OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER
STATE-MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2013-15
MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID

JULY 22, 2013
REVISED JULY 1, 2016

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Minimum Conditions for State Aid program.
The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates
(CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & G). The Ps & Gs are included
as an integral part of the claiming instructions.

On May 26, 2011, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim statutes
and regulations impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon community
college districts within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and
GC section 17514.

Exception

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

Eligible Claimants

Any community college district, as defined in Government Code section 17519, that incurs
increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement. Block grant
recipients are not eligible to claim for reimbursement.

Reimbursement Claim Deadline

Annual reimbursement claims for fiscal year 2015-16 may be filed by February 15, 2017,
without a late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be
accepted.

Penalty
e Initial Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section
17561, subdivision (d)(3).

e Annual Reimbursement Claims

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section
17568.



Minimum Claim Cost

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551
and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure
section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the
adjustment.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.

Record Retention

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all



documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be
made available to the SCO on request.
Claim Submission

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website:
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by If delivered by

U.S. Postal Service: other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850 3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 94250 Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email
at LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.



mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov

Adopted: April 19, 2013

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

Education Code Sections 66010.2, 66010.7,' 66721.5, 66731, 66732, 66736, 66738, 66740,
66742, 70902, 78015, and 78016

Statutes 1988, Chapter 973; Statutes 1991, Chapter 1188; Statutes 1991, Chapter 1198;
Statutes 1998, Chapter 365; and Statutes 2000, Chapter 187

California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Sections 53203, 53207, 55001, 55002, 55005, 55006,

55150, 55201, 55202, 55750, 55751, 55753, 55753.5, 55753.7, 55754, 55755, 55756, 55756.5,

55757, 55758, 55759, 55760, 55761, 55764, 55800, 55805, 55805.5, 55806, 58102, 58104, and
58106

Register 91, Number 23; Register 93, Number 25; Register 93, Number 42;
Register 94, Number 38; Register 98, Number 7; Register 2000, Number 50;
Register 2002, Number 8; and Register 2003, Number 18.

Minimum Conditions for State Aid
02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31

Period of reimbursement begins on July 1, 2001, or later for specified activities
added by subsequent statutes.

l. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE

The test claim statutes and regulations address the standards for the formation and basic
operation of the California Community Colleges which includes: (1) faculty participation in
district and college governance; (2) transfer centers in community colleges;

(3) vocational education; (4) standards of scholarship; (5) curriculum; (6) degrees and
certificates; and (7) open courses.

On May 26, 2011, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of
decision for the Minimum Conditions for State Aid test claim finding that the test claim statutes
and regulations impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon community
college districts within the meaning of article XIlI B, section 6 of the California Constitution and
Government Code section 17514. The Commission approved this test claim for the reimbursable
activities found under Section IV. Reimbursable Activities.

! During the September 28, 2012 Commission hearing, the Commission severed the reimbursable
state-mandated new programs or higher levels of service imposed by Education Code sections
66010.2 and 66010.7 from the Discrimination Complaint Procedures (02-TC-46 and a portion of
02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31) parameters and guidelines in order to include those activities with the
Minimum Conditions for State Aid (02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31) parameters and guidelines. See the
adopted statement of decision and parameters and guidelines for Discrimination Complaint
Procedures (02-TC-46 and a portion of 02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31) at
<http://www.csm.ca.gov/pendingclaims/docs/dcp/doc78.pdf> as of October 24, 2012.
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1. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS

Any community college district, which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is
eligible to claim reimbursement.

I11. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

Government Code section 17557(e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year. The claimants filed the test
claim in the 2002-2003 fiscal year, establishing eligibility for reimbursement on or after

July 1, 2001. All of the reimbursable activities approved in the Minimum Conditions for State Aid
test claim were operative at the start of the reimbursement period except for the activities mandated
by California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 53207. Title 5, section 53207, (Register 2003,
No. 18) was operative April 11, 2003. As a result, all of the activities approved in the Minimum
Conditions for State Aid test claim are eligible for reimbursement beginning July 1, 2001, except
for the activities mandated by title 5, section 53207. The activities mandated by title 5,

section 53207, are reimbursable beginning April 11, 2003.

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows:
e Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.

e Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the
issuance date for the claiming instructions.

e Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a school district may, by February 15
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year.

e If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a school district filing an
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the
revised claiming instructions to file a claim. (Government Code section 17560(b).)

e If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a).

e There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

IV.  REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.
Actual costs must be traceable to and supported by source documents that show the validity of
such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to,
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.
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Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,”
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is
required to incur as a result of the mandate.

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable:

1. Participation in District and College Governance (Ed. Code, §8 66010.2(b),
70902(b)(7) and (b)(14), and Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 53203 and 53207)

a. One-Time Activities

1)

2)

3)

Establish procedures to ensure faculty, staff, and students the opportunity to
express their opinions at the campus level, to ensure that these opinions are
given every reasonable consideration, and to ensure the right of the academic
senates to assume primary responsibility for making recommendations in the
areas of curriculum and academic standards.

The procedures established shall be consistent with the minimum standards
established by the Board of Governors. The minimum standards are set forth
in California Code of Regulations, title 5, sections 53200-53207 (for faculty),
51023.5 (for staff), and 51023.7 (for students).

Except for those ongoing activities listed below in 1(b), reimbursement is not
required to implement the procedures. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(7), Stats. 1988,
ch. 973

Adopt policies for appropriate delegation of authority and responsibility to its
college or district academic senate.

Policies must provide, at a minimum, that the governing board or its designees
will consult collegially with the academic senate when adopting policies and
procedures on academic and professional matters. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
53203(a), Register 94, No. 38.)

Adopt procedures for responding to recommendations of the academic senate
that incorporate the following:

a) In instances where the governing board elects to rely primarily upon the
advice and judgment of the academic senate, the recommendations of the
senate will normally be accepted, and only in exceptional circumstances
and for compelling reasons will the recommendation not be accepted. If a
recommendation is not accepted, the governing board or its designee, upon
request of the academic senate, shall promptly communicate its reasons in
writing to the academic senate. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 53203(d)(1),
Register 94, No. 38.)
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b) In instances where the governing board elects to provide for mutual
agreement with the academic senate, and agreement has not been reached,
existing policy shall remain in effect unless continuing with such policy
exposes the district to legal liability or causes substantial fiscal hardship.
In cases where there is no existing policy, or in cases where the exposure
to legal liability or substantial fiscal hardship requires existing policy to be
changed, the governing board may act, after a good faith effort to reach
agreement, only for compelling legal, fiscal, or organizational reasons.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 53203(d)(2), Register 94, No. 38.)

b. Ongoing Activities

1)

2)

3)

4)

Provide all students the opportunity to address issues, including ethical issues
that are central to their full development as responsible citizens, in
community college programs. (Ed. Code, § 66010.2(b), Stats. 1991, ch.
1198.)

