,711 is allowable and $104,854 is unallowable. Unallowable related 

indirect costs total $7,599, for a total finding of $112,453.  

 

The reimbursable activity for this cost component consists of cross-

reporting by county welfare to LE and the DA’s office every known or 

suspected instance of child abuse. 

 

To calculate the claimed salaries and benefits in FY 2013-14, the county 

multiplied the ATI by the number of referrals cross-reported, then 

multiplied the resulting hours by a PHR and related benefit rate. For 

FY 2014-15, the county adjusted its claiming methodology to comply with 

the results of the prior SCO audit. The DPSS computed the total hours 

claimed by multiplying the ATI of 0.38 hours by the total hours captured 

in its time study for this cost component. The resulting hours were 

multiplied by a PHR and related benefit rate. 

 

During testing, we found that the county misstated the number of referrals 

cross-reported, overstated the ATI and claimed ineligible costs for a 

classification that did not perform the mandate-related activities, misstated 

the PHRs and benefit rates, and overstated related indirect costs. The 

county overstated these costs because it did not claim costs in accordance 

with the program’s parameters and guidelines or the SCO’s Mandated 

Cost Manual for Local Agencies (Mandated Cost Manual). 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

costs for the Cross-reporting from County Welfare to Law Enforcement 

and the District Attorney’s Office cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Amount Amount Audit Unallowable Total Audit

Year Claimed Allowable  Adjustment Indirect Costs Adjustment

2013-14 157,992$      35,119$        (122,873)$    (8,790)$       (131,663)$    

2014-15 18,573         36,592          18,019         1,191          19,210         

Total 176,565$      71,711$        (104,854)$    (7,599)$       (112,453)$    

DPSS Salaries and Benefits

 
 

Number of Referrals Cross-reported 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS obtained the claimed number of referrals cross-

reported from the CWS/CMS. However, in FY 2014-15, the DPSS 

changed its claiming methodology and claimed the total number of hours 

it took DPSS staff members to perform the cross-reporting activities rather 

than by the number of referrals cross-reported from the CWS/CMS.  

 

The county provided detailed referral listings generated from the 

CWS/CMS. During our review, we found that the detailed referral listings 

generated from the CWS/CMS included referrals cross-reported to LE, the 

FINDING 1— 

Unallowable salaries 

and benefits – Cross-

reporting from 

County Welfare to 

Law Enforcement and 

the District 

Attorney’s Office cost 

component (Repeat 

Finding) 
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DA’s Office, Community Care Licensing (CCL), and the DOJ. Based on 

discussions with DPSS staff members, cross-reporting activities to the 

CCLs are performed simultaneously with cross-reporting to LE and the 

DA’s office. Therefore, we included the referrals cross-reported to the 

CCLs under this cost component. Cross-reporting referrals to the DOJ is 

not a mandate-related activity; therefore, we determined that the costs 

claimed for referrals cross-reported to the DOJ are ineligible for 

reimbursement. We recalculated the allowable costs using the supported 

number of referrals cross-reported to LE, the DA’s office, and the CCLs. 

The county overstated salary and benefit costs as a result of misstating the 

number of referrals cross-reported.  

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

number of referrals for the Cross-reporting from County Welfare to Law 

Enforcement and the District Attorney’s Office cost component by fiscal 

year: 

 

Fiscal Amount Amount Audit 

Year Claimed Allowable Adjustment

2013-14 3,163           2,931            (232)            

2014-15 -                 3,053            3,053           

Total 3,163           5,984            2,821           

 
Average Time Increments 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS estimated that it took the Intake Staff 

classification one hour to cross-report referrals to LE, the DA’s Office, the 

CCLs, and the DOJ. However, the county did not maintain documentation 

to support the claimed time increment or classifications. 

 

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed that it took the Office Assistant II/III 

classifications an ATI of 0.38 hours to perform the cross-reporting 

mandated activities to comply with the results of the prior SCO audit. The 

DPSS computed the total hours claimed for the Office Assistant II/III 

classifications by multiplying the ATI of 0.38 hours by the total hours 

captured in the department’s time study for this cost component. Based on 

our review, we found that the time study hours the county used to compute 

the claimed costs captured hours only for a four-month time period 

(August 2014, November 2014, February 2015, and May 2015). 

Therefore, the total hours claimed for this fiscal year reflects only time 

spent by the Office Assistant II/III classifications performing the cross-

reporting mandated activities for four months rather than for the entire 

year.  

 

During testing, we conducted interviews with DPSS management to 

determine whether there were any significant changes in the department’s 

processes for performing the cross-reporting mandated activities. DPSS 

management confirmed that the processes remained the same and that the 

classifications and time increments used in the prior SCO audit were 

relevant to the current audit period. As a result of our discussions with 

DPSS management, we determined that it took the Office Assistant II/III 

classifications an ATI of 0.38 hours to perform the cross-reporting 

activities during the audit period. We recalculated the allowable costs 
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based on the allowable ATI and classifications. The county claimed 

overstated salary and benefit costs as a result of overstating the ATI and 

claiming an ineligible classification.  

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

hours based on the adjustments made to the number of referrals cross-

reported and the adjusted ATI for the Cross-reporting from County 

Welfare to Law Enforcement and the District Attorney’s Office cost 

component by fiscal year: 
 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit 

Year Hours Hours Adjustment

2013-14 3,163.00      1,113.78       (2,049.22)     

2014-15 647.74         1,160.14       512.40         

Total 3,810.74      2,273.92       (1,536.82)     
 

Productive Hourly Rate 

 

The DPSS provided payroll reports identifying actual salaries and benefits 

for the DPSS staff members responsible for performing the mandate-

related activities who were included in the department’s time study. In 

addition, the payroll reports included only the job classifications of the 

DPSS staff members that were determined to be allowable per the results 

of the prior SCO audit. We used the actual salaries from the county’s 

payroll reports to calculate the average annual salary amount for the Office 

Assistant II/III classifications and divided the amount by 1,760 productive 

hours to calculate the PHR. As explained in Finding 6—Misstated 

productive hourly rates, we found that the county misstated the claimed 

PHRs for the audit period. 

 

Benefit Rate 

   

We used the actual benefits from the county’s payroll reports to calculate 

an average annual benefit amount for the Office Assistant II/III 

classifications. We divided the total average annual benefit amount for 

the Office Assistant II/III classifications by the total average annual 

salary amount to calculate the benefit rate. As explained in Finding 7—

Misstated benefit rates, we found that the county misstated the benefit 

rates claimed for the audit period. 

 

Criteria 
 

Section IV, “Reimbursable Activities,” of the parameters and guidelines 

begins: 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only 

actual costs may be claimed.  
 

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 

activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source 

documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, 

and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document 

is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was 

incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may 

include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-

in sheets, invoices, and receipts….  
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The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased 

costs for reimbursable activities...Increased cost is limited to the cost of 

an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

 

Section IV, subsection B.2., “Reporting Between Local Departments,” 

of the parameters and guidelines states, in part: 

b. Cross-Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect from County 

Welfare and Probation Departments to the Law Enforcement 

Agency with Jurisdiction and the District Attorney’s Office…. 

2) County welfare departments shall: 

i. Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically 

possible, to the agency given the responsibility for 

investigation of cases under Section 300 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code, and to the district attorney's office every 

known or suspected instance of child abuse, as defined in 

Penal Code section 11165.6, except acts or omissions 

coming within subdivision (b) of section 11165.2, or 

reports made pursuant to section 11165.13 based on risk to 

a child which relates solely to the inability of the parent to 

provide the child with regular care due to the parent’s 

substance abuse, which shall be reported only to the county 

welfare department.   

Reimbursement is not required for making an initial 

report of child abuse and neglect from a county welfare 

department to the law enforcement agency having 

jurisdiction over the case, which was required under prior 

law to be made “without delay.” 

ii. Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving 

the information concerning the incident to any agency, 

including the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction 

over the case, to which it is required to make a telephone 

report under Penal Code section 11166. 

As of January 1, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax 

or electronic transmission, instead of by telephone, and will 

satisfy the requirement for a written report within 36 hours. 

