OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER
STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2014-03R
INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION REPORTS
LOCAL AGENCIES

MARCH 17, 2014
REVISED JULY 1, 2015

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that
eligible claimants must use for filing claims for the Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect
(ICAN) Investigation Reports program. The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent
to the Commission on State Mandates (CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines
(Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.

On December 19, 2007, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim
statute imposes a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon local agencies within the
meaning of Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and GC section 17514,
Exception

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

Eligible Claimants

Any city or county, as defined in GC sections 17511 and 17515, that incurs increased costs as a
result of this mandate is eligible to claim for reimbursement.

Reimbursement Claim Deadline

Claims for the 2014-15 fiscal year may be filed with the SCO by February 16, 2016, without a
late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be accepted.

Penalty
e Initial Claims

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section
17561, subdivision (d)(3).

e Annual Reimbursement Claim

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section
17568.



Minimum Claim Cost

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections
17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000).

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure
section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the
adjustment.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section
17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.

Record Retention

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller
to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all



documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be
made available to the SCO on request.

Claim Submission

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website:
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by If delivered by

U.S. Postal Service: other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Office of the State Controller

Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850 3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 94250 Sacramento, CA 95816

For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 324-5729, or by writing to the address above.



mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov

Adopted: December 6, 2013

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

Penal Code Sections 11165.9, 11166, 11166.2, 11166.9*, 11168 (formerly 11161.7), 11169,
11170, and 11174.34 (formerly 11166.9) as added or amended by Statutes 1977, Chapter 958;
Statutes 1980, Chapter 1071; Statutes 1981, Chapter 435; Statutes 1982, Chapters 162 and 905;
Statutes 1984, Chapters 1423 and 1613; Statutes 1985, Chapter 1598; Statutes 1986, Chapters
1289 and 1496; Statutes 1987, Chapters 82, 531, and 1459; Statutes 1988, Chapters 269, 1497,
and 1580; Statutes 1989, Chapter 153; Statutes 1990, Chapters 650, 1330, 1363, and 1603;
Statutes 1992, Chapters 163, 459, and 1338; Statutes 1993, Chapters 219 and 510; Statutes 1996,
Chapters 1080 and 1081; Statutes 1997, Chapters 842, 843, and 844, Statutes 1999, Chapters 475
and 1012; and Statutes 2000, Chapter 916

California Code of Regulations, Title 11, Section 903 (Register 98, Number 29)
“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583 (Rev. 3/91)

Interagency Child Abuse and Neglect Investigation Reports
00-TC-22

Period of reimbursement begins July 1, 1999,
or later for specified activities added by subsequent statutes.

. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE

This program addresses statutory amendments to California’s mandatory child abuse reporting
laws commonly referred to as ICAN. A child abuse reporting law was first added to the Penal
Code in 1963, and initially required medical professionals to report suspected child abuse to

local law enforcement or child welfare authorities. The law was regularly expanded to include
more professions required to report suspected child abuse (now termed “mandated reporters™),
and in 1980, California reenacted and amended the law, entitling it the “Child Abuse and Neglect
Reporting Act,” or CANRA. As part of this program, the Department of Justice (DOJ) maintains
a Child Abuse Centralized Index, which, since 1965, maintains reports of child abuse statewide.
A number of changes to the law have occurred, particularly with a reenactment in 1980, and
substantive amendments in 1997 and 2000.

The act, as amended, provides for reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect by certain
individuals, identified by their profession as having frequent contact with children. The act
provides rules and procedures for local agencies, including law enforcement, receiving such
reports. The act provides for cross-reporting among law enforcement and other child protective
agencies, and to licensing agencies and district attorneys’ offices. The act requires reporting to
the DOJ when a report of suspected child abuse is “not unfounded.” The act requires an active
investigation before a report can be forwarded to the DOJ. As of January 1, 2012, the act no
longer requires law enforcement agencies to report to the DOJ, and now requires reporting only
of “substantiated” reports by other agencies. The act imposes additional cross-reporting and
recordkeeping duties in the event of a child’s death from abuse or neglect. The act requires
agencies and the DOJ to keep records of investigations for a minimum of 10 years, and to notify

! Renumbered at Penal Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 (SB 1313)).
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suspected child abusers that they have been listed in the Child Abuse Central Index. The act
imposes certain due process protections owed to persons listed in the index, and provides certain
other situations in which a person would be notified of his or her listing in the index.

On December 19, 2007, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement
of decision finding that the test claim statutes impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated
program upon local agencies within the meaning of article XI1I B, section 6 of the California
Constitution and Government Code section 17514. The Commission approved this test claim for
the reimbursable activities described in section 1V., as they are performed by city and county
police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, county probation departments
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, district attorneys’ offices, and county
licensing agencies.

1. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS

Any city, county, and city and county that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is
eligible to claim reimbursement.

I11.  PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

Government Code section 17557(e) states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before

June 30 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year. The County of
Los Angeles filed the test claim on June 29, 2001, establishing eligibility for reimbursement for
the 1999-2000 fiscal year. Therefore, costs incurred on or after July 1, 1999 are reimbursable
under this test claim, for statutes in effect before July 1, 1999, or later periods as specified for
statutes effective after July 1, 1999.