Participate in the consultation process established by the Board of Governors
for the development and review of policy proposals pursuant to Education
Code section 70901(e). (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(14), Stats. 1988. Ch. 973.)

Consult collegially with representatives of the academic senate when
adopting the policies for appropriate delegation of authority and
responsibility to its college or district academic senate pursuant to California
Code of Regulations, title 5, section 53202(a). (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
53203(b), Register 94, No. 38.)

Beginning April 11, 2003, grant faculty members elected to serve as president
and vice president of the Academic Senate of the California Community
Colleges release or reassigned time from their local responsibilities by the
district by which they are employed during their terms of office. (Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8 53207 (Register 2003, No. 18).) Reimbursement is eligible for
the following activities and costs:

a) Identify the part-time replacement cost prior to September of each year for
employees elected to serve as president and vice president of the
Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges.

b) If the release or reassigned time need identified is 100 percent and the
position is in a hard to replace discipline area, certify this to the
Chancellor by August 1 for reimbursement at the full-time temporary
replacement cost of the employee released.

The costs to perform activities a) and b) are subject to any offsetting
revenue provided the district from the Academic Senate of the California
Community Colleges for the reasonable and documented administrative
costs associated with hiring faculty to replace the faculty serving as
president and vice president of the Academic Senate.

c) The replacement cost of the faculty member serving as president or vice-
president of the Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges is
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eligible for reimbursement, offset by any funds appropriated to the
Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges (line item 6870-
101-0001) and provided to the district at either the part-time replacement
rate or the full-time temporary replacement rate pursuant to section
53207(c).

2. Transfer Centers (Ed. Code, 88 66010.7, 66721.5, 66731, 66732, 66736, 66738, 66740,
and 66742)

a. One-Time Activities

1)

2)

Adopt as policy that the student transfer agreement program shall constitute a
significant role in achieving the goal of student diversity within community
colleges, and in ensuring that all students, particularly those currently
underrepresented in higher education, have access to a university education.
(Ed. Code, § 66732 (Stats. 1991, ch. 1188).)

Formally acknowledge student matriculation from community colleges
through the University of California and California State University as a
central institutional priority of all segments of higher education. (Ed. Code,
§ 66731 (Stats. 1991, ch. 1188).)

b. Ongoing Activities

1)

2)

3)

4)

Provide direction to the appropriate officials at their respective campuses to
provide each of their students with a copy of the current transfer core
curriculum. (Ed. Code 8 66721.5(a)(1), Stats. 2000, ch. 187.)

Distribute a copy of the current transfer core curriculum to each community
college student who is enrolled in a degree or certification program and is
physically in attendance at the institution.

Include the text of the current transfer core curriculum in the published class
schedule for each academic term, or distribute the transfer core curriculum
during the registration process, or by mail, or during the issuance of student
identification cards, or during student orientation programs. (Ed. Code §
66721.5(b), (c) and (d), Stats. 2000, ch. 187.)

Design, adopt, and implement policies intended to facilitate successful
movement of students from community colleges through the University of
California and the California State University. (Ed. Code, § 66732, Stats.
1991, ch. 1188.)

Ensure that its college or colleges maintain student transfer counseling centers
or other counseling and student services at its college or colleges designed and
implemented to affirmatively seek out, counsel, advise, and monitor the
progress of potential and identified community college transfer students.

Reimbursement for this activity may include the adoption of policies and
procedures. All policies and procedures adopted for this purpose must give
preference and emphasis toward enhancing the transfer of students from
economically disadvantaged families and students from traditionally
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5)

6)

7)

8)

underrepresented minorities, to the fullest extent possible under state and
federal statutes and regulations. (Ed. Code, 8 66736, Stats. 1991, ch. 1188.)
Reimbursement is not required to develop and adopt a transfer center plan
pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 51027.

Except as provided in the next paragraph, undertake intersegmental
collaboration and coordination (with the University of California and
California State University) particularly when it can do either of the
following: (1) facilitate achievement of the goals of educational equity; (2)
facilitate student progress from one segment to another, particularly with
regard to preparation of students for higher education as well as the transfer
from the California Community Colleges to four-year institutions.

Reimbursement is not required in instances which cooperation can:
(1) enhance the achievement of the institutional missions shared by the
segments; (2) enable public and private postsecondary education to
more effectively meet the educational needs of a geographical region;
and (3) provide more effective planning of postsecondary education on
a statewide basis. (Ed. Code, 8 66010.7(b), Stats. 1991, ch. 1198.)

Work together with other leaders responsible for public (University of
California and California State University) and independent
institutions of higher education and the Superintendent of Public
Instruction to promote and facilitate the development of intersegmental
programs and other cooperative efforts aimed at improving the
progress of students through the educational systems and at
strengthening the teaching profession at all levels. (Ed. Code, 8§
66010.7(c), Stats. 1991, ch. 1198.)

Develop and implement formal, system wide, articulation agreements
and transfer agreement programs, including those for general
education or a transfer core curriculum, and other appropriate
procedures to support and enhance the transfer function.

Reimbursement for this activity may include specifying the curricular
requirements that must be met, and the level of achievement that must
be attained, by community college students in order for those students
to transfer to the campus, undergraduate college, or major of choice in
the public four-year segments. (Ed. Code, 8 66738(a), Stats. 1991, ch.
1188.)

Expand existing practices related to concurrent enrollment, in which
community college students are provided the opportunity to take
courses at University of California and California State University
campuses, as space is available, and to expand opportunities for
potential transfer students to participate in activities that familiarize
them with the university campus. (Ed. Code, § 66738(c), Stats. 1991,
ch. 1188.)
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9) Act in conjunction with each department, school, major in the
University of California and California State University to develop
discipline-specific articulation agreements and transfer program
agreements for those majors that have lower division prerequisites. In
doing so, faculty from community colleges and university campuses
are to participate in discipline-specific curriculum development to
coordinate course content and expected levels of student competency.
(Ed. Code, § 66740, first paragraph, Stats. 1991, ch. 1188.)

10) Develop discipline-based agreements in conjunction with the
California State University and the University of California with as
many campuses of the two university segments as feasible, but no
fewer than three University of California campuses and five California
State University campuses. No one segment should bear the
organizational or financial responsibility for accomplishing these
goals. (Ed. Code, 8§ 66740, third paragraph, Stats. 1991, ch. 1188.)

11) Present annual statistical reports with the California Community
Colleges, California State University, and the University of California
on transfer patterns to the Governor and Legislature via the California
Postsecondary Education Commission. Include in these reports
statistics and information as described in Education Code section
66742. (Education Code section 66742, Stats. 1991, ch. 1188.)