 

Section IV, subsection (B.2.e), “Reporting to Licensing Agencies,” 

states: 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation 

departments if designated by the county to receive mandated reports and 

county welfare departments shall: 

1) Report by telephone immediately or as soon as practically possible 

to the appropriate licensing agency every known or suspected 

instance of child abuse or neglect when the instance of abuse or 

neglect occurs while the child is being cared for in a child day care 

facility, involves a child day care licensed staff person, or occurs 

while the child is under the supervision of a community care facility 

or involves a community care facility licensee or staff person. 

2) Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the 

information concerning the incident to any agency to which it is 

required to make a telephone report under Penal Code 

section 11166.2. The agency shall send the licensing agency a copy 

of its investigation report and any other pertinent materials. 
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As of July 31, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic 

transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the 

requirement for a written report within 36 hours. 

 

Section V, subparagraph A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters 

and guidelines states: 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 

 

Recommendation 
 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and the 

parameters and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; 

and  

 Ensure that claimed costs include only eligible costs, are based on 

actual costs, and are properly supported. 
 

County’s Response 
 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 

 

 

The county claimed $1,984,922 in salaries and benefits for the Complete 

an Investigation for Purposes of Preparing the SS 8583 Report Form cost 

component during the audit period. We found that $2,326,685 is 

allowable. The county understated salaries and benefits totaling $341,763 

and $22,528 in related indirect costs for a total adjustment of $364,291.  
 

The DPSS misclassified the investigation activities under the Forwarding 

the SS 8583 Report Forms to the Department of Justice cost component. 

We moved the investigation activities costs to the Complete an 

Investigation for Purposes of Preparing the SS 8583 Report Form cost 

component. 
 

This component provides reimbursement for costs associated with 

completing an initial investigation of Suspected Child Abuse Report 

(SS 8572 Report Form) for purposes of preparing and submitting the 

SS 8583 Report Form to the DOJ. Reimbursable activities are limited to 

reviewing the SS 8572 Report Form, conducting initial interviews with 

involved parties, and writing a report of the interviews that may be 

reviewed by a supervisor. Additionally, per the program’s parameters and 

guidelines, time spent performing an initial investigation of a 

SS 8572 Report Form is reimbursable only for those SS 8572 Report 

Forms generated by other agencies. Investigations of SS 8572 Report 

Forms generated by the department that is also the mandated reporter are 

not eligible for reimbursement. 

 

  

FINDING 2— 

Understated salaries 

and benefits – 

Reporting to the State 

Department of 

Justice: Complete an 

Investigation for 

Purposes of Preparing 

the SS 8583 Report 

Form cost component 

(Repeat Finding)  
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To calculate the claimed salaries and benefits in FY 2013-14, the county 

multiplied the ATI by the number of referrals investigated, then multiplied 

the resulting hours by a PHR and related benefit rate. For FY 2014-15, the 

county adjusted its claiming methodology to comply with the results of the 

prior SCO audit. The DPSS used the total hours captured in the 

department’s time study for this cost component and adjusted the hours 

based on a percentage equivalent to the time increment of 4.79 hours. The 

adjusted hours were multiplied by a PHR and related benefit rate. 
 

During testing, we found that the county misstated the number of referrals 

investigated, overstated the ATI, and claimed ineligible costs for a 

classification that did not perform the complete an investigation for 

purposes of preparing the SS 8583 Report Form mandate-related activities, 

misstated the PHRs, benefit rates, and related indirect costs. The county 

understated these costs because it did not claim costs in accordance with 

the program’s parameters and guidelines or the SCO’s Mandated Cost 

Manual. 
 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

costs for the Complete an Investigation for Purposes of Preparing the 

SS 8583 Report Form cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Amount Amount Audit Unallowable Total Audit

Year Claimed Allowable  Adjustment Indirect Costs Adjustment

2013-14 1,984,922$   1,080,096$    (904,826)$    (64,191)$      (969,017)$    

2014-15 -                 1,246,589      1,246,589     86,719         1,333,308     

Total 1,984,922$   2,326,685$    341,763$      22,528$       364,291$      

DPSS Salaries and Benefits

 
Number of Referrals Investigated 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS obtained the claimed number of referrals 

investigated from the CWS/CMS. However, in FY 2014-15, the DPSS 

changed its claiming methodology and claimed the total number of hours 

it took DPSS staff members to perform the investigation activities rather 

than by the number of referrals investigated from the CWS/CMS. 

 

The county provided detailed referral listings generated from the 

CWS/CMS. During our review, we found that the detailed referral listings 

generated from the CWS/CMS included duplicate referrals, referrals 

initiated by DPSS staff members as the mandated reporter and then 

investigated by CWS staff, and general neglect referrals. Referrals that 

were initiated by DPSS staff members as the mandated reporter and then 

investigated by CWS staff and general neglect referrals are not mandate-

related activities. Therefore, we determined the costs claimed for referrals 

that were initiated by DPSS staff members as the mandated reporters and 

then investigated by CWS staff and general neglect referrals are ineligible 

for reimbursement. Duplicate referrals are also unallowable. We 

recalculated the supported number of referrals investigated for the audit 

period. 

 

For testing purposes, we judgmentally selected a non-statistical sample 

from the supported number of referrals investigated totaling 150 referrals 

(75 out of 4,633 in FY 2013-14 and 75 out of 5,183 in FY 2014-15) out 
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of 9,816 to review. Based on our review, we determined that DPSS staff 

members performed the investigation activities on these referrals. 

Therefore, the allowable number of referrals investigated for the audit 

period totals 9,816. We recalculated the allowable costs based on the 

allowable referrals investigated. The county claimed understated salary 

and benefit costs as a result of misstating the number of referrals 

investigated for the audit period.  

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

number of referrals for the Complete an Investigation for Purposes of 

Preparing the SS 8583 Report Form cost component by fiscal year: 
 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit 

Year Referrals Referrals Adjustment

2013-14 6,623           4,633            (1,990)          

2014-15 -                 5,183            5,183           

Total 6,623           9,816            3,193           

 
Average Time Increments 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS estimated that it took the Social Service 

Worker classification six hours to investigate referrals. However, the 

county did not maintain documentation to support the time increment 

claimed for the DPSS staff members performing the mandate-related 

activities. 

 

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed that it took the Children’s Social 

Service (C.S.S.) Worker III-V classifications an ATI of 4.79 hours to 

perform the complete an investigation for purposes of preparing the 

SS 8583 Report Form activities to comply with the results of the prior 

SCO audit. The DPSS computed the total hours claimed for the C.S.S. 

Worker III-V classifications by multiplying a percentage equivalent to 

the time increment of 4.79 hours by the total hours captured in the 

department’s time study for this cost component. Based on our review, 

we found that the time study hours the county used to compute the 

claimed costs captured only hours for a four-month time period 

(August 2014, November 2014, February 2015, and May 2015). 

Therefore, the total hours claimed for this fiscal year reflects only time 

spent by the C.S.S. Worker III-V classifications performing the complete 

an investigation for purposes of preparing the SS 8583 Report Form 

mandate-related activities for four months rather than the entire year. 

 

During testing, we conducted interviews with DPSS management to 

determine whether there were any significant changes in the 

department’s processes for performing the complete an investigation for 

purposes of preparing the SS 8583 Report Form mandated-related 

activities. DPSS management confirmed that the processes remained the 

same and that the classifications and time increments used in the prior 

SCO audit were relevant to the current audit period. 

 

As a result of our discussions with DPSS management, we determined 

that it took the C.S.S. Worker III-V classifications an ATI of 4.79 hours 

to perform the complete an investigation for purposes of preparing the 
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SS 8583 Report Form mandate-related activities during the audit period. 

We recalculated the allowable costs based on the allowable ATI and 

classifications. The county misstated salary and benefit costs as a result 

of overstating the ATI and claiming an ineligible classification.  

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

hours based on the adjustments made to the number of referrals 

investigated and the adjusted ATI for the Complete an Investigation for 

Purposes of Preparing the SS 8583 Report Form cost component by fiscal 

year:  

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Hours Hours Adjustment

2013-14 39,738.00     22,192.07     (17,545.93)   

2014-15 -              24,826.57     24,826.57     

Total 39,738.00     47,018.64     7,280.64      

 
Productive Hourly Rate 

 

The DPSS provided payroll reports identifying the actual salaries and 

benefits for the DPSS staff members responsible for performing the 

mandate-related activities who were included in the department’s time 

study. In addition, the payroll reports included only the job classifications 

of DPSS staff members that were determined to be allowable per the 

results of the prior SCO audit. We used the actual salaries from the 

county’s payroll reports to calculate the average annual salary amount for 

the C.S.S. Worker III-V classifications and divided the amount by 1,760 

productive hours to calculate the PHR. As explained in Finding 6—

Misstated productive hourly rates, we found that the county misstated 

the claimed PHRs for the audit period. 

