STATE OF CALIFORNIA

BETTY T. YEE

California State Controller

STATE CONTROLLER'S OFFICE PERSONNEL AND PAYROLL SERVICES DIVISION P.O. BOX 942850 SACRAMENTO, CA 94250-5878

DATE: August 31, 2022 CALATERS GLOBAL LETTER #22-008

TO: All Agencies Participating in the California Automated Travel Expense Reimbursement System

FROM: Jil Barraza, Chief

Personnel and Payroll Services Division

RE: PROHIBITED TRAVEL STATES FOR STATE-FUNDED AND STATE-SPONSORED TRAVEL

On Monday, August 29, 2022, the Office of the Attorney General added the following state to the list of travel-prohibited states for all state-funded and state-sponsored travel: Georgia. Per <u>Assembly Bill AB 1887</u>, the following states are now identified as travel-prohibited states:

- Alabama
- Arizona (Announced July 20, 2022; Effective September 28, 2022)
- Arkansas
- Florida
- Georgia **NEW** (Effective August 19, 2022)
- Idaho
- Indiana
- lowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana

- Mississippi
- Montana
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- West Virginia

While there are limited exceptions for travel to the above states, please contact your department's <u>Travel Helpdesk</u> with any specific questions you may have regarding these new restrictions.

SCO Key Initiatives:

- Cal Employee Connect Project
- California State Payroll System Project

JEB:DM