3. Vocational Education (Ed. Code, 88 78015 and 78016). Reimbursement is authorized
for the following ongoing activities:

a. Conduct a job market study of the labor market area, as defined by Education
Code section 52301.5, in which the community college district proposes to
establish the program prior to establishing the program.?

The labor market study must use the State-Local Cooperative Labor Market
Information Program established by Unemployment Insurance Code

section 10533, or if this program is not available for the labor market area, the
study must use other sources of labor market information.

The study must include a California Occupational Information System supply
analysis of existing vocational and occupational education or training programs
for adults maintained by high schools, community colleges, and private
postsecondary schools in the area to ensure that the anticipated employment
demand for students in the proposed programs justifies the establishment of the
proposed courses of instruction. (Ed. Code, 8 78015(a)(1), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

b. Make copies of each job market study available to the public. (Ed. Code,
§ 78015(a)(2), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

2 Education Code section 52301.5 defines “Labor Market Area” as “a county or aggregation of
counties designated by the Employment Development Department (EDD) that has one or more
central core cities and that meets criteria of population, population density, commute patterns,
and social and economic integration specified by the EDD.

7

Minimum Conditions for State Aid, 02-TC-25 and 02-TC-31
Parameters and Guidelines



c. Determine whether or not the job market study justifies the proposed vocational
education program. (Ed. Code, 8 78015(b), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

d. Determine by resolution whether the program will be offered through the
district’s own facilities or through a contract with an approved private
postsecondary school pursuant to Education Code section 8092, if the district
determines that the job market study justifies the initiation of the proposed
program. (Ed. Code, § 78015(c), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

e. Review every vocational or occupational training program offered by the district
and commenced subsequent to July 28, 1983, every two years to ensure that each
program: (1) meets a documented labor market demand; (2) does not represent
unnecessary duplication of other manpower training programs in the area; and (3)
is of demonstrated effectiveness as measured by the employment and completion
success of its students.

These three requirements are to be demonstrated by the California Occupational
Information System, including State-Local Cooperative Labor Market
Information Program established in Unemployment Insurance Code section
10533, or if this program is not available in the labor market area, other available
sources of labor market information. (Ed. Code, 8 78016(a), Stats. 1998, ch.
365.)

f. Terminate any program that does not meet the requirements of Education Code
section 78016(a), and the standards promulgated by the governing board within
one year. (Ed. Code, § 78016(b), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

g. Include the review and comments by the local Private Industry Council,
established pursuant to Unemployment Insurance Code section 15000 et seq., in
the review process of every vocational or occupational training program offered
by the district and commenced subsequent to July 28, 1983. The review and
comments by the Private Industry Council shall occur prior to any decision by the
district governing board. (Ed. Code, § 78016(c), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

h. Make a written summary of the findings of each review available to the public.
(Ed. Code, § 78016(e), Stats. 1998, ch. 365.)

4. Standards of Scholarship (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(3), and Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 88
55750, 55751, 55753, 55753.5, 55753.7, 55754, 55755, 55756.5, 55757, 55758, 55759,
55760, 55761, and 55764)

a. One-time Activities

1) Adopt and publish procedures and conditions for probation and appeal of
probation and request for removal from probation. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55755(c), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, § 55032(c), Register 2007, No. 35.)

2) Adopt and publish procedures and conditions for dismissal and appeal of
dismissal and request for reinstatement. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55756(c),
Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55033(c), Register 2007, No. 35.)
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3)

4)

5)

Adopt rules setting forth the circumstances that warrant exceptions to the
standards for dismissal. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55756(d), Register 91,
No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55033(d),
Register 2007, No. 35.)

File a copy of the rules setting forth the circumstances that warrant exceptions
to the standards for dismissal with the Chancellor. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55756(d), Register 91, No. 23; requirement repealed, operative

August 16, 2007, Register 2007, No. 35.)

Include in the procedures for the correction of grades given in error,
procedures for expunging an incorrect grade from the record.

Reimbursement is not required to develop and adopt procedures for the
correction of grades. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55760(a), Register 91,

No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55025(d),

Register 2007, No. 35.)

. Ongoing Activities

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

Adopt regulations consistent with the subchapter regarding standards of
scholarship consisting of California Code of Regulations, title 5, section
55750 — 55765. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(3), and Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55750, Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, § 55020, Register 2007, No. 35.)

Publish the regulations consistent with the subchapter regarding standards of
scholarship in the college catalog under appropriate headings.

Reimbursement is required only for the ongoing pro-rata cost to publish the
section of the catalog that contains the mandated regulations (i.e. the cost of
printing the additional page(s)). Reimbursement is not required for the cost of
publishing the entire catalog. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55750, Register 91,
No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55020, Register
2007, no. 35.)

File a copy of the community college district’s regulations regarding standards
of scholarship, and any amendments of the regulations, with the Chancellor.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55750, Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement
see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55020, Register 2007, No. 35.)

Determine a uniform grading practice for the district based on sound academic
principles. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55751, Register 91, No. 23; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55021(a), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Conform the uniform grading practices to the standard that work in all courses
acceptable in the fulfillment of the requirements for an associate or
baccalaureate degree, a certificate, diploma or license is graded in accordance
with a grading scale adopted by the governing board consistent with section
55758, and sections 55752 (Credit-No Credit Options) or 55753 (Credit by
Examination). (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55751(a) and (b), Register 91, No.
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6)

7)

8)

9)

23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55021(c), Register
2007, No. 35.)

Adopt and publish regulations pertaining to credit by examination in
accordance with the provisions of Subchapter 9 “Standards of Scholarship”
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55750 et seq.). Reimbursement for publishing the
regulations is required only for the ongoing pro-rata cost to publish the section
of the catalog that contains the mandated regulations. Reimbursement is not
required for the cost of publishing the entire catalog. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,
8 55753(a), Register 2002, No. 8; for current requirement see Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8 55050(a), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Place a student on academic probation when he/she has attempted at least 12
semester or 18 quarter units as shown by the official academic record and
earned a grade point average below 2.0 in all units which were graded on the
basis of the grading scale. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55754(a), Register 91,
No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55031(a),
Register 2007, No. 35.)

Remove a student from academic probation when the student’s accumulated
grade point average is 2.0 or higher. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55755(a),
Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55032(a), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Make a student subject to dismissal if the student is on academic probation
and has earned a cumulative grade point average of less than 1.75 in all units
attempted in each of 3 consecutive semesters or 5 consecutive quarters which
were graded on the basis of a grading scale. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8
55756(a), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, § 55033(a), Register 2007, No. 35.)

10) Determine a student’s need for remedial coursework using appropriate

assessment instruments, methods, or procedures, including, but not limited to,
interviews; standardized tests; holistic scoring processes; attitude surveys;
vocational or career aptitude and interest inventories; high school or college
transcripts; specialized certificates or licenses; educational histories; other
measures of performance; and assessment procedures such as identification of
test cores which measure particular skill levels, the administrative process by
which students are referred for assessment, the manner in which assessment
results are made available, and the length of time required before such results
are available. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55756.5(b), Register 91, No. 23; for
current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55035(a), Register 2007, No.
35.)

