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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE-MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2012-12 

PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS  

FEBRUARY 6, 2012 

JULY 1, 2016 

In accordance with Government Code (GC) sections 17560 and 17561, eligible claimants may 
submit claims to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for 
state-mandated cost programs. This document contains claiming instructions and forms that 
eligible claimants must use for the filing of claims for the Physical Performance Tests program. 
The SCO issues these claiming instructions subsequent to the Commission on State Mandates 
(CSM) adopting the program’s Parameters and Guidelines (Ps & Gs). The Ps & Gs are included 
as an integral part of the claiming instructions. 

On June 25, 1998, the CSM adopted a Statement of Decision finding that Education Code 
section 60800 as added by Chapter 975, Statutes of 1995, and the California Department of 
Education (CDE) Memorandum dated February 16, 1996, impose a reimbursable state-mandated 
program on school districts within the meaning of article XIIIB, section 6 of the California 
Constitution and GC section 17514. However, the CSM limited its decision to the following 
reimbursable state mandated activities: 

• Acquiring materials and equipment to administer the State Board of Education's 
designated physical performance test to students in grades 5, 7, and 9; 

• Training teachers to conduct the designated physical performance test; 
• Processing and analyzing score data by school personnel other than teachers; and 
• Responding to requests by the CDE for testing results pursuant to EC section 60800, 

subdivision (b).  

On March 26, 2010, the CSM approved the amendments to the Ps & Gs to clarify source 
documentation requirements and record retention language, as requested by the SCO. 

Exception 

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

Eligible Claimants 

With the exception of community colleges, any school district, as defined in GC section 17519, 
that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is eligible to claim for reimbursement. 
Charter schools and block grant recipients are not eligible to claim for reimbursement.  

Reimbursement Claim Deadline 

Annual reimbursement claims for the 2015-16 fiscal year may be filed by February 15, 2017, 
without a late penalty. Claims filed more than one year after the filing date will not be 
accepted. 
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Penalty 

• Initial Reimbursement Claims 

When filed within one year of the initial filing deadline, claims are assessed a late penalty 
of 10% of the total amount of the initial claim without limitation pursuant to GC section 
17561, subdivision (d)(3). 

• Annual Reimbursement Claims 

When filed within one year of the annual filing deadline, claims are assessed a late 
penalty of 10% of the claim amount, not to exceed $10,000, pursuant to GC section 
17568. 

Minimum Claim Cost 

GC section 17564, subdivision (a), states that no claim may be filed pursuant to sections 17551 
and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), provided that a county 
superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their 
county if the combined claim exceeds $1,000, even if the individual school district’s claim does 
not each exceed $1,000. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no 
reimbursement will be allowed except as otherwise allowed by GC section 17564. The county 
superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim is 
economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These 
combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent 
for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school 
district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must be filed in the combined form 
only unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the 
county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing 
the claim. 

Reimbursement of Claims 

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify (or 
declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct,” and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure 
section 2015.5. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 
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Audit of Costs 

All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the Ps & Gs adopted by the CSM. If any adjustments are made 
to a claim, the claimant will be notified of the amount adjusted, and the reason for the 
adjustment.   

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC section 
17558.5, Subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to 
audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed 
or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was 
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for 
the SCO to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request.  

Record Retention 

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were 
appropriated or no payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all 
documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be 
made available to the SCO on request. 

Claim Submission 

Submit a signed original Form FAM-27 and one copy with required documents. Please sign the 
Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy to the top of the claim package.  

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO’s website: 
www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

If delivered by 
other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 

 
For more information, contact the Local Reimbursements Section by email at 
LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, by telephone at (916) 32-5729, or by writing to the address above.  

http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html
mailto:LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov
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Adopted: 9/24/98 
Amended: 3/26/10 

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines 
Education Code Section 60800 

Statutes 1995, Chapter 975 
and the 

California Department of Education Memorandum  
Dated February 16, 1996 

Physical Performance Tests 
05-PGA-61 (CSM 96-365-01) 

This amendment is effective beginning with the claims filed for the  
July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement 

 
I. SUMMARY AND SOURCE OF THE MANDATE 
On June 25, 1998, the Commission on State Mandates adopted its Statement of Decision finding 
that Education Code section 60800, as added by Chapter 975, Statutes of 1995, and the 
California Department of Education Memorandum, dated February 16, 1996, imposed a 
reimbursable state mandated program on school districts. (Exhibit A.) The Commission limited 
its decision to the following reimbursable state mandated activities: 

• Acquiring materials and equipment to administer the State Board of Education’s designated 
physical performance test to students in grades 5, 7, and 9; 

• Training teachers to conduct the designated physical performance test; 

• Processing and analyzing score data by school personnel other than teachers; and 

• Responding to requests by the California Department of Education for testing results 
pursuant to Education Code section 60800, subdivision (b). 