However, Penal Code section 11169 was amended in Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717),
effective January 1, 2012, to repeal the mandate for law enforcement agencies to report to DOJ,
and to require that all other affected departments in the local agencies report to DOJ only
“substantiated” reports of suspected child abuse, and not “inconclusive” reports. Thus, law
enforcement agencies are eligible for reimbursement for the costs of completing investigations of
suspected child abuse in order to determine whether a report of suspected child abuse is
unfounded, inconclusive, or substantiated, for the purpose of forwarding those reports to DOJ
from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, when the mandate was repealed. In addition, law
enforcement agencies are eligible for reimbursement for the costs of notifying suspected abusers
that they have been listed in the Child Abuse Central Index at the time that a report is submitted
to DOJ from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, when the mandate to forward reports to DOJ
was repealed.

For all other affected departments in the local agencies, the reimbursement period for forwarding
reports that are “inconclusive” to DOJ is from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, due to a
subsequent change in Penal Code section 11169 by Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717). On
and after January 1, 2012, only forwarding reports to DOJ that are “substantiated” is
reimbursable.
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Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows:
1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.

2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the
issuance date for the claiming instructions.

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a local agency may, by February 15
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year.

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the
revised claiming instructions to file a claim. (Government Code section 17560(b).)

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a).

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

IV.  REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed.

Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs
must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when
they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a
document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in
question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time
logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure
section 2015.5. Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the
reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government
requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Claimants may use time studies to support salary and benefit costs when an activity is task-
repetitive. Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.
Claimants wishing to use time studies to support salary and benefit costs are required to comply
with the State Controller’s Time-Study Guidelines before a time study is conducted. Time study
usage is subject to the review and audit conducted by the State Controller’s Office.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is
required to incur as a result of the mandate.
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For each eligible claimant that incurs increased costs, the following activities are reimbursable:
A. One-Time Activities
1. Policies and Procedures

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, and county
probation departments where designated by the county to receive mandated reports, may
claim reimbursement for the increased costs to:

a. Update Departmental policies and procedures necessary to comply with the
reimbursable activities identified in IV B. (One-time costs only)

b. Develop ICAN due process procedures reasonably necessary to comply with federal
due process procedural protections under the 14th Amendment which need to be
afforded suspects reported to the DOJ's Child Abuse Central Index [CACI]. (One-
time costs only)

2. Training

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county welfare departments, and county
probation departments where designated by the county to receive mandated reports, may
claim reimbursement for the increased costs to:

Develop and implement training for ICAN staff to implement State
Department of Justice (DOJ) ICAN requirements. Reimbursable specialized
ICAN training costs include those incurred to compensate instructors for their
time in participating in training sessions and to provide necessary facilities,
training materials and audio visual presentations. (One time per employee
whose job responsibilities involve ICAN mandated activities)

B. On-going Activities
1. Distributing the Suspected Child Abuse Report Form

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if designated
by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare departments shall:

a. Distribute the child abuse reporting form adopted by DOJ (currently known as the
“Suspected Child Abuse Report” Form SS 8572) to mandated reporters.?

2. Reporting Between Local Departments

a. Accepting and Referring Initial Child Abuse Reports when a Department Lacks
Jurisdiction:

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare
departments shall:

Transfer a call electronically or immediately refer the case by telephone, fax, or
electronic transmission, to an agency with proper jurisdiction, whenever the

2 Penal Code section 11168, as added by Statutes 1980, chapter 1071 and amended by Statutes
2000, chapter 916.
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department lacks subject matter or geographical jurisdiction over an incoming report
of suspected child abuse or neglect.’

. Cross-Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect from County Welfare and

Probation Departments to the Law Enforcement Agency with Jurisdiction and the

District Attorney’s Office:

1)

2)

County probation departments shall:

Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically possible, to the law
enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the case, to the agency given the
responsibility for investigation of cases under Section 300 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code, and to the district attorney’s office every known or
suspected instance of child abuse, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.6,
except acts or omissions coming within subdivision (b) of section 11165.2, or
reports made pursuant to section 11165.13 based on risk to a child which
relates solely to the inability of the parent to provide the child with regular
care due to the parent’s substance abuse, which shall be reported only to the
county welfare department.

Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information
concerning the incident to any agency to which it is required to make a
telephone report under Penal Code section 11166.

As of January 1, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic
transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a
written report within 36 hours.*

County welfare departments shall:

Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically possible, to the
agency given the responsibility for investigation of cases under Section 300 of
the Welfare and Institutions Code, and to the district attorney’s office every
known or suspected instance of child abuse, as defined in Penal Code section
11165.6, except acts or omissions coming within subdivision (b) of section
11165.2, or reports made pursuant to section 11165.13 based on risk to a child
which relates solely to the inability of the parent to provide the child with
regular care due to the parent’s substance abuse, which shall be reported only
to the county welfare department.

Reimbursement is not required for making an initial report of child abuse
and neglect from a county welfare department to the law enforcement

¥ Penal Code sections 11165.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 8 (AB 1241)).

* Penal Code section 11166 (h) (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459;
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510;
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)). Renumbered at
subdivision (i) by Statutes 2004, chapter 842 (SB 1313), and renumbered again at subdivision (j)
by Statutes 2005, chapter 42 (AB 299).
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agency having jurisdiction over the case, which was required under prior
law to be made “without delay.”

ii.  Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information
concerning the incident to any agency, including the law enforcement agency
having jurisdiction over the case, to which it is required to make a telephone
report under Penal Code section 11166.