11) Dismiss and refer students that have exhausted the remedial coursework unit

limitation to appropriate adult noncredit education services, provided by
college, adult school, community-based organization, or other appropriate
local provider which the district has an established referral agreement. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55756.5(b) and (e), Register 91, No. 23; for current
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requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55035(a) and (e), Register 2007,
No. 35.)

12) Submit, through the established Management Information System,
information necessary to enable the Chancellor to determine the effect of the
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 55756.5, on students by sex,
age, and ethnicity, and the success rates for students enrolled in “remedial
coursework.” (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 855756.5(g), Register 91, No. 23; for
current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55035(g), Register 2007, No.
35.)

13) Adopt rules and regulations governing the inclusion in or exclusion of units,
for the purpose of determining whether to place a student on probation or
dismissal, in which a student did not receive a grade or “credit-no credit” or
from which the student withdrew in accordance with rules adopted by the
district governing board. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55757, Register 91,

No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55030(a),
Register 2007, No. 35.)

14) Determine a student’s grade point average using the grades from a grading
scale and the corresponding point equivalencies set forth in California Code of
Regulations, title 5, section 55758(a). (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55758(a),
Register 2000, No. 50; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,

§ 55023(a), Register 2007, No. 35.)

15) Publish the point equivalencies for the grades used in California Code
Regulations, title 5, section 55758(a), in the catalog or catalogs of the
community college district as part of its grading practices. “Point
equivalencies for the grades” that are to be published excludes the symbols for
credit (CR) and no credit (NC). Reimbursement is required only for the
ongoing pro-rata cost to publish the section of the catalog that contains the
mandated point equivalencies for grades (i.e. the cost of printing the
additional page(s)). Reimbursement is not required for the cost of publishing
the entire catalog. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55758(d), Register 2000, No. 50;
for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55023(d), Register 2007,
No. 35.)

16) Make reasonable efforts to notify a student subject to academic probation or
dismissal at or near the beginning of the semester or quarter which it will take
effect, but no later than the start of the fall semester or quarter. (Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8 55759, Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55034, Register 2007, No. 35.)

17) Make reasonable efforts to notify a student of removal from probation or
reinstatement after dismissal within timelines established by the district. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55759, Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55034, Register 2007, No. 35.)

18) Publish the policies and procedures regarding probation and dismissal in the
college catalog. Reimbursement is required only for the one-time cost of
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formatting the policies and procedures for publication, and the ongoing pro-
rata cost to publish the section of the catalog that contains the policies and
procedures on probation and dismissal (i.e. the cost of printing the additional
page(s)). Reimbursement is not required for the cost of publishing the entire
catalog. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55759 (Register 91, No. 23); for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55034 (Register 2007, No. 35).)

19) Make reasonable effort to provide counseling and other support services to a
student on probation to help the student overcome any academic difficulties.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55759, Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement
see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55034, Register 2007, No. 35.)

20) Grade changes. The following activities are eligible for reimbursement:

a) The instructor of the course shall determine the grade to be awarded each
student in accordance with the California Code of Regulations, title 5,
section 55758 (“Academic Record Symbols and Grade Point Average”),
which shall be final in the absence of mistake, fraud, bad faith, or
incompetency. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55760(a), Register 91, No. 23;
for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55025(a), Register
2007, No. 35).

b) Adopt and publish regulations for repeating courses in which substandard
work has been recorded Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55760(b) and 55761,
Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 88
55040(a), and 55042(a), Register 2007, No. 35.) If these regulations are
published in the college catalog, reimbursement for publishing is required
only for the ongoing pro-rata cost to publish the section of the catalog that
contains the regulations for repeating courses (i.e. the cost of printing the
additional page(s)). Reimbursement is not required for the cost of
publishing the entire catalog.

21) Adopt and publish regulations for alleviation of previously recorded
substandard academic performance that is not reflective of a student’s
demonstrated ability. If these regulations are published in the college catalog,
reimbursement for publishing is required only for the ongoing pro-rata cost to
publish the section of the catalog that contains the regulations for alleviation
of previously recorded substandard academic performance that is not
reflective of a student’s demonstrated ability (i.e. the cost of printing the
additional page(s)). Reimbursement is not required for the cost of publishing
the entire catalog. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55764 (Register 91, No. 23); for
current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55046(a) (Register 2007,
No. 35).)

5. Curriculum (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), and Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55001,
55002, 55005, 55006, 55150, 55201, and 55202)

a. One-Time Activities

1) Adopt policies for the provisions outlined in a) through d) below, in accordance
with the Board of Governors regulations addressing faculty participation in
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district and college governance (i.e. Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 53200-53204),
when a college is required to establish prerequisites or co-requisites for an
associate degree credit course pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 5,
section 55002(a)(2)(D) and (E) (e.g. a student is unlikely to receive a satisfactory
grade in a course without the prerequisite or co-requisite, or success in a course is
dependent on communication or computation skills):

a)

b)

d)

The policy for the process for establishing prerequisites or co-requisites
shall be based on content review with additional methods of scrutiny being
applied depending on the type of prerequisite or co-requisite established.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55201(b)(1), Register 98, No. 7; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55003(b)(1), Register 2007,

No. 35.)

The procedures to assure that courses for which prerequisites or co-
requisites are established will be taught in accordance with the course
outline that are the basis for the requirement to establish the prerequisite or
co-requisite. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55201(b)(2), Register 98, No. 7; for
current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55003(b)(2), Register
2007, No. 35.)

The process, including levels of scrutiny, for reviewing prerequisites and
co-requisites to assure that they remain necessary and appropriate. The
process shall provide that at least once each six years all prerequisites and
co-requisites established by the district shall be reviewed. (Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, § 55201(b)(3), Register 98, No. 7; for current requirement see
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55003(b)(3), Register 2007, No. 35.)

The basis to challenge a prerequisite or co-requisite are:

i. The prerequisite or co-requisite was not established in accordance with
the district’s process for establishing prerequisites and co-requisites;

ii. The prerequisite or co-requisite violates California Code of
Regulations, title 5, sections 55200-55202, which address the
authority, requirements, and limitations on authority, when
establishing prerequisites and co-requisites;

iii. The prerequisite or co-requisite are either unlawfully discriminatory or
are being applied in an unlawfully discriminatory manner;

iv. The student has the knowledge or ability to succeed in the course or
program despite not meeting the prerequisite or co-requisite; and

v. The student will be subject to undue delay in attaining the goal of his
or her educational plan because the prerequisite or co-requisite course
has not been made reasonably available. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55201(b)(2) and (f)(1)-(5), Register 98, No. 7; for current requirement
see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55003(b)(2) and (m)(1)-(5), Register
2007, No. 35.)
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b. Ongoing Activities

1)

2)

3)

4)

Establish policies for educational programs. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats.
1988, ch. 973.)

