STATE OF CALIFORNIA

BETTY T. YEE

California State Controller

STATE CONTROLLER'S OFFICE PERSONNEL AND PAYROLL SERVICES DIVISION P.O. BOX 942850 SACRAMENTO, CA 94250-5878

DATE: October 12, 2021 CALATERS GLOBAL LETTER #21-006

TO: All Agencies Participating in the California Automated Travel Expense Reimbursement System

FROM: Jil Barraza, Chief

Personnel and Payroll Services Division

RE: PROHIBITED TRAVEL STATES FOR STATE-FUNDED AND STATE-SPONSORED TRAVEL

On Friday, September 24, 2021, the Office of the Attorney General <u>announced</u> the addition of the state of Ohio to the list of travel-prohibited states for all state-funded and state-sponsored travel. Per <u>Assembly Bill AB 1887</u>, the following states are now identified as travel-prohibited states:

- Ohio **NEW** (Effective September 30, 2021)
- Florida
- Montana
- West Virginia
- Arkansas
- North Dakota
- Alabama
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Mississippi
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Oklahoma
- South Carolina
- Idaho
- Iowa

While there are limited exceptions for travel to the above states, please contact your department's <u>Travel Helpdesk</u> with any specific questions you may have regarding these new restrictions.

SCO Key Initiatives:

- Cal Employee Connect Project
- <u>California State Payroll System</u> Project

JEB:DM