II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 
Any "school district," as defined in Government Code section 17519, except for community 
colleges, which incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim 
reimbursement. 

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 
This amendment is effective beginning with the claims filed for the July 1, 2005 through  
June 30, 2006 period of reimbursement. 

Section 17557 of the Government Code states that a test claim must be submitted on or before 
December 31 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year. The test 
claim for this mandate was filed on December 23, 1996. Therefore, all costs incurred on or after 
July 1, 1995, are eligible for reimbursement, pursuant to these Parameters and Guidelines. 
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Actual costs for one fiscal year should be included in each reimbursement claim. Estimated costs 
for the subsequent year may be included on the same claim, if applicable. Pursuant to Section 
17561 (d)(1) of the Government Code, all claims for reimbursement of initial years' costs shall 
be submitted within 120 days of issuance of the claiming instructions by the State Controller. 
If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $200, no reimbursement shall be allowed, 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

IV. REIMBURSABLE COMPONENTS AND DESCRIPTION OF ACTIVITIES 
To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. 
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.  
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and 
declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct 
based upon personal knowledge.” Evidence corroborating the source documents may include 
data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal 
government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source 
documents. 
The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 
The direct and indirect costs of labor, materials and supplies, contracted services, equipment, 
travel, and training incurred for compliance with the following mandate components are eligible 
for reimbursement on an on-going basis: 

1. Acquiring materials, supplies and equipment to administer the State Board of 
Education’s designated physical performance test to students in grades 5, 7 and 9. 
The following activities associated with the acquisition of any materials, supplies, and 
equipment required by the Prudential Fitnessgram testing program are eligible for 
reimbursement: 

• contacting the test provider and negotiating the purchase of the materials, preparing 
contracts or purchase orders for the purchase of materials, administering the purchase of 
materials;  

• purchasing the materials, supplies, and equipment, including test administration manuals, 
test materials, testing equipment, test scoring and reporting materials and related 
software; and 

• conducting an inventory of the purchased materials, and distributing materials. 
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2. Training to conduct the designated physical performance test to students in  
grades 5, 7, and 9. 
The following activities associated with training teachers and other school district personnel 
to conduct, score, and process the physical performance tests and test results are eligible for 
reimbursement: 

• reviewing the requirements of the testing program selected by the State Board of 
Education1 by administrators, teachers and other school district personnel; 

• preparing policies and procedures; 

• developing and preparing for training sessions; 

• attending training sessions; and 

• providing materials and supplies in training sessions. 
Increased costs for substitute teacher time during the school day or for teacher stipends to attend 
training sessions outside the regular school day (after school or on Saturday) are eligible for 
reimbursement.  However, the labor time of the teacher spent in attending training sessions 
during that teacher’s normal classroom hours is not reimbursable.   

3. Conducting the Physical Performance Tests 
The following activity associated with conducting the physical performance tests is eligible 
for reimbursement: 

• conducting the tests. 
The Commission on State Mandates determined that the labor time of the teacher spent in 
conducting the tests during that teacher’s normal classroom hours is not reimbursable.2 

4. Processing and analyzing score data by school district personnel other than teachers. 
The following activities associated with processing and analyzing test score data are eligible 
for reimbursement: 

• re-recording raw test scores onto “scantron” or other score sheets used to process test 
scores, processing and analyzing test scores, and preparing and distributing personalized 
test score results; and  

• data processing of test scores by the district, consultants, or other entities. 

                                                 
1 Currently the Prudential Fitnessgram testing program. 
2 In sum, the Commission found that physical performance testing requires teachers to substitute 
the tests for other activities.  The time to administer and score the tests is therefore absorbed into 
the school day with no resultant increased costs to the school district.  To be eligible for 
reimbursement a school district must incur increased costs as a result of administering physical 
performance tests.  However, because testing takes place in an environment that has an 
identifiable limit on the number of hours in a normal workday, and the normal workday has not 
been extended, the Commission found that teacher time to administer physical performance tests 
is not reimbursable.  The Claimant disagrees. 
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The Commission on State Mandates determined that labor time of the teacher spent on these 
activities during that teacher’s normal classroom hours is not reimbursable.3 

5. Responding to requests by the California Department of Education for testing results 
pursuant to Education Code section 60800, subdivision (b). 
The following activities associated with responding to a request by the California Department 
of Education for physical fitness test results are eligible for reimbursement: 

• data processing and analysis, preparing reports, and filing reports. 
V.   CLAIM PREPARATION 
Each reimbursement claim for costs incurred to comply with this mandate must be timely filed 
and set forth a listing of each cost element for which reimbursement is claimed under this 
mandate. Claimed costs must be identified according to the components of reimbursable activity 
described in Section IV of this document. 
Supporting Documentation 
Claimed costs should be supported by the following information: 

A. Direct Costs 
Direct costs are defined as costs that can be traced to specific goods, services, units, 
programs, activities, or functions. 