As of January 1, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic
transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a
written report within 36 hours.”

c. Cross-Reporting of Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect from the Law Enforcement
Agency to the County Welfare and Institutions Code Section 300 Agency, County
Welfare, and the District Attorney’s Office:

City and county police or sheriff’s departments shall:

1) Report by telephone immediately, or as soon as practically possible, to the agency
given responsibility for investigation of cases under Welfare and Institutions Code
section 300 and to the district attorney’s office every known or suspected instance
of child abuse reported to it, except acts or omissions coming within Penal Code
section 11165.2(b), which shall be reported only to the county welfare
department.®

2) Report to the county welfare department every known or suspected instance of
child abuse reported to it which is alleged to have occurred as a result of the
action of a person responsible for the child’s welfare, or as the result of the failure
of a person responsible for the child’s welfare to adequately protect the minor
from abuse when the person responsible for the child’s welfare knew or
reasonably should have known that the minor was in danger of abuse.

3) Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information
concerning the incident to any agency to which it is required to make a telephone
report under Penal Code section 11166.

® Penal Code section 11166(h) (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459;
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510;
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)). Renumbered at
subdivision (i) by Statutes 2004, chapter 842 (SB 1313), and renumbered again at subdivision (j)
by Statutes 2005, chapter 42 (AB 299).

® Penal Code section 11166(i) (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459;
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510;
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)). Renumbered at
subdivision (j) by Statutes 2004, chapter 842 (SB 1313), and renumbered again at subdivision (k)
by Statutes 2005, chapter 42 (AB 299).
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As of January 1, 2006, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic
transmission, instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a
written report within 36 hours.’

d. Receipt of Cross-Reports by District Attorney’s Office:

District attorneys’ offices shall:

Receive reports of every known or suspected instance of child abuse reported to law
enforcement, county probation or county welfare departments, except acts or
omissions of general neglect coming within Penal Code section 11165.2(b).®

e. Reporting to Licensing Agencies:

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare
departments shall:

1) Report by telephone immediately or as soon as practically possible to the
appropriate licensing agency every known or suspected instance of child abuse or
neglect when the instance of abuse or neglect occurs while the child is being cared
for in a child day care facility, involves a child day care licensed staff person, or
occurs while the child is under the supervision of a community care facility or
involves a community care facility licensee or staff person.

2) Send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information
concerning the incident to any agency to which it is required to make a telephone
report under Penal Code section 11166.2. The agency shall send the licensing
agency a copy of its investigation report and any other pertinent materials.

As of July 31, 2001, initial reports may be made by fax or electronic transmission,
instead of by telephone, and will satisfy the requirement for a written report
within 36 hours.®

f. Additional Cross-Reporting in Cases of Child Death:
1) City and county police or sheriff’s departments shall:

Cross-report all cases of child death suspected to be related to child abuse or
neglect to the county child welfare agency.™

" bid.

® Penal Code section 11166 (As added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435; Stats. 1982, ch. 905; Stats. 1984, ch. 1423; Stats. 1986, ch. 1289; Stats. 1987, ch. 1459;
Stats. 1988, chs. 269 and 1580; Stats. 1990, ch. 1603; Stats. 1992, ch. 459; Stats. 1993, ch. 510;
Stats. 1996, chs. 1080 and 1081; and Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)).

® Penal Code section 11166.2 (Added by Stats. 1985, ch. 1598 § 4; amended by Stats. 1987, ch.
531 § 5; Stats. 1988, ch. 269 § 3; Stats. 1990, ch. 650 § 1 (AB 2423); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 § 18
(AB 1241)).

19 penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313)).
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2) County welfare departments shall:

i.  Cross-report all cases of child death suspected to be related to child abuse or
neglect to law enforcement.**

ii.  Create arecord in the Child Welfare Services/Case Management System
(CWS/CMS) on all cases of child death suspected to be related to child
abuse or neglect.*?

iii.  Enter information into the CWS/CMS upon notification that the death was
subsequently determined not to be related to child abuse or neglect.*?

3. Reporting to the State Department of Justice

a. From July 1, 1999 to December 31, 2011, city and county police or sheriff’s
departments, county probation departments if designated by the county to receive
mandated reports, and county welfare departments shall:**

1) Complete an investigation for purposes of preparing the report

Complete an investigation to determine whether a report of suspected child abuse
or severe neglect is unfounded, substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal
Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing and submitting the state “Child
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or subsequent designated form, to the
Department of Justice.™> Except as provided in paragraph below, this activity
includes review of the initial Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form 8572),
conducting initial interviews with parents, victims, suspects, or witnesses, where
applicable, and making a report of the findings of those interviews, which may be
reviewed by a supervisor.

1 penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313)).

12 penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313); Stats. 2010, ch. 618, § 10 (AB
2791)).

13 penal Code section 11166.9 (Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 23 (AB 1241)); Renumbered at Penal
Code section 11174.34 (Stats. 2004, ch. 842 § 13 (SB 1313)).

4 pursuant to amendments to Penal Code section 11169(b) enacted by Statutes 2011, chapter
468 (AB 717), the mandate to report to DOJ for law enforcement agencies only ends on January
1, 2012. In addition, the duty for all other affected agencies is modified to exclude an
“inconclusive” report.

