STATE CONTROLLER'S OFFICE PERSONNEL AND PAYROLL SERVICES DIVISION P.O. BOX 942850 SACRAMENTO, CA 94250-5878

DATE: April 24, 2019 LEAVE ACCOUNTING LETTER #19-003

TO: All Agencies in the California Leave Accounting System (CLAS)

FROM: Marissa Revelino, Chief

Personnel and Payroll Services Division

## RE: ACCRUAL RATES FOR EXCLUDED, NON-TESTING CLASSES

This letter is to clarify the eligibility and accrual rates of Vacation and Annual Leave for non-testing classifications with a Collective Bargaining Unit Identifier of "E." These classifications include, but are not limited to, Student Assistants, Graduate Student Assistants, and Youth Aids.

These classifications are considered civil service and are appointed on a temporary basis. For the purpose of collective bargaining, they are considered excluded pursuant to the Ralph C. Dills Act, Government Code Section 3512 et seq. Therefore, they are eligible for vacation and/or annual leave accruals, based on the following rates, as found in title 2 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) sections 599.739.1 and 599.752, respectively:

## Vacation

7 months* through 36 months (3 yrs.)	7 hours per month
37 months through 120 months (10 yrs.)	11 hours per month
121 months through 180 months (15 yrs.)	13 hours per month
181 months through 240 months (20 yrs.)	14 hours per month
241 months through 300 months (25 yrs.)	15 hours per month
301 months and over	16 hours per month

## **Annual Leave**

1 month through 120 months (10 yrs.)	15 hours per month
121 months through 180 months (15 yrs.)	17 hours per month
181 months through 240 months (20 yrs.)	18 hours per month
241 months through 300 months (25 yrs.)	19 hours per month
301 months and over	20 hours per month

<sup>\*</sup>A one-time bonus of 42 hours is received after the completion of six qualifying pay periods.

Any departments that have applied a non-standard rate to these classifications for a reduced accrual rate shall delete the non-standard rate, void the non-standard accruals retroactive to January 2014, and post the standard rates, so that the employees may be credited with the correct amount of hours.

These rates have been verified with the California Department of Human Resources (CalHR). If you have any questions regarding the CCR sections, please contact the CalHR Personnel Services Branch via phone at (916) 323-3343. Otherwise, please contact the Leave Accounting Liaison at (916) 327-0756. MR:JB:CLAS