 

Benefit Rate 

   

We used the actual benefits from the county’s payroll reports to calculate 

an average annual benefit amount for the C.S.S. Worker III-V 

classifications. We divided the total average annual benefit amount for 

the C.S.S. Worker III-V classifications by the total average annual salary 

amount to calculate the benefit rate. As explained in Finding 7—

Misstated benefit rates, we found that the county misstated the benefit 

rates claimed for the audit period. 

 

Criteria 

 

Section IV, “Reimbursable Activities,” of the parameters and guidelines 

begins: 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only 

actual costs may be claimed.  
 

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 

activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source 

documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, 

and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document 

is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was 

incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may 
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include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-

in sheets, invoices, and receipts….  
 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased 

costs for reimbursable activities... Increased cost is limited to the cost of 

an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

 

Section IV, subsection B.3., “Reporting to the State Department of 

Justice,” of the parameters and guidelines states: 

b. Beginning January 1, 2012, county welfare departments, or county 

probation departments where designated by the county to receive 

mandated reports shall: 

1) Complete an investigation  

Complete an investigation to determine whether a report of 

suspected child abuse or severe neglect is unfounded, 

substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal Code section 

11165.12, for purposes of preparing and submitting the state 

“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or 

subsequent designated form, to the Department of Justice. 

Except as provided in [the] paragraph below, this activity 

includes review of the initial Suspected Child Abuse Report 

(Form 8572), conducting initial interviews with parents, 

victims, suspects, or witnesses, where applicable, and making a 

report of the findings of those interviews, which may be 

reviewed by a supervisor. 

Reimbursement is not required in the following 

circumstances:  

i.     Investigative activities conducted by a mandated reporter 

to complete the Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form 

SS 8572) pursuant to Penal Code section 11166(a). 

ii.    In the event that the mandated reporter is employed by the 

same child protective agency required to investigate and 

submit the “Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 

8583, or subsequent designated form, to the Department of 

Justice, pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a), 

reimbursement is not required if the investigation required 

to complete the Form SS 8572 is also sufficient to make the 

determination required under section 11169(a), and 

sufficient to complete the essential information items 

required on the Form SS 8583, pursuant to Code of 

Regulations, title 11, section 903 (Register 98, No. 29).  

iii.   Investigative activities undertaken subsequent to the 

determination whether a report of suspected child abuse is 

substantiated, inconclusive, or unfounded, as defined in 

Penal Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing the 

Form SS 8583. 

 

Section V, subparagraph A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters 

and guidelines states: 
 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 
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Recommendation 

 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and the 

parameters and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; 

and  

 Ensure that claimed costs include only eligible costs, are based on 

actual costs, and are properly supported. 

 

County’s Response 

 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 

 

 

The county claimed $430,111 in salaries and benefits for the Forwarding 

the SS 8583 Report Forms to the Department of Justice cost component 

during the audit period. We found that $8,437 is allowable and $421,674 

is unallowable. Unallowable related indirect costs total $30,337, for a total 

finding of $452,011.  

 

The DPSS misclassified the investigation activities under the Forwarding 

the SS 8583 Report Forms to the Department of Justice cost component. 

We moved the investigation activity costs to the Complete an Investigation 

for Purposes of Preparing the SS 8583 Report Form cost component. 

 

This component provides reimbursement for costs associated with 

preparing and submitting the SS 8583 Report Form to the DOJ for every 

referral in which the DPSS investigated known or suspected child abuse 

or severe neglect that was determined to be substantiated. 

 

To calculate the claimed salaries and benefits in FY 2013-14, the county 

multiplied the ATI by the number of SS 8583 Report Forms forwarded to 

the DOJ, then multiplied the resulting hours by a PHR and related benefit 

rate. For FY 2014-15, the county adjusted its claiming methodology to 

comply with the results of the prior SCO audit. The DPSS computed the 

claimed hours by multiplying the ATI of 0.34 hours by the total hours 

captured in the department’s time study for this cost component. The 

resulting hours were multiplied by a PHR and related benefit rate. 

 

During testing, we found that the county misstated the number of 

SS 8583 Report Forms forwarded to the DOJ, overstated the ATI and 

claimed ineligible costs for a classification that did not perform the 

mandate-related activities, misstated the PHRs and benefit rates, and 

overstated related indirect costs. The county overstated these costs because 

it did not claim costs in accordance with the program’s parameters and 

guidelines or the SCO’s Mandated Cost Manual. 

 

  

FINDING 3— 

Unallowable salaries 

and benefits – 

Reporting to the State 

Department of 

Justice: Forwarding 

the SS 8583 Report 

Forms to the 

Department of Justice 

cost component  

(Repeat Finding) 
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The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

costs for the Forwarding the SS 8583 Report Forms to the Department of 

Justice cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Amount Amount Audit Unallowable Total Audit 

Year Claimed Allowable  Adjustment Indirect Costs Adjustment

2013-14 12,363$       4,111$          (8,252)$        (583)$          (8,835)$          

2014-15 417,748       4,326            (413,422)      (29,754)        (443,176)        

Total 430,111$      8,437$          (421,674)$    (30,337)$      (452,011)$       

DPSS Salaries and Benefits

 
 

Number of SS 8583 Report Forms Forwarded to the DOJ 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS obtained the claimed number of substantiated 

referrals in which an SS 8583 Report Form was prepared and forwarded 

to the DOJ from the CWS/CMS. However, in FY 2014-15, the DPSS 

changed its claiming methodology and claimed the total number of hours 

it took DPSS staff members to perform the forwarding the SS 8583 Report 

Forms to the DOJ mandate-related activities rather than by the number of 

substantiated referrals for which an SS 8583 Report Form was prepared 

and forwarded to the DOJ from the CWS/CMS.    

 

The county provided detailed referral listings generated from the 

CWS/CMS. During our review, we found that the detailed referral listings 

generated from the CWS/CMS included duplicate and general neglect 

referrals. General neglect referrals are not mandate-related; therefore, the 

costs claimed for these referrals are not eligible for reimbursement. 

Duplicate referrals are also unallowable. We recalculated the number of 

substantiated referrals for the audit period.  

 

For testing purposes, we relied on the results of the 150 referrals (75 in 

FY 2013-14 and 75 in FY 2014-15) that were judgmentally selected as a 

non-statistical sample from the supported number of referrals investigated 

that we reviewed. Based on our review, we found that 110 referrals (55 out 

of 75 in FY 2013-14 and 55 out of 75 in FY 2014-15) out of the 

150 referrals were substantiated. We also determined that an 

SS 8583 Report Form was prepared and sent to the DOJ for 70 referrals 

(33 out of 55 in FY 2013-14, and 37 out of 55 in FY 2014-15) out of 

110 referrals that we determined to be allowable. Consistent with AU-C 

section 530, we calculated a weighted average based on the results of our 

testing. We projected the results by applying the weighted average of 64% 

to the total number of substantiated referrals to determine the total 

allowable number of substantiated referrals for which DPSS staff 

members prepared and submitted an SS 8583 Report Form to the DOJ for 

the audit period. Therefore, we determined that the allowable number of 

substantiated referrals totals 530 (262 in FY 2013-14 and 268 in 

FY 2014-15) for the Forwarding the SS 8583 Report Forms to the 

Department of Justice cost component. We recalculated the costs based on 

the allowable number of substantiated referrals. 
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The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

number of referrals for the Forwarding the SS 8583 Report Forms to the 

Department of Justice cost component by fiscal year:  

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Referrals Referrals Adjustment

2013-14 495             262              (233)            

2014-15 -                 268              268             

Total 495             530              35               

 
 

Average Time Increments 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS estimated that it took the Social Service 

Worker classification 0.50 hours per referral to prepare and submit 

SS 8583 Report Forms to the DOJ. However, the county did not maintain 

documentation to support the time increment claimed for the DPSS staff 

members performing the mandate-related activities.   