13 penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB
1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, § 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903; “Child
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583.
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Reimbursement is not required in the following circumstances:

i. Investigative activities conducted by a mandated reporter to complete the
Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form SS 8572) pursuant to Penal Code
section 11166(a).

ii. In the event that the mandated reporter is employed by the same child
protective agency required to investigate and submit the “Child Abuse
Investigation Report” Form SS 8583 or subsequent designated form to the
Department of Justice, pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a),
reimbursement is not required if the investigation required to complete the
Form SS 8572 is also sufficient to make the determination required under
section 11169(a), and sufficient to complete the essential information items
required on the Form SS 8583, pursuant to Code of Regulations, title 11,
section 903 (Register 98, No. 29).

iii. Investigative activities undertaken subsequent to the determination whether a
report of suspected child abuse is substantiated, inconclusive, or unfounded,
as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing the
Form SS 8583, including the collection of physical evidence, the referral to a
child abuse investigator, and the conduct of follow-up interviews.

2) Forward reports to the Department of Justice

Prepare and submit to the Department of Justice a report in writing of every case
it investigates of known or suspected child abuse or severe neglect which is
determined to be substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal Code section
11165.12. Unfounded reports, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, shall
not be filed with the Department of Justice. If a report has previously been filed
which subsequently proves to be unfounded, the Department of Justice shall be
notified in writing of that fact. The reports required by this section shall be in a
form approved by the Department of Justice (currently form 8583) and may be
sent by fax or electronic transmission.®

This activity includes costs of preparing and submitting an amended report to
DOJ, when the submitting agency changes a prior finding of substantiated or
inconclusive to a finding of unfounded or from inconclusive or unfounded to
substantiated.

Reimbursement is not required for the costs of the investigation required to
make the determination to file an amended report.

b. Beginning January 1, 2012, county welfare departments, or county probation
departments where designated by the county to receive mandated reports shall:

18 penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB
1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, § 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903; “Child
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583.
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1) Complete an investigation

Complete an investigation to determine whether a report of suspected child abuse
or severe neglect is unfounded, substantiated or inconclusive, as defined in Penal
Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing and submitting the state “Child
Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or subsequent designated form, to the
Department of Justice.’” Except as provided in paragraph below, this activity
includes review of the initial Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form 8572),
conducting initial interviews with parents, victims, suspects, or witnesses, where
applicable, and making a report of the findings of those interviews, which may be
reviewed by a supervisor.

Reimbursement is not required in the following circumstances:

i. Investigative activities conducted by a mandated reporter to complete the
Suspected Child Abuse Report (Form SS 8572) pursuant to Penal Code
section 11166(a).

ii. In the event that the mandated reporter is employed by the same child
protective agency required to investigate and submit the “Child Abuse
Investigation Report” Form SS 8583, or subsequent designated form, to the
Department of Justice, pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a),
reimbursement is not required if the investigation required to complete the
Form SS 8572 is also sufficient to make the determination required under
section 11169(a), and sufficient to complete the essential information items
required on the Form SS 8583, pursuant to Code of Regulations, title 11,
section 903 (Register 98, No. 29).

iii. Investigative activities undertaken subsequent to the determination whether a
report of suspected child abuse is substantiated, inconclusive, or unfounded,
as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12, for purposes of preparing the
Form SS 8583.

2) Forward reports to the Department of Justice

Prepare and submit to the Department of Justice a report in writing of every case
it investigates of known or suspected child abuse or severe neglect which is
determined to be substantiated, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12.
Unfounded or inconclusive reports, as defined in Penal Code section 11165.12,
shall not be filed with the Department of Justice. If a report has previously been
filed which subsequently proves to be unfounded, the Department of Justice shall
be notified in writing of that fact. The reports required by this section shall be in a

17 Penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 27
(AB 1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, 8 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903;
“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583.
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form approved by the Department of Justice and may be sent by fax or electronic
transmission.*®

This activity includes costs of preparing and submitting an amended report to
DOJ, when the submitting agency changes a prior finding of substantiated to a
finding of inconclusive or unfounded, or from inconclusive or unfounded to
substantiated, or when other information is necessary to maintain accuracy of the
CACI.

Reimbursement is not required for the costs of the investigation required to
make the determination to file an amended report.

4. Notifications Following Reports to the Child Abuse Central Index

a. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare
departments shall:

1) Notify in writing the known or suspected child abuser that he or she has been
reported to the Child Abuse Central Index, in any form approved by the
Department of Justice, at the time the “Child Abuse Investigation Report” is filed
with the Department of Justice.™

This activity includes, where applicable, completion of the Notice of Child Abuse
Central Index Listing form (SOC 832), or subsequent designated form.

For law enforcement agencies only, this activity is eligible for reimbursement
from July 1, 1999 until December 31, 2011, pursuant to Penal Code section
11169(b), as amended by Statutes 2011, chapter 468 (AB 717), which ends the
mandate to report to DOJ for law enforcement agencies.

2) Make relevant information available, when received from the Department of
Justice, to the child custodian, guardian ad litem appointed under section 326, or
counsel appointed under section 317 or 318 of the Welfare and Institutions Code,
or the appropriate licensing agency, if he or she is treating or investigating a case
of known or suspected child abuse or severe neglect.?

'8 penal Code section 11169(a) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916, § 27
(AB 1241); Stats. 2011, ch. 468, 8 2 (AB 717)); Code of Regulations, Title 11, section 903;
“Child Abuse Investigation Report” Form SS 8583.

19 penal Code section 11169(c) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 5 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB
1241)).