1. Employee Salaries and Benefits 
Identify the employee(s) and/or show the classification of the employee(s) 
involved. List the reimbursable activities performed by each employee and 
specify the time devoted to each reimbursable activity by each employee, 
productive hourly rate and the related fringe benefits. The average number of 
hours devoted to each reimbursable activity in these Parameters and Guidelines 
can be claimed if supported by a documented time study. 
Reimbursement for personal services includes compensation for salaries, wages, 
and employee fringe benefits. Employee fringe benefits include regular 
compensation paid to an employee during periods of authorized absences (e.g. 
annual leave, sick leave) and employer's contribution for social security, pension 
plans, insurance, and worker's compensation insurance. Fringe benefits are 
eligible for reimbursement when distributed equitably to all job activities 
performed by the employee. 
2. Materials and Supplies 
List cost of materials and supplies which have been consumed or expended 
specifically for the purpose of this mandate.  The cost of materials and supplies, 
which is not used exclusively for the mandate is limited to the pro rata portion 
used to comply with this mandate. 
 

                                                 
3 See Footnote 2. 
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3. Contracted Services 
Provide the name(s) of the contractor(s) who performed the service(s). Describe 
the activities performed by each named contractor, and give the number of actual 
hours spent on the activities, if applicable, show the inclusive dates when services 
were performed, and itemize all costs for those services. For fixed price contracts 
list only the activities performed, the dates services were performed, and the 
contract price. 
4. Equipment 
List the purchase price paid for equipment and other capital assets acquired for 
this mandate. Purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs, and installation costs.  
If the equipment or other capital asset is used for purposes other than this 
mandate, only the pro rata purchase price can be claimed. 
5. Travel 
Travel expenses for mileage, transportation, per diem, lodging, parking, and other 
employee entitlements are reimbursable in accordance with the rules of the local 
school district. Provide the name(s) of the person(s) traveling, purpose of the 
travel, inclusive dates and time of travel, destination(s), and travel expenses. 
6. Training 
The cost of training for activities specified in Section IV can be claimed. Identify 
the employee(s) by name and job classification. Provide the name of the training 
session, the dates attended and the location. Reimbursement costs include, but are 
not limited to, salaries and benefits of personnel conducting or attending the 
training, registration fees, and travel expenses. 

B. Indirect Costs 
1. School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive 

indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of 
Education. 

2. County offices of education must use the J- 580 (or subsequent replacement) 
non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the Sate Department 
of Education. 

VI.  RECORD RETENTION 
Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter4 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 

                                                 
4 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated 
an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate 
resolution of any audit findings. 

VII.   DATA FOR DEVELOPMENT OF THE STATEWIDE COST ESTIMATE 
The State Controller's claiming instructions shall include a request for claimants to send an 
additional copy of the completed test claim specific form for each of the initial years' 
reimbursement claims by mail or facsimile to the Commission on State Mandates, 1300 I Street, 
Suite 950, Sacramento, CA 95814, Facsimile Number: (916) 445-0278.  Although providing this 
information to the Commission on State Mandates is not a condition of reimbursement, claimants 
are encouraged to provide this information to enable the Commission to develop a statewide cost 
estimate. 

VIII.  OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENTS 
Any offsetting savings the claimant experiences as a direct result of this mandate must be 
deducted from the costs claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandate received from any 
source, including but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds 
shall be identified and deducted from this claim. 

IX.  REQUIRED CERTIFICATION 
An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of the 
claim, as specified in the State Controller's claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the 
state contained herein. 



State Controller’s Office              School Mandated Cost Manual 

     Form FAM-27 (Revised 07/16)  

PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS 
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00173 
(20) Date Filed 
(21) LRS Input 

173 
 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name 
 

(22) FORM 1, (03)  
County of Location   
 (23) FORM 1, (04) 1. (f)  
Street Address or P.O. Box   
 

Suite 

 (24) FORM 1, (04) 2. (f)  
City 

 
State 

 
Zip Code 

 (25) FORM 1, (04) 3. (f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM 1, (04) 4. (f)  

 (03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM 1, (04) 5. (f)  

 (04) (10) Combined                 (28) FORM 1, (06)  

 (05) (11) Amended               (29) FORM 1, (07)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM 1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM 1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the 
school district or county office of education to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under 
penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, for reimbursement 
of costs claimed herein; claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program; and claimed 
amounts do not include charter school costs, either directly or through a third party.  All offsetting revenues and reimbursements set 
forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently 
maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 
  

Date Signed  
 

  Telephone Number   

  

 

Email Address   
 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 

 Email Address   
 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number  

 
Email Address  
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PROGRAM 

173 
PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS 

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, State, and zip code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete 
a separate Form FAM-27 for each fiscal year. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown in the attached Form 1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed 
$1,000; minimum claim must be $1,001. 