  

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed that it took the C.S.S. Worker III-V 

an ATI of 0.29 hours to prepare and the Office Assistant II/III 

classifications an ATI of 0.05 hours to forward the SS 8583 Report 

Forms to the DOJ mandated activities to comply with the results of the 

prior SCO audit. The DPSS computed the total hours claimed by 

multiplying the ATI of 0.29 hours and 0.05 hours (0.34 hours) by the 

total hours captured in the time study implemented by the department in 

August 2014. Based on our review, we found that the time study hours 

the county used to compute the claimed costs captured hours only for a 

four month time period (August 2014, November 2014, February 2015, 

and May 2015). Therefore, the total hours claimed for this fiscal year 

reflects only time spent by the C.S.S. Worker III-V and Office 

Assistant II/III classifications performing the forwarding the 

SS 8583 Report Forms to DOJ mandate-related activities for four months 

rather than for the entire year.  

 

During testing, we conducted interviews with DPSS management to 

determine whether there were any significant changes in the 

department’s processes for performing the forwarding the 

SS 8583 Report Forms to the DOJ mandate-related activities. DPSS 

management confirmed that the processes remained the same and that 

the classifications and time increments used in the prior SCO audit were 

relevant to the current audit period. 

 

As a result of our discussions with DPSS management, we determined 

that it took the C.S.S. Worker III-V classifications 0.29 hours to prepare 

and 0.05 hours for the Office Assistant II/III classifications to submit the 

SS 8583 Report Forms to the DOJ during the audit period. We 

recalculated the allowable costs based on the allowable ATIs and 

classifications. The county claimed overstated salary and benefit costs as 

a result of overstating the ATI and claiming an ineligible classification.  
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The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

hours based on the adjustments made to the number of substantiated 

referrals and the adjusted ATI for the Forwarding the SS 8583 Report 

Forms to the Department of Justice cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Hours Hours Adjustment

2013-14 247.50         89.08            (158.42)        

2014-15 8,584.38      91.12            (8,493.26)     

Total 8,831.88      180.20          (8,651.68)     

 
Productive Hourly Rate 

 

The DPSS provided payroll reports identifying the actual salaries and 

benefits for DPSS staff members responsible for performing the mandate-

related activities who were included in the department’s time study. In 

addition, the payroll reports included only the job classifications of DPSS 

staff members who were determined to be allowable per the results of the 

prior SCO audit. We used the actual salaries from the county’s payroll 

reports to calculate the average annual salary amounts for the C.S.S. 

Worker III-V and the Office Assistant II/ III classifications. We calculated 

the average annual salary amounts for these classifications and divided the 

amounts by 1,760 productive hours to calculate the PHRs. As explained in 

Finding 6—Misstated productive hourly rates, we found that the county 

misstated the PHRs claimed for the audit period. 

 

Benefit Rate 

   

We used the actual benefits from the county’s payroll reports to calculate 

the average annual benefit amounts for the C.S.S. Worker III-V and the 

Office Assistant II/ III classifications. We divided the total average 

annual benefit amounts for these classifications by the total average 

annual salary amounts to calculate the benefit rates. As explained in 

Finding 7—Misstated benefit rates, we found that the county misstated 

the benefit rates claimed for the audit period. 

 

Criteria 

 

Section IV, “Reimbursable Activities,” of the parameters and guidelines 

begins: 
 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only 

actual costs may be claimed.  
 

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 

activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source 

documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, 

and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document 

is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was 

incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may 

include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-

in sheets, invoices, and receipts….  
 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased 

costs for reimbursable activities...Increased cost is limited to the cost of 

an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 
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Section IV, subsection B.3., “Reporting to the State Department of 

Justice,” of the parameters and guidelines states, in part:  

b. Beginning January 1, 2012, county welfare departments, or county 

probation departments where designated by the county to receive 

mandated reports shall.… 

 2) Forward reports to the Department of Justice  

Prepare and submit to the Department of Justice a report in 

writing of every case it investigates of known or suspected child 

abuse or severe neglect which is determined to be substantiated, 

as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12. Unfounded or 

inconclusive reports, as defined in Penal Code 

section 11165.12, shall not be filed with the Department of 

Justice. If a report has previously been filed which subsequently 

proves to be unfounded, the Department of Justice shall be 

notified in writing of that fact. The reports required by this 

section shall be in a form approved by the Department of Justice 

(currently form 8583) and may be sent by fax or electronic 

transmission.  

This activity includes costs of preparing and submitting an 

amended report to DOJ, when the submitting agency changes a 

prior finding of substantiated to a finding of inconclusive or 

unfounded, or from inconclusive or unfounded to substantiated, 

or when other information is necessary to maintain accuracy of 

the CACI. 

Reimbursement is not required for the costs of the 

investigation required to make the determination to file an 

amended report. 

 

Section V.A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters and guidelines 

states: 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 

 

Recommendation 

 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and the 

parameters and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; 

and  

 Ensure that claimed costs include only eligible costs, are based on 

actual costs, and are properly supported. 

 

County’s Response 

 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 
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The county claimed $64,813 in salaries and benefits for the Notifications 

Following Reports to the Child Abuse Central Index cost component 

during the audit period. We found that $11,143 is allowable and $53,670 

is unallowable. Unallowable related indirect costs total $3,775, for a total 

finding of $57,445. 

 

The reimbursable activities for this cost component consist of notifying, 

in writing, the known or suspected child abuser that he or she has been 

reported to the CACI, obtaining the original investigative report from the 

agency that submitted the information to CACI pursuant to 

PC section 11169(a), and objectively reviewing the report when 

information regarding an individual suspected of child abuse or neglect, 

or an instance of suspected child abuse or neglect, is received from the 

CACI while performing existing duties pertaining to placement of a child. 

 

To calculate the claimed salaries and benefits for FY 2013-14, the county 

multiplied the ATIs by the number of referrals in which a CACI 

notification was sent to the suspected child abuser and the number of 

referrals for which investigative reports were obtained and reviewed, then 

multiplied the resulting hours by the PHR and related benefit rates. For 

FY 2014-15, the county adjusted its claiming methodology to comply with 

the results of the prior SCO audit. The DPSS computed the claimed hours 

by multiplying the ATIs of 0.15 hours to prepare and 0.05 hours to send a 

CACI notification to the suspected child abuser by the total hours captured 

in the department’s time study for this cost component. The adjusted hours 

were multiplied by a PHR and related benefit rate. 

 

During testing, we found that the county misstated the number of referrals 

for which a CACI notification was sent to the suspected child abuser and 

the number of referrals for which investigative reports were obtained and 

reviewed, misstated the ATIs and claimed ineligible costs for a 

classification that did not perform the notifications following reports to the 

CACI mandate-related activities, misstated the PHRs and benefit rates, 

and overstated related indirect costs. The county overstated these costs 

because it did not claim costs in accordance with the program’s parameters 

and guidelines or the SCO’s Mandated Cost Manual. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

costs for the Notifications Following Reports to the Child Abuse Central 

Index cost component by fiscal year: 
 

Fiscal Amount Amount Audit Unallowable Total Audit

Year Claimed Allowable  Adjustment Indirect Costs Adjustment

2013-14 62,962$       9,121$          (53,841)$      (3,775)$        (57,616)$      

2014-15 1,851           2,022            171             -                  171             

Total 64,813$       11,143$        (53,670)$      (3,775)$        (57,445)$      

DPSS Salaries and Benefits

 
 

Number of CACI Notifications  

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS obtained the claimed number of substantiated 

referrals for which a CACI notification was sent from the CWS/CMS. 

However, in FY 2014-15, the DPSS changed its claiming methodology 

and claimed the total number of hours it took DPSS staff members to 

FINDING 4— 

Unallowable salaries 

and benefits – 

Notifications 

Following Reports to 

the Child Abuse 

Central Index cost 

component  

(Repeat Finding) 
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perform the notifications following reports to the CACI activities rather 

than by the number of substantiated referrals in which a CACI notification 

was sent from the CWS/CMS.    
 