Report the classification of all courses, classes, and activities offered in
accordance with California Code of Regulations, title 5, sections 55001 (a)
(describing instructional services of community colleges), and 55002 (standards
and criteria for associate degree credit course, nondegree credit course, and
noncredit course) by transmitting the following information to the Chancellor’s
Office:

a)  The unique static course identifier and the course title for all credit and
noncredit courses. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973;
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55001(c)(1), Register 94, No. 38, ending April 14,
2006.)

b)  The classification of each credit and noncredit course in accordance with its
primary objective, consistent with guidelines published by the Chancellor.
(Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55001(c)(2), Register 94, No. 38, ending April 14, 2006.)

c)  Whether the course is offered as credit or noncredit. (Ed. Code, 8
70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, 8 55001(c)(3), Register 94, No. 38 ending April 14, 2006.)

d)  Whether the course transfers to the California State University or the
University of California or both. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988,
ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55001(c)(4), Register 94, No. 38 ending
April 14, 2006.)

Establish a college or district curriculum committee by mutual agreement of the
college or district administration and the academic senate. The committee shall
be either a committee of the academic senate or a committee that includes faculty
and is otherwise comprised in a way that is mutually agreeable to the college or
district administration and academic senate. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats.
1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55002(a)(1), Register 93, No. 42.)

Get a recommendation by the college or district curriculum committee and
approval by the district governing board, when seeking to offer a course as an
associate degree credit course, nondegree credit course, or noncredit course.
Recommendation by the college or district curriculum committee and approval by
the district governing board are based on the courses meeting the following
standards and criteria listed in a) through d) below:

a) Each section of an associate degree course, nondegree course, or noncredit
course is to be taught by a qualified instructor in accordance with a set of
objectives and with other specifications defined in the course outline of
record. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, 8 55002(a)(4), (b)(4), and (c)(3), Register 93, No. 42.)
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b) Proposed associate degree credit courses and nondegree credit courses must
meet the following requirements found in California Code of Regulations,
title 5, section 55002(a)(2) and (b)(2), in order to receive a recommendation
by the college or district curriculum committee:

Grading policy: The course provides for measurement of student
performance in terms of the stated course objectives and culminates in a
formal, permanently recorded grade based upon uniform standards in
accordance with California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 55758
(Register 2000, No. 50), which details the academic record symbols and
associated grade points to be used by community colleges.

The grade is based on demonstrated proficiency in subject matter and the
ability to demonstrate that proficiency, at least in part, by means of essays
for associate degree credit courses or written expression for nondegree
credit courses, or in courses where the curriculum committee deems them
to be appropriate, by problem-solving exercises or skills demonstrations
by students. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8 55002(a)(2)(A) and (b)(2)(A), Register 93, No. 42.)

Units: The course grants units of credit based upon a relationship
specified by the governing board between the number of units assigned to
the course and the number of lecture and/or laboratory hours or
performance criteria specified in the course outline.

The course also requires a minimum of three hours of work per week,
including class time (and/or demonstrated competency for nondegree
credit courses) for each unit of credit, prorated for short-term, laboratory
and activity courses. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973,
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55002(a)(2)(B) and (b)(2)(B), Register 93, No.
42.)

Intensity: For associate degree credit course, the course must treat subject
matter with a scope and intensity that requires students to study
independently outside of class time. For nondegree credit courses, the
course must provide instruction in critical thinking and generally treats
subject matter with a scope and intensity that prepares students to study
independently outside of class time and includes reading and writing
assignments and homework. In particular, the assignments will be
sufficiently rigorous that students completing each such course
successfully will have acquired the skills necessary to successfully
complete college-level work upon completion of the required sequence of
such courses. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55002(a)(2)(C) and (b)(2)(C), Register 93, No. 42.)

c) Proposed associate degree credit courses must also meet the following
requirements found in California Code of Regulations, title 5, section
55002(a)(2), in order to receive a recommendation by the college or district
curriculum committee:
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I. Prerequisites and Co-requisites: Require prerequisites or co-requisites
when: (a) the college and/or district curriculum committee determines,
based on a review of the course outline of record, that a student would be
highly unlikely to receive a satisfactory grade unless the student has
knowledge or skills not taught in the course; or (b) success in the course is
dependent upon communication or computation skills, then the course
shall require as prerequisites or co-requisites eligibility for enrollment in
associate degree credit courses in English and/or mathematics. (Ed. Code,
§ 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8
55002(a)(2)(D) and (E), Register 93, No. 42.)

ii. Difficulty: The course work calls for critical thinking and the
understanding and application of concepts determined by the curriculum
committee to be at college level. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats.
1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55002(a)(2)(F), Register 93,
No. 42.)

iii. Level: The course work calls for critical thinking and the understanding
and application of concepts determined by the curriculum committee to be
at college level. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55002(a)(2)(G), Register 93, No. 42.)

d) Proposed noncredit courses must treat subject matter and use resource
materials, teaching methods, and standards of attendance and achievement
that is deemed appropriate for the enrolled students by the college or district
curriculum committee in order to receive a recommendation by the college or
district curriculum committee. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch.
973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55002(c)(1), Register 93, No. 42.)

Reimbursement for the activity identified in b.) is limited to obtaining a
recommendation and approval, as specified, when seeking to offer a course.
Reimbursement is not required for the process to determine that the instructor is
qualified, or for the cost of the courses or instruction offered. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,
§ 55002(a), (b), and (c), Register 93, No. 42.)

5) Develop and keep a course outline of record for associate degree credit courses,
nondegree credit courses, and noncredit courses in the official college files that
describe the course and make the outline available to each instructor.

For associate degree credit courses and nondegree credit courses, the course
outline shall specify the unit value, scope, objectives, and content of the course in
terms of a specific body of knowledge. Also, the course outline shall specify
types or provide examples of required reading and writing assignments, other
outside-of-class assignments, instructional methodology, and methods of
evaluation for determining whether the stated objectives have been met by
students.

For noncredit course, the course outline shall specify the scope, objectives,
contents, instructional methodology, and methods of evaluation for determining
whether the stated objectives have been met. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats.
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1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55002(a)(3), (b)(3), and (c)(2), Register
93, No. 42; and Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55150(b), Register 91, No. 23.)

6) Make available to students through college publications all of the following facts
regarding each course offered before they enroll in the course: (1) whether the
course is offered as a credit or noncredit course; (2) whether the course is
transferable to four-year colleges and universities; and (3) whether the course
fulfills a major or general education requirement. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A)
Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55005, Register 91, No. 23.)