20 penal Code section 11170 (Added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071 § 4; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435, § 5; Stats. 1982, ch. 162, § 3; Stats. 1984, ch. 1613, § 3; Stats. 1985, ch. 1598, § 8.5; Stats.
1986, ch. 1496, § 3; Stats. 1987, ch. 82, § 4; Stats. 1989, ch. 153, § 2; Stats. 1990, ch. 1330 § 2
(SB 2788): Stats. 1990, ch. 1363, § 15.7 (AB 3532); Stats. 1992, ch. 163, § 113 (AB 2641);
Stats. 1992, ch. 1338, § 2 (SB 1184); Stats. 1993, ch. 219, § 221.1 (AB 1500); Stats. 1996, ch.
1081, § 5 (AB 3354); Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 6 (SB 644); Stats. 1997, ch. 843, § 5 (AB
753); Stats. 1997, ch. 844, § 2.5 (AB 1065); Stats. 1999, ch. 475, § 8 (SB 654); Stats. 2000, ch.
916, 28 (AB 1241)).
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3) Inform the mandated reporter of the results of the investigation and of any action
the agency is taking with regard to the child or family, upon completion of the
child abuse investigation or after there has been a final disposition in the matter.?*

4) Notify, in writing, the person listed in the Child Abuse Central Index that he or
she is in the index, upon receipt of relevant information concerning child abuse or
neglect investigation reports contained in the index from the Department of
Justice when investigating a home for the placement of dependent children. The
notificg;ion shall include the name of the reporting agency and the date of the
report.

b. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, county welfare departments,
county licensing agencies, and district attorney offices shall:

Obtain the original investigative report from the agency that submitted the
information to the CACI pursuant to Penal Code section 11169(a), and objectively
review the report, when information regarding an individual suspected of child
abuse or neglect, or an instance of suspected child abuse or neglect, is received
from the CACI while performing existing duties pertaining to criminal
investigation or prosecution, or licensing, or placement of a child.?®

Reimbursement for this activity does not include investigative activities
conducted by the agency, either prior to or subsequent to receipt of the
information that necessitates obtaining and reviewing the investigative
report.

c. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments, and
county welfare departments shall:

Notify, in writing, the person listed in the Child Abuse Central Index that he or
she is in the index, upon receipt of relevant information concerning child abuse or
neglect reports contained in the index from the Department of Justice regarding
placement with a responsible relative pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code
sections 281.5, 305, and 361.3. The notification shall include the location of the
original investigative report and the submitting agency. The notification shall be

21 penal Code section 11170(b) (Added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071 § 4; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435, § 5; Stats. 1982, ch. 162, § 3; Stats. 1984, ch. 1613, § 3; Stats. 1985, ch. 1598, § 8.5; Stats.
1986, ch. 1496, § 3; Stats. 1987, ch. 82, § 4; Stats. 1989, ch. 153, § 2; Stats. 1990, ch. 1330 § 2
(SB 2788): Stats. 1990, ch. 1363, § 15.7 (AB 3532); Stats. 1992, ch. 163, § 113 (AB 2641);
Stats. 1992, ch. 1338, § 2 (SB 1184); Stats. 1993, ch. 219, § 221.1 (AB 1500); Stats. 1996, ch.
1081, § 5 (AB 3354); Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 6 (SB 644); Stats. 1997, ch. 843, § 5 (AB

753); Stats. 1997, ch. 844, § 2.5 (AB 1065); Stats. 1999, ch. 475, § 8 (SB 654); Stats. 2000, ch.
916, 28 (AB 1241)).

22 | bid.

% Penal Code section 11170(b)(6) (Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)); now subdivision (b)(10), as
amended by Statutes 2012, chapter 848 (AB 1707).
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submitted to the person listed at the same time that all other parties are notified of
the information, and no later than the actual judicial proceeding that determines
placement.?*

5. Record Retention

a. City and county police or sheriff’s departments, and county probation departments if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports shall:

Retain child abuse or neglect investigative reports that result in a report filed with the
Department of Justice for a minimum of eight years (a higher level of service above
the two-year record retention requirement pursuant to Gov. Code 88 26202 (cities)
and 34090 (counties).) If a subsequent report on the same suspected child abuser is
received within the first 10-year period, the report shall be maintained for an
additional 10 years.?

This activity includes retaining copies of the Suspected Child Abuse Report form
SS 8572, received from a mandated reporter, and the Child Abuse Summary Report
form SS 8583, with the original investigative report.

Reimbursement is not required for the first two years of record retention required
under prior law, but only for the eight years following.

b. County welfare departments shall:

Retain child abuse or neglect investigative reports that result in a report filed with the
Department of Justice for a minimum of seven years (a higher level of service above

the three-year record retention requirement pursuant to Welf. & Inst. Code, § 10851.)
If a subsequent report on the same suspected child abuser is received within the first

10-year period, the report shall be maintained for an additional 10 years.?®

This activity includes retaining copies of the Suspected Child Abuse Report form
SS 8572, received from a mandated reporter, and the Child Abuse Summary Report
form SS 8583, with the original investigative report.

Reimbursement is not required for the first three years of record retention required
under prior law, but only for the seven years following.

24 penal Code section 11170(c) (Added by Stats. 1980, ch. 1071 § 4; amended by Stats. 1981, ch.
435, § 5; Stats. 1982, ch. 162, § 3; Stats. 1984, ch. 1613, § 3; Stats. 1985, ch. 1598, § 8.5; Stats.
1986, ch. 1496, § 3; Stats. 1987, ch. 82, § 4; Stats. 1989, ch. 153, § 2; Stats. 1990, ch. 1330 § 2
(SB 2788): Stats. 1990, ch. 1363, § 15.7 (AB 3532); Stats. 1992, ch. 163, § 113 (AB 2641);
Stats. 1992, ch. 1338, § 2 (SB 1184); Stats. 1993, ch. 219, § 221.1 (AB 1500); Stats. 1996, ch.
1081, § 5 (AB 3354); Stats. 1997, ch. 842, § 6 (SB 644); Stats. 1997, ch. 843, § 5 (AB

753); Stats. 1997, ch. 844, § 2.5 (AB 1065); Stats. 1999, ch. 475, § 8 (SB 654); Stats. 2000, ch.
916, 28 (AB 1241)).