The county provided detailed referral listings generated from its 

CWS/CMS. During our review, we found that the detailed referral listings 

generated from the CWS/CMS included duplicate and general neglect 

referrals. General neglect referrals are not mandate-related; therefore, the 

costs claimed for these referrals are not eligible for reimbursement. 

Duplicate referrals are also unallowable. We recalculated the number of 

substantiated referrals for the audit period. 

 

For testing purposes, we relied on the results of the 150 referrals (75 in 

FY 2013-14 and 75 in FY 2014-15) that we judgmentally selected as a 

non-statistical sample from the supported number of referrals investigated 

that were reviewed. Based on our review, we found that 110 referrals 

(55 out of 75 in FY 2013-14 and 55 out of 75 in FY 2014-15) out of 

150 referrals were substantiated. We also determined that a CACI 

notification was sent to 58 (28 out of 55 in FY 2013-14, and 30 out of 55 in 

FY 2014-15) out of 110 referrals that we determined to be allowable. 

Consistent with AU-C section 530, we calculated a weighted average 

based on the results of our testing. We projected the results by applying 

the weighted average of 53% to the total number of substantiated referrals 

to determine the total allowable number of substantiated referrals for 

which a CACI notification was sent to suspected child abusers by the 

DPSS staff members during the audit period. Therefore, we determined 

the allowable number of substantiated referrals totals 439 (217 in FY 

2013-14 and 222 in FY 2014-15) for which a CACI notification was sent 

to suspected child abusers. We recalculated the costs based on the 

allowable number of substantiated referrals. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

number of CACI notifications sent to suspected child abusers by fiscal 

year: 

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Referrals Referrals Adjustment

2013-14 495             217              (278)            

2014-15 -                 222              222             

Total 495             439              (56)              

 
Number of Investigative Reports  

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS claimed number of referrals for which 

investigative reports were obtained and reviewed, from the Relative 

Assessment Unit’s Criminal Exemption Tracking Log. However, the 

county did not maintain documentation to support the number of referrals 

claimed for this activity. For FY 2014-15, the county did not claim any 

costs for this activity.   

 

During testing, DPSS management provided a written explanation of the 

relative assessment/criminal exemptions process that included an 

estimated number of 770 relative assessments that DPSS staff worked on 
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for each fiscal year of the audit period and an estimated ATI of 

0.50 hours per assessment. Based on our review, we determined that the 

written explanation included activities that were non-mandate-related. In 

addition, the DPSS did not provide any additional documentation to 

support the written explanation or the costs claimed. Therefore, based on 

auditor professional judgement, we determined that it is reasonable to 

allow 96 referrals for FY 2013-14, which is consistent with prior audit 

results. The county did not claim costs for this activity in FY 2014-15; 

therefore, no adjustments were made. The county overstated salary and 

benefit costs as a result of misstating the number of referrals for which a 

CACI notification was sent to the suspected child abuser and the number 

of referrals for which investigative reports were obtained and reviewed. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

number of referrals with CACI history for which investigative reports 

were obtained and reviewed during existing child placement activities by 

fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Referrals Referrals Adjustment

2013-14 518             96                (422)            

2014-15 * -                 -                  -                 

Total 518             96                (422)            

 
Average Time Increments 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS estimated that it took the Social Service 

Worker classification 1.50 hours to prepare and send a CACI notification 

to suspected child abusers and one hour to obtain and review the 

investigative report relating to a CACI listing while performing existing 

duties of child placement. However, the county did not maintain 

documentation to support the time increments claimed for the DPSS staff 

members performing the mandated activities. 

 

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed that it took the C.S.S. Worker III-V 

classifications 0.15 hours to prepare and the Office Assistant II/ III 

classifications 0.05 hours to send  CACI notifications to suspected child 

abusers to comply with the results of the prior SCO audit. The DPSS 

computed the total hours claimed for these classifications by multiplying 

the ATIs of 0.15 hours and 0.05 hours by the total hours captured in its 

time study for this cost component. Based on our review, we found that 

the time study hours the county used to compute the claimed costs 

captured only hours for a four-month time period (August 2014, 

November 2014, February 2015, and May 2015). Therefore, the total 

hours claimed for these classifications for this fiscal year reflects only 

time spent performing the preparing and sending the CACI notifications 

to suspected child abusers for four months rather than the entire year. 

During testing, we conducted interviews with DPSS management to 

determine whether there were any significant changes in the 

department’s process for performing the notifications following reports 

to the CACI mandated activities. DPSS management confirmed that the 

processes remained the same and that the classifications and time 
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increments used in the prior SCO audit were relevant to the current audit 

period. 
 

As a result of our discussions with DPSS management, we determined 

that it took the C.S.S. Worker III-V classifications 0.15 hours to prepare 

and the Office Assistant II/III classifications 0.05 hours to send CACI 

notifications to suspected child abusers for the audit period. For 

FY 2013-14, we also found that it took the C.S.S. Worker III-V 

classifications 1.54 hours to obtain and review the investigative reports 

relating to a CACI listing while performing existing duties of child 

placement. We recalculated the allowable costs based on the allowable 

ATIs and classifications. The county overstated salary and benefit costs 

as a result of misstating the ATIs and claiming an ineligible 

classification.  

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

hours based on the adjustments made to the number of CACI 

notifications sent to suspected child abusers, the number of referrals in 

which investigative reports were obtained and reviewed during child 

placements, and the adjusted ATIs for the Notifications Following 

Reports to the Child Abuse Central Index cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Hours Hours Adjustment

2013-14 1,260.50      191.24          (1,069.26)     

2014-15 35.34           44.40            9.06             

Total 1,295.84      235.64          (1,060.20)     

 
Productive Hourly Rate 
 

The DPSS provided payroll reports identifying the actual salaries and 

benefits for the DPSS staff members responsible for performing the 

mandate-related activities who were included in the time study. In 

addition, the payroll reports included only the job classifications of the 

DPSS staff members who were determined to be allowable per the results 

of the prior SCO audit. We used the actual salaries from the county’s 

payroll reports to calculate the average annual salary amounts for the 

C.S.S. Worker III-V and the Office Assistant II/III classifications and 

divided the amounts by 1,760 productive hours to calculate the PHRs. As 

explained in Finding 6—Misstated productive hourly rates, we found that 

the county misstated the claimed PHRs for the audit period. 

 

Benefit Rate 

   

We used the actual benefits from the county’s payroll reports to calculate 

the average annual benefit amounts for the C.S.S. Worker III-V and the 

Office Assistant II/III classifications. We divided the total average 

annual benefit amounts for these classifications by the total average 

annual salary amounts to calculate the benefit rates. As explained in 

Finding 7—Misstated benefit rates, we found that the county misstated 

the benefit rates claimed for the audit period. 
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Criteria 

 

Section IV, “Reimbursable Activities,” of the parameters and guidelines 

begins: 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only 

actual costs may be claimed.  

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 

activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source 

documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, 

and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document 

is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was 

incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may 

include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-

in sheets, invoices, and receipts….  

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased 

costs for reimbursable activities... Increased cost is limited to the cost of 

an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

 

Section IV, subsection B.4, “Notifications Following Reports to the Child 

Abuse Central Index,” of the parameters and guidelines states: 

a. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation 

departments if designated by the county to receive mandated reports, 

and county welfare departments shall: 

1) Notify in writing the known or suspected child abuser that he or 

she has been reported to the Child Abuse Central Index, in any 

form approved by the Department of Justice, at the time the 

“Child Abuse Investigation Report” is filed with the 

Department of Justice. 

This activity includes, where applicable, the completion of the 

Notice of Child Abuse Central Index Listing form (SOC 832), 

or subsequent designated form. 

For law enforcement agencies only, this activity is eligible for 

reimbursement from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, 

pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(b), as amended by 

Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717), which ends the mandate 

to report to DOJ for law enforcement agencies. 

2) Make relevant information available, when received from the 

Department of Justice, to the child custodian, guardian ad litem 

appointed under section 326, or counsel appointed under 

section 317 or 318 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or the 

appropriate licensing agency, if he or she is treating or 

investigating a case of known or suspected child abuse or severe 

neglect. 

3) Inform the mandated reporter of the results of the investigation 

and of any action the agency is taking with regard to the child 

or family, upon completion of the child abuse investigation or 

after there has been a final disposition in the matter. 