7) Each community college must keep and submit such current records and reports
concerning their total activities as may be required by the Chancellor to fulfill
statutory responsibilities. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, 88 55006 and 55150(c), Register 91, No. 23.)

8) The following activities are eligible for reimbursement only when the curriculum
committee of a college determines that prerequisites or co-requisites for an
associate degree credit course are required to be established pursuant to
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 55002(a)(2)(D) and (E) (e.g. a
student is unlikely to receive a satisfactory grade in a course without the
prerequisite or co-requisite, or success in a course is dependent on communication
or computation skills):*

a) When establishing a course in communication or computation skills as a
prerequisite or co-requisite for any associate degree credit course other than
another course in communication or computation skills, gather data according
to sound research practices and show the college or district curriculum
committee and district governing board that a student is highly unlikely to
succeed in a non-communication or non-computation skills course unless the
student has met the proposed prerequisite or co-requisite.

This data gathering requirement does not apply when:

i) Four-year institutions will not grant credit for a course unless it has the
particular communication or computation skill prerequisite; or

i) The prerequisite or co-requisite is required for enrollment in a program
that is subject to approval by a state agency other than the Chancellor’s
Office and both of the following conditions are satisfied:

e Colleges in at least six different districts have previously satisfied the
data collection requirement with respect to the same prerequisite or co-
requisite for the same program; and

e The district establishing the prerequisite or co-requisite conducts an
evaluation to determine whether the prerequisite or co-requisite has a
disproportionate impact on particular groups of students described in

% Establishing prerequisites and co-requisites in all other situations is discretionary and not
mandated by the state. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55201(a) (Register 98, No. 7); for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55003(a) (Register 2007, No. 35).)
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b)

d)

terms of race, ethnicity, gender, age or disability, as defined by the
Chancellor, and if there is a disproportionate impact the district in
consultation with the Chancellor develops and implements a plan
setting forth the steps the district will take to correct the
disproportionate impact. (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A). Stats. 1988, ch.
973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55201(e), Register 98, No. 7; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55003(e),

Register 2007, No. 35.)

If a prerequisite or co-requisite required to be established for an associate
degree credit course is challenged on the basis that it is either unlawfully
discriminatory or applied in an unlawfully discriminatory manner (pursuant to
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55201(f)(3)), advise the student that he or she may
file a formal complaint of unlawful discrimination pursuant to the title 5
regulations addressing discrimination complaint procedures (Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, 8 59300 et seq.). (Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973;
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55201(g), Register 98, No. 7; for current requirement
see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55003(n), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Identify prerequisites and co-requisites required to be established for an
associate degree credit course in college publications available to students as
well as in the course outline of any course for which they are established.
(Ed. Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8
55202(a), Register 93, No. 42; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, 8 55003(f), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Determine whether a student meets a prerequisite for an associate degree
credit course based on successful completion of an appropriate course. This
determination shall be made prior to the student’s enroliment in the associate
degree credit course requiring the prerequisite. (Ed. Code, 8 70902(b)(2)(A),
Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55202(c)(g), Register 93, No.
42; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55003(h)(l), Register
2007, No. 35.)

If a prerequisite for an associate degree credit course requires precollegiate
skills in reading, written expression, or mathematics, ensure precollegiate
basic skills courses designed to teach the required skills are offered with
reasonable frequency and that the number of sections available is reasonable
given the number of students who are required to meet the associated skills
prerequisites and who diligently seek enrollment in the prerequisite course.

This activity does not require reimbursement for offering the course or the
costs associated with the teacher time for the course. (Ed. Code, §
70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55202(d),
Register 93, No. 42; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55003(i), Register 2007, No. 35.)

When a co-requisite course is established by the district for an associate

degree credit course based on a finding by the college or district curriculum

committee that the co-requisite is necessary for the course pursuant to section
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55002(a)(2)(D) and 55002(a)(2)(E) of the Title 5 regulations, ensure sufficient
sections of a co-requisite course are offered to reasonably accommodate all
students who are required to take the co-requisite. Reimbursement for this
activity is limited to the administrative functions of ensuring that sufficient
sections of a co-requisite course are offered.

This activity does not require reimbursement for offering the co-requisite
course or the costs associated with the teacher time for the course. (Ed.
Code, § 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55202(e), Register 93, No. 42; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, § 55003(j), Register 2007, No. 35.)

g) Waive a co-requisite for an associate degree credit course for any student for
whom space in the co-requisite course is not available. (Ed. Code,
8 70902(b)(2)(A), Stats. 1988, ch. 973; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55202(e),
Register 93, No. 42; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5,
§ 55003(j), Register 2007, No. 35.)

6. Degrees and Certificates (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55800, 55805, and 55806)
Reimbursement is authorized for the following ongoing activities:

a. Adopt policy consistent with the subchapter regarding degrees and certificates
consisting of California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 55800 — 55810. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55800, Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55060, Register 2007, No. 35.)

Include in the policy the requirement to condition receipt of an associate degree by a
student on the satisfactory completion of at least 60 semester units or 90 quarter units
of college work that is fulfilled in a curriculum accepted toward the degree by a
college within the district (as shown in its catalog). This course work includes 18
semester or 27 quarter units in general education and at least 18 semester or 27
quarter units in a major, at least 12 semester or 18 quarter units completed in
residence at the college granting the degree.

The 18 semester or 27 quarter units in a major must be taken in a single discipline or
related disciplines, as listed in the Community Colleges “Taxonomy of Programs.”

The 18 semester or 27 quarter units in general education requirements must include a
minimum of three semester or four quarter units in each of the following areas: (1)
Natural Sciences, (2) Social and Behavioral Sciences, (3) Humanities, (4) Language
and Rationality — English Composition, and (5) Language and Rationality —
Communication and Analytical Thinking.

The remainder of the unit requirement is also to be selected from among these five
divisions of learning or as determined by local option. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55806(a) and (b)(1), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, § 55063(a) and (b), Register 2007, No. 35.)

b. Publish in the college catalog under appropriate headings the policy that is consistent
with the subchapter in title 5 of the California Code of Regulations regarding degrees
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and certificates. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55800, Register 91, No. 23; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55060, Register 2007, No. 35.)

File a copy of the policy regarding degrees and certificates, and any amendments,
with the Chancellor. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55800, Register 91, No. 23; for
current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55060, Register 2007, No. 35.)

. Adopt a policy which states its specific philosophy on General Education. (Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8 55805(a) (Register 91, No. 23); for current requirement see Cal. Code
Regs., tit. 5, 8 55061(a) (Register 2007, No. 35).)

When developing the policy stating its specific philosophy on General Education,
consider the policy of the Board of Governors specified in California Code
Regulations, title 5, section 55805(a) (Register 91, No. 23). (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55805(a), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8
55061(a), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Establish criteria, subject to the limitations in California Code of Regulations, title 5,
section 55805.5 (Register 91, No. 23), to determine which courses may be used in
implementing its philosophy on the associate degree and general education. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, 88 55805(b) and 55805.5, Register 91, No. 23; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55061(b) and 55062, Register 2007,

No. 35.)