%% (Penal Code section 11169(h) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241);
Stats. 2001, ch. 133(AB 102); Stats. 2004, ch. 842 (SB 1313); Stats. 2011, ch. 468 (AB 717)).

%8 (Penal Code section 11169(h) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241)).
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6. Due Process Procedures Offered to Person Listed in CACI

City and county police or sheriff’s departments, county probation departments if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, and county welfare departments
shall:

Provide due process reasonably necessary to comply with federal due process
procedural protections under the 14th Amendment that must be afforded to
individuals reported to the DOJ’s Child Abuse Central Index. This activity includes a
hearing before the agency that submitted the individual’s name to CACI. This
activity includes any due process procedures available to persons listed in the CACI
prior to the enactment of Statutes 2011, chapter 468.

Reimbursement is not required for a hearing meeting the requirements of due
process if a court of competent jurisdiction has determined that child abuse has
occurred, or while the allegation is pending before a court.”’

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document. Each claimed reimbursable cost must
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV. Additionally, each
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner.

A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities. The following
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement.

1. Salaries and Benefits

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by
productive hours). Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed.

2. Materials and Supplies

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the
purpose of the reimbursable activities. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. Supplies
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized
method of costing, consistently applied.

3. Contracted Services

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable
activities. If the contractor bills for time and materials, report the number of hours spent

2" (Penal Code section 11169(h) (Stats. 1997, ch. 842 (SB 644); Stats. 2000, ch. 916 (AB 1241);
Stats. 2011, ch. 468 (AB 717)); Humphries v. County of Los Angeles (9th Cir. 2009) 554 F.3d
1170; San Diego Unified School District v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th
859.
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on the activities and all costs charged. If the contract is a fixed price, report the services
that were performed during the period covered by the reimbursement claim. If the
contract services are also used for purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only
the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the reimbursable activities can be
claimed. Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices with the claim and a
description of the contract scope of services.

4. Fixed Assets

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to
implement the reimbursable activities. The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs,
and installation costs. If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement
the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

5. Travel

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel,
and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of
the local jurisdiction. Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element
A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity.

B. Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts
disproportionate to the result achieved. Indirect costs may include both: (1) overhead costs of
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan.

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87). Claimants have the
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%.

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in

2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in

2 CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B). However,
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which
indirect costs are properly allocable. The distribution base may be: (1) total direct costs
(excluding capital expenditures and other distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major
subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable
distribution.

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following
methodologies:

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) classifying a department’s
total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total
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allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base.
The result of this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect
costs to mandates. The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total
amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected; or

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular
A-87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department
into groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or
section’s total costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing
the total allowable indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable
distribution base. The result of this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to
distribute indirect costs to mandates. The rate should be expressed as a percentage
which the total amount of allowable indirect costs bears to the base selected.

VI. RECORD RETENTION

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter®® is subject to the initiation of an
audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim
is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment
is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the
claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the
audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in
Section 1V., must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the
ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

VIl. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs
claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted
from this claim.

VIIl. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. The claiming instructions shall be derived from the
test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION

%8 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.
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Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571. If the
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines
as directed by the Commission.

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2.

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record. The
administrative record is on file with the Commission.
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State Controller’s Office Local Mandated Cost Manual

INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) For State Controller Use Only § oy ~pam
INVESTIGATION REPORTS (19) Program Number 00358
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT (20) Date Filed 3 5 8
(21) LRS Input
(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data
(02) Claimant Name (22) FORM 1, (04) A. 1. (g)
County of Location (23) FORM 1, (04) A. 2. (g)
Street Address or P.O. Box Sute (24) FORM 1, (04) B. 1. (g)
City state Zip Code (25) FORM 1, (04.1) (g)
Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) B. 2. . 1) (9)

(03) (09) Reimbursement |:| (27) FORM 1, (04.2) (g)

(04) (10) Combined [ ]| @8 ForRM1,(04)B.3.A. (g)

(05) (11) Amended [ 1|9 FOrM1,(04)B.3.b.(g)
Fiscal Year of Cost (06) 12) (30) FORM 1, (04) B. 4. (9)
Total Claimed Amount 07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (04) B. 5. (9)
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) |(14) (32) FORM 1, (04) B. 6. (9)
Less: Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33) FORM 1, (06)
Net Claimed Amount (16) (34) FORM 1, (07)
Due from State (08) 7 (35) FORM 1, (09)
Due to State (18) (36) FORM 1, (10)

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, | certify that | am the officer authorized by the local
agency to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that | have not
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code.

| further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting
revenues and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source
documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer

Date Signed

Telephone Number

E-Mail Address

Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory

(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Telephone Number

E-mail Address

Name of Consulting Firm/Claim Preparer Telephone Number

E-mail Address

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)



State Controller’s Office Local Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM | INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION REPORTS

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT HOIRLY
35 8 INSTRUCTIONS FAM-27
(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office.
(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code.