4) Notify, in writing, the person listed in the Child Abuse Central 

Index that he or she is in the index, upon receipt of relevant 

information concerning child abuse or neglect investigation 

reports contained in the index from the Department of Justice 

when investigating a home for the placement of dependent 
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children. The notification shall include the name of the 

reporting agency and the date of the report. 

b. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation 

departments if designated by the county to receive mandated reports, 

county welfare departments, county licensing agencies, and district 

attorney offices shall: 

Obtain the original investigative report from the agency that 

submitted the information to the CACI pursuant to Penal Code 

section 11169(a), and objectively review the report, when 

information regarding an individual suspected of child abuse or 

neglect, or an instance of suspected child abuse or neglect, is 

received from the CACI while performing existing duties 

pertaining to criminal investigation or prosecution, or licensing, 

or placement of a child. 

Reimbursement for this activity does not include investigative 

activities conducted by the agency, either prior to or 

subsequent to receipt of the information that necessitates 

obtaining and reviewing the investigative report. 

c. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation 

departments, and county welfare departments shall: 

Notify, in writing, the person listed in the Child Abuse Central 

Index that he or she is in the index, upon receipt of relevant 

information concerning child abuse or neglect reports contained 

in the index from the Department of Justice regarding placement 

with a responsible relative pursuant to Welfare and Institutions 

Code sections 281.5, 305, and 361.3. The notification shall 

include the location of the original investigative report and the 

submitting agency. The notification shall be submitted to the 

person listed at the same time that all other parties are notified of 

the information, and no later than the actual judicial proceeding 

that determines placement. 

 

Section V, subparagraph A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters 

and guidelines states: 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 
 

Recommendation 
 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and the 

parameters and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; 

and  

 Ensure that claimed costs include only eligible costs, are based on 

actual costs, and are properly supported. 
 

County’s Response 

 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 
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The county claimed $881,110 in salaries and benefits for the Due Process 

Procedures Offered to Person Listed in Child Abuse Centralized Index 

cost component during the audit period. We found that $18,424 is 

allowable and $862,686 is unallowable. Unallowable related indirect costs 

total $60,331, for a totaling finding of $923,017. 

 

The reimbursable activities for this cost component consist of sending a 

notice, attending the evidence meeting, attending the hearing, and 

notifying persons of the hearing results. 

 

To calculate the claimed salaries and benefits in FY 2013-14, the county 

multiplied the ATIs by the number referrals for the due process procedures 

offered to person listed in CACI mandate-related activities, then 

multiplied the resulting hours by a PHR and related benefit rate. In 

FY 2014-15, the county adjusted its claiming methodology to comply with 

the results of the prior SCO audit. The DPSS used the total hours captured 

in its time study and adjusted the hours based on a percentage equivalent 

to the time increments of 3.08 hours to send a hearing notice, attend the 

evidence meeting, and attend the hearing; 9.50 hours to prepare and attend 

the hearing; and 1.50 hours to notify the person of the hearing results for 

this cost component. The adjusted hours were multiplied by a PHR and 

related benefit rate. 

 

During testing, we found that the county misstated the number of hearings 

held for providing due process procedures offered to person listed in 

CACI, misstated the ATIs, claimed ineligible costs for classifications that 

did not perform the mandated activities, misstated the PHRs and benefit 

rates, and overstated the related indirect costs. The county overstated these 

costs because it did not claim costs in accordance with the program’s 

parameters and guidelines or the SCO’s Mandated Cost Manual. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

costs for the Due Process Procedures Offered to Person Listed in Child 

Abuse Centralized Index cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Amount Amount Audit Unallowable Total Audit 

Year Claimed Allowable  Adjustment Indirect Costs Adjustment

2013-14 863,031$      4,959$          (858,072)$    (60,018)$      (918,090)$     

2014-15 18,079         13,465          (4,614)          (313)             (4,927)          

Total 881,110$      18,424$        (862,686)$    (60,331)$      (923,017)$     

DPSS Salaries and Benefits

 
Number of Hearings/Relative Assessment and Criminal Exemption 

Referrals  
 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS obtained the claimed number of hearings 

requested, denied, and approved from the Gomez Hearing database. Also, 

the DPSS claimed activities for relative assessment referrals from the 

Relative Assessment Unit’s Criminal Exemption Tracking Log. However, 

in FY 2014-15, the DPSS changed its methodology and claimed the total 

number of hours it took DPSS staff members to perform the due process 

procedures offered to person listed in CACI activities rather than by the 

number of hearings from the county’s Gomez Hearing database.    
 

FINDING 5— 

Unallowable salaries 

and benefits - Due 

Process Procedures 

Offered to Person 

Listed in CACI cost 

component  

(Repeat Finding) 
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During testing, DPSS staff provided the Grievance Request Reports 

generated from the Gomez Hearing database. Based on our review, we 

found that the reports included hearing requests that were denied, 

approved, and withdrawn, and those that required an allegation conclusion 

review. Hearing requests that were denied, withdrawn, or required an 

allegation conclusion review are not mandate-related; therefore, the costs 

claimed for these types of grievance requests are ineligible for 

reimbursement. Grievance requests that resulted in an actual hearing that 

was held are eligible for reimbursement. Therefore, we determined that 

the grievance requests identified on the Grievance Request Reports that 

were approved and had a corresponding hearing date are mandate-related 

and eligible for reimbursement. Also, consistent with the prior SCO audit, 

we found that all relative assessment referrals and criminal exemption 

reviews claimed under this cost component are ineligible for 

reimbursement because they are not mandate-related activities. We 

recalculated the allowable costs using the number of approved hearings 

for the audit period. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

number of hearings for the Due Process Procedures Offered to Person 

Listed in Child Abuse Centralized Index cost component by fiscal year: 

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit 

Year Hearings Hearings Adjustment

2013-14 43               6                  (37)              

2014-15 -                 15                15               

Total 43               21                (22)              

 
Average Time Increments 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS estimated that it took the following 

classifications and ATIs to perform the due process procedures offered 

to person listed in CACI activities:  

 Program Specialist C.S.S. II – 1.5 hours  

 C.S.S. Supervisor – 5 hours (2.5 hours for hearings and 2.5 hours for 

Allegation Conclusion Review)  

 Hearing Officer – 9.50 hours  

 Office Assistant – 2 hours  

  

For relative assessment and criminal exemption review activities, the 

DPSS estimated the following ATIs for each classification:  

 Social Service Worker – 24.50 hours  

 C.S.S. Supervisor – 6 hours  

  

However, the county did not maintain documentation to support the time 

increments claimed for DPSS staff members performing these activities. 

 

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed that it took the Program Specialist 

C.S.S. II classification an ATI of 3.08 hours to perform the activities of 
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sending the hearing notices, attending the evidence meetings, and 

attending the hearings; the Hearing Officer classification an ATI of 

9.50 hours to prepare and attend hearings; and a C.S.S. Supervisor II 

classification an ATI of 1.50 hours to notify persons of the hearing 

results to comply with the results of our prior SCO audit. The DPSS 

computed the total hours claimed by multiplying a percentage equivalent 

of the time increments claimed by the total hours captured in a time study 

implemented by DPSS in August 2014. Based on our review, we found 

that the time study hours the county used to compute the claimed costs 

captured only hours for a four-month time period (August 2014, 

November 2014, February 2015, and May 2015). Therefore, the total 

hours claimed for this fiscal year reflects only time spent by these 

classifications performing the due process procedures offered to person 

listed in CACI for four months rather than for the entire year. Also, the 

county claimed a total of 8.5 hours for an Administrative Services 

Analyst II to perform due process activities for the year.  

 

During testing, we conducted interviews with DPSS management to 

determine whether there were any significant changes in the 

department’s processes for performing the due process procedures 

offered to person listed in CACI mandate-related activities. DPSS 

management confirmed that the processes remained the same and that 

the classifications and time increments used in the prior SCO audit were 

relevant to the current audit period. 

 

As a result of our discussions with DPSS management, we determined 

that it took the Program Specialist C.S.S. II classification 3.08 hours to 

send the hearing notice, attend the evidence meeting, and attend the 

hearing; and the C.S.S. Supervisor classification 9.50 hours to attend the 

hearing and 1.50 hours to notify persons of the hearing results during the 

audit period. We recalculated the allowable costs based on the allowable 

ATIs and classifications. In addition, for FY 2014-15 we determined that 

8.5 hours for the Administrative Services Analyst II to perform due 

process activities are allowable. The county overstated salary and benefit 

costs as a result of misstating the ATIs and claiming ineligible 

classifications.  

