Volume 1, Issue 3

December 2019

State Controller's Office
Personnel and Payroll Services Division

The PPSD Register



This issue features changes in domestic partnership law and the PPM updates reflecting those changes, as well as the direct deposit initiative. Wishing you all the best as this year comes to an end and a new year begins!

— Lisa Dean, Chief, Program Management and Analysis Bureau

HELPFUL TOOLS

Subscribe for Email Updates

Civil Service Weekly Processing Dates

<u>Decentralized Payroll</u> <u>Calendars</u>

<u>California Personnel</u> <u>Office Directory (CPOD)</u>

Payroll Letters

Personnel Letters

Personnel Action
Manual (PAM)

<u>Payroll Procedures</u> <u>Manual (PPM)</u>

Requesting Employment History

Requesting Pay History

California State Payroll
System (CSPS)

Statewide Training

CONTACT US

(916) 372-7200 ppsdops@sco.ca.gov

HR Suggestions
ppsdhrsuggestions@sco.ca.gov

sco.ca.gov

Domestic Partnerships: Amended Law and PPM Updates

Legislation recently signed into law may affect benefit enrollment and federal payroll taxes for employees registered as a domestic partner (DP). Senate Bill 30 of 2019 amended California law effective January 1, 2020, removing the requirement that people be of the same sex, or of the opposite sex with one person over 62 years of age, to be registered as a domestic partnership. This will provide opportunity for more employees to file a Declaration of Domestic Partnership with the California Secretary of State and to enroll their DP and DP's dependents in their dental, health, and vision benefits.

Another impact concerns federal payroll taxes. When an employee adds benefits for a domestic partner, the employee may pay federal taxes on the cost of the added benefits. Please see the recently updated **Domestic Partner Benefits** section <u>PPM H 690-699</u> and the Domestic Partnership FAQs for more information and share it with employees.

Changes to Direct Deposit

Departments are no longer permitted to mandate eligibility criteria (e.g., serving a waiting period when newly hired) that employees must meet before initially participating in the direct deposit program. Departmental human resources offices continue to maintain control on canceling direct deposit in certain circumstances (e.g., late dock), it is recommended that they should continue to cancel direct deposit accounts when necessary for separations. Every six months, the State Controller's Office purges direct deposit accounts for employees who have not received pay for 12 or more months.

For additional information on direct deposit, see $\underline{PPM\ J\ 001-019}$ and the Direct Deposit Enrollment Authorization Std. 699.

Tips for Lump Sum Separations

- **Corrected PARs**: Most PAR items can be corrected over the phone by calling the <u>Statewide</u> Customer Contact Center (SCCC), which will significantly reduce processing time.
- **Do not send duplicate or inquiry PARs**. If you do not receive an email within 24 hours confirming receipt by SCO, call the SCCC to inquire.
- 24-hour response: Please respond within 24 hours when contacted by SCO; otherwise PARs will be cancelled.
- **Receipt dates**: Lump Sum Separation PAR packages received after the dates specified in Payroll Letter 19-017 may incur charges (see CalHR Manual section 1802).

The purpose of this publication is to provide general information about personnel and payroll topics and is meant solely as a reference source. This publication does not supersede current applicable laws or regulations and is not intended for purposes of providing legal advice. If there is a conflict between applicable law or regulation and the contents of this publication, the law or regulation shall prevail.