(03) to (08)
(09)
(10)
(11)

(12)

(13

(14

(15)
(16)
1)
(18)
(19) to (21)

(22) to (36)

@7

(38)

Leave blank.

If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.

Not applicable

If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.

Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.

Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown on Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed $1,000; minimum
claim must be $1,001.

Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15, or
otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims filed after the specified
date must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the
calculation formula as follows:

e Late Initial Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or

e Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000.
Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero.
Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13).
If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.
If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.
Leave blank.
Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g.,
Form 1, (04) A.1.(g), means the information is located on Form 1, line (04) A.1., column (g). Enter the information on the same line but
in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be
shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 35.19% should be shown as 35. Completion of this data block will
expedite the process.
Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’'s authorized officer, and must type or
print name, title, date signed, telephone number, and e-mail address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original

signed certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.)

Enter the name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was prepared by a
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and e-mail address.

SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: Address, if delivered by other delivery service:
OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER

ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting Division of Accounting and Reporting

P.O. Box 942850 3301 C Street, Suite 700

Sacramento, CA 94250 Sacramento, CA 95816

Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/15)
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PROGRAM INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION FORM
3 5 8 REPORTS
CLAIM SUMMARY 1
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20
(03) Department
Direct Costs Object Accounts
@) (b) () (d) (e) U] @
. o Materials :
(04) Reimbursable Activities . ' Contract| Fixed
Salaries | Benefits Su;gl?es Services | Assets Travel Total

A. One-Time Activities

1. Update departmental policies & procedures and
develop ICAN due process procedures to
comply with federal procedural protections under
the 14" Amendment.

2. Develop training to implement Department of
Justice (DOJ) ICAN requirements.

B. Ongoing Activities

1. Distribute the Suspected Child Abuse Report
Form (SS8572) to mandated reporters.

2. Reporting Between Local Departments

a. Accept and refer initial child abuse reports
when a department lacks jurisdiction.

b. Cross-reporting from County Welfare and
Probation Departments to Law Enforcement
Agency and District Attorney’s Office (DA).

c. Cross-reporting from Law Enforcement Agency
to the County Welfare and Institutions Code
Section 300 Agency, County Welfare and the
DA's office.

d. Receipt of cross-reports by DA'’s office.

e. Report by phone and send a written report to
licensing agencies.

(04.1) Subtotal B. 2. (a. through e.)

f. Additional cross-reporting in cases of child
death.

1) City and county police or sheriff's
department cross-report all cases of child
death to county child welfare agency.

2) County welfare department

i. Cross-report all cases of child death to
law enforcement.

ii. Create a record in the Child Welfare
Services/Case Management System
(CWSICMS).

iii. Enter information in CWS/CMS if child
death is not related to child abuse or
neglect.

(04.2) Subtotal B. 2. f. 2) (i. through iii.)

Revised 07/15 Page 1 of 2
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PROGRAM INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION FORM
3 5 8 REPORTS
CLAIM SUMMARY 1
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20

(03) Department

Direct Costs Object Accounts

@) (b) (© (d) (€ () ()

(04) Reimbursable Activities (Continued) _ _ |Materials| ot | Fixed
Salaries | Benefits and .
Services | Assets

Supplies

Travel Total

B. Ongoing Activities (Continued)

3. Reporting to DOJ — see Claim Summary
Instructions, Item (4), for eligible claimants and
period of reimbursements

a. Complete an investigation for purposes of
preparing a report.

b. Prepare, submit, and/or amend report of every
investigated case which is determined to be
substantiated.

4. Notify suspected child abuser that he or she has
been reported to the Child Abuse Central Index
(CACI) — see Claim Summary Instructions, Item
(4) 3.a. for period of reimbursements of law
enforcement agencies

5. After required retention period, record retention is
reimbursable for eight years for City and County
Police or Sheriff's Dept. and County Probation
Dept. and seven years for County Welfare Dept.

6. Provide due process procedures to persons
reported to the DOJ CACI.

(05) Total Direct Cost — see Claim Summary
Instructions, Item (05), for additional instructions

Indirect Costs

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [From ICRP or 10%] %

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Refer to Claim Summary Instructions]

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(g) + line (07)]

Cost Reduction

(09) Less: Offsetting Revenues

(10) Less: Other Reimbursements

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]

Page 2 of 2
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State Controller’s Office Local Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION FORM

358 CLAIM SUMMARY 1

REPORTS

INSTRUCTIONS

(01)
(02)

(03)

(04)

(04.1)

(04.2)

(05)

(06)

(07)

(08)

(09)

(10)

(11

Enter the name of the claimant.
Enter the fiscal year of costs.

If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A
separate Form 1 should be completed for each department.

For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (i), to Form
1, block (04), columns (a) through (f), in the appropriate row. Total each row.

Eligible Claimants and Period of Reimbursements:

3.b. Beginning January 1, 2012 — County Welfare & Probation Departments submit Form SS8583 to
DOJ.

Note: For activities (04) B. 3. a & b and (04) B. 6, please see the Parameter’s and Guidelines for non-
reimbursable activities.

Enter the sum of lines B. 2. a. through B. 2. e. columns (a) through (g).

Enter the sum of lines B. 2. f. 2) i. through B. 2. f. 2) iii. columns (a) through (g).

Total columns (a) through (g), do NOT include line (04.1), columns (a) through (g) and line (04.2),
columns (a) through (g).