 

The table on the next page summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the 

adjusted hours based on the adjustments made to the number of hearings 

held and the adjusted ATIs for providing Due Process Procedures 

Offered to Person Listed in Child Abuse Centralized Index cost 

component by fiscal year. 

 

Fiscal Claimed Allowable Audit

Year Hours Hours Adjustment

2013-14 17,276.00     84.48            (17,191.52)   

2014-15 317.98         219.70          (98.28)          

Total 17,593.98     304.18          (17,289.80)   

 
Productive Hourly Rate 

 

The DPSS provided payroll reports identifying the actual salaries and 

benefits for the DPSS staff members responsible for performing the 
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mandate-related activities who were included in the department’s time 

study. In addition, the payroll reports include only the job classifications 

of the DPSS staff members were determined to be allowable per the results 

of the prior SCO audit. We used the actual salaries from the county’s 

payroll reports to calculate the average annual salary amounts for the 

C.S.S. Supervisor II, Program Specialist C.S.S. II, and Administrative 

Services Analyst II classifications. We calculated the average annual 

salary amounts for these classifications and divided the amounts by 

1,760 productive hours to calculate the PHRs. As explained in Finding 6—

Misstated productive hourly rates, we found that the county misstated the 

PHRs claimed for the audit period. 

 

Benefit Rate 
   

We used the actual benefits from the county’s payroll reports to calculate 

the average actual annual benefit amounts for the C.S.S. Supervisor II, 

Program Specialist C.S.S. II, and Administrative Services Analyst II 

classifications. We divided the total average actual annual benefit 

amounts for these classifications by the total average actual annual salary 

amounts to calculate the benefit rates. As explained in Finding 7—

Misstated benefit rates, we found that the county misstated the benefit 

rates claimed for the audit period. 

 

Criteria 

 

Section IV, “Reimbursable Activities,” of the parameters and guidelines 

begins: 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only 

actual costs may be claimed.  
 

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated 

activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source 

documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, 

and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document 

is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was 

incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may 

include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-

in sheets, invoices, and receipts….  
 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased 

costs for reimbursable activities...Increased cost is limited to the cost of 

an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

 

Section IV, subsection B.6, “Due Process Procedures Offered to Person 

Listed in CACI,” of the parameters and guidelines states: 
 

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation 

departments if designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and 

county welfare departments, shall: 
 

Provide due process reasonably necessary to comply with federal 

due process procedural protections under the 14th Amendment that 

must be afforded to individuals reported to the DOJ’s Child Abuse 

Central Index. This activity includes a hearing before the agency 

that submitted the individual’s name to CACI. This activity includes 

any due process procedures available to persons listed in the CACI 

prior to the enactment of Statues 2011, chapter 468. 
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Reimbursement is not required for a hearing meeting the 

requirements of due process if a court of competent jurisdiction 

has determined that child abuse has occurred, or while the 

allegation is pending before a court. 

 

Section V, subparagraph A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters 

and guidelines states: 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 

 

Recommendation 

 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and the 

parameters and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; 

and  

 Ensure that claimed costs include only eligible costs, are based on 

actual costs, and are properly supported. 

 

County’s Response 

 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 

 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS claimed salaries for the Intake Staff, Office 

Assistant, Social Services Worker, Social Service Supervisor also referred 

to as the Hearing Officer, and Program Specialist II classifications. These 

classifications were assigned to specific work groups. The Intake Staff, 

Social Service Worker, Social Service Supervisor I/II/Hearing Officer 

classifications were assigned to the Social Service work group, the 

Program Specialist II classification was assigned to the Administrative 

Program work group, and the Office Assistant classification was assigned 

to the Clerical work group. The salaries for these classifications were 

calculated using the total cumulative budgeted annual salary costs for the 

work group that each classification was assigned to. The total cumulative 

budgeted annual salaries of each work group was divided by the total 

number of DPSS staff members that were assigned to each work group 

based on their classification to determine the average budgeted annual 

salary. The DPSS divided the average budgeted annual salary costs for 

each work group by 1,743 productive hours to compute the PHRs.   

 

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed salaries for the Office Assistant II/III, 

C.S.S. Worker III-V, C.S.S. Supervisor I/II/Hearing Officer, Program 

Specialist C.S.S. II, and the Administrative Services Analyst II 

classifications. The salaries for these classifications were calculated using 

the total cumulative actual annual salary costs for each classification then 

divided by the total number of DPSS staff members assigned to that 

classification to determine the average annual salary costs. The DPSS 

FINDING 6— 

Misstated productive 

hourly rates  

(Repeat Finding) 
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divided the average annual salary costs for each classification by 

1,743 productive hours to compute the PHRs.  

 

For the audit period, we found that the county used 1,743 productive 

hours to compute the claimed PHRs. The county calculated the 

productive hours by subtracting sick leave, vacation, holiday, and 

training hours from the total annual work hours. Training time that 

benefits specific departments or training common to all departments 

should not be excluded when computing the countywide productive 

hours. Therefore, we recomputed the productive hours without excluding 

the training hours. We determined that 1,760 productive hours are 

allowable and were used to compute the PHRs for the audit period.  

 

During testing, the DPSS provided payroll reports identifying the actual 

salaries for the DPSS staff members responsible for performing the 

mandate-related activities and who were included in the department’s time 

study. In addition, the payroll reports included only the job classifications 

of the DPSS staff members who were determined to be allowable per the 

results of the prior SCO audit. We used the actual salaries from the 

county’s payroll reports to calculate the average annual salary amounts for 

the classifications that were responsible for performing the mandate-

related activities for the audit period. The total cumulative actual annual 

salary costs for each classification was divided by the total number of staff 

members assigned to that classification to determine the average annual 

salary costs. Also, we calculated an average annual salary amount for 

classifications with multiple levels (Office Assistant II/III, 

C.S.S. Worker III-V, and the C.S.S. Supervisor I/II) by combining the 

total cumulative actual annual salary costs for these multi-level 

classifications then divided the total number of staff members assigned to 

these multi-level classifications to determine the average annual salary 

costs. We divided the average annual salary costs for each classification 

and classifications with multiple levels by 1,760 productive hours. We 

applied the PHRs and classifications for the audit period. The county 

claimed overstated salaries as a result of misstating the PHRs and claiming 

ineligible classifications. We calculated allowable costs based on 

allowable PHRs and classifications. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed and allowable productive 

hours used to calculate the PHRs for the audit period: 

 

Type

Claimed 

Productive

Hours

Allowable

Productive 

Hours

Productive Hours:

   Total Work Time 2,080       2,080       

Less: 

   Holiday (96)          (96)          

   Vacation (120)        (120)        

   Sick Leave (104)        (104)        

   Training (17)          --             

Total Hours 1,743       1,760       
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The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

PHRs for FY 2013-14: 
 

Classification

Claimed 

PHR

Allowable 

PHR

Audit 

Adjustment

Intake Staff 34.94$ -$       (34.94)$    

Social Service Worker 34.94   -         (34.94)      

Social Services Supervisor 34.94   -         (34.94)      

Hearing Officer (C.S.S. Supervisor) 34.94   -         (34.94)      

Program Specialist II 36.32   40.22     3.90         

Office Assistants 18.97   20.31     1.34         

C.S.S. Worker III-V -      33.64     33.64       

C.S.S Supervisor II -      41.78     41.78        
 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

PHRs for FY 2014-15: 
 

Classification

Claimed 

PHR

Allowable 

PHR

Audit 

Adjustment

Office Assistant II 17.56$  -$       (17.56)$     

Office Assistants III 19.78    -         (19.78)      

C.S.S. Supervisor I 42.62    -         (42.62)      

C.S.S. Supervisor II 47.09    -         (47.09)      

C.S.S. Worker III 27.73    -         (27.73)      

C.S.S. Worker IV 28.19    -         (28.19)      

C.S.S. Worker V 38.07    -         (38.07)      

Program Specialist C.S.S. II 40.05    41.08     1.03         

Administrative Services Analyst II 33.75    28.28     (5.47)        

Office Assistant II/III -       20.73     20.73        

C.S.S. Worker III-V -       34.93     34.93        

C.S.S. Supervisor I/II -       45.16     45.16         
 

Criteria 

 

Section V, subparagraph A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters 

and guidelines states: 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 

 

Section 2, part 7, sub-part (1)(a), “Productive Hourly Rate Options,” of 

the SCO’s Mandated Cost Manual states, in part: 
 

A local agency may use one of the following methods to compute 

productive hourly rates: 

 Actual annual productive hours for each employee; 

 The weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title; or 

 1,800* annual productive hours for all employees. 
 

