
STATE OF CALIFORNIA BETTY T. YEE 
  California State Controller 

 

STATE CONTROLLER’S OFFICE 
PERSONNEL AND PAYROLL SERVICES DIVISION 
P.O. BOX 942850 
SACRAMENTO, CA 94250-5878 

DATE: July 21, 2020 PERSONNEL LETTER #20-020 
 (Civil Service Only) 

TO: All Agencies in the Uniform State Payroll System 

FROM: Jil Barraza, Chief 
 Personnel and Payroll Services Division 

RE: JULY 1, 2020 CIVIL SERVICE MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE 

In accordance with Federal Law, effective July 1, 2020, the California minimum wage increased.  Please refer 
to CalHR Pay Letter #20-23 and Pay Differential 443 for additional information, including updated salary rates 
and Earnings IDs (EIDs) to offset Personal Leave Program (PLP) 2020 if reduced salary falls below minimum 
wage.  The Pay letter and Pay Differential can be accessed via the following link: CalHR Website. 

EH MASS UPDATE PROCESSING 

The State Controller’s Office (SCO) will process an Employment History (EH) mass update on July 21, 2020 to 
post a SAL transaction effective July 1, 2020 for eligible employees.  The SAL transaction will reflect the SSA 
within the employee’s base salary rate. 

The Personnel and Payroll Services Division (PPSD) will manually update EH records not included in the mass 
update, except as instructed below under Special EH Documentation/Processing Instructions.  PPSD will notify 
departments of any situations requiring department action.  

Turn around PARs (TAD) will be issued and released on a flow basis.  

DEPARTMENTAL ACTION REQUIRED - EH DOCUMENTATION/PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS 

SAL transactions manually processed by departments must accomplish the following: 

1. Update employee’s base salary in accordance with CalHR Pay Letter #20-23.  In the case where an 
employee is subject to PLP and the employee’s salary after PLP reduction is less than $2,600/month or 
$15/hour, add a Minimum Wage EID to bring employee’s salary back to minimum wage in accordance 
with Pay Differential 443. 

Out-of-Sequence 
After the SAL transactions are posted to an employee’s EH record, any new out-of-sequence transaction must 
have the old salary rate entered, if allowable on the transaction.  If not entered, the salary rate information per 
the SAL transactions will be reflected on the new transaction and could cause an overpayment.  See Personnel 
Action Manual (PAM) Section 9 for further processing information. 

If correcting a July 1, 2020 effective date transaction that was processed prior to the SAL being posted, enter 
the GSI Code O (alpha O) in the GSI field on the PAR1 update screen on the correct transaction to denote the 

https://hrnet.calhr.ca.gov/CalHRNet/default.aspx
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old salary rate.  Per DPA rule 599.689, MSA/SIS transactions with July 1, 2020 effective date must be posted 
prior to the SAL, if applicable.  Enter the GSI Code O on the MSA/SIS transaction to denote the old salary rate. 
Failure to enter the GSI Code O could result in an incorrect base salary rate and/or anniversary date (i.e., 
overpayment). 

Disability/Military Leave 
Employees on Disability or Military leave at the time of the mass update will need to be identified and updated 
by departments. 

Lump Sum 
Employees who separated from state service without fault prior to the effective date of the salary increase with 
lump sum pay extending beyond 07/01/20, and who were eligible for the SAL at the time of the separation, 
should have their lump sum adjusted to reflect the salary increase.  Departments must identify and manually 
process the SAL transactions for separated employees, as applicable. 

Plus Salary 
Departments must manually identify and update the records of employees who have a plus salary.  

PAYROLL ADJUSTMENTS  

Departments shall submit Form STD. 674/674D to request adjustments for the following payments that may 
issue without the salary increase for the 07/2020 pay period: 

• Regular pay with dock applied for employees with a mid-month change. 

• Regular pay for employees on an alternate work schedule or working shift and time paid does not equal 
time possible for the pay period. 

• Industrial Disability Leave (IDL) 

• Temporary Disability (TD) 

• Nonindustrial Disability Leave (NDI) 

• State Disability Insurance (SDI) 

Please direct questions on the salary changes as follows: 

SUBJECT AREA CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER/EMAIL 

Program Administration  
(e.g., rules, regulations, 
benefits/pay impacts) 

Personnel Services Branch  
CalHR 

(916) 323-3343 

General Payroll Procedures 
Disability Payroll Procedures 
Employment History Procedures 

Statewide Customer Contact Center  
SCO 

(916) 372-7200 
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SUBJECT AREA CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER/EMAIL 

HR Suggestions Email Inbox (All 
HR Staff) 

Personnel and Payroll Services 
Division 
SCO 

PPSDHRSuggestions@sco.ca.gov         

Escalation Email Inbox (HR 
Supervisors and Managers) 

Personnel and Payroll Services 
Division  
SCO 

PPSDOps@sco.ca.gov 

JEB:AM:PMAB 
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