Review the policy and criteria for General Education, established pursuant to
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 55805(a) and (b), on a regular basis.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55805(c), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55061(c). Register 2007, No. 35.)

. Offer ethnic studies in at least one of the general education areas of learning listed in
California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 55806(b)(1)(A)-D) (i.e. Natural
Sciences, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Humanities, Language and Rationality-
English Composition, and Language and Rationality-Communication and Analytical
Thinking). (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55806(b)(3), Register 91, No. 23; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 55063(b)(2), Register 2007, No. 35.)

Design a course to help students develop an appreciation and understanding of the
scientific method, and encourage an understanding of the relationships between
science and other human activities, in order to satisfy the general education
requirement in natural sciences. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55806 (b)(1)(A), Register
91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55063(b)(1)(A),
Register 2007, No. 35.)

Design a course to develop an awareness of the method of inquiry used by the social
and behavioral sciences and to stimulate critical thinking about the ways people act
and have acted in response to their societies and should promote appreciation of how
societies and social subgroups operate, in order to satisfy the general education
requirement in social and behavioral sciences. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8 55806
(b)(1)(B), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55063(b)(1)(B), Register 2007, No. 35.)
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k. Design a course to help students to develop an awareness of the ways in which people
throughout the ages and in different cultures have responded to themselves and the
world around them in artistic and cultural creation and help the student develop
aesthetic understanding and ability to make value judgments, in order to satisfy the
general education requirement in humanities. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55806
(b)(1)(C), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, §
55063(b)(1)(C), Register 2007, No. 35.)

I.  Design courses fulfilling the written composition (English composition) requirement
to include both expository and argumentative writing. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8
55806 (b)(1)(D)(1), Register 91, No. 23; for current requirement see Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 5, 8§ 55063(b)(1)(D)(1), Register 2007, No. 35.)

m. Design a course to fulfill the communication and analytical thinking requirement.
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55806 (b)(1)(D)(2), Register 91, No. 23; for current
requirement see Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 55063(b)(1)(D)(2), Register 2007, No. 35.)

7. Open Courses (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 8§ 58102, 58104, and 58106)

a. Publish a description of each course that is clear and understandable to the
prospective student in the official catalog, schedule of classes, and addenda. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 5, 88 58102 and 58104, Register 93, No. 25.)

b. Handle challenges to enrollment limitations made by students pursuant to title 5,
section 58106(c), in a timely manner. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58106, Register 93,
No. 42.)

c. Waive the enrollment limitation with respect to a student that challenged an
enrollment limitation, if the challenge is upheld. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58106,
Register 93, No. 42.)

d. Advise a student that he or she may file a formal complaint of unlawful
discrimination pursuant to title 5, section 59300 et seq., upon completion of handling
a challenge to an enrollment limitation made by a student alleging that an enrollment
limitation is either unlawfully discriminatory or is being applied in an unlawfully
discriminatory manner (pursuant to Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58106(c)(1),
Register 93, No. 42). (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 58106, Register 93, No. 42.)

V. CLAIM PREPARATION

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified
in Section 1V, Reimbursable Activities, of this document. Each claimed reimbursable cost must
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV. Additionally, each
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner.

A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities. The following
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement.

1. Salaries and Benefits
Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by
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productive hours). Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed.

2. Materials and Supplies

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the
purpose of the reimbursable activities. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. Supplies
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized
method of costing, consistently applied.

3. Contracted Services

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable
activities. Attach a copy of the contract to the claim. If the contractor bills for time and
materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged. If the
contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all
costs for those services.

4. Fixed Assets

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to
implement the reimbursable activities. The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs,
and installation costs. If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement
the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

5. Travel

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel,
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of
the local jurisdiction. Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity.

B. Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes. These costs
benefit more than one cost objective and cannot be readily identified with a particular final cost
objective without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. After direct costs have been
determined and assigned to other activities, as appropriate, indirect costs are those remaining to
be allocated to benefited cost objectives. A cost may not be allocated as an indirect cost if any
other cost incurred for the same purpose, in like circumstances, has been claimed as a direct cost.
Indirect costs may include: (a) the indirect costs originating in each department or agency of the
governmental unit carrying out state mandated programs; and (b) the costs of central
governmental services distributed through the central service cost allocation plan and not
otherwise treated as direct costs.

Community colleges have the option of using: (1) a federally approved rate, utilizing the cost
accounting principles from the Office of Management and Budget Circular A-21, “Cost
Principles of Educational Institutions;” (2) the rate calculated on State Controller's Form FAM-
29C; or (3) a 7% indirect cost rate.
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VI. RECORD RETENTION

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter” is subject to the initiation of an audit
by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is
filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the
claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the
audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in
Section 1V, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the
ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

VIl. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS

Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same statutes or
executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed. Also,
reimbursement for the mandate imposed by California Code of Regulations, title 5, section
53207(a), received from the Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges for the
administrative costs associated with granting faculty members release or reassigned time and for
hiring faculty to replace the faculty servicing as president or vice president shall be identified
and deducted from this claim.

In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited to,
service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted from
this claim.

VIIl. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. The claiming instructions shall be derived from the
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571. If the
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines
as directed by the Commission.

% This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.
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In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2.

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and the parameters and guidelines are
legally binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and
guidelines.® The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record.
The administrative record is on file with the Commission.

® Reference to “statements of decision adopted for the test claim” includes the statement of
decision for the Discrimination Complaint Procedures (02-TC-46; and a part of 02-TC-25 and
02-TC-31) test claim for purposes of the activities associated with Education Code sections
66010.2 and 66010.7, which were severed from the parameters and guidelines for that test claim
and included in the parameters and guidelines for Minimum Conditions for State Aid (02-TC-25
and 02-TC-31).
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State Controller’s Office Community College Mandated Cost Manual

For State Controller Use Only | PROGRAM
MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID (19) Program Number 00347
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT (20) Date Filed 347
(21) LRS Input
(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data
(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) L.a. (f)
County of Location (23) FORM 1, (04) 2.a. (f)
Street Address or P.O. Box Suite (24) FORM 1, (04) 4a. (f)
City State Zip Code (25) FORM 1, (04) 5.a. (f)
Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) 1.b. (f)

(03) (09) Reimbursement || |(27) FORM 1, (04) 2.b. ()

(04) (10) Combined [ ] |8) ForM 1, (04) 3. ()

(05) (11) Amended [ ] |29) FORM 1, (04) 4.b. ()
Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (04) 5.b. (f)
Total Claimed Amount 07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (04) 6. (f)
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) [(14) (32) FORM 1, (04) 7. (f)
Less: Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (06)
Net Claimed Amount (16) (34) FORM 1, (07)
Due from State (08) a7 (35) FORM 1, (09)
Due to State (18) (36) FORM 1, (10)

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, | certify that | am the officer authorized by the
community college district to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury
that | have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code.

| further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received for reimbursement of
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source
documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer

Date Signed

Telephone Number

Email Address

Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Telephone Number

Email Address

Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number

Email Address

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/16)



State Controller’s Office Community College Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID
347 CLAIM FOR PAYMENT o
INSTRUCTIONS
(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’'s Office.