If actual annual productive hours or weighted-average annual productive 

hours for each job title is chosen, the claimant must maintain 

documentation of how these hours were computed. 

 

*1,800 annual productive hours excludes the following employee time: 

 Paid holidays; 
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 Vacation earned; 

 Sick leave taken; 

 Informal time off; 

 Jury duty; and 

 Military leave taken. 
 

Recommendation 

 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and parameters 

and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; and 

 Calculate the PHRs based on the employee classification that perform 

the mandated activities, using the documentation for the 

corresponding fiscal year.   
 

County’s Response 

 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 

 

 

For FY 2013-14, the DPSS claimed benefits for the Intake Staff, Office 

Assistant, Social Service Worker, Social Service Supervisor also referred 

to as the Hearing Officer, and Program Specialist II classifications. These 

classifications were assigned to specific work groups. The Intake Staff, 

Social Service Worker, Social Service Supervisor I/II/Hearing Officer 

classifications were assigned to the Social Service work group, the 

Program Specialist II classification was assigned to the Administrative 

Program work group, and the Office Assistant classification was assigned 

to the Clerical work group. The benefit costs for these classifications were 

calculated using the total cumulative budgeted annual benefit costs for a 

specific working group to which each classification was assigned. The 

total cumulative budgeted annual benefit costs of each work group was 

divided by the total number of the DPSS staff members who were assigned 

to each work group based on their classification to determine the average 

budgeted annual benefit cost. The DPSS divided the average budgeted 

annual benefit costs for each work group by the average budgeted annual 

salary costs to compute the benefit rates.   

 

For FY 2014-15, the DPSS claimed benefits for the Office Assistant II/III, 

C.S.S. Worker III-V, C.S.S. Supervisor I/II/Hearing Officer, Program 

Specialist C.S.S. II, and the Administrative Services Analyst II 

classifications. The benefits for these classifications were calculated using 

the total cumulative actual annual benefit costs for each classification then 

divided by the total number of DPSS staff members assigned to that 

classification to determine the average annual benefit costs. The DPSS 

divided the average annual benefit costs for each classification by average 

annual salary costs to compute the benefit rates.  

 

During testing, the DPSS provided payroll reports identifying the actual 

benefits for the DPSS staff members responsible for performing the 

FINDING 7— 

Misstated benefit 

rates  



Riverside County Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation Reports Program 

-38- 

mandate-related activities and who were included in the department’s time 

study. In addition, the payroll reports included only the job classifications 

of the DPSS staff members that were determined to be allowable per the 

results of the prior SCO audit. We used the actual benefits from the 

county’s payroll reports to calculate the average annual benefit amounts 

for the classifications that were responsible for performing the mandate-

related activities for the audit period. The total cumulative actual annual 

benefit costs for each classification was divided by the total number of 

staff members assigned to that classification to determine the average 

annual benefit costs. Also, we calculated an average annual benefit amount 

for classifications with multiple levels (Office Assistant II/III, C.S.S. 

Worker III-V, and the C.S.S. Supervisor I/II) by combining the total 

cumulative actual annual benefit costs for these multi-level classifications 

then divided the total number of staff members assigned to these multi-

level classifications to determine the average annual benefit costs. We 

divided the average annual benefit costs by the average annual salary costs 

for each classification to compute the benefit rates. We applied the benefit 

rates and classifications for the audit period. The county claimed 

overstated benefits as a result of misstating the benefit rates and claiming 

ineligible classifications. We calculated allowable costs based on 

allowable benefit rates and classifications. 

 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and the adjusted 

benefit rates for FY 2013-14: 
 

Classification

Claimed 

Benefit Rate

Allowable 

Benefit Rate

Audit 

Adjustment

Intake Staff 42.96% -              (42.96)%

Social Service Worker 42.96% -              (42.96)%

Social Service Supervisor 42.96% -              (42.96)%

Hearing Officer (C.S.S. Supervisor) 42.96% -              (42.96)%

Program Specialist II 43.15% 40.45% (2.70)%

Office Assistants 56.34% 55.25% (1.09)%

C.S.S. Worker III-V -              44.68% 44.68%

C.S.S. Supervisor II -              41.98% 41.98%  
 

The following table summarizes the claimed, allowable, and adjusted 

benefit rates for FY 2014-15: 
 

Classification

Claimed 

Benefit Rate

Allowable 

Benefit Rate

Audit 

Adjustment

Office Assistant II 53.89% -              (53.89)%

Office Assistants III 52.21% -              (52.21)%

C.S.S. Supervisor I 38.17% -              (38.17)%

C.S.S. Supervisor II 33.94% -              (33.94)%

C.S.S. Worker III 43.46% -              (43.46)%

C.S.S. Worker IV 42.86% -              (42.86)%

C.S.S Worker V 37.71% -              (37.71)%

Program Specialist C.S.S. II 42.29% 39.23% (3.06)%

Administrative Services Analyst II 42.61% 45.76% 3.15%

Office Assistant II/III -              52.15% 52.15%

C.S.S. Worker III-V -              43.75% 43.75%

C.S.S. Supervisor I/II -              40.54% 40.54%  
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Criteria 

 

Section V, subparagraph A.1, “Salaries and Benefits,” of the parameters 

and guidelines states, in part: 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by 

name, job classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and 

related benefits divided by productive hours). Describe the specific 

reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each 

reimbursable activity performed. 

 

Section 2, part 7, sub-part (2)(d), “Employer’s Benefit Contribution,” of 

the SCO’s Mandated Cost Manual states, in part:  

A local agency has the option of claiming actual employer’s fringe 

benefit contributions or computing an average fringe benefit cost for the 

employee’s job classification and claiming it as a percentage of direct 

labor. The same time base should be used for both salary and fringe 

benefits when computing a percentage. 

 

Recommendation 
 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015 16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and parameters 

and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; and 

 Calculate the benefit rates based on the employee classification that 

perform the mandated activities, using the documentation for the 

corresponding fiscal year.   
 

County’s Response 
 

The county concurs with the audit finding. 

 

 

The county reported $1,746,235 in offsetting revenues for the audit period. 

We found that the county overstated offsetting revenues by $617,176. 
 

The county reported the mandate-related ratio of federal funding it 

received based on the total annual costs claimed. As a result of the 

adjustments identified in Findings 1 through 7, we recalculated the 

offsetting revenues based on the allowable costs using the offset ratios 

provided by the DPSS totaling 47.01% for FY 2013-14 and 40.15% for 

FY 2014-15.   
 

The following table summarizes the audit adjustment related to offsetting 

revenues by fiscal year: 
 

Reported Actual

Fiscal Offsetting Offsetting Audit

Year Revenues Revenues Adjustment

 2013-14  $     (1,549,932)  $       (569,565)  $        980,367 

2014-15 (196,303)          (559,494)         (363,191)         

Total (1,746,235)$      (1,129,059)$     617,176$         
 

FINDING 8— 

Overstated offsetting 

revenues (Repeat 

Finding) 
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Criteria 

 

Section VII, “Offsetting Revenues and Reimbursements,” of the 

parameters and guidelines states:  

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as 

a result of the same statutes or executive orders found to contain the 

mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed. In addition, 

reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not 

limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, 

shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

Recommendation 

 

The ICAN Investigation Reports Program was suspended in the 

FY 2015-16 through FY 2020-21 Budget Acts. If the program becomes 

active again, we recommend that the county: 

 Follow the mandated program claiming instructions and parameters 

and guidelines when preparing its reimbursement claims; and 

 Ensure that all offsetting revenues are identified and deducted from 

claimed costs.  
 

County’s Response 

 

The county concurs with the audit finding.
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