Indirect costs may be computed as 10% of direct labor costs, excluding fringe benefits, without
preparing an Indirect Cost Rate Proposal (ICRP). If an indirect cost rate of greater than 10% is used,
include the ICRP with the claim.

Local agencies have the option of using the flat rate of 10% of direct labor costs or using a
department’s ICRP in accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular 2 CFR, Chapter |
and Chapter I, Part 200 et al. If the flat rate is used for indirect costs, multiply Total Salaries, line
(05)(a), by 10%. If an ICRP is submitted, multiply applicable costs used in the distribution base for the
computation of the indirect cost rate, by the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06). If more than one department is
reporting costs, each must have its own ICRP for the program.

Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05) (g), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07).

If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal
source.

If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, which reimbursed any portion of
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.

From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim.

Revised 07/15



State Controller’s Office Local Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION FORM
3 5 8 REPORTS
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
20 /20

(03) Reimbursable Activities: Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed.
A. One-time Activities

[J 1. Update departmental policies & procedures and [] 2. Develop training to implement Department of Justice
develop ICAN due process procedures to comply (DOJ) ICAN requirements.
with federal procedural protections under the 14%
Amendment.

B. Ongoing Activities

[J 1. Distribute the Suspected Child Abuse Report Form f. Additional cross-reporting in cases of child death.

(SS8572) to mandated reporters.
2) County welfare department:

2. Reporting Between Local Departments | i. Cross-report all cases of child death to law
enforcement.
[0 a. Acceptand refer initial child abuse reports whena  [] ii. Create a record in the Child Welfare
department lacks jurisdiction. Services/Case Management System
(CWS/CMS).
[0 b. Cross-reporting from County Welfare and Probation [] iii. Enter information in CWS/CMS if child death
Departments to Law Enforcement Agency and not related to child abuse or neglect.
District Attorney’s Office (DA).
[0 c. Cross-reporting from Law Enforcement Agency to 3. Reporting to DOJ

the County Welfare and Institutions Code Section N/A c let . tiation f f
300 Agency, County Welfare and the DA'’s office. a. Lompiete an investigation for purposes o
preparing a report.
[0 d. Receipt of cross-reports by the DA’s Office. O b. Prepare, submit, and/or amend report of every
investigated case which is determined to be
substantiated.

[] e. Report by phone and send a written report to [] 4. Notify suspected child abuser that he or she has been
licensing agencies. reported to the Child Abuse Central Index (CACI).
f. Additional cross-reporting in cases of child death. [J 5. After required retention period, record retention is

n 1) City and county police or sheriff's department reimbursable for eight years for City and County Police

or Sheriff's Dept. and County Probation Dept. and

cross-report all cases of child death to county seven years for County Welfare Dept

child welfare agency.

[] 6. Provide due process procedures to persons reported
to the DOJ CACI.

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts
GV (b) (©) (d) (e) M ) (h) 0]
Employee Names, Job Hourly Hours Materials )
Classifications, Functions Performed Rate or Worked or | Salaries Benefits and Cont_ract Fixed Travel
) : . ) Services Assets
and Description of Expenses Unit Cost Quantity Supplies

Revised 07/15 Page 1 of 2




State Controller’s Office Local Mandated Cost Manual

FROEIRA INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION FORM
3 8 REPORTS
5 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year
2020

(04) Description of Expenses

(Continued) Object Accounts

(a) (b) (©) (d) (e) ® @) (h) 0)
Employee Names, Job Hourly Hours Materials
Classifications, Functions Rate or | Worked | Salaries | Benefits and Contract| Fixed | Travel
Performed Unit Cost or Supplies | Services | Assets
and Description of Expenses Quantity

(05) Total I:I Subtotal |:| Page:  of

Revised 07/15 Page 2 of 2




State Controller’s Office Local Mandated Cost Manual

PROGRAM INTERAGENCY CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT (ICAN) INVESTIGATION FORM

3 5 8 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 2
INSTRUCTIONS

REPORTS

(01) Enter the name of the claimant.

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred.

(03) Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate Form
2 must be prepared for each applicable activity.

(04) The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To detalil
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee names, position titles, a brief
description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each employee, productive hourly rates,
fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel expenses. The descriptions required in
column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed.
For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained by the claimant for a period of not less
than three years after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to
initiate an audit shall be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Such documents must be made
available to the SCO on request.

Submit
Object/ Columns supporting
Sub object documents
A . ith th
ceounts @ (b) (©) (@ (€) 0) © (h) 0) win e
Salaries =
. Employee Hourly Hours Hourly Rate
Salaries Name/Title Rate Worked x Hours
Worked
o ) Benefits =
Benefits Fﬁs ﬁg’:ﬁfj d Bsgteeflt Benefit Rate
x Salaries
. Description Cost =
Ma;ircljals of Unit Quantity Unit Cost
s ’ Supplies Cost Used X Quantity
upplies Used Used
Name of Hours
Contractor Worked Cost = Copy of
Contract B Hourly . Hourly Rate Contract
Services Specific Rate Inclusive X and
Tasks Dates of Hours Worked Invoices
Performed Service
Description -
Fixed Assets |of Equipment| Unit Cost Usage C%ots;—UU:t
Purchased S sage
Name of Cost = Hourly
Employee Hourly ) Rate x Travel
Travel Purpose of Rate Travel Time Time + Travel
Travel Expenses
(05) Total line (04), columns (d) through (i) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to

indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs,
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (i) to Form 1, block (04), columns
(a) through (f) in the appropriate row.
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