California State Controller Betty T. Yee

Unclaimed Property Division

Holder Remit Report: Common Errors

I o best assist holders in accurately completing their Holder Remit Report, this guide focuses on several common
errors and ways to avoid them.

1. Not Submitting a Holder Remit Report

Failure to submit your Holder Remit Report may result in an interest assessment per California Code of Civil Procedure
(CCP) section 1577. Note: If you submitted multiple Holder Notice Reports, you must submit an equal number of Holder
Remit Reports; it is not acceptable to combine multiple Holder Remit Reports into one.

2. Incomplete or Incorrect Universal Holder Face Sheet (UFS-1)

The UFS-1 is required with every report you submit (Holder Notice, Holder Remit, and/or Supplemental). If the UFS-1 is
not completed correctly, it may cause the report to be late and result in an interest assessment per CCP section 1577.
Reference four common errors below and review the form instructions for completion details.
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3. Changing Property Owner Information

The Holder Remit Report must contain the same owner information as the Holder Notice Report for all properties that
remain unclaimed. Only make necessary changes to the data if it will help identify owners. For example, you may add
a Social Security number or an address. Do not change the format of the property owner’s name by adding a period,
space, or comma. This will help avoid system errors when the reports are uploaded.

4. Adding New Names and/or Properties not Previously Reported on the Holder Notice Report

Do not include new property owner names and/or properties when preparing the Holder Remit Report. If new names
and/or properties are found, you must prepare a Supplemental Notice Report. Refer to page 23 of the

Unclaimed Property Holder Handbook for supplemental reporting. If you were able to reunite the property with its
rightful owner, or reinstate the owner’s account, you may omit it from the Holder Remit Report entirely. Alternatively,
you may keep the property on the Holder Remit Report, but you must use the appropriate pay or deletion code and
show the property remitted amount as zero.

5. Incorrectly Remitting Funds to the State Controller’s Office

Any payment of $20,000 or more must be made by electronic fund transfer (EFT) (CCP section 1532). Failure to
comply with CCP section 1532 will subject the payment to a civil penalty of two percent of the amount due. If you
have less than $20,000 to remit, you may choose to remit either by a check payable to the “California State Controller”
or by EFT.

The Controller encourages all payers to sign up for EFT, preferably by ACH Debit or ACH Credit, regardless of the
payment amount. To establish an EFT account with the Controller’s Office, complete the Authorization Agreement for
Electronic Funds Transfer. Contact the EFT Help Desk at UPDSCOEFT@sco.ca.gov or (916) 464-6220 for assistance.

When remitting mutual funds, direct registration is required for transfer of open-end mutual fund shares to the
Controller’s contracted broker. Refer to pages 41 - 42 of the Unclaimed Property Holder Handbook for registration
instructions and other specifications. All securities must be remitted with the correct Committee on Uniform
Securities Identification Procedures (CUSIP) number with your Holder Remit Report. Failure to follow these
instructions will delay processing your Holder Remit Report.

6. Not Including the Holder Remit Reminder Letter (14F) with Holder Remit Report Package

Holder Remit Reminder Letters (14F) are sent to holders once the Holder Notice Reports and Supplemental Notice
Reports have been approved in the reporting system. The 14F must be signed with an original, “wet” signature by the
person preparing the report and returned with the Holder Remit Report. To check the status of your 14F, contact the
Reporting Unit at (916) 464-6284.

\Xe're Here to Help!

Outreach & Compliance Unit The Outreach and Compliance Unit provides holder education and

resources through one-on-one assistance, webinars, and speaking

(916) 464-6088 engagements. Visit the events page for up-to-date information or

UPDHolderOutreach@sco.ca.gov contact us for participation in your next event.

WWW.SCO.Ca.Z20V ° www.claimit.ca.gov

All materials and information contained within this guide are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice.
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