(14) Initial reimbursement claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions.  Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by 
February 15, or otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims 
must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was filed on time. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the 
calculation formula as follows: 

• Late Initial Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27 line (13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

• Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: Form FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., 
Form 1, (04) 1. (f), means the information is located on Form 1, block (04), line 1., column (f). Enter the information on the same line 
but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. The indirect costs percentage 
should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data 
block will expedite the process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be signed and dated by the agency’s authorized officer, type or print 
name and title, telephone number, and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed 
certification. (Please sign the Form FAM-27 in blue ink and attach the copy of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, and email address of the agency contact person for the claim. If claim was prepared by a 
consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and email address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL FORM FAM-27 AND ONE COPY WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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PROGRAM 

173 

PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02)  Fiscal Year 

    

Claim Statistics 

(03) Number of students tested in the fiscal year of claim  

   

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities  

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries  
and 

Benefits 

Materials  
and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

Travel  
and 

Training 

Total 

1. Acquisition of Supplies and 
Equipment       

2. Training       
 

3. Conducting the Physical 
Performance Tests 

      

4. Processing and Analyzing 
Score Data       

5. Response to Requests by 
the California Department of 
Education 

      

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [Refer to claiming instructions] %l 

(07) Total Indirect Costs 
 

[Line (05)(f) - line (05)(d) - $                          ] x line (06)  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Refer to claiming instructions]  

 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20  /20  
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PROGRAM 

173 

PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS 
CLAIM SUMMARY 
INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

1 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of claim. 

(03)  Enter the number of students tested in the fiscal year of claim. 

(04)  For each reimbursable activity, enter the total from Form 2, line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 
1, block (04), columns (a) through (e) in the appropriate row. Total each row. 

(05)  Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Enter the approved indirect cost rate from the California Department of Education for the year that 
funds expended. 

(07)  From the Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), deduct Total Fixed Assets, line (05)(d), and any other item 
excluded from indirect cost distribution base in accordance with the California School Accounting 
Manual, Procedure 915. Enter zero if there are no exclusions. Multiply the result by the Indirect Cost 
Rate, line (06). 

(08)  Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect Costs, line (07). 

(09)  If applicable, enter any revenue received by the claimant for this mandate from any state or federal 
source. 

(10)  If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not 
limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, that reimbursed any portion of 
the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts. 

(11)  From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting Revenues, line (09), and 
Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to 
Form FAM-27, line (13) of the Reimbursement Claim. 

 



State Controller’s Office                               School Mandated Cost Manual  

Revised 07/16 
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PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 

(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

20___ / 20___ 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 1. Acquisition of Supplies and Equipment  4. Processing and Analyzing Score Data 

 2. Training  5. Response to requests by the California 
Department of Education 

 3. Conducting the Physical Performance Tests   

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 
(a) 

Employee Names, Job 
Classifications, Functions Performed 

and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or 
Quantity 

(d) 
Salaries 

and 
Benefits 

(e) 
Materials 

and  
Supplies 

(f) 
Contract 
Services 

(g) 
Fixed 
Assets 

(h) 
Travel 
and 

Training 

 

                

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(05)  Total             Subtotal            Page: ___of___ 
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PHYSICAL PERFORMANCE TESTS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Check the box which indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box per form. A separate 
Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  The following table identifies the type of information required to support reimbursable costs. To itemize 
costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter each employee name, job classification, a brief 
description of the activities performed, productive hourly rate, actual time spent, fringe benefits, supplies 
used, contract services, fixed assets, and travel and training expenses. The descriptions required in 
column (04)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the cost of activities or items being claimed.  
 
All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after the 
date the claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated or no 
payment was made at the time the claim was filed, the time for the State Controller's Office (SCO) to 
initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to 
support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to the 
SCO on request. 

 

Object  
Accounts 

Columns Submit  
supporting 
documents 

with the claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 

Salaries 
 

and 
 

Benefits 

Employee 
Name and Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

X Hours 
Worked 

     

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate  

Benefits = 
Benefit Rate 
X Salaries 

     

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
X Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

and 
Specific Tasks 

Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked 
and 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

  

Cost = Hourly 
Rate X Hours 

 Worked or 
Total Contract 

Cost 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost 
X Quantity Usage    

Cost = 
Total Cost   
X Usage 

 

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

 
Travel 

 
and 

 
Training 

Purpose of Trip, 
Name and Title, 

Destination, 
Departure Date, 
and Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate, Mileage 

Rate and 
Travel Cost 

Days, 
Miles, and 

Travel Mode 
    

Total Travel 
Cost = Rate 
X Days or 

Miles 

 

Employee Name 
and Title and 

Name of Class 
Attended 

 Dates 
Attended     Registration 

Fee  

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sums on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to Form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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