(02)
(03) to (08)
(09)
(10)
(11)

(12

(13)

14

(15)
(16)
17)
(18)
(19) to (21)

(22) to (36)

@7

(38)

Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code.
Leave blank.

If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.

Not applicable.

If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.

Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.

Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1, line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum
claim must be $1,001.

Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by
February 15, or otherwise specified in the claiming instructions following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after
the specified date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as
a result of the calculation formula as follows:

e Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or
e Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.
Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero.
Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13).
If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.
If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is hegative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.
Leave blank.

Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g.,
Form 1, (04) 1.a. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, block (04), line 1.a., column (f). Enter the information on the same
line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs
percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of
this data block will expedite the process.

Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by the agency’s authorized officer, type or print
name and title, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed
certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.)

Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address.

SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: Address, if delivered by other delivery service:
Office of the State Controller Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Attn: Local Reimbursements Section

Division of Accounting and Reporting Division of Accounting and Reporting

P.O. Box 942850 3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 94250 Sacramento, CA 95816

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/16)



State Controller’s Office

Community College Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM FORM
MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID
347 CLAIM SUMMARY 1
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20
(03) Leave blank.
Direct Costs Object Accounts
(@) (b) (©) (d) (e) ®
(04) Reimbursable Activities Salaries Materials Contract Fixed Travel Total
and and Services Assets
Benefits Supplies
One-Time Activities
l.a. Participation in District and College
Governance
2.a. Transfer Centers
4.a. Standards of Scholarship
5.a. Curriculum
On-Going Activities
1.b. Participation in District and College
Governance
2.b. Transfer Centers
3. Vocational Education
4.b. Standards of Scholarship
5.b. Curriculum
6. Degrees and Certificates
7. Open Courses
(05) Total Direct Costs
Indirect Costs
(06) Indirect Cost Rate ] Federally approved rate OMB Circular A-21 [ ] Fam-29c [ ] Flat 7% %

(07) Total Indirect Costs

[Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]

Cost Reduction

(09) Less: Offsetting Revenues

(10) Less: Other Reimbursements

[Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]

(11) Total Claimed Amount

[Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]

Revised 07/16
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PROGRAM MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID FORM

347 CLAIM SUMMARY
INSTRUCTIONS 1

(01)
(02)
(03)

(04)

(05)

(06)

(07)

(08)

(09)

(10)

(11)

Enter the name of the claimant.
Enter the fiscal year of costs.
Leave blank.

For each reimbursable activity, enter the total amount from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h) to
Form 1, block (04), columns (a) through (e) in the appropriate row. Total each row and enter the amount
in column (f).

Total columns (a) through (f).

Community college districts may use the federally approved OMB Circular A-21 rate, the rate computed
using Form FAM-29C, or a 7% indirect cost rate, for the fiscal year of costs. Mark the applicable box for
the option used. Form FAM-29C can be found in the Annual Manual for Community Colleges available
online at SCO’s website: www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. Submit Form FAM-29C or the federally
approved rate agreement with the claim.

Enter the result of multiplying the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06), by the applicable base used. The Form
FAM-29C indirect cost rate and the flat 7% indirect cost rates are applied to Salaries and Benefits;
whereas, the federally approved rate is applied to the allocation base used in developing the federally
approved rate.

Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).

If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal
source.

Enter reimbursements received from the Academic Senate of the California Community Colleges for
administrative costs associated with granting faculty members release or reassigned time and for hiring
faculty to replace the faculty servicing as president or vice president imposed by California Code of
Regulations, title 5, section 53207(a).

If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds that reimbursed any portion of the
mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.

From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to Form
FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim.

Revised 07/16
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PROGRAM FORM
MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID
3 47 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20___/20__

One-Time Activities

[J 1.a. Participation in District and College
Governance
[ 2.a. Transfer Centers

[ 4.a. Standards of Scholarship

[ 5.a. Curriculum

(03) Reimbursable Activities: Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed.

On-Going Activities

[ 1.b. Participation in Districtand ~ [] 5.b. Curriculum
College Governance

[ 2.b. Transfer Centers [ 6. Degrees and Certificates
[13. Vocational Education [J7. Open Courses

[J 4.b. Standards of Scholarship

(04) Description of Expenses

Object Accounts

(@) (b)
Employee Names, Job Hourly
Classifications, Functions Performed Rate or
and Description of Expenses Unit Cost

(©)
Hours
Worked or
Quantity

(d) (e) (® @) (h)

Salaries Materials Contract Fixed Travel
and and Services Assets
Benefits Supplies

(05) Total |:| Subtotal |:| Page: of

Revised 07/16
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PROGRAM

347

FORM

2

MINIMUM CONDITIONS FOR STATE AID
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL
INSTRUCTIONS

(01) Enter the name of the claimant.
(02) Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred.
(03) Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity.
(04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To
itemize costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification,
a brief description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits,
supplies used, contract services, fixed assets, and travel expenses. The descriptions required in
column (04)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being
claimed.
All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after
the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no
payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the State Controller's Office (SCO) to
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to
support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to
the SCO on request.
Col Submit
Object olumns supporting
Accounts documents
@ (b) (©) (d) (e) ® @ (h) with the claim
Salaries =
Employee Hourly Hours Hourly Rate
Salaries Name and Title Rate Worked X Hours
Worked
and
Benefits o Benefi Benefits =
Activities enefit Benefit Rate
Performed Rate x Salaries
. - Cost =
Materials Description Unit Quantity Unit Cost
and of :
Supplies Supplies Used Cost Used X Quantity
pp pp Used
Name of Hours Worked Cost = Hourly Copy of
Contract Contractor Hourly and_ Rate x Hours Contract
Services 'a‘nd Rate Inclusive Worked or and
Specific Tasks Dates of Total Contract Invoices
Performed Service Cost
L _ Copy of
Fixed Description of Unit Cost Cost = Contract
Assets Equipment X Quantit Usage Total Cost and
Purchased Y x Usage )
Invoices
Purpose of
Trip, Name and Per Diem
Travel Title, Rate, Days, E?)tsil Isgg
Destination, Mileage Rate, Miles, and x Da_ s or
Departure and Travel Mode MiI);s
Date, and Travel Cost
Return Date
(05) Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to

indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